Bowling Green, OH 
Carter Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #10
3 / 192ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Great Space to Play

5+    8/9/2013   8/13/2013
Review By: DiscGolfJason
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of space to play. Holes have a good mix of left and right turns. There is also a good balance of long and short holes. I like that the course has a bit of a pace to it. The holes start long and then go through a wooded area and then you go through another stretch of longer holes until you reach two birdie-able holes to finish out the round. There is a practice basket with around the world markers on the ground. There is a water fountain and a bathroom on the grounds which I've come to appreciate as too many courses lack this feature.
Cons: Recent storms have downed some trees. This has caused some holes to be overly accessible. Carter can be windy at times and near unplayable but a ton of fun. It has been crowded in recent years and usually during the season when kids are on campus.
Other Thoughts: Overall a very polished experience. In my travels I haven't seen many better so I've pretty happy to call it my home course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 If you like it wide open

2-4    8/27/2010   8/28/2010
Review By: Zigzaggler
Played: 42  Reviewed: 14
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wide concrete pads
Well maintained,Very well mapped
pin placement really saved this course in my opinion.
Cons: most flyways are wide open without many tight shots.
holes are piled on top of other tee pads causing for even more delays. As the course is mostly in the wide open, hot days can make the course uncomfortable to play more than one round. The low growing apple trees and thorns can make retrieving a stray throw somewhat painful and annoying.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course to get out and let it RIP!! Scores can be kept low with a good drive. I found this course to be good for trying out a new driver or specialty disc, as in loosing one out here on a bad throw is literally impossible!!!! Enjoyed the course and is worth returning to if I happen to be in the area.!!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Not to shabby

2-4    8/9/2010   8/16/2010
Review By: SuperG7
Played: 53  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 9.2 Years
Pros: Concrete tee pads
Good signs
Open shots
Maintained very well
Good variety of shots to left and right
Cons: No pro tee pads
No really tight shots
No real long bomber holes

Other Thoughts: Play this course when going to visit friends at Bowling Green and was surprised to find a nice course close by. This course is a beginner course for sure with some really short shots but fun to play regardless.

Cops do patrol every once in a while but not that often

 

1    7/18/2010   7/18/2010
Review By: fleeulrich
Played: 35  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 6.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This was a very nice, and clean park. This course had some real unique hole markers, with really nice signs on them. Each sign had hole#, par, distance, and hole layout on them. Nice concrete pads with plenty of room, footing was never a question. For the most part this course wasn't very difficult to find your way through.
Cons: I didn't see any trash cans or benches on the course, although there were plenty of picnic tables and trash cans throughout other areas of the park. This course could have benefited from having a few "next tee" signs.
Other Thoughts: The whole course is mostly wide open. There were some holes with bunches of trees in the fairway, holes 6 & 7 were probably the most difficult of these with pretty much no lane to throw in unless you break out the tomahawk or extreme hyzers. A lot of the holes were tucked behind trees or by trees making the wide open holes a little more difficult. Hole 16 is tucked in between two big bushes, making it a blind shot until you get in the fairway a little closer to the basket. All in all was a really fun course and definitely worth playing if you have the chance.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 CAHTAH PAHK

2-4    6/1/2012   4/5/2010
Review By: bygwyllay
Played: 81  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 7.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/28/2012
Pros: Nicely designed, but nothing spectacular. I'd say 65% of the holes are wide open, with half of those not having any defined fairway whatsoever. There is a great run of five or six holes through a quaint apple orchard, which makes this course stand out. A nice finishing flourish as well, playing back towards the water tower.

Uses up the land available, and for the most part is meticulously maintained. One side of the course plays up the back of some apartments, but you really only have to deal with this for a hole or three.

Amenities are decent, signage was good, especially the large map at the start of play. Concrete tees were big enough to launch off of.

And believe me, you will be launching! Bombs abound to begin and end your round, and these holes also provide the freedom for error as they are WIIIIIDE open.

Looks like they made some minor line adjustments and pin placements since I last played a few years ago, so nice to see that the desingers/owners aren't letting it sit stagnant.
Cons: Flat - literally no elevation changes aside from a smallish, man-made hill or two.

Windy - wide open and flat = wind. Not much you can do about it. Makes the southbound holes especially difficult, as you are firing directly into the gusts.

Majority of holes are exactly the same - The bombs are nice but with no obstacles (gimmie a tree?) it's bomb/approach/putt/repeat for over half of the round.

All of these cons really can't be remedied; they are more of a product of the land than anything. I think the designers did a fantastic job with what they had, and I can't justify lowering the rating because of this.
Other Thoughts: I first played Carter Park back on 4/3/2010, and it didn't help that it was during a huge thunderstorm, and that when tossing into the wind, my discs ended up behind me. It was insane, but totally worth it. My original review was only 2.5/5, as I couldn't get a great feel for the course in the monsoon. After playing again, I'm upping my rating a full disc as it is a really nice course and the layout maxed the land's potential. This has become a destination course of sorts for me, and IMO is the best course in the greater Toledo area. Definitely recommended!

 Windmaster fun

5+    9/18/2009   10/30/2009
Review By: o01shadow
Played: 42  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course offers a solid mix of open and wooded holes, which combine to test your power and finesse. Playing through an orchard for the middle and over a gently rolling field on the ends, this course has a majority of solid holes that are fun to play.

The park itself is easy to get to from the highway and is easy to follow once you get on it.

There are very few opportunities to lose discs and more than one opportunity to ace, so taking risky shots is not necessarily bad.

The course has a generous par, so feel good scores are easy to come by if you play consistently.

Each tee is concrete and is accompanied by a hole sign, so it is clear which pin you are shooting at.
Cons: This course can be very windy, so high loopy throws will be punished.

During the fall the orchard can be hazardous due to fallen and decomposing fruit, which loves to get on your disc.

Aside from two or three holes, the course is basically flat, which is almost unavoidable in this part of Ohio, but still is kinda monotonous.

A few holes are overly simple, which can be boring if you are a serious player.
Other Thoughts: This course is fairly busy on pretty days, but the traffic is never really that big of a problem.

Watch out for yellow jackets, for they are unavoidable during the fall.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good Time

2-4    9/16/2008   10/19/2008
Review By: calcuttajoe
Played: 12  Reviewed: 9
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I'm a new player over 50, This is a nice flat course. Open enough for the beginners but enough trees for the experienced. Course gets alot of play but is well maintained. Loved playing this course with my grown kids. I'LL BE BACK

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.