Tampa, FL 
USF Riverfront Park Share
Uploaded By: RussMB Hole #7 (Taken 3/2013)
3 / 234ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Updates and Information

5+    6/20/2010   6/26/2010
Review By: zeppelin
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 10.4 Years
This review was updated on 12/25/2010
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Other Thoughts: A recent change to this course is the relocation of the #17 Hole to the forest section of the course. This eliminates an unnecessary hazard (the shed) and resolves the safety issue noted by another reviewer.
For your information, the open hours of the park are 10:00 AM to dusk. It is closed according to the USF Campus Recreation schedule available at: http://usfweb2.usf.edu/CampRe...dar/index.htm


2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Wonderful Campus Course

1    1/8/2010   1/9/2010
Review By: Roller Coasters
Played: 39  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 10.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The riverfront park setting for this course is great. It has concrete tees and good tee signs. It has a great mix of open and wooded shots between the two nines. There are lots of picnic tables. The tee for hole #1 is right next to the parking lot as is the basket for hole #18.
Cons: The course has Innova Discatcher baskets with single chains. These have to be the worst baskets in disc golf.
Other Thoughts: I loved this park. The section of the park by the river has an amazing feel to it. There are huge cypress trees that stretch over the river with multiple knees around. There is moss hanging from the trees that stretches down to the water of the river. The first nine holes are in the open section of the park, but have obstacles and challenge to them. Be careful on hole #4. The tee shot is heading straight toward the river. The tee sign says that it is 290 feet toward the hole. I'm pretty sure that if you throw 290 feet, your disc will be in the middle of the river. It played more like 225 feet to the basket. The back nine is cut out of the woods. From reading the reviews I was a little worried about playing the back nine by myself, but it was not nearly as bad as described. Perhaps it is because I'm used to playing the North Fort Myers course, but this back nine seem pretty open. There are the dreaded palmettos, but they are not nearly as thick as many other Florida courses.

This park is a multi-use student park. There is a very elaborate ropes course right near the entrance. There were about 25 people using the ropes course when I got there. It turns out that I was lucky to have been able to play the course. It was only open because there was a ropes training group there and I had to rush through the last two holes because they were closing the park. The park is only open when school is in session. If you are here during Christmas break or Spring break you will be out of luck. You may want to check the school calendar before making the drive.

It is a wonderful course and I had a great time playing it. I would rank it up as one of the Bay area's best courses.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Great Course

5+    4/5/2009   4/6/2009
Review By: RoseCandy
Played: 11  Reviewed: 1
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I like the combination of the open holes and the wooded holes that USF has. The front 9 along with 17 and 18 are mostly open with the rest being back in the woods and palmettos. I have never seen more than 15 players at one time so never a wait for the next hole. Everyone is friendly and park is very clean. This course can easily be pared with many birdie holes.
Cons: Yes this course is for USF students and staff members, but no one will bother you as long as you respect the park and look like you know what your doing. Hole #1 is directly in front of parking lot. And keep track of the time, they close at 7pm sharp.
Other Thoughts: On hole 2 the picnic area is about 70 feet on your left. The basket is straight ahead and water to your right 50 feet. If someone has a problem throwing with a large canvas, then they will be in trouble in the woods. Beginners only will have to watch out for water hazard/pavilion. Also don't overthrow on #4. Its a short hole and river is about 30' behind basket. Hole #8 is tight but can possibly birdie with a straight low drive fade slight left, or with a perfect roller. On your first visit, you may want to have a spotter on some of the back holes until you learn the paths. And I wouldn't use a green disc in the woods.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    1/11/2009   1/19/2009
Review By: jeremytf
Played: 14  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 28.1 Years
This review was updated on 1/19/2010
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Mix of some open and some tight holes, variety of obstacles and challenges. Usually not very busy. The seven tighter holes in the back nine have improved as they've gotten more use. After playing the tight holes, it's nice to have 17 and 18 out in the open to end on a couple different holes.
Cons: I would prefer a few more holes over 300 ft - #18 is really the only one, and too many holes are 200-250ft. Most of the back nine (except for 17 and 18) are similar tight holes that are rather overgrown (although better than they used to be) and easy to lose discs. A couple holes in the front nine are too close to picnic pavilion, so people are often too close, so you have to skip the hole or play it very safe to avoid hitting someone. In general, the course is mixed with many other activities going on. Fenced park for USF means limited hours. After heavy rains, the basket for hole 4 and tee for hole 5 can be underwater.
Other Thoughts: In general, this is a pretty nice course. It's also the closest course for those of us living in Tampa. Be careful not to lose a disc in the river! A few of the holes play very close to it. I agree with another reviewer - I've overshot hole 4 and landed in the river too...

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 go in and have a blast!

7/5/2006   7/5/2008
Review By: compn
Played: 43  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 18.2 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: nice course with florida flora. a bit sunny, and some holes circle a big jungle gym looking thing. clean park and empty when i visited.
Cons: private course. not 100% navigated, but can fake it to find the next tee.
Other Thoughts: the reviews and description of this park made me weary of trying it. i was in the area and gave it a shot. asked at the front desk, they said we werent supposed to be here, but said play on!

so if you are in the area, give it a try. at most they tell you to get lost.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Worth a visit with a USF student

1    6/6/2008   6/6/2008
Review By: denny ritner
Played: 161  Reviewed: 107  Exp: 16.3 Years
This review was updated on 4/23/2011
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The front nine is in a very attractive park that borders the Hillsborough river. Front nine holes are medium-long par 3's that are moderately tight and require a bit of shot-shaping.

The back 9 holes are shorter and more technical.

Overall, the course is fun and provides a bit of challenge.

***Note: This course is technically for "USF students only", but that requirement is rarely enforced.***
Cons: The back nine can become very overgrown and swampy at times, to the point of being unplayable. The schule off the fairways on the back nine is pretty nasty.

There are a couple safety routing errors, particularly egregious is hole 17 playing directly over hole 18's tee pad.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.