Richardson, TX 
UT Dallas Alumni DGC Share
Uploaded By: rainman Hole #1
3 / 200ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Basket



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
UT Dallas Alumni DGC

2-4    6/29/2016   6/29/2016
Review By: reezyF
Played: 102  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 7.9 Years
This review was updated on 7/29/2016
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: My three pros:

-I enjoy courses that have the 'fairways' mowed lower than the surrounding rough as it gives a ball golf feel and looks cool IMO. The fairways here at UTD were mowed nice and low while everything in between fairways was wildflowers and weeds from knee-high to chest high. Im not sure if the course looks this way during the winter and fall, which i assume is when the course photos were taken, but This course is unique in that it probably looks and plays pretty differently depending when the rough is so high. The rough was just high enough to make a fairway shot seem that much better and punish any errant shots with minutes of searching, providing some risk on otherwise safe holes...
-The flow of the course is intuitive and easy to follow, especially with mowed pathways between holes.
-There are decent signs, decent baskets, a buncha benches, several trashcans, and even a bridge to hole 1 from the neghborhood. There were probably more accomodations out at UTD than Ive seen at some full courses.
Cons: My three cons:

-PARKING- UGH driving through UTD brought me back to my college days of endless 'permit required' parking lots. My 1st time here I passed on the visitor pass route, didnt want to risk parking right next to the course due to permit only signs so i parked far away in a neighborhood, which also had no parking signs. Ive come back since and parked next to the course and just kept an eye on my car which is visible from most of the course and I havent had an issue yet.
-The rough is a nice feature that makes the course look cool but some areas are at disc eater level. It was easy to get overconfident, rip one a little wide and spend 5 minutes hunting. I felt lucky i didnt land in some patches of weeds b/c it would be a goner.
-As others mentioned the teepads are dirt patches that are rocky, uneven, short, slanted etc. - They're mostly not good. Concrete tees were the one thing the course was really lacking.
Other Thoughts: The other big comment that could be a pro or con is the hole length. Most holes seemed 200' or less with some trees here and there to add interest. I thought some holes seemed a little too short, but they are just right for a quick round between classes, after work or for beginners. The hole difficulty is somewhat helped or thwarted by the superduper rough, which would tear up any beginner or make the short holes a little more juicy for better players.
Overall I thought the course looked nice and was fun to play, but played a little too short, the parking is unsure and you will likey spend some time looking through the weeds.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Missed the Mark

2-4    9/3/2015   9/15/2015
Review By: Tommy2am
Played: 33  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 3.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -convenient central location
-quick play
-good parking
-nice baskets
-plenty of things close by (restaurants, shopping, etc.)
-beginner friendly
-good course flow
-it would be next to impossible to lose a disc here
-all holes are essentially aceable or birdieable (of course, for some, this could be a bad thing)
Cons: -Mostly open, vanilla holes
-dirt teepads that are too worn in to get a run up...or even a walk up without twisting an ankle
-there is plenty of room for more holes, why not make it an 18 hole course? 9 hole courses are always less desirable
-there is a heavily wooded tree line with a creek right by it...why didnt they use this in the design?? It could have been much better
-this area is kind of the black hole of DG courses in the metroplex. I know...I live nearby. There is nothing too great nearby. Audubon, jimmy porter, or Bill Allen are your closest best bets. If you are looking for a 9 hole, go up hwy 75 a bit and check out Bethany lakes.
Other Thoughts: This is "technically" my home course now, but I'm not claiming it. The only intetesting hole here is #3 which has a tree line on the left and a manicured tree "row" on the right. I see no reason why someone would play this unless they just like wide-open courses or they happen to be a student at utd with time to kill between classes.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Parking....

1    7/29/2015   7/30/2015
Review By: hotstang
Played: 159  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 5.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice little 9 hole course.
Fun for a quick round.
Good baskets.
Good mixture of distance.
Well maintained.
Good placement practice for staying in fairways.
Cons: Needs teepads.
No bathrooms.
Basically all flat.
No parking or have to pay for parking.
Other Thoughts: Anything as far as teepads would help.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

I attend UTD- course is rough.

5+    6/8/2015   6/8/2015
Review By: lineenil
Played: 10  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.1 Years
This review was updated on 6/25/2015
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: EDIT - I bumped my score up half a star for a few reasons. The newly marked fairways are looking great. They're outlined in wildflowers that are just starting to grow in, and what you can see has been amazing. It now seems to have been groomed up nicely. The water has drained and it is playable again. Further improvements are coming very soon and I'll update with more later. Expect this course to be looking AWESOME for Fall golf 2015. That's all I'm sayin'

---

I actually go to UTD so it is really awesome to have a course on campus. There's only so much complaining I can do when there's a course withing walking distance.

Short holes make for some reachable ace runs. However they keep it interesting with some good pin locations, behind or around trees to add challenge.

Just had many renovations with new signs, flowers, and few new trees.

A decent bit of variety makes for a solid practice course.
Cons: However also included in those renovations were god awful teeboxes. Even the dirt patch next to it is brutal. Whoever thought the small concrete square was good enough was wrong.

The creek and bushes can eat some discs and is pretty dense. Sometimes there are snakes and wasps to be found in there.

Very unkempt currently. Someone needs to mow hole number 5- it's pointless to play as the entire 250' field is three foot tall grass.
Other Thoughts: Decent for a course that is easy access, but actually very marginal. Teeboxes alone dock a star.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Decent for practice/quick game

5+    9/4/2013   9/5/2013
Review By: Quinum
Played: 26  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.3 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well-groomed course with fairly easy holes. Excellent for practice or a quick game when you don't have time to play through an 18-hole course.

