Carrollton, GA 
University of West Georgia Share
Uploaded By: whalaw Hole #4 (Taken 7/2010)
3 / 263ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Red Tee



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
University of West Georgia

1    8/20/2013   8/22/2013
Review By: craigd
Played: 92  Reviewed: 91  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/24/2013
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The University of West Georgia hosts this basic nine hole course. It's a short course, ringing up at only about 2200' and doesn't ask for many technical shots. For that reason it's quite friendly to beginners and recreational players, which I guess for a college campus is probably ideal. The course seems to play in its own little area for the most part. This means that you shouldn't have to deal with others on the course which is a problem at some other campus courses I've played.

The layout is pretty basic as it pretty much follows a counterclockwise loop around an open field. While the course is pretty flat, hole one gives a taste of a downhill shot while number nine hints at a somewhat uphill shot. Nine brings you right back up to one's tee pad so in that aspect the layout makes some sense.

Good ol' reliable DISCatchers are on all nine holes.

Cons: Unfortunately the course design will put you to sleep quicker than a glass of warm milk. While I mentioned it's probably ideal for a college campus, it's not for an experienced/advanced player. A steady diet of short, right turning shots on a pretty boring piece of property will leave you wanting more.

I was disappointed with 1, 2, and 3 finishing off right on the edge of some thick and punishing woods/shule effectively cutting the green in half. Then 6, 7, and 8 play on an unmaintained area with tall grass.

You'll find poorly marked natural tee pads, dilapidated signs, and a general lack of basic amenities
Other Thoughts: I was never sure where to park as the closest parking lot says reserved for staff. I pulled up to the dirt area near the old trailer at the entrance of the course area but worried the whole time that I was going to get towed. A marked parking area would be nice for some peace of mind.

As other reviews have pointed out, the course is in an ideal area to create your own safari course and ultimately, this is really just a big practice area. The open field is a great place to practice drives, there's enough baskets scattered around that you can throw at several of them placed around the field and then, for a fun challenge, run through the course and test yourself to get as many birds as possible.

While this is not a highly rated course, it is better than nothing and I'm sure the players who attend the school are glad they have somewhere to play. I was glad I was able to add another course to the list.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Not bad for a quick round

1    7/22/2012   7/22/2012
Review By: BamaSlamaJim
Played: 65  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 6.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I played this course while visiting my cousin who goes to UWG as a warm-up before playing the best course in the world, Flyboy.

It's an attractive, fun little course that's great for beginners and ok for a quick round for experienced players.

Many of the holes have the same shape with bends to the right, so it's a good place to work on your side-arms.

Saw a few cuties on the course, so that's always a plus.
Cons: It would have been tough to find my way around without having my cousin as a guide.

It's only nine holes, leaving you wanting more golf.

No hills, water shots, or really anything all that memorable.
Other Thoughts: I wouldn't go out of my way to play this one.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Only good if you live across the street

1    4/1/2012   4/1/2012
Review By: prerube
Played: 213  Reviewed: 195  Exp: 7.3 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 9 discatcher baskets.....
Cons: Signage is missing: No tee signs or navigational aids. I had to get the locals to help on half the holes.
Hole 5 had no tee at all, I never would have known where to throw from. I never did find the tee for 7.
Grass was shin high in some areas. On hole 8, I had to sprint after my drive to be my own spotter.
Other Thoughts: It took longer to find tee 1 and basket 1 than to play a similar 9 hole course. Unless you live on Campus or with in walkign distance, there is no reason to play here.

13 miles from Flyboy, Where do you think I am going to pick?

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    12/5/2011   12/7/2011
Review By: KRATC
Played: 14  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - The University of West Georgia disc golf course is located on a open field with beautiful scenery and little foot-traffic along the surrounding pathways and trails.
- The baskets are not is perfect condition but are in good working order and the grass is well maintained (in the fall and winter)
- Great for in-between class practice, and safari holes.
Cons: - Almost every hole, with the exception of about 1 hole, dog-legs to the right to some degree, making this a boring course if you play if frequently.
- There are no long holes, and everything can be played as a par three, though the last hole plays up hill and is more consistent with a solid par three hole.
- All dirt tee-pads, though on most holes, finding the pad can be a challenge.
- during the summer, maintenance lets all the brush and undergrowth grow so high, if you toss a disc into the woods, expect to look for a while and practically swim through thorns.
- One hole (#8) plays across a garden the university plants in the fall, and next to that are bees are kept. They will bother you if you bother them.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is not a course i would drive more than ten minutes to play. It's saving grace is that the land it is on has so much possibility for neat safari holes and unofficial new holes. Playing backwards and from new tees is the way most students here play. It's nice for practice, but should not be considered if you are looking for a challenge or serious course.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 uwg dg course

