Tampa, FL 
USF Riverfront Park Share
Uploaded By: RussMB Hole #2 (Taken 3/2013)
3 / 341ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Mid-Fairway



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Variety Packed

1    6/23/2013   6/23/2013
Review By: davmer2303
Played: 25  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 1.9 Years
This review was updated on 3/16/2014
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: * Large amount of variety! Front and back nine are completely different!
* Signs are clear, pads are nice, and the course follows a good logical flow (other than 18)
* Good shot shaping is needed, especially on the back nine, I found myself considering all my throws.
* Scenery is gorgeous if you like river and woods.
* Huge fun factor. Course has many holes that can be birdied with well designed shots.
* Course was very well maintained in a nice area.
* Baskets are logically placed for maximum challenge.
Cons: * Because this park is for USF students, it is important, (if you are not,) to be on your best behavior. They have every right to ask you to leave if you are not a student or have not been invited by one. Essentially, do the right thing, don't litter, be respectful, and you will probably be fine.
* Hole 18 is quite far away from 17....It is located in the same open field as 1 to 9.
* I'm a Florida guy, and am familiar with the swampy areas and love them. BUT! do bring insect repellant. Do not expect the mosquitoes not to be around. They will be there, and I would assume will consider you a wonderful friend for entering their domain.
Other Thoughts: This is an easy to locate course that is property of USF (see above) The front nine plays in a reasonably open area near the beautiful Hillsborough River. Trees and scrub palmetto are used to make the front nine moderately challenging. The back is very tight, with curving tunnel shots, trees and more palmetto. the distances aren't too long, and other than 18, most holes played 220 to 290. Nonetheless, it was a very fun course to play that echoed some of the better technical courses in the area. The park is full of other activities, such as fishing, wall climbing and canoeing. The front nine is very exposed to other park activities, so watch where you throw. There is an active Sunday handicap, and this is definitely a course that I hope to play frequently.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Great par 3 course!

2-4    1/9/2013   1/9/2013
Review By: larrod25
Played: 32  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice park with along the river and swamp. Great tour of the local flora and fauna, probably some reptiles in the warmer months.

Holes were all manageable lengths, and would be a very beginner friendly course.

Nice tee signs on every hole, concrete pads on every hole.
Cons: Tee pads seem a little short, I had to shorten my run up on a few holes.

Tee pad for hole 5 is dangerously close to the hole 4 basket, especially considering the best line is a skip hyzer shot that goes directly towards the pad.

Navigation between hole 17 and 18 causes you to walk across the 10th and then 9th fairway. Could be dangerous on busy days.

Hole 18 basket is way to close to the throwing line for hole 1, and unnecessarily so. The 18 basket should be where the practice basket is.
Other Thoughts: Really enjoyable round! There were plenty of other DG'ers around to follow, so navigating the course was really easy. No long holes, so this one was really friendly for a noodle arm like me. I was able to birdie several holes on my first round.

I liked the course so much I played it twice! I imagine this course could be an entirely different experience in the summer/rainy months. I played the course in January, and it was 80 degrees outside and relatively dry. Heat and rain/standing water could really add some difficulty to this course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Updates and Information

5+    6/20/2010   6/26/2010
Review By: zeppelin
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 10.5 Years
This review was updated on 12/25/2010
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Other Thoughts: A recent change to this course is the relocation of the #17 Hole to the forest section of the course. This eliminates an unnecessary hazard (the shed) and resolves the safety issue noted by another reviewer.
For your information, the open hours of the park are 10:00 AM to dusk. It is closed according to the USF Campus Recreation schedule available at: http://usfweb2.usf.edu/CampRe...dar/index.htm


2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Wonderful Campus Course

1    1/8/2010   1/9/2010
Review By: Roller Coasters
Played: 39  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 10.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The riverfront park setting for this course is great. It has concrete tees and good tee signs. It has a great mix of open and wooded shots between the two nines. There are lots of picnic tables. The tee for hole #1 is right next to the parking lot as is the basket for hole #18.
Cons: The course has Innova Discatcher baskets with single chains. These have to be the worst baskets in disc golf.
Other Thoughts: I loved this park. The section of the park by the river has an amazing feel to it. There are huge cypress trees that stretch over the river with multiple knees around. There is moss hanging from the trees that stretches down to the water of the river. The first nine holes are in the open section of the park, but have obstacles and challenge to them. Be careful on hole #4. The tee shot is heading straight toward the river. The tee sign says that it is 290 feet toward the hole. I'm pretty sure that if you throw 290 feet, your disc will be in the middle of the river. It played more like 225 feet to the basket. The back nine is cut out of the woods. From reading the reviews I was a little worried about playing the back nine by myself, but it was not nearly as bad as described. Perhaps it is because I'm used to playing the North Fort Myers course, but this back nine seem pretty open. There are the dreaded palmettos, but they are not nearly as thick as many other Florida courses.

This park is a multi-use student park. There is a very elaborate ropes course right near the entrance. There were about 25 people using the ropes course when I got there. It turns out that I was lucky to have been able to play the course. It was only open because there was a ropes training group there and I had to rush through the last two holes because they were closing the park. The park is only open when school is in session. If you are here during Christmas break or Spring break you will be out of luck. You may want to check the school calendar before making the drive.

It is a wonderful course and I had a great time playing it. I would rank it up as one of the Bay area's best courses.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Great Course

5+    4/5/2009   4/6/2009
Review By: RoseCandy
Played: 11  Reviewed: 1
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I like the combination of the open holes and the wooded holes that USF has. The front 9 along with 17 and 18 are mostly open with the rest being back in the woods and palmettos. I have never seen more than 15 players at one time so never a wait for the next hole. Everyone is friendly and park is very clean. This course can easily be pared with many birdie holes.
Cons: Yes this course is for USF students and staff members, but no one will bother you as long as you respect the park and look like you know what your doing. Hole #1 is directly in front of parking lot. And keep track of the time, they close at 7pm sharp.
Other Thoughts: On hole 2 the picnic area is about 70 feet on your left. The basket is straight ahead and water to your right 50 feet. If someone has a problem throwing with a large canvas, then they will be in trouble in the woods. Beginners only will have to watch out for water hazard/pavilion. Also don't overthrow on #4. Its a short hole and river is about 30' behind basket. Hole #8 is tight but can possibly birdie with a straight low drive fade slight left, or with a perfect roller. On your first visit, you may want to have a spotter on some of the back holes until you learn the paths. And I wouldn't use a green disc in the woods.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.