Richardson, TX 
UT Dallas Alumni DGC Share
Uploaded By: rainman Hole #2
3 / 225ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
 Decent for practice/quick game

5+    9/4/2013   9/5/2013
Review By: Quinum
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.2 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well-groomed course with fairly easy holes. Excellent for practice or a quick game when you don't have time to play through an 18-hole course.

The holes range from ~150 to ~400 or so with pretty straight-forward shots. Trees are really the only obstacles - no water hazards or anything unless you manage to get a disc into the creek located through the trees to the east.

Basket placement is interesting on a few of the holes (mainly 3, 6, 7, 9), which can give you good opportunities to practice your approach shots and hitting the correct angles. Also there is always the chance for an ace on most of these holes, which can be fun.
Cons: As others have said, the tee boxes are bad. I don't even use them when I play. I hope the university will fix them up, as this is the biggest issue with the course.

Parking can be a major problem when school is in session. Also, the university does ticket vehicles that don't have a parking sticker. You can get a free one-day pass at the Visitor Center (if you want to play by the rules) or just park in the neighborhood directly east of the course and take the bridge over the small creek onto the course.
Other Thoughts: I practice on this course quite a lot. In my opinion this is a good place to bring someone who is new to the sport, but experts probably won't find any challenge here.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 a practice course and nothing more

5+    6/6/2013   6/6/2013
Review By: lemonadestandguy
Played: 40  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very well maintained and discatcher baskets. If it is windy it does not get much better to work on windy upshots. very hard to lose a disc in the winter. Summer its possible but you can get it back if you aren't afraid of poison ivy.
Cons: terrible teepads. They use to be square about 6 feet long with a big log at the end but i believe all the logs on the back end of the tee pads have been removed allowing for a walk up. Save the trouble and throw from the side. Open field shots really. Woods on the right side of 1-4 have a crazy amount of poison ivy.
Other Thoughts: I go to UTD so i play this course quite often. Here is a tip to actually make this course fun. Play 2 rounds of 9 and while you do throw a second disc off 1 skipping baskets. So throw from 1-2 then 3-4, 5-6, 7-8, 9-1, leave your disc for the putt at 1 and go start your second round at 1's tee box then throw 2-3,4-5,6-7,8-9 to finish both rounds at 9's basket. Some of these holes are actually really fun 1-2,3-4,4-5,9-1 being my favorites. If you play it this way you can get in 27 holes of practice in under an hour and actually enjoy a few technical holes.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Yep...What they said

1    12/23/2011   12/27/2011
Review By: lajoie24
Played: 30  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 3.1 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good place to work out the "yips" or a new disc. If you have any kind of skill, 7 of the 9 holes will be "ace runs" for you. I liked the 3rd hole...it was the only challenging shot on the course. If you only have a few minutes to play, this is your course.
Cons: Tee boxes are awful. I wouldn't even use them.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Wish it were my college

1    5/27/2010   6/18/2010
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 207  Reviewed: 139  Exp: 7.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good beginner course. The design is easy to navigate and well thought. The holes are short and mostly open so advanced players will be aiming for birdie on all of them. It's pretty fun for a small beginner course.
Cons: Teeboxes are terrible. The holes aren't very long so you don't need much of a run-up but standing in the teeboxes is just awkward. I threw from behind them.

No real variety of shots. Just open looks with a few trees here and there.
Other Thoughts: This course is certainly not a DG destination but I would have been pretty happy to have a course like this when I was in college. It must be great to get a round in between classes.

Most experienced players will be bored here but it's a great place to bring new players where everyone can have a good time.

Like others, I parked in the close lot.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Is it a Sandbox or a Tee?

1    5/17/2010   5/17/2010
Review By: Donovan
Played: 212  Reviewed: 185  Exp: 27.4 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course now, uses some trees to make the holes somewhat interesting. This relatively flat location is 9 holes of "anyone can play here" expectations revealed. The use of the trees has given a couple of the holes some decent obstacles and considering the size of the area, the layout was actually thought through pretty well. Navigation here is a no brainer. The baskets are I good shape and there are some portable restrooms in the parking area. All and all, this is a good place to learn.
Cons: The parking option here is not the best. It's a long walk from the lot they give you to park in. These "tee boxes" are built like a wood enclosed sandboxes and they are not in good shape and not very long. They were supposed to have woodchips, but they are just pits now. These holes are almost too short to be enjoyable for most seasoned players.
Other Thoughts: The Fun Factor was a ho-hum. I enjoyed #3, but that was about it. There is nothing wrong with really short courses, except I would hate for first time players to think this is how tee boxes are for the sport. One more thought about the parking. The course took less than 20 minutes to play, so I figured I would be a gambling man and I just parked in the close lot.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Good for beginners

