Upper Sandusky, OH 
Upper Sandusky Reservoir DGC Share
Uploaded By: roadtripstuff Hole #5 (Taken 6/2009)
4 / 375ft.   3 / 525ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Red/Short Tee: Basket is right in the middle of the light at the end of the tunnel.



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Decent

1    8/25/2012   8/25/2012
Review By: lildragon
Played: 40  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 19.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Nice mixture of open vs wooded holes
- Concrete tee pads
- Multiple tee pads on some holes
- Wasn't busy of crowded on a late Sat morning
Cons: - Horrible signage. More than 1/2 of the signs are missing their info
- Next tee signs would do wonders to help navigation. With more than half the tee signs missing it makes for a confusing flow from hole to hole. (The wood stands are there, but the picture of the hole with the # and par are missing)
- Fairly bland shot selection, most holes are straight away
Other Thoughts: This wasn't a bad place to play, just wasn't very exciting. If i was passing thru or lived less than an hour from the course I would say it's worth checking out at least once.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Very Fun

1    4/3/2012   4/13/2012
Review By: Float
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Love the woods here nothing makes it more fun then trying to find a way threw the woods. Holes 1,3 and 18 all open the rest of in the trees. Recently mowed and looked nice.Clean park didn't see any trash on the ground nor did I leave any :)
Cons: It had rained earlier that day and found myself dodgin alot of mud holes. But looks like if I had waited a day most of it would have dried up.
Other Thoughts: Loved the last hole threw most of my disc trying to get an ace but just didn't happen :P
I will try and play here again course is really nice and nicely laid out.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Solid Course

1    8/20/2011   8/25/2011
Review By: ChargerRacing
Played: 15  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - A lot of fun holes.
- You are forced to use a lot of different shots.
- Well designed fairways and pin placements. While there were some holes that I dropped strokes on, there were no holes that I found myself getting frustrated with.
- The course was well maintained.
- Alternate teepads.
Cons: - No real standout holes.
- First three holes, while a good way to warm up, are not very challenging and kind of boring.
- While it was dry when I played, the course seemed like it could easily be covered in water.
- The signage was sometimes present and sometimes not.
Other Thoughts: This was a very fun course to play, and while it has its problems, I was left with a good final impression. If you're in the area, I'd definitely recommend playing a round here, just make sure to bring some bug spray.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Upper Reservoir

2-4    6/18/2011   6/21/2011
Review By: jchlody
Played: 8  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Course has concrete pads
-Good mix of open holes and technical holes
-Maintained pretty well
-DisCatcher baskets
-Not many places for people to be in the way
-Bike/Walking Trail and the Reservoir offer other things to do at this park
Cons: -Kind of confusing when you cross the bridge
-Holes 8-10 are confusing if you haven't played there
-Hole 9 ends at the other side of the course so if you only want to play 9, its no where near the parking lot
Other Thoughts: Overall this course is great. This is the 3rd time I have played the course and I love it. I will definately drive over to Upper more often to play this course, and I will bring my poles and go fishing when I am done playing DG!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Recently Redone

