Bowling Green, OH 
Carter Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #18
3 / 276ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Good course

5+    7/20/2014   7/21/2014
Review By: Jernewt
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.5 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very clean
Easy to follow
New design and technique due to cut trees and newly planted ones
Cons: Very high pars for total distance, doesn't give a challenge
Other Thoughts: Very nice course for beginners. Allows easy tees, but can baby players. Most courses I've played are all par threes, but this course only has half par threes.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great Space to Play

5+    8/9/2013   8/13/2013
Review By: DiscGolfJason
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of space to play. Holes have a good mix of left and right turns. There is also a good balance of long and short holes. I like that the course has a bit of a pace to it. The holes start long and then go through a wooded area and then you go through another stretch of longer holes until you reach two birdie-able holes to finish out the round. There is a practice basket with around the world markers on the ground. There is a water fountain and a bathroom on the grounds which I've come to appreciate as too many courses lack this feature.
Cons: Recent storms have downed some trees. This has caused some holes to be overly accessible. Carter can be windy at times and near unplayable but a ton of fun. It has been crowded in recent years and usually during the season when kids are on campus.
Other Thoughts: Overall a very polished experience. In my travels I haven't seen many better so I've pretty happy to call it my home course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Home course

5+    12/3/2012   12/4/2012
Review By: Coal train
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.3 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Located in a well maintained city park.
Great practice hole.
Good course for all kinds of skill levels!
Friendly people.
trying to find it is easy. Look for the Giant Bowling Green water tower!
Cons: Can get crowded in the evenings.
maybe confusing for first time players.
The city park has cut down alot of trees and bushes making it somewhat less chalanging
Other Thoughts: I have been playing this course for awhile since it is near where i live.I always have a good time playing this course!

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.


2-4    10/10/2012   10/24/2012
Review By: AdamE
Played: 211  Reviewed: 143  Exp: 10.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Carter Park is located just across the street from BGSU and is right off the highway so it's a great place for students and a convenient stop for travelers to play. There are tee signs at each hole attached to medium sized pyramid shaped piece of concrete making the tees easier to find. The tee pads are concrete and there are DGA baskets.

The course is mostly flat with large mature trees as well as a handful of holes with some kind of apple trees. There is no underbrush so the possibility of losing a disc is extremely minimal.

There's good variety here. Roughly one third of the holes are open, one third have some large mature trees and the last third have the apple trees.

The orchard holes are definitely some of the coolest holes on this course. Their low ceiling forces you to keep the shot low or try a big shot over the top.
Cons: The course has some minor navigation issues. Finding hole 1 isn't terribly obvious as it is not the closest hole to the parking lot. After hole 2 there's an unmarked walk across the road to hole 3. After hole 16 you walk past 18's tee and cross the road to play 17.

I feel there are a few areas where safety is a concern on the course. Hole 10 is the shortest hole on the course at 192 feet and the tee pads for holes 6 and 9 are in or on the edge of the circle of 10's basket which is much too close IMHO. A drive from 16's pad can easily land on 18's pad. A few other holes and fairways felt a little cramped together so watch out for other people on the course.

There is no shot diversity here. Even with the mature trees, much of the course is wide open. Only one hole forces a turnover shot, the rest are straight or hyzer shots.

The tee signs are just ok. They don't provide a good illustration of some holes. Most holes are very straight forward so this isn't an issue, but on hole 7 I threw at the wrong basket, it was difficult to locate 14's basket and on 18 I almost threw at the practice basket. This won't be an issue after you played a round or two here.
Other Thoughts: This is a good course to introduce new players to the sport which is great with BGSU less than a mile away. The variety of hole distances, trees and orchard will challenge a wide variety of players and keep them coming back for more.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Tragic example of what NOT to do to a course

5+    9/30/2005   9/30/2012
Review By: Puckstopper
Played: 19  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 13.2 Years
This review was updated on 11/28/2012
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Updated after playing for the first time in 8 years 11/22/12
I'm leaving my original review as a tribute to a course that used to be very good and is now very average.


(No longer true)Mix of open and wooded holes.

(No longer true)Forces you to try different shots.

Perfect course for beginners,(<--True, now false-->) but challenging enough to keep long time players interested.

Well maintained park and short rough make it virtually impossible to lose a disc, which is a good thing, since...
Cons: ...Nearby college ensures the course is almost always packed. Fortunately, pace of play is good, and people are considerate about letting faster groups by.

Adding a few selectively placed trees would make the opening few holes more interesting.

