Walnut Grove, MN 
Upper Plum Creek Park Share
Uploaded By: Waddly Hobbins Hole #8 (Taken 8/2009)
3 / 315ft.   3 / 415ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Sign



Reviews: 11
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Even Nellie Oleson would love this course

2-4    5/23/2013   5/24/2013
Review By: edricMN
Played: 26  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 2.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great elevation changes.
Challenging basket locations - up hills and on edge of hills behind trees.
Nice baskets
Nice concrete tee pads.
Quiet and peaceful.
Good combination of long holes and short wooded holes.
Rec tees and Pro tees.
Cons: They could upgrade the signs.
Only has 9 holes! If this could be changed it great.
I can take a while to find errant disks if you go off the fairway.
Other Thoughts: This is one of the nicest courses in SW MN!
If you don't come play this one you are missing a real treasure. I had two deer walk across as I was standing on hole #9 to tee off.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Spotters welcome

5+    9/6/2012   10/23/2012
Review By: Weakest Link
Played: 56  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.1 Years
This review was updated on 11/8/2012
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Two tees for each hole.
Variety of hole lengths and elevation.
Never busy.
Cons: The rough can get pretty tall, making the narrow fairways seem even more narrow.
The signage has gotten very poor.
Other Thoughts: Probably don't want to play this course by yourself......you'll want a spotter on a number of the holes.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Rugged, Interesting, Disc eating Course Out In Laura Ingles Wilder Country!

1    7/14/2011   7/23/2011
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 683  Reviewed: 635  Exp: 36.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Upper Plum Creek is located in Walnut Grove who's claim to fame has to do with the famous author Laura Ingles Wilder. This county park is far removed from everything and because of that, wouldn't attract a great deal of users. I would think disc golfers would often have this whole park to themselves. There is a picnic shelter, restroom, play area at the beginning. And a large family/group was here enjoying a picnic the day that I played. The disc golf is completely seperate from the picnic facilities.
There are two sets of concrete tees for each holes. They are large and work well here. The baskets are great. This is a nice piece of park land for a course with water hazards, rolling hills and plenty of trees and thick underbrush. Intermediate players on up will be challenged by it's tight fairways, thick rough and sometimes small landing zones. Playing in a group or with spotters is a must.
Cons: This course is a formula for losing discs. It has blind throws over water, blind throws into tall grassy areas and thick brushy areas. Errant throws are almost always a long search or a lost disc. # 3 was a 270' uphill toss over a creek. It's scary even with a spotter. # 5 from the longs is a 385' blind hyser shot with almost no margin for error. A little off and you sail into deep, deep grass or thick underbrush. Without a spotter, I didn't even think about throwing it. # 6 is a short throw (less than 200') over a spillway with almost no landing zone. It's an invitation for a sunken disc.
Other Thoughts: #7 was my favorite but even it was an uncomfortable play. It's 450' downhill to a narrow mowed fairway, then uphill to the basket set in the trees with lots of nasty rough behind it. First I narrowly missed the narrow fairway and had to search and then I slightly overthrew the basket and was lucky to find my disc back there in the rough.

#9 is longish downhill (450') with the same narrow mowed fairways. I missed the fairway with my tee off and spent 20 minutes looking for my disc in the tall grass.

Yes, this is a challenging course. But I'm sorry, courses like this are not my cup of tee. I would expect to lost a disc a round on this course and that just doesn't sound like fun to me.

I guess if I lived in Walnut Grove and the next closest course was 20 miles away, I'd have to man up, play this course and increase my disc budget substantially. And add 30 minutes per roundfor disc searchs!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    4/28/2011   5/30/2011
Review By: DerekTonn
Played: 292  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 37.3 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Beautiful location with lots of shot variety.
- Good baskets to throw to, and good Pro/Tourney and Am/Rec tee pads
- Restrooms, picnic shelter, playground and campground very near by.
Cons: - Miles from anywhere...but if you don't like waiting between shots/holes, this con might be a pro for you.
- Nine holes, when they EASILY have the land and interesting terrain to go up to 18 if they were motivated to do so.
Other Thoughts: I love Plum Creek! Absolutely love it. If this course had 18 holes and were located in a highly populated location, people would be crowing about how this was one of the top courses in the State of Minnesota. As it is, it is well-worth the 30-minute drive for me to play every chance I can get (about 6-8 rounds/year or so). If you're in the area, you gotta stop by and play two rounds...one off each set of tees.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Pleasant Surprise