2-4    1/6/2011   1/6/2011
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 187  Reviewed: 150  Exp: 6.8 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
I played this course at 2010 PDGA AM Worlds for Mixed Doubles (Alt Shot) and Singles. The configuration used was a mixture of short and long tee boxes. Due to recent area changes the course had just been redesigned to utilize a new area of the park (as such some of the older reviews here are now out of date). The new holes were rough with no beat in fairways yet and a feel of freshly cut wood. A few holes have some good elevation changes, one up, two or three down. The existing concrete tees are nice and the baskets are all in good shape. The fairways are pretty well defined and all fair. Hole #5 is one of those great holes that can make or break your round relative to your competition: a very long straight tunnel shot starting from an elevated tee position... go for broke off the tee and land in the fairway then a great upshot can give you a putt for three when others are zig-zagging back and forth from the adjacent woods carding fives, sixes and worse. There's a nice mix of open, sparsely wooded, and technical holes on this course. Holes #12-#17 are shorter, technical wooded holes that require you to hit a specific line to get into birdie position; they're all reachable even by shorter throwers. This course is located off the beaten path and you won't see many drive-bys out here which means it probably isn't crowded very often.
Cons:
Not a lot of parking available close by for this course without utilizing the adjacent dirt roadside parking. It would appear that the water nearby never really comes into play unless it has recently rained and then the new part of the course is probably very muddy and has some standing water. Navigation from #5 to #6 may not be obvious (head right over the bridge). Navigation from #11 to #12 may not be obvious (head back over the bridge along the path and #12's tee is up on the left). The tee pad for #6 is painted on the walkway/road and is angled at the wrong direction.
Other Thoughts:
It looks like hole #15 had and unfinished long tee box that would turn that from a pretty easy birdie hole into a tough '3' or '4' hole. There's another course very nearby on property that's still very new and under development. Hitting up both courses help improve the attractiveness of heading out to play this course.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Host to 2010 Am Worlds

1    5/8/2010   5/19/2010
Review By: zud00
Played: 118  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 6.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -This course offers plenty of variety from open to wooded holes, long to short, and left as well as right turning holes. Fairways are very fair allowing a route to the pin.
-Dual tees are available at most holes as well as a number of concrete tees.
-Navigation was fairly easy with one exception; course had a nice flow.
-Baskets are in great shape.
-Great use of elevation where possible.
-Restrooms avaialable at the parking lot.
Cons: -Some gravel tees (footing was fine, tees just need a little work)
-Signs were not all correct or present (this will probably be taken care of before the AM Worlds, therefore I am not taking this into consideration while rating the course).
Other Thoughts: This course is just about a mile or so off of US 30, which means I will be by to visit it during my travels to see my family. Signs were posted along the roads pointing in the direction to the course which was wonderful.

I really love how this course has a great amount of variety. You begin with three holes out in the open, each of which play differently. After the opening three, two wooded holes await you. Hole 5 is purely awesome, especially from the long tees.

After hole 5, make sure to cross the bridge to play holes 6-11 (tee off for 6 from the sidewalk just across the bridge). These 6 holes offer yet something diffferent from the first 5. They play through mature growth, some short, some long. A walking path winds through, so be cautious of pedestrians. Hole 11 seemed ridiculous from the longs, as you had to be creative with your shot selection.

Cross the bridge back to finish up holes 12-18. This is where the course gets a bit technical. Tight wooded fairways reward good shots and punish the bad. These holes can make a difference on your score card.

All in all, this course is very awesome. Bring all the shots in your bag as you will most likely use them all and then some. The scenery is beautiful, it alone is enough to make one want to visit the reservoir. I highly recommend this course to anyone and everyone. Short tees are great for the less experienced and the long tees will challenge the experienced. I look forward to stopping by here on my travels:)

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 1st Impression

1    5/15/2010   5/16/2010
Review By: Technohic
Played: 15  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 10/4/2010
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: +Nice concrete tees
+Good variety of distances and shots
+Makes good use of the elevation and terrain
+Visible effort of work being done to improve the course
Cons: -Still has some work to be done. Not really bad, but to be clear, while I realise it is a process, at this moment in time it makes some navigation rough and that clearly is back from hole 6 through 11.

Will revisit this course later and update my review as I dont think it is fair to be too negative given the work being done
Other Thoughts: This is a really nice course. I didnt find it overly difficult or on a not so good not, very challenging but all in all, fun to play.

I have been playing for a while and took a friend who had just started playing a couple months ago. It was enjoyable for me as a more experienced player and even more enjoyable to a new disc golfer.

I played all holes as 3s while my friend played the generous marked par which made for a good time with a nice handicap.