5+    1/17/2011   1/18/2011
Review By: do you juju
Played: 11  Reviewed: 5
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Located on a critically acclaimed college campus for its scenery, this makeshift disc golf course at least offers pleasant aesthetics. The first five holes play around the inside of a massive field with gazebo in tow. The course is hardly ever crowded, and the trails that run throughout are frequented seldom.
Cons: With little variation in shot selections the course can be looked at as more of a practice one. The first few holes are around the same distance, and can be seen in plain sight. Hole 5, otherwise known as Blind Man's Cove, is the most challenging hole in the circle of the first five holes. Other then that all the holes are pretty basic. Holes 6-8 run beside a literal cluster of overgrown brush, dirt and compost piles. The holes are basically straight, basic, methodical shots that get repetitive after playing so many times.
Other Thoughts: The land where the nine holes are on poses the question as to why some of this land isn't taken advantage of. I reiterate, this is a pretty basic course.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Good for beginner lefties??

5+    3/19/2009   3/27/2009
Review By: Jonnykatz
Played: 17  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 31.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/27/2011
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: On a pretty college campus. Only course in Carrollton, GA (also a con). Good place to practice holes that curve to the right.
Cons: Short holes. Not challenging. Almost every single hole except 2 and 8 require a curve to the right, which is great if you're practicing that or if you're a lefty. Almost impossible to find if you don't know where it is, and only place to park says 'do not enter'. The campus police seem to know that you're there to play DG and haven't bothered me. A walking trail runs through it, but never busy when I've been there.
Other Thoughts: This campus has so much potential for a really good DG course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 West Georgia

5+    10/13/2008   10/13/2008
Review By: warren1086
Played: 19  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 11/28/2009
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Set in the corner of campus pretty much secluded from everything so its never busy. First 5 holes play around a nice open field surrounded by woods. Main field is always maintained very well. Only need a midrange to play this course. Most holes call for anhyzer shots (RHBH) which is fun!
Cons: Natural tee pads, Majority of holes play under 300'. Holes 6-8 are sometimes forgotten about with the maintenance people so its not always mowed and can turn into a jungle.
Other Thoughts: Good course just to mess around and experiment on some new shots. Watch for the occasional picnic and people on the walk/jog path that runs with the course.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Convenience is Key

5+    5/1/2007   10/7/2008
Review By: abarger1
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.3 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Convenience!! to anyone at west georgia this is perfect! no matter where you live its easily a five or ten minute walk. Great for practicing long drives the first few holes. first few are through a field, the next few have some trees in the way. Field is kept relatively nice. After you play you can get some food at the cafeteria right next to the course. Doesnt take very long and the walk isnt tough. The students who play it are always nice and friendly.
Cons: no real tee boxes. not really a huge challenge. poorly made maps. theres a big garden in the middle of #8.
Other Thoughts: just a simple little course that the students at west georgia should be happy they have it. if you get bored with the course, play it backward!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 West Georgia Course

5+    3/3/2010   2/27/2008
Review By: Fender088
Played: 25  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 7.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/4/2010
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great for practicing, never heavily occupied, conveniently located on a small campus, easy to find the holes. The course caters to anhyzers (RHBH) or sidearm throwers. You definitely won't need to bring your driver on this course. Your midrange should be the longest thing you need or a slow fairway driver at most. The nature area that the course is located on is actually quite peaceful because most students don't know that it exists.
Cons: Not suitable for tournaments, holes offer no variation, tees aren't at every hole, no trash cans, the entire course is located in a circle around a huge field. When I say that the holes have no variation I mean that they are seriously, seriously repetitive. Anhyzer or perfectly straight shot on every single hole. Sometimes the grass doesn't get mowed for months at a time and losing a disc becomes inevitable. If you come and play during the middle of the summer the course probably won't be mowed.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is a PRACTICE course. It's fun to go out and play on a beautiful day and it's surrounded by beautiful pines in every direction. The course is a little boring, but the closest public alternatives are at least 30 minutes away. I'm just thankful that the University invested in this little 9 hole course because it allows me to practice everyday. If a guide is needed just message me because tees are not well indicated.
**I'm currently trying to fix this and also trying to get the college to allow me to change the layout of this course. Stay tuned for details.**

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Not worth the drive

8/4/2007   12/14/2007
Review By: jdawg24
Played: 92  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 16.3 Years
6 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nice baskets; land has potential
Cons: One of the worst courses I've ever seen. Hard to find, teepads are overgrown, dilipidated and tough to find. Looks like there were teesigns at one point but all that's left is the frame. Hole design is terrible -- 9 holes in a circle around an open field, every hole is the same.
Other Thoughts: Definitely not worth playing! These poor baskets should be rearranged or relocated to a new location where they'll be used.

6 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.