Richardson, TX 
UT Dallas Alumni DGC Share
Uploaded By: rainman Hole #5
3 / 300ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee

Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 Next >
 Beginner Course

2-4    2/7/2009   2/20/2009
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 129  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 14.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great for beginners!! Very short, a decent player can reach everything. The have good baskets and tee signs. Very easy to follow as well. This course is pretty open there are some trees but not really a factor. No where to lose a disc which is good for beginners as well. Most holes avg 225-250 in length so its easy to shoot under par. You can play very fast( 20 min) by yourself. You can throw alot of shots and test new shots as well as the course doesnt share any of its space with anything else.
Cons: No shade and it open to the wind. Parking is usuallt far away so bring everything you need when you leave your car. Tee pads are akward, as with the other reviewer, I played behind them as they are uncomfortable.
Other Thoughts: Fun to go out and learn or to practice something new in the bag, wouldnt go out there just to play but if your in the neighborhood stop by

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Decent Course

1    10/8/2008   10/10/2008
Review By: Tortoise
Played: 14  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 7.7 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is well maintained. There are signs on every hole and the signs are correct. It is very hard to loose a disc the only hazard is a small drainage ditch/creek on holes 3 and 4. The baskets are in great shape. An easy par course for practice.
Cons: The tee boxes, for lack of a better word, SUCK. They are square wood boxes filled with mulch about 5 to 6 feet long. The course is pretty plain. There are no elevation changes and you can see the basket from the tee box on everyhole.
Other Thoughts: I didn't get much out of this course. I didn't use the tee boxes. If you play this course I recommend standing beside the tee boxes for your drive. The course played very quickly only about 25 to thirty minutes. The best thing I can think of about this course are the baskets. They are Innova Discatcher baskets and look almost brand new. Probably because the course doesn't get much traffic. I wouldn't go out your way to play this course. After playing I usually get a since of accomplishment of enjoyment. After playing this course I didn't feel much at all. Over all a pretty mediocre course. That could be a lot more enjoyable if they put in some concrete tees.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


7/28/2008   7/28/2008
Review By: Frolffan24
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is one of those great practice courses. It is a very beginners course because its short. Its decently fun and i live 30 seconds away so a fun practice course. I wouldn't drive a long way to play but if you're in the neighbor hood give it a shot. easy par course.
Cons: Short, easy, not very good tee boxes.
Other Thoughts: Good for practice

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Ut Alumni

5+    8/1/2008   7/22/2008
Review By: sidewinding
Played: 81  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 7.8 Years
This review was updated on 8/14/2008
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: All nine holes are birdiable which increases the fun factor, especially for new players.
Cons: The Texas sun will kill you on this course in the summer. They need to plant some trees.

The tee pads are made from landscaping timbers filled with mulch. The first problem is that they are 5' x 5' which is too short if you take steps when you throw. The second problem is that the mulch has an uncomfortable spongy feel.

Since it's on the campus of U.T. you have to check in at a gaurd-shack to get a parking pass and park where they tell you to, which is not the closest lot to tee pad #1.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Great Beginner Course

7/21/2008   7/21/2008
Review By: jeremylbryant
Played: 15  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pretty, well groomed course. No pedestrians, or other obstacles. Nice, fun pin placement on most holes. Very easy.
Cons: Maybe too easy; experienced golfers will not be challenged. The tees are wood chips; therefore, bad traction - I throw from the side of the designated tees.
Other Thoughts: Great course for beginners. If you want to introduce someone to the sport, this is the perfect course.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


3/2/2008   3/3/2008
Review By: jessepittman
Played: 17  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Informative signs, which prove unnecessary since most pins are very close and in plain sight. Teeboxes and pins are new and in good condition.
Cons: VERY short and simplistic 9 hole course. Most holes are in the 200-250 foot range, with little to nothing between tee and pin.

Tee box for one hole was actually surrounded 10-20 feet in all directions by pond of undrained rainwater.
Other Thoughts: Lots of better options in the area. You're probably better off playing Shawnee Park across the highway if you need a 9 hole course.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.