Whitewater, WI
UW Whitewater-Hoffman Field Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #9
3 / 165ft.   3 / 220ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Worth the trip

1    10/3/2009   10/3/2009
Review By: clipnfly
Played: 60  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 4.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a good course despite some room for improvments. Recent upgraded from 12 to 18m holes. Nice variety of holes. No real long ones. More skills based. Plenty of shot choices and ways to play each hole. Nice use of elevation changes and terrain. Long and short tee boxes clearly visible due to wear.
Cons: Recent addition of holes makes this one a real challenge to navigate. No tee signage, save for posts at a few of the holes. Teeing areas are dirt (mud in rain today).
Other Thoughts: The student club at the school maintains the course and they are trying to move in good directions. met the guys... nice folk. They are working on new holes, tee and direction signs and such. It is all to be considered a work in progress. That being said. it is a fun layout to play and worth the visit. There are a number of different holes with interesting shot set ups and options. I do not know which is which as the layout is a bit cinfusing and until played a few more times will be hard to remember. Overall good fun. Small sporting goods store downtown sells discs too.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Very technical holes

2-4    5/1/2010   4/5/2009
Review By: harr0140
Played: 684  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 1/7/2012
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Nice variety of shots requires. A few of the holes are really tight, and require you to shape shots, sometimes a perectly executed S curve is needed. Not easy to do with the wind.

2) Nice baskets including a few with yellow extension poles for visibility. That was a nice touch on the holes where the baskets were out of sight.

3) Tees all have posts and are marked with a board in the ground which is always nice for a new player. #10 Post is missing.

4) I really enjoyed the 8th hole. Uphill just over a slight bank. Tight shot turning left and tucked up on the hill. Very well designed hole.

5) Waste baskets on every hole which is nice, its a shame they dont get used very often.

6) Can play this course quickly, minimal walking between holes, and they are easy to find where your next hole is, just follow the dirt track!
Cons: 1) Tees are down to dirt on every hole and some fairway areas are also bare ground. It would lead me to believe to avoid this course when it is wet. it would be slick and messy because of all the exposed clay soil.

2) Not beginner friendly. Every hole requires something a beginner could not execute. They did what they could with the property thats for sure, using the land to its fullest. The forward tees don't offer much easier shots truthfully, they are just 35-75 feet closer to the basket. Usually straight in line and only about 30 feet shorter.

3) Peripheral areas can be very punishing. Lots of small scrub brugh, honeysuckle, hawthrons, wild roses, other thorning shrubs, and even what looked like a one time orchard or tree nursery. Keep your disc low and in the fairway here or you will be punished severely on multiple holes.

4) Many of the tree and shrubs just off the fairway could use some maintenance. Get the people in biology, botany, horticulture, or some other related field to go out and learn how to prune!!!!!

5) Some of the interior holes could be dangerous from errant discs, very close together on a few areas.
Other Thoughts: This course gets a 4 for the design and hole technicality, but it gets a 2 for maintenance. It is dirty, and when I say dirty I mean that two ways, lots of garbage, and lots of dirt. There are paths worn everywhere. I would expect that on a college campus, but it would be nice to see more grass on the tees and fairways. It does look like the tees are planned to have concrete. I can imagine when the trees have all leaved out this course will be much more difficult. The leaves will slow your disc down, but when bare they can go right through some of them. I also can imagine this course to be very busy in summer. It is located right on campus, and it is in Whitewater (The middle of nowhere for the most part).

The course was updated to 18 holes a little while back and the course improved with the addition of these holes but it is still destroyed and trashy and I m not sure the UWW disc golfers will ever make this course look nice . . . it is just a place to go and drink and throw stuff around for most of the locals I would guess.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Warhawk Fun

5+    9/3/2009   10/27/2008
Review By: Doctor Faustus
Played: 13  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 11.1 Years
This review was updated on 9/4/2009
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This entire course has been planned and executed by college students so enamored with disc golf that they felt they needed a course on UWW's campus. Within the last week, they upgraded to 18 holes. YAY!!!! The new holes are rough but the crew is working on them.
Cons: It is a tight course and needs better maint. I have never lost a disc on this course, but I could see how you could. Lots of brush and the front nine has TONS of long grasses.
Other Thoughts: Whitewater is a great destination course. Coming from Milwaukee you can hit up New Berlin and Mukwonago on the way down. From Madison you can hit Hiestand, Stoughton, and Janesville on your way over. The bars downtown are inexpensive for some refreshments after a round. Check out the new 6 holes.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.