Bowling Green, OH 
Carter Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #10
3 / 192ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 College Course

5+    8/20/2010   9/1/2010
Review By: Petercules
Played: 35  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 11.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Open course that is well kept.
Balance of long and short holes.
Long cement tee pads.
Cons: This late in the year the apples are on the ground rotting. Another tree related note is many of the trees have thorns
The back nine baskets are extremely guarded by trees. Not that I am one to ace allot of holes but these trees make it impossible regardless.
Other Thoughts: Gets allot of traffic during the school year.
Best to play this course in the morning both to avoid the crowd and to avoid the winds.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 If you like it wide open

2-4    8/27/2010   8/28/2010
Review By: Zigzaggler
Played: 42  Reviewed: 14
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wide concrete pads
Well maintained,Very well mapped
pin placement really saved this course in my opinion.
Cons: most flyways are wide open without many tight shots.
holes are piled on top of other tee pads causing for even more delays. As the course is mostly in the wide open, hot days can make the course uncomfortable to play more than one round. The low growing apple trees and thorns can make retrieving a stray throw somewhat painful and annoying.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course to get out and let it RIP!! Scores can be kept low with a good drive. I found this course to be good for trying out a new driver or specialty disc, as in loosing one out here on a bad throw is literally impossible!!!! Enjoyed the course and is worth returning to if I happen to be in the area.!!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Not to shabby

2-4    8/9/2010   8/16/2010
Review By: SuperG7
Played: 53  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 9.2 Years
Pros: Concrete tee pads
Good signs
Open shots
Maintained very well
Good variety of shots to left and right
Cons: No pro tee pads
No really tight shots
No real long bomber holes

Other Thoughts: Play this course when going to visit friends at Bowling Green and was surprised to find a nice course close by. This course is a beginner course for sure with some really short shots but fun to play regardless.

Cops do patrol every once in a while but not that often

 

1    7/18/2010   7/18/2010
Review By: fleeulrich
Played: 36  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 6.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This was a very nice, and clean park. This course had some real unique hole markers, with really nice signs on them. Each sign had hole#, par, distance, and hole layout on them. Nice concrete pads with plenty of room, footing was never a question. For the most part this course wasn't very difficult to find your way through.
Cons: I didn't see any trash cans or benches on the course, although there were plenty of picnic tables and trash cans throughout other areas of the park. This course could have benefited from having a few "next tee" signs.
Other Thoughts: The whole course is mostly wide open. There were some holes with bunches of trees in the fairway, holes 6 & 7 were probably the most difficult of these with pretty much no lane to throw in unless you break out the tomahawk or extreme hyzers. A lot of the holes were tucked behind trees or by trees making the wide open holes a little more difficult. Hole 16 is tucked in between two big bushes, making it a blind shot until you get in the fairway a little closer to the basket. All in all was a really fun course and definitely worth playing if you have the chance.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Blowing Green

5+    6/27/2010   6/28/2010
Review By: bobhopesghost
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1 Well maintained
2 Easy to navigate
3 Variety of tight technical shots and wide open power drive shots
4 concrete tees
5 old but regulation baskets
Cons: 1 It will be windy when you play here
2 generous pars
3 apartments very close to some holes
4 Apple trees are great at catching discs out of the air and are full of thorns
5 apple trees produce fruit which will rot and attract bees
6 watch out for local sports practice that occasionally spills onto the course
7 very busy
Other Thoughts: I have played this course 100s of times. Its my home course and the course I learned to play on. It is excellent for beginners that are honing their skills, but not too challenging for experienced players.

Most of the par 4s are wide open and long which make for great practice when learning to distance drive.

The orchard (holes 6-10) have lots of tree cover that force players to learn to take their time, aim low and control their shots.

There are signs that warn against climbing the trees. You should heed these warning !!! These apple trees have very dense branches and are adept at grabbing your disc out of the air and holding on to it. The trees also grow 2-3 inch thorns that have torn me up time and time again. They do drop apples which make for good ammunition for dislodging a stuck disc but by mid July they become very rotten and attract bees. I recommend keeping a baseball in your bag if you plan to play here.