Look forward to comming back to see the end of the work being done.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 I love this course

2-4    10/10/2009   10/10/2009
Review By: Bikinimower
Played: 139  Reviewed: 67  Exp: 12.1 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Best Possible use of available land
Not too Crowded
Good mix of open and wooded holes
Good shot variety
Great for experienced players and beginners
Generous Pars make for low scores and high self esteem
Back 9 is very Scenic
Cons: Some of the Signs needed Replacing
Difficult to Locate the Park
Other Thoughts: I've been there twice now and got lost both times. The course itself is worth it. The front 9 are open field distance holes good for letting er Rip. But the back 9 makes the course, It's wooded and beautiful and is dense but not Frustratingly dense. I would recommend this course for both local players and road trippers. I've almost completed every 18 hole course in Ohio and this one is in my top 10!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Peaceful Course

2-4    6/13/2009   6/14/2009
Review By: roadtripstuff
Played: 110  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 11.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/22/2011
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Great variety and layout
Maintained nicely
Easy to navigate
Really quiet and never crowded
Very clean
Course has nice flow
Trash cans throughout
Short and long tees on each hole
Cons:
Natural tees on back nine that do get slick
A couple of the tee signs could use new maps and a couple were missing altogether
Other Thoughts:
Course can be a little difficult to find on your first trip there. It is located beside the reservoir and right in one of the neighborhoods, so when you are coming into the park you may feel that you aren't heading in the right direction, but you are. I updated the directions with what I found to be the quickest and best route there, they had updated some streets and renamed them.

The course itself is pretty nice. The font nine are mostly open, but there is some good use of some mature trees and some small, but good elevation changes. The wind can also make these front nine hole a bit more challenging. The front nine are pretty clear of rough except for around the edges. The only real way into it would be a case of griplock and if this happens it could ruin your round pretty quick. The rough around the edges is pretty thick and is full of brush, my buddy tossed his X -out roc in there on hole nine and it never came back out (well not for us at least).

The back nine are wooded. After hole nine you walk into the woods and down the hill to ten, it is marked with signs so you should have no issues locating it. Once you are into woods the back nine switch from the concrete tees that were on the front nine to natural tees. They are all clearly marked, long and short, but most could really use some work. When we were there it was a little wet out and most of them were unplayable, we just teed off from behind the original tees. The wooded holes continue to vary in distance and most are also very technical. The rough is heavily wooded but is pretty clear of brush and undergrowth, so locating stray discs wasn't that difficult. The hard part about getting back from a bad throw is finding a path back out, there are very few clear routes back out, trees are abundant so a lot of times you may find yourself just tossing out and taking the extra stroke. One other issue we had with the wooded holes was some of the fairways. The don't have grass and are mostly just dirt. This is an issue when it has been raining, you can't get good footing on your fairway shots because you are standing in mud. I would suggest putting in some mulch or something along those lines to improve traction for approach shots.

Overall the course was really good. If there is any question where you need to go next there are signs to direct you. There are short and long tees on every hole, some of the long tees are excellent, they add length and challenge to the hole. Other long tees weren't so well thought out in my opinion, a few of them are about 30 feet behind the short tees, and add no extra challenge to the hole. The pros of this course definitely out weigh the cons, so if you are thinking of giving this course a shot I would highly recommend it. This is also one of the cleanest courses that I have played so please keep it that way and use the trash cans that they have placed throughout the course.

This course is also located on a nice little reservoir, so there are other activities in the area as well. The course is located next to the boat launch area, and there is picnic areas and restrooms located in the park as well.


8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging but Fun!

1    9/30/2008   9/30/2008
Review By: FrankieG
Played: 53  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 26.4 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Challenging open hole and challenging wooded holes.

Concrete tees for both red and blue

Clearly marked and good flow
Cons: Teepads are a bit short and tees in woods are boxed but are natural not concrete

First few holes are somewhat boring but it picks up quickly!
Other Thoughts: Parking will probably be a problem for tournaments and the first 5-6 holes are right near homes and yards but they don't really come into play.

Course makes you think on most of the open holes and really makes you think on the back nine.

Wooded holes have mostly tight and fair fairways and the ones that are a little lucky will probably open up over time (this was probably part of the plan).

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.