Tampa, FL 
USF Riverfront Park Share
Uploaded By: RussMB Hole #18 (Taken 3/2013)
3 / 385ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Basket to Tee

Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Fun golf on the River

2-4    4/18/2015   4/18/2015
Review By: macfleming1
Played: 37  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 32.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very nice park setting. Front nine winds around a semi-open area, making good use of trees and staying outside picnic areas. Back nine is a little more wooded, including palmettos, but still has decent fairways. Good flow/easily navigated. Not overly long for this old man's arm, so nailing your line gives birdie opportunities. That makes for a good fun vs. frustration ratio. Decent shot variety, helped by two pin placements on quite a few holes and good signs describing the hole layouts. Baskets getting older, but are in fine shape.
Cons: I'm giving extremely small deductions for these cons, but they added up to a point way from perfect. Concrete tees are a little short (otherwise in good shape). Pro players would likely want greater distance. There are picnic tables near quite a few holes, but I suppose you can nitpick for benches, bag hangers, trash cans. No elevation to speak of, but hey, it's FL. Which reminds me: bring bug spray in hot weather.
Other Thoughts: This is a fabulous park for being so close to Tampa. The Hillsborough River is beautiful here, close to holes 1-5, but not really in play. I was plagued a bit by deer flies--didn't kill my first one till 16--they're smaller and faster than horse flies. Hole 14 has a small water hazard to the left of the fairway that I didn't expect, so beware fading left just short of the basket. The "USF-only" rule doesn't seem to be enforced here, but I haven't played here enough to say that conclusively. It's worth a try to play this gem of a course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Loved it, so played 2 rounds

2-4    1/4/2015   1/5/2015
Review By: dauenheimer
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Combination of deep woods and trees, with some water elements, as well as a few hills. Great tee blocks and baskets. Now they have a few alternate pin placements (10) that are very challenging if you have not played it in a while. Print the map from online just as a guide, but overall very easy to navigate.
Cons: A little muddy down by the water but that is to be expected. I would recommend to wear a nice shoe with good treat or you will miss a par put like I did and try and blame it on the mud.
Other Thoughts: Very friendly and helpful group of guys out there who gave us some tips and invited us back every Sunday. I have only played 3 courses, but I sure do love this one the best!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Not just for students

5+    6/20/2013   6/26/2013
Review By: Grit-N-Grind
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very clean course with good signage. There is a huge difference between the front 9(open) and back 9(wooded). I love this because it is an easy play for amatuer players and with its tight lines can still be a challenge for advanced players
Cons: Its not a very lengthy course, so big arms might have to hold back a little. You also have to be careful on the first for holes. Dependant upon the time of day there are a lot of non dgers walking through.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 go in and have a blast!

7/5/2006   7/5/2008
Review By: compn
Played: 56  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 19.5 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: nice course with florida flora. a bit sunny, and some holes circle a big jungle gym looking thing. clean park and empty when i visited.
Cons: private course. not 100% navigated, but can fake it to find the next tee.
Other Thoughts: the reviews and description of this park made me weary of trying it. i was in the area and gave it a shot. asked at the front desk, they said we werent supposed to be here, but said play on!

so if you are in the area, give it a try. at most they tell you to get lost.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.