The holes range from ~150 to ~400 or so with pretty straight-forward shots. Trees are really the only obstacles - no water hazards or anything unless you manage to get a disc into the creek located through the trees to the east.

Basket placement is interesting on a few of the holes (mainly 3, 6, 7, 9), which can give you good opportunities to practice your approach shots and hitting the correct angles. Also there is always the chance for an ace on most of these holes, which can be fun.
Cons: As others have said, the tee boxes are bad. I don't even use them when I play. I hope the university will fix them up, as this is the biggest issue with the course.

Parking can be a major problem when school is in session. Also, the university does ticket vehicles that don't have a parking sticker. You can get a free one-day pass at the Visitor Center (if you want to play by the rules) or just park in the neighborhood directly east of the course and take the bridge over the small creek onto the course.
Other Thoughts: I practice on this course quite a lot. In my opinion this is a good place to bring someone who is new to the sport, but experts probably won't find any challenge here.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  a practice course and nothing more

5+    6/6/2013   6/6/2013
Review By: lemonadestandguy
Played: 45  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.7 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very well maintained and discatcher baskets. If it is windy it does not get much better to work on windy upshots. very hard to lose a disc in the winter. Summer its possible but you can get it back if you aren't afraid of poison ivy.
Cons: terrible teepads. They use to be square about 6 feet long with a big log at the end but i believe all the logs on the back end of the tee pads have been removed allowing for a walk up. Save the trouble and throw from the side. Open field shots really. Woods on the right side of 1-4 have a crazy amount of poison ivy.
Other Thoughts: I go to UTD so i play this course quite often. Here is a tip to actually make this course fun. Play 2 rounds of 9 and while you do throw a second disc off 1 skipping baskets. So throw from 1-2 then 3-4, 5-6, 7-8, 9-1, leave your disc for the putt at 1 and go start your second round at 1's tee box then throw 2-3,4-5,6-7,8-9 to finish both rounds at 9's basket. Some of these holes are actually really fun 1-2,3-4,4-5,9-1 being my favorites. If you play it this way you can get in 27 holes of practice in under an hour and actually enjoy a few technical holes.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Yep...What they said

1    12/23/2011   12/27/2011
Review By: lajoie24
Played: 30  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 5.2 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good place to work out the "yips" or a new disc. If you have any kind of skill, 7 of the 9 holes will be "ace runs" for you. I liked the 3rd hole...it was the only challenging shot on the course. If you only have a few minutes to play, this is your course.
Cons: Tee boxes are awful. I wouldn't even use them.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Wish it were my college

1    5/27/2010   6/18/2010
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 240  Reviewed: 178  Exp: 9.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good beginner course. The design is easy to navigate and well thought. The holes are short and mostly open so advanced players will be aiming for birdie on all of them. It's pretty fun for a small beginner course.
Cons: Teeboxes are terrible. The holes aren't very long so you don't need much of a run-up but standing in the teeboxes is just awkward. I threw from behind them.

No real variety of shots. Just open looks with a few trees here and there.
Other Thoughts: This course is certainly not a DG destination but I would have been pretty happy to have a course like this when I was in college. It must be great to get a round in between classes.

Most experienced players will be bored here but it's a great place to bring new players where everyone can have a good time.

Like others, I parked in the close lot.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Is it a Sandbox or a Tee?

1    5/17/2010   5/17/2010
Review By: Donovan
Played: 235  Reviewed: 186  Exp: 29.5 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course now, uses some trees to make the holes somewhat interesting. This relatively flat location is 9 holes of "anyone can play here" expectations revealed. The use of the trees has given a couple of the holes some decent obstacles and considering the size of the area, the layout was actually thought through pretty well. Navigation here is a no brainer. The baskets are I good shape and there are some portable restrooms in the parking area. All and all, this is a good place to learn.
Cons: The parking option here is not the best. It's a long walk from the lot they give you to park in. These "tee boxes" are built like a wood enclosed sandboxes and they are not in good shape and not very long. They were supposed to have woodchips, but they are just pits now. These holes are almost too short to be enjoyable for most seasoned players.
Other Thoughts: The Fun Factor was a ho-hum. I enjoyed #3, but that was about it. There is nothing wrong with really short courses, except I would hate for first time players to think this is how tee boxes are for the sport. One more thought about the parking. The course took less than 20 minutes to play, so I figured I would be a gambling man and I just parked in the close lot.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Good for beginners

5+    5/8/2010   5/11/2010
Review By: guardianmol
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/26/2010
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's a great beginner course, very forgiving and you're not likely to lose a disc (though my fellow player almost managed it). A little tight that the beginning but opens up at Hole 4 on home. This tends to be a low traffic course.
Cons: Very short, you'll just be getting into a rhythm by the time you run out of holes. Not a lot of shade a bit of a hike from where you park. Tee boxes can use some love.
Other Thoughts: It seems they've added a few elevation changes, such as a mound in front of hole 1 and a decent size hill in the middle of hole 2. I don't know when these were added, but they're different from the pictures, so you will have a few blind shots. I like this course cause it's a close neighborhood course, so it's good for practice.

One thing i recommend is playing from behind the tee boxes. It gives you room to run up and adds a little distance to the holes, not enough to make it all that much longer, but still it beats having to do some kind of crazy gymnastics to stay in the tee box.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center