Carrollton, GA
University of West Georgia Share
Uploaded By: whalaw Hole #8 (Taken 7/2010)
3 / 275ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Not bad for a quick round

1    7/22/2012   7/22/2012
Review By: BamaSlamaJim
Played: 65  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 5.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I played this course while visiting my cousin who goes to UWG as a warm-up before playing the best course in the world, Flyboy.

It's an attractive, fun little course that's great for beginners and ok for a quick round for experienced players.

Many of the holes have the same shape with bends to the right, so it's a good place to work on your side-arms.

Saw a few cuties on the course, so that's always a plus.
Cons: It would have been tough to find my way around without having my cousin as a guide.

It's only nine holes, leaving you wanting more golf.

No hills, water shots, or really anything all that memorable.
Other Thoughts: I wouldn't go out of my way to play this one.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 uwg dg course

5+    1/17/2011   1/18/2011
Review By: do you juju
Played: 11  Reviewed: 5
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Located on a critically acclaimed college campus for its scenery, this makeshift disc golf course at least offers pleasant aesthetics. The first five holes play around the inside of a massive field with gazebo in tow. The course is hardly ever crowded, and the trails that run throughout are frequented seldom.
Cons: With little variation in shot selections the course can be looked at as more of a practice one. The first few holes are around the same distance, and can be seen in plain sight. Hole 5, otherwise known as Blind Man's Cove, is the most challenging hole in the circle of the first five holes. Other then that all the holes are pretty basic. Holes 6-8 run beside a literal cluster of overgrown brush, dirt and compost piles. The holes are basically straight, basic, methodical shots that get repetitive after playing so many times.
Other Thoughts: The land where the nine holes are on poses the question as to why some of this land isn't taken advantage of. I reiterate, this is a pretty basic course.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 West Georgia

5+    10/13/2008   10/13/2008
Review By: warren1086
Played: 19  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 5.8 Years
This review was updated on 11/28/2009
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Set in the corner of campus pretty much secluded from everything so its never busy. First 5 holes play around a nice open field surrounded by woods. Main field is always maintained very well. Only need a midrange to play this course. Most holes call for anhyzer shots (RHBH) which is fun!
Cons: Natural tee pads, Majority of holes play under 300'. Holes 6-8 are sometimes forgotten about with the maintenance people so its not always mowed and can turn into a jungle.
Other Thoughts: Good course just to mess around and experiment on some new shots. Watch for the occasional picnic and people on the walk/jog path that runs with the course.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 West Georgia Course

5+    3/3/2010   2/27/2008
Review By: Fender088
Played: 25  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 6.9 Years
This review was updated on 3/4/2010
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great for practicing, never heavily occupied, conveniently located on a small campus, easy to find the holes. The course caters to anhyzers (RHBH) or sidearm throwers. You definitely won't need to bring your driver on this course. Your midrange should be the longest thing you need or a slow fairway driver at most. The nature area that the course is located on is actually quite peaceful because most students don't know that it exists.
Cons: Not suitable for tournaments, holes offer no variation, tees aren't at every hole, no trash cans, the entire course is located in a circle around a huge field. When I say that the holes have no variation I mean that they are seriously, seriously repetitive. Anhyzer or perfectly straight shot on every single hole. Sometimes the grass doesn't get mowed for months at a time and losing a disc becomes inevitable. If you come and play during the middle of the summer the course probably won't be mowed.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is a PRACTICE course. It's fun to go out and play on a beautiful day and it's surrounded by beautiful pines in every direction. The course is a little boring, but the closest public alternatives are at least 30 minutes away. I'm just thankful that the University invested in this little 9 hole course because it allows me to practice everyday. If a guide is needed just message me because tees are not well indicated.
**I'm currently trying to fix this and also trying to get the college to allow me to change the layout of this course. Stay tuned for details.**

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.