Whitewater, WI 
UW Whitewater-Hoffman Field Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #3
3 / 225ft.   3 / 225ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Through the Woods

1    6/8/2014   6/11/2014
Review By: Dfixmer
Played: 10  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 0.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Helps work a lot on finesse and midrange shooting.
-Great for people who like short drives.
Cons: -Not many open shots, almost entirely in closed wooded area.
-Lots of tall disc-eating grass.
-Most holes are under 200 ft
-Tee boxes are poorly kept and signage is terrible.
Other Thoughts: A fun course to work on short game. Baskets are in good shape.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Small 18

1    3/15/2014   3/27/2014
Review By: murphy0105
Played: 10  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.2 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Some good use of elevation and fitting an 18 in a very small space.
Cons: Signs would definately be helpful. I played about 12 out of 18 because I frankly could not find the other pins. Also could use some cleaning up.
Other Thoughts: What I expected being on campus but not bad.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Really nice course

5+    5/28/2013   5/28/2013
Review By: Harry Manback
Played: 24  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Great variety
-Many aceable holes
-Pretty good for beginners
Cons: -All fairly short holes
-Can get fairly crowded
-Tough to find disc in trees at times
Other Thoughts: Really nice course with a good variety of holes. I never found myself reaching for my max d driver. Many broken bottles around the ground, but its on a college campus so theres nothing to do about that. A couple holes are very short and wide open and just waiting to be aced.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Control over Power

5+    3/16/2012   3/19/2012
Review By: guitar_freak_159
Played: 32  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1) The baskets are in great shape (although hole 11 is a mounted a little high).

2) The course plays through very well, there is not much walking required between holes.

3) There are garbages located on many of the holes.

4) There is a big parking lot that the course is located off of.
Cons: 1) During the heat of the summer, the odds of loosing discs on an errant through increase substantially.

2) Because the course is located on a college campus, there tends to be a lot of alcohol bottles left on the course, many times broken glass.

3) It tends to be very buggy during the summer.

4) The tee-pads are inconsistent. Some have a brick pad, while some have a rubber, and others are just dirt. Also, the brick pads are sometimes located between the amateur and pro tee spots.
Other Thoughts: This course is my home course. It is a course that changes a lot through the year. In the spring and fall fairways are easier to navigate with the disc, in the summer when all the foliage is up it is much more difficult. The fairways are defined and there is always a path to the basket, it just may take a little more control to get it to the basket.

Every hole is birdie-able, I have birdied every one. Many of them are also ace-able. Because the course isn't very long, this course favors control shots over power shots (especially in the summer).

The course doesn't receive as much attention on the grooming side as I would prefer. They did do some trimming on the bushes at the end of the '11 season. Holes 1, 2, 4, and 12 had some bushes taken out, but there is still more that could be done. However, it is still better than it has been in previous years.

I really enjoy playing this course and I am happy that is is my home course. It keeps me focused on accuracy while maintaining power on some of the holes as well. It is worth traveling to and to because it isn't a very long course you can play it a couple times.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Dsic Glof

5+    8/25/2011   9/7/2011
Review By: hebsonc9121
Played: 74  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6 Years
This review was updated on 5/12/2013
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: There was a few cool elevation shots, lots of trees. If you play the course a few times you get to know it a lot better and it begins to be more enjoyable. Maybe ask people around you for help. Once you figure it out it is a fun course for all skills.
Cons: -Few benches
-Difficult to find the next holes as well
-Much of the ground is dirt not grass and could possibly lead to muddy mess (only seen it in few places myself)
-
Other Thoughts: This could be a pretty difficult course for beginners especially in the sense of losing discs. (lots of brush and tall grasses)

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Not bad for a short course

1    8/3/2011   8/22/2011
Review By: omightytimm
Played: 19  Reviewed: 12
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - good use of mowing & shrubs/small trees to make obstacles
Cons: - poorly marked and poorly maintained tees
- many of the holes were pretty short
- not much room between holes in early/middle part of course
- never really figured out where tee for 9 was
Other Thoughts: I'd probably not go out of my way to play this one again, but wasn't a complete waste of time either.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Decent

1    3/13/2011   3/25/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 754  Exp: 12.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a wooded area that is dedicated to the course so there is not any interference with other campus activities. There are some elevation changes, including a fun downhill shot and a hole playing back up the hill with some smaller elevations mixed in throughout the course. There are a few pretty open holes, but most have trees and brush lining the fairways that is pretty punishing on errant shots.