In the fall BG Local School cross country meets are held on the course and you will have to wait 20 to 30 minutes as literally hundreds of kids run across the fairway. There are baseball diamonds in the back half of the park and occasionally coaches will set up practice across the fairways of holes 13-16 with out recognizing that they are putting their kids in the path of 165g lobbed weapons.

The course is very flat with the only hills on 14 the par 5 (uphill) and 15 (downhill). Unfortunately the fun downhill drive you could get from 15 is blocked by some of the biggest trees on the course

If you want to learn to drive long, and control your disc in the wind while enjoying a beautiful park check out Carter Park along side I-75 in the shadow of the Bowling Green Water Tower, but watch out for the kids bees and thorns.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 CAHTAH PAHK

2-4    6/1/2012   4/5/2010
Review By: bygwyllay
Played: 85  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 7.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/28/2012
Pros: Nicely designed, but nothing spectacular. I'd say 65% of the holes are wide open, with half of those not having any defined fairway whatsoever. There is a great run of five or six holes through a quaint apple orchard, which makes this course stand out. A nice finishing flourish as well, playing back towards the water tower.

Uses up the land available, and for the most part is meticulously maintained. One side of the course plays up the back of some apartments, but you really only have to deal with this for a hole or three.

Amenities are decent, signage was good, especially the large map at the start of play. Concrete tees were big enough to launch off of.

And believe me, you will be launching! Bombs abound to begin and end your round, and these holes also provide the freedom for error as they are WIIIIIDE open.

Looks like they made some minor line adjustments and pin placements since I last played a few years ago, so nice to see that the desingers/owners aren't letting it sit stagnant.
Cons: Flat - literally no elevation changes aside from a smallish, man-made hill or two.

Windy - wide open and flat = wind. Not much you can do about it. Makes the southbound holes especially difficult, as you are firing directly into the gusts.

Majority of holes are exactly the same - The bombs are nice but with no obstacles (gimmie a tree?) it's bomb/approach/putt/repeat for over half of the round.

All of these cons really can't be remedied; they are more of a product of the land than anything. I think the designers did a fantastic job with what they had, and I can't justify lowering the rating because of this.
Other Thoughts: I first played Carter Park back on 4/3/2010, and it didn't help that it was during a huge thunderstorm, and that when tossing into the wind, my discs ended up behind me. It was insane, but totally worth it. My original review was only 2.5/5, as I couldn't get a great feel for the course in the monsoon. After playing again, I'm upping my rating a full disc as it is a really nice course and the layout maxed the land's potential. This has become a destination course of sorts for me, and IMO is the best course in the greater Toledo area. Definitely recommended!

 Windmaster fun

5+    9/18/2009   10/30/2009
Review By: o01shadow
Played: 42  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course offers a solid mix of open and wooded holes, which combine to test your power and finesse. Playing through an orchard for the middle and over a gently rolling field on the ends, this course has a majority of solid holes that are fun to play.

The park itself is easy to get to from the highway and is easy to follow once you get on it.

There are very few opportunities to lose discs and more than one opportunity to ace, so taking risky shots is not necessarily bad.

The course has a generous par, so feel good scores are easy to come by if you play consistently.

Each tee is concrete and is accompanied by a hole sign, so it is clear which pin you are shooting at.
Cons: This course can be very windy, so high loopy throws will be punished.

During the fall the orchard can be hazardous due to fallen and decomposing fruit, which loves to get on your disc.

Aside from two or three holes, the course is basically flat, which is almost unavoidable in this part of Ohio, but still is kinda monotonous.

A few holes are overly simple, which can be boring if you are a serious player.
Other Thoughts: This course is fairly busy on pretty days, but the traffic is never really that big of a problem.