(Update:) Massive removal of trees makes this course too easy and has highlighted how close some tees are to other baskets.
Other Thoughts: (update:) Carter Park has been scalped! The signature, formerly extremely difficult holes 6 and 7 have lost over 20 large trees and are now virtually wide open holes. Other holes in this area have been thinned out significantly as well meaning that it's no longer safe to have certain tees in their current positions, as the open conditions encourage shots OVER those tees! Some moron didn't think before they busted out their chainsaw! In addition to the massive overthinning of the orchard area they have also removed a humongous oak tree that used to guard the basket on hole 12 leaving this as an overly easy straight shot, and they've also removed a huge patch of scrub bushes and trees that guarded the 16th pin. Overall this is now a boring course that will only interest beginners. Don't waste your time.


This is where I learned to play, and I used to shoot par or better using nothing but a Champion Eagle, so it's more than accessible for beginners. Given the proximity of BGSU, this is perfect, as it brings lots of people to our sport. However, as you add discs to your bag, this course becomes much more playable. Its a course that allows new players to enjoy the game, and then teaches them to evolve their game.

Some people want to nitpick the fact that the course is mostly open. They are obviously NOT locals, as when the infamous Blowing Green winds kick up, this course plays entirely differently than it does on a calm day, and par becomes an accomplishment instead of an expectation.

Now that I'm back to playing after an 8 year layoff, I can't wait to play Carter next time I visit BG.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Gem of BG

5+    8/4/2012   9/12/2012
Review By: jasonorzel
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.3 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Cement tee pads with exceptional tee signs numbering each hole and providing the hole par, distance, and a somewhat detailed map of the hole (some maps better than others)
Cons: BG is known for its windy weather and that can be a burden while playing sometimes, but hey weather adds an obstacle to the game and gives it a fun twist which can be different every time you play
Other Thoughts: the last time i played the basket from hole 16 was missing, not sure if it was stolen or removed for maintenance, anyways, after a few times playing towards where the basket should be we changed to playing it as if the practice basket was the target and treating it as a par 5

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/2/2012   8/4/2012
Review By: thewishman
Played: 67  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Clean
Tee pads are easy to find with raised hole maps
Well mowed
Long and short holes
Cons: Completely flat
Minimal use of trees as obstacles
Basket on 16 is missing
Other Thoughts: Was hoping for more of a challenge with an almost 3.5 rating. First thought to rate course at 3 for the clean, well maintained park, but decided on 2.5 for the easiness of the course. The middle holes make use of trees, but the other holes, not so much.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    6/18/2012   6/29/2012
Review By: DG_Josh
Played: 14  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4 Years
Pros: -Since it is in a city park it is well maintained.
-Decent mix of holes; long, short, open, and some lightly wooded.
-Good use of space.
Cons: -Baskets are not clearly marked and some holes can get confusing the first time playing.
-Can easily get crowded with the nearby university.
Other Thoughts: This is a good course, but is far from being a great course. It's a fun park course to throw around in, but it lacks overall challenge and I found myself easily scoring birdies and eagles. However, for being a park course in a very flat part of Ohio, it is a well designed and maintained course. Definitely worth playing if you're passing through Bowling Green, but probably not worth going out of your way to play.

 Carter Park

1    6/23/2011   6/24/2011
Review By: jchlody
Played: 8  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Not a challenging course
-Nice baskets
-Concrete tee pads
-Maintained very well
-Nice signs at the tee off spot
-Mostly medium to short holes, but some distance throws
-Fast pased course
Cons: -I think it was difficult to navigate for the first time playing there
-Holes run up and down near each other so fairways are close
-LOTS of traffic on the road that runs through the course
Other Thoughts: I thought this was a nice course, but being my first time there, i had trouble throwing at the wrong basket. The first hole has basket 14 just to the right of the fairway so i started off throwing at the wrong hole. I would say that the course is not that challenging and if there wasn't any wind i would have had a lot better score than throwing even. There are a lot of technical holes where the trees play a big factor in your throw. I used my tomahawk throw more than anything. This is a nice course, but I won't go out of my way to play this course again.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Enjoyable Round

1    7/16/2010   11/16/2010
Review By: hooked312
Played: 34  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 12/15/2010
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - A mix between wide open shots and some lightly wooded holes.
- Good for beginners, not extremely challenging, yet has a few holes that will challenge any players.
- Good signs and easy to navigate
- Fun, quick round if your looking to squeez in a few rounds.
Cons: - Some of the holes are pretty boring and including the first 3-4.
- Until you get in the trees not much to challenge besides distance and maybe wind.
- Trees can be dangerous with thorns.
- Can get busy, but most of the people were friendly.
Other Thoughts: I had a fun time playing a different course in NW Ohio. Glad I played it, but most likely will not go out of my way to play again.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.