5+    5/8/2010   5/11/2010
Review By: guardianmol
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/26/2010
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's a great beginner course, very forgiving and you're not likely to lose a disc (though my fellow player almost managed it). A little tight that the beginning but opens up at Hole 4 on home. This tends to be a low traffic course.
Cons: Very short, you'll just be getting into a rhythm by the time you run out of holes. Not a lot of shade a bit of a hike from where you park. Tee boxes can use some love.
Other Thoughts: It seems they've added a few elevation changes, such as a mound in front of hole 1 and a decent size hill in the middle of hole 2. I don't know when these were added, but they're different from the pictures, so you will have a few blind shots. I like this course cause it's a close neighborhood course, so it's good for practice.

One thing i recommend is playing from behind the tee boxes. It gives you room to run up and adds a little distance to the holes, not enough to make it all that much longer, but still it beats having to do some kind of crazy gymnastics to stay in the tee box.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good Practice Course

5+    4/13/2010   4/13/2010
Review By: mwgheaton
Played: 55  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 13.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good use of small space and limited natural landscape. Well groomed. Great for beginner disc golfers and people working on their game.
Cons: Tee boxes are a bit small and some have underlayment sticking up through the mulch. But, only one hole is really long enough to require footwork, so it doesn't really make much difference.
Other Thoughts: I find this course a nice place to go and practice. It is a short drive for me and is almost always empty. With an empty course, I can re-throw shots, replay holes and practice putting. The mowed grass keeps the bugs at bay. Most short and groomed courses like this reside in city parks and tend be very busy with people playing or simply recreating nearby. This is not a park and UTD seems like more of a commuter campus than a residential campus, meaning the students drive home after class instead of playing a round.
Take a driver, but don't plan on using it much. I tee up a Roc on 6 out of the 9 holes. The course can be hot and windy. I recommend playing in the morning as the course plays along a creek with trees on the east that can provide morning shade. The afternoon can be brutal, but it is a short course, so it is bearable. Regardless, take some water with you.
If you don't want to mess with a parking pass, park on Lawnmeadow Drive just east of the campus off of Floyd. Walk across Floyd at the Crosswalk and you will find a footbridge that crosses the creek and comes out right at the 1st tee.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner Course

2-4    2/7/2009   2/20/2009
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 126  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 13.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great for beginners!! Very short, a decent player can reach everything. The have good baskets and tee signs. Very easy to follow as well. This course is pretty open there are some trees but not really a factor. No where to lose a disc which is good for beginners as well. Most holes avg 225-250 in length so its easy to shoot under par. You can play very fast( 20 min) by yourself. You can throw alot of shots and test new shots as well as the course doesnt share any of its space with anything else.
Cons: No shade and it open to the wind. Parking is usuallt far away so bring everything you need when you leave your car. Tee pads are akward, as with the other reviewer, I played behind them as they are uncomfortable.
Other Thoughts: Fun to go out and learn or to practice something new in the bag, wouldnt go out there just to play but if your in the neighborhood stop by

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Decent Course

1    10/8/2008   10/10/2008
Review By: Tortoise
Played: 14  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 6.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is well maintained. There are signs on every hole and the signs are correct. It is very hard to loose a disc the only hazard is a small drainage ditch/creek on holes 3 and 4. The baskets are in great shape. An easy par course for practice.
Cons: The tee boxes, for lack of a better word, SUCK. They are square wood boxes filled with mulch about 5 to 6 feet long. The course is pretty plain. There are no elevation changes and you can see the basket from the tee box on everyhole.
Other Thoughts: I didn't get much out of this course. I didn't use the tee boxes. If you play this course I recommend standing beside the tee boxes for your drive. The course played very quickly only about 25 to thirty minutes. The best thing I can think of about this course are the baskets. They are Innova Discatcher baskets and look almost brand new. Probably because the course doesn't get much traffic. I wouldn't go out your way to play this course. After playing I usually get a since of accomplishment of enjoyment. After playing this course I didn't feel much at all. Over all a pretty mediocre course. That could be a lot more enjoyable if they put in some concrete tees.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Practice

7/28/2008   7/28/2008
Review By: Frolffan24
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is one of those great practice courses. It is a very beginners course because its short. Its decently fun and i live 30 seconds away so a fun practice course. I wouldn't drive a long way to play but if you're in the neighbor hood give it a shot. easy par course.
Cons: Short, easy, not very good tee boxes.
Other Thoughts: Good for practice

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.