There is some mix of hole lengths, especially with the long and short tees on each hole. A few holes call for some creative line shaping. The long and short tees are easy to find throughout the course. Many holes have one brick tee and one natural tee, and there isn't too much extra walking to play one set or the other.
Cons: Too many of the holes just call for straight shots. There's definitely room here to get more creative with hole layouts, it would have been a lot more fun and more challenging to mix things up more. The long and short tees offer exactly the same line on nearly all the holes, and don't have enough distance difference to really change the hole at all, it seems silly to bother with dual tees in cases like this. There are some areas where holes play pretty close to one another, this can be a safety issue especially on a course that probably gets a lot of newer players.

The brick tees that are in are laid nicely, but are very short and narrow. The rest of the tees are natural, and are rutted out and can get pretty muddy. There are several spots where the obvious path or the closest tee to the basket lead you astray, we had to wander a few times to figure out where to go next. It doesn't help that not all the tees are numbered, and some tees and baskets seem to be numbered incorrectly. I know the course recently went from 12 to 18 holes, so hopefully this is still something they're working on.
Other Thoughts: I love seeing courses on college campuses, it's a great way to introduce new players to the sport. I'd like to see an even shorter set of short tees to make the course less frustrating for new players, especially with how thick the rough is in a lot of places. The long tees offer a good level of challenge for intermediate players despite the lack of variety. Better players won't find much difficulty here.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 An update on the course from the UWW Disc Golf Club

5+    3/29/2010   3/29/2010
Review By: cheesy_gordita_crunk
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 9.3 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Other Thoughts: Hey everybody,

I thought I would let you know whats new with the course. I am the disc golf club vice president at UWW. We have been working very hard to expand the course from 12 to 18. Since the holes have been installed and opened for public play, we are still working on touching up the course.

Here are a couple things you can expect in the upcoming months:

1. Concrete tees: We will be installing concrete tee pads in the near future. We may just do the short tees for now because it makes more sense from a cost/budget standpoint.

2. Tee signs: We did have a bunch of signs/maps up telling people how to navigate the new course, but this is a campus course, and people are idiots and steal the signs. We are working on getting permanent signs up on each hole including distances and the hole layout.

3. Ace race: We just registered our course for the 2010 discraft ace race. It will be held september 18. Check the ace-race website for more info on how to register.

Sorry this isn't really a review (my opinion would be a bit biased). When you come out and play, keep in mind the course is always a work in progress and we are working hard to make it better. Any feedback is appreciated!

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Worth the trip

1    10/3/2009   10/3/2009
Review By: clipnfly
Played: 60  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 5.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a good course despite some room for improvments. Recent upgraded from 12 to 18m holes. Nice variety of holes. No real long ones. More skills based. Plenty of shot choices and ways to play each hole. Nice use of elevation changes and terrain. Long and short tee boxes clearly visible due to wear.
Cons: Recent addition of holes makes this one a real challenge to navigate. No tee signage, save for posts at a few of the holes. Teeing areas are dirt (mud in rain today).
Other Thoughts: The student club at the school maintains the course and they are trying to move in good directions. met the guys... nice folk. They are working on new holes, tee and direction signs and such. It is all to be considered a work in progress. That being said. it is a fun layout to play and worth the visit. There are a number of different holes with interesting shot set ups and options. I do not know which is which as the layout is a bit cinfusing and until played a few more times will be hard to remember. Overall good fun. Small sporting goods store downtown sells discs too.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 B+ = Very good for the 9 hole class of courses

1    7/2/2009   7/3/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 366  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 20.3 Years
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up:
1) Holes with good risk/reward. Fair, but harsh punishment for bad decisions or execution. == B+ (Several of the holes have thick rough that will punish bad shots with an additional stroke)
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities for me. I throw 300' accurately, 360' max. == B (Birdie-ing most of the holes from the long pads is rewarding. Good hole shape and use of obstacles and available terrain.)
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography == B (A few holes are repetitive and there is nothing extremely creative, but you find yourself really needing to shape your shots well with 70-80% power in a lot of places.)
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion. == B (Beauty is so-so but seclusion is pretty nice. It is mowed and maintained quite well. I enjoyed the Mulberry trees all over the course - they are in full force in early July!)
5) Bonus points for multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them. == N/A
Other Thoughts: It's all about feeding the addiction, so I ranked this course subjectively based on my own "personal addiction factor". The grades above tell how well the course will draw me back to itself again and again and again. Since I have played a decent number of courses (125 18-hole, 64 9-hole as of mid 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar addiction tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they choose courses to play and explore.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me….that's the fun of things here. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.