Richardson, TX 
UT Dallas Alumni DGC Share
Uploaded By: rainman Hole #9
3 / 234ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Decent for practice/quick game

5+    9/4/2013   9/5/2013
Review By: Quinum
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.4 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well-groomed course with fairly easy holes. Excellent for practice or a quick game when you don't have time to play through an 18-hole course.

The holes range from ~150 to ~400 or so with pretty straight-forward shots. Trees are really the only obstacles - no water hazards or anything unless you manage to get a disc into the creek located through the trees to the east.

Basket placement is interesting on a few of the holes (mainly 3, 6, 7, 9), which can give you good opportunities to practice your approach shots and hitting the correct angles. Also there is always the chance for an ace on most of these holes, which can be fun.
Cons: As others have said, the tee boxes are bad. I don't even use them when I play. I hope the university will fix them up, as this is the biggest issue with the course.

Parking can be a major problem when school is in session. Also, the university does ticket vehicles that don't have a parking sticker. You can get a free one-day pass at the Visitor Center (if you want to play by the rules) or just park in the neighborhood directly east of the course and take the bridge over the small creek onto the course.
Other Thoughts: I practice on this course quite a lot. In my opinion this is a good place to bring someone who is new to the sport, but experts probably won't find any challenge here.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Good for beginners

5+    5/8/2010   5/11/2010
Review By: guardianmol
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/26/2010
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's a great beginner course, very forgiving and you're not likely to lose a disc (though my fellow player almost managed it). A little tight that the beginning but opens up at Hole 4 on home. This tends to be a low traffic course.
Cons: Very short, you'll just be getting into a rhythm by the time you run out of holes. Not a lot of shade a bit of a hike from where you park. Tee boxes can use some love.
Other Thoughts: It seems they've added a few elevation changes, such as a mound in front of hole 1 and a decent size hill in the middle of hole 2. I don't know when these were added, but they're different from the pictures, so you will have a few blind shots. I like this course cause it's a close neighborhood course, so it's good for practice.

One thing i recommend is playing from behind the tee boxes. It gives you room to run up and adds a little distance to the holes, not enough to make it all that much longer, but still it beats having to do some kind of crazy gymnastics to stay in the tee box.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Practice

7/28/2008   7/28/2008
Review By: Frolffan24
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is one of those great practice courses. It is a very beginners course because its short. Its decently fun and i live 30 seconds away so a fun practice course. I wouldn't drive a long way to play but if you're in the neighbor hood give it a shot. easy par course.
Cons: Short, easy, not very good tee boxes.
Other Thoughts: Good for practice

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Great Beginner Course

7/21/2008   7/21/2008
Review By: jeremylbryant
Played: 15  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.1 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pretty, well groomed course. No pedestrians, or other obstacles. Nice, fun pin placement on most holes. Very easy.
Cons: Maybe too easy; experienced golfers will not be challenged. The tees are wood chips; therefore, bad traction - I throw from the side of the designated tees.
Other Thoughts: Great course for beginners. If you want to introduce someone to the sport, this is the perfect course.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.