1    4/30/2010   5/2/2010
Review By: Zahl
Played: 25  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: What a great course! Multiple tee pads, challenging basket placements along with a variety of terrain. Elevation Changes add to the fun!
Cons: It's out in the middle of nowhere and it's only nine holes.
Other Thoughts: If you're in the area it's a must play. You'll be happy you did.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/14/2010   4/4/2010
Review By: pitbull_luvr
Played: 17  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/28/2010
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Awesome nine hole course! Great use of the terrain and park. Dual tee pads make it a good place for beginners and veteran players alike. Love the technicalness of this course as well.
Cons: Lots of bugs, bring bug spray! ! ! ! Last couple holes are very windy and tall grass is unforgiving if you throw off the fairway. Would be alot better if it had nine more holes.
Other Thoughts: Great, great course! Great use of terrain! A couple of very technical holes, which is awesome. The tall grass on the last three holes sucks! Lost my favorite disc, I was and still am very bummed out. If anyone finds it, there is a reward. Name and phone number is on it.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

A hidden gem

1    9/2/2009   9/4/2009
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 345  Reviewed: 342  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/24/2014
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Great signage with map, distance and par.
-Easy to follow, the next hole is always just along the mowed path. If you do get lost just consult your map.
-Map/scorecard at the start in the shelter.
-Lots of elevation.
-Good amounts of woods.
-The short holes are challenging because of trees and doglegs and the long holes are long and have elevation.
-A few blind tees
-Good parking and bathrooms at the start.
-A cool shot on six over a dam type thing onto the side of a hill.
-Some fast greens such as 1,6,7.
-Lots of good risk/reward shots
-Dual tees on every hole
-Baskets are high quality and catch the discs well.
Cons: -Stinging nettle and poison ivy on some holes
-A few chances to lose discs in woods or water
-This course is in the middle of nowhere
-Its only a nine hole. Could be 18+. Wish it was.
-Not alot of other cons, its a great course.
Other Thoughts: This course may be my favorite nine holer. It is in the middle of nowhere so I didnt expect much but it ended up being a lot of fun. Another 9 or more holes could be made here. There is upper and lower portions of the park and they could be utilized to create a disc golfing paradise.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Little Course on the Prairie

2-4    8/9/2009   8/10/2009
Review By: Waddly Hobbins
Played: 31  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Dual Concrete Tee Pads (Amply sized)
-DGA Mach 5 baskets
-Trash cans and benches
-Accurate Signs
-Half of course's holes are short and technical, other half are longer, more open holes
-Very good use of elevation and terrain, even holes that don't have many trees will challenge you with vertical slopes
-Beginner friendly, however can challenge you for that birdie or ace for more advanced players
-has great flow and completes a loop back to the parking area
-Secluded, course is not that busy, if you run into other golfers they are usually friendly
-Holes #4,5,6, & 7 are especially well designed in my opinion
-Restrooms located towards start (middle if you play it as an 18)
Cons: -Mowed fairways can be NARROW! Holes #5,7,& 8 are especially bad (bring a spotter if possible.)
-Holes #2 & 4 signs are peeled off (only really matters for first timers)
-Entrance to course is a little hidden (it's next to the tiny shelter)
-Wood ticks, BRING BUG SPRAY, spray some on your legs at least
-Can be buggy, not always the case
-Even with trash cans at the tee's, people still manage to litter occasionally (there was broken glass on a tee once, it is now since been swept)
-Hole #9 is rather wide open straight shot (this is just being picky though)
Other Thoughts:
This course is amazing and worth playing if you happen to be in the area. There are a lot of very fun holes through out and it has great scenery.
This out of the way course will surprise you with the quality put into it for such a small town.

The only things I can think of that could be improved to make it a 5 are:
-Fairways mowed WIDER for easier disc finding
-Reparation of signs
-MORE HOLES, this course is fun and leaves you wanting more

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Catagory 1

5+    7/28/2009   8/3/2009
Review By: web1958
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good Coarse For Short And Long Throwers,Farways Are Good,Chalenges On Hole 4 It's Through 2 Rows Of Trees
Cons: Some Tree Branches In The Way On Holes 1,3 To Make It Hard To Get An Ace
Other Thoughts: Plays Tough In The Wind

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great course!

1    7/12/2009   7/12/2009
Review By: tlandegent
Played: 25  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 8.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very clean, well-mowed fairways, great hole variety, two different tees for each hole.
Well-stocked information board complete with maps and scorecards.
Hole map at each tee was easy to understand, complete with par, distances, and large obstacles.
Concrete tee pads were a good length and pointed toward the basket.
Mulberries and wild raspberries were abundant... and tasty!
Cons: Very tall grass outside the fairways, easy to lose discs - some holes had especially thick brush. Bring spotters, seriously!
Par is sometimes generous (7 and 8 are par 5, 450 feet and 415 feet)
Other Thoughts: Amazing course for being 5 miles away from Walnut Grove (maybe 500 people live there). Nearby camping, swimming, picnic tables near hole 1. The whole course seemed to be well-taken care of.
I (an ameteur) went with my wife and in-laws (both 2nd time beginners) and we had a great time. The Red tees, though 50-100 feet shorter than Blue, made it much more fun for them. Beautiful scenery, lovely elevation changes - have fun with the lovely throw over the pond on #6!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.