Watch out for yellow jackets, for they are unavoidable during the fall.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 i love this course

5+    7/7/2009   10/7/2009
Review By: andrewkh
Played: 54  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 7.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: mostly open and long holes. this course is great for learning to rip some long drives but has several shorter more technical holes that play threw short groves of trees to add variety.
Cons: this course is near a state university and is often packed with college kids. also, some of the trees here have massive thorns on them so dont get a disc stuck in the tree
Other Thoughts: due to some of the distances on this course i wouldnt recommend it to a brand new player. but for anyone looking for a course to learn to throw farther, this course will make you go for it

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nice to practice

5+    6/27/2009   9/16/2009
Review By: bthoma1
Played: 36  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 7.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/3/2010
Pros: There aren't that many people here which makes for a nice easy walk. If you like easy this is the course to go to. There are a lot of wide open holes and then the course goes back into some small apple trees, but nothing to worry about if you slow your throw down and concentrate.
Cement pads and nice baskets.
Cons: Not to demanding. There are really no elevation changes..maybe one now that I think of it.
For a beginner it is hard to navigate. Wind is also a big issue. It is very windy in this part of town which can lead to some difficult throws. Atleast it has been windy everytime I have been there(10+)
There are a few holes by the road which can be bad, but if you just wait for the few cars that go by you should be ok
Would have loved a few more challenges, but no big deal

Other Thoughts: This course is clearly a park first, disc golf park second.
A few holes are by apartment buildings..just watch your throws
overall a good local park that wasn't far from my house.
If I lived in the area I would want more courses, because I would not want this one as my "home" course

 Not Visitor Friendly

1    6/9/2009   6/10/2009
Review By: lylemccoon
Played: 89  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 19.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a well manicured course in a scenic park setting. It is very family friendly with playgrounds and shelters nearby.

From a disc golf standpoint, the course is longer than it seems with few holes under 250 feet. Many of the shots are challenging and variously require hyzer shots, anhyzer shots, and overhand shots.

The course has quality, DGA baskets (although some are starting to show their age), adequate signs, and good-sized tee pads.

Perhaps the nicest thing about this course is that there is practically no schule to throw in. It would be hard to lose a disc on this course.
Cons: The course has a number of design issues as well as not being the easiest course to navigate if you have never played it and lack a map (there was no course map posted or available when we played).

First, hole number one, while being "near the water tower," is actually the 4th closest hole to the water tower. In fact, you have to walk past the practice basket and hole 18's basket to get to the first tee, and there is no sign letting you know where it is. The only reason we found it was that a local happened to arrive right before we did.

After hole 2, we walked over to the next tee pad which was hole 12?!? We finally found a very narrow path through a hedge row that took us across a road to another part of the park where we found hole 3. A similar situation occurs after hole 5 (this time without the hedge row) and after hole 11. In none of these cases was there any signage directing players where to go.

There is a flow issue with hole 17 as you have to backtrack across 18's tee pad and across a road to get to it. I actually saw a local just skip this hole altogether and go straight from 16 to 18.

More serious, however, especially for tournament play, is the fact that many of the fairways interfere with each other. Even mildly errant shots end up right in the line of fire of another hole. The most serious (and, frankly, dangerous) of these is on hole 9. When standing on the tee pad for 9, one is only about 30 feet away from hole 6's tee pad and directly in the flight path of a hyzer shot or grip lock. I for one would not stand on this pad while people were throwing off of 6, nor would I throw off of 6 with people on 9.

Similarly, if one has the arm, a couple of holes could result in discs dangerously overthrown into shelters.

Another potentially dangerous condition on the course is a 4-inch metal(?) bar that is flush with the ground at the end of each tee pad. This metal bar is very slippery, even when completely dry, and has twisted ankle (or worse) written all over it on any throw that carries the thrower beyond the end of the tee pad.

Another downside of the course is that many of the tee pads do not actually point at their baskets. Combined with the less-than-detailed signs and multiple baskets being in view, at times it was difficult to tell which basket was that hole's actual target. (I guessed completely wrong on hole 7.)

The course lacks any elevation change or water hazards, and some of the "fairways" would require either a very lucky shot between extremely tight trees (5 foot wide gaps) or a shot over the top. In other words, no obvious "fairway" could be seen (e.g., hole 6).
Other Thoughts: Many of the cons I listed are only cons the first time you play. After that, and for locals, I am sure it is a good course. There are some injury concerns, but for casual play, they don't really come into play.

The course is in a great location for travelers on I-75 as it is easy to find and only a couple minutes off the freeway. Plus, since it is relatively easy with few lost disc opportunities, it plays very fast.

I liked the course, but I also recognize that it has some serious design issues and poor directional signage. With that said, I would go back and play it again, and I would also recommend it to fellow travelers as worth the stop off of the freeway.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.