Richardson, TX 
UT Dallas Alumni DGC Share
Uploaded By: rainman Hole #3
3 / 250ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 a practice course and nothing more

5+    6/6/2013   6/6/2013
Review By: lemonadestandguy
Played: 41  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very well maintained and discatcher baskets. If it is windy it does not get much better to work on windy upshots. very hard to lose a disc in the winter. Summer its possible but you can get it back if you aren't afraid of poison ivy.
Cons: terrible teepads. They use to be square about 6 feet long with a big log at the end but i believe all the logs on the back end of the tee pads have been removed allowing for a walk up. Save the trouble and throw from the side. Open field shots really. Woods on the right side of 1-4 have a crazy amount of poison ivy.
Other Thoughts: I go to UTD so i play this course quite often. Here is a tip to actually make this course fun. Play 2 rounds of 9 and while you do throw a second disc off 1 skipping baskets. So throw from 1-2 then 3-4, 5-6, 7-8, 9-1, leave your disc for the putt at 1 and go start your second round at 1's tee box then throw 2-3,4-5,6-7,8-9 to finish both rounds at 9's basket. Some of these holes are actually really fun 1-2,3-4,4-5,9-1 being my favorites. If you play it this way you can get in 27 holes of practice in under an hour and actually enjoy a few technical holes.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Good Practice Course

5+    4/13/2010   4/13/2010
Review By: mwgheaton
Played: 55  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 13.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good use of small space and limited natural landscape. Well groomed. Great for beginner disc golfers and people working on their game.
Cons: Tee boxes are a bit small and some have underlayment sticking up through the mulch. But, only one hole is really long enough to require footwork, so it doesn't really make much difference.
Other Thoughts: I find this course a nice place to go and practice. It is a short drive for me and is almost always empty. With an empty course, I can re-throw shots, replay holes and practice putting. The mowed grass keeps the bugs at bay. Most short and groomed courses like this reside in city parks and tend be very busy with people playing or simply recreating nearby. This is not a park and UTD seems like more of a commuter campus than a residential campus, meaning the students drive home after class instead of playing a round.
Take a driver, but don't plan on using it much. I tee up a Roc on 6 out of the 9 holes. The course can be hot and windy. I recommend playing in the morning as the course plays along a creek with trees on the east that can provide morning shade. The afternoon can be brutal, but it is a short course, so it is bearable. Regardless, take some water with you.
If you don't want to mess with a parking pass, park on Lawnmeadow Drive just east of the campus off of Floyd. Walk across Floyd at the Crosswalk and you will find a footbridge that crosses the creek and comes out right at the 1st tee.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner Course

2-4    2/7/2009   2/20/2009
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 126  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 13.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great for beginners!! Very short, a decent player can reach everything. The have good baskets and tee signs. Very easy to follow as well. This course is pretty open there are some trees but not really a factor. No where to lose a disc which is good for beginners as well. Most holes avg 225-250 in length so its easy to shoot under par. You can play very fast( 20 min) by yourself. You can throw alot of shots and test new shots as well as the course doesnt share any of its space with anything else.
Cons: No shade and it open to the wind. Parking is usuallt far away so bring everything you need when you leave your car. Tee pads are akward, as with the other reviewer, I played behind them as they are uncomfortable.
Other Thoughts: Fun to go out and learn or to practice something new in the bag, wouldnt go out there just to play but if your in the neighborhood stop by

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Decent Course

1    10/8/2008   10/10/2008
Review By: Tortoise
Played: 14  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 6.7 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is well maintained. There are signs on every hole and the signs are correct. It is very hard to loose a disc the only hazard is a small drainage ditch/creek on holes 3 and 4. The baskets are in great shape. An easy par course for practice.
Cons: The tee boxes, for lack of a better word, SUCK. They are square wood boxes filled with mulch about 5 to 6 feet long. The course is pretty plain. There are no elevation changes and you can see the basket from the tee box on everyhole.
Other Thoughts: I didn't get much out of this course. I didn't use the tee boxes. If you play this course I recommend standing beside the tee boxes for your drive. The course played very quickly only about 25 to thirty minutes. The best thing I can think of about this course are the baskets. They are Innova Discatcher baskets and look almost brand new. Probably because the course doesn't get much traffic. I wouldn't go out your way to play this course. After playing I usually get a since of accomplishment of enjoyment. After playing this course I didn't feel much at all. Over all a pretty mediocre course. That could be a lot more enjoyable if they put in some concrete tees.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.