Whitewater, WI 
UW Whitewater-Hoffman Field Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #6
3 / 180ft.   3 / 228ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Very technical holes

2-4    5/1/2010   4/5/2009
Review By: harr0140
Played: 740  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 6 Years
This review was updated on 1/7/2012
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Nice variety of shots requires. A few of the holes are really tight, and require you to shape shots, sometimes a perectly executed S curve is needed. Not easy to do with the wind.

2) Nice baskets including a few with yellow extension poles for visibility. That was a nice touch on the holes where the baskets were out of sight.

3) Tees all have posts and are marked with a board in the ground which is always nice for a new player. #10 Post is missing.

4) I really enjoyed the 8th hole. Uphill just over a slight bank. Tight shot turning left and tucked up on the hill. Very well designed hole.

5) Waste baskets on every hole which is nice, its a shame they dont get used very often.

6) Can play this course quickly, minimal walking between holes, and they are easy to find where your next hole is, just follow the dirt track!
Cons: 1) Tees are down to dirt on every hole and some fairway areas are also bare ground. It would lead me to believe to avoid this course when it is wet. it would be slick and messy because of all the exposed clay soil.

2) Not beginner friendly. Every hole requires something a beginner could not execute. They did what they could with the property thats for sure, using the land to its fullest. The forward tees don't offer much easier shots truthfully, they are just 35-75 feet closer to the basket. Usually straight in line and only about 30 feet shorter.

3) Peripheral areas can be very punishing. Lots of small scrub brugh, honeysuckle, hawthrons, wild roses, other thorning shrubs, and even what looked like a one time orchard or tree nursery. Keep your disc low and in the fairway here or you will be punished severely on multiple holes.

4) Many of the tree and shrubs just off the fairway could use some maintenance. Get the people in biology, botany, horticulture, or some other related field to go out and learn how to prune!!!!!

5) Some of the interior holes could be dangerous from errant discs, very close together on a few areas.
Other Thoughts: This course gets a 4 for the design and hole technicality, but it gets a 2 for maintenance. It is dirty, and when I say dirty I mean that two ways, lots of garbage, and lots of dirt. There are paths worn everywhere. I would expect that on a college campus, but it would be nice to see more grass on the tees and fairways. It does look like the tees are planned to have concrete. I can imagine when the trees have all leaved out this course will be much more difficult. The leaves will slow your disc down, but when bare they can go right through some of them. I also can imagine this course to be very busy in summer. It is located right on campus, and it is in Whitewater (The middle of nowhere for the most part).

The course was updated to 18 holes a little while back and the course improved with the addition of these holes but it is still destroyed and trashy and I m not sure the UWW disc golfers will ever make this course look nice . . . it is just a place to go and drink and throw stuff around for most of the locals I would guess.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Little Technical Course, but Needs a Little Attention

2-4    3/25/2009   3/25/2009
Review By: Texconsinite
Played: 127  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 6.9 Years
This review was updated on 4/6/2009
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Despite the generally short length of this course, it is still reasonably challenging.
It heavily favors technique and finesse over Big D. Great place to practice control drives and shaping your shots. There are a good variety of lengths between the holes, given that they're all par 3s.

Also, the flow on this course is AMAZING. You will spent virtually no time walking between holes, which makes this course play very quickly. It only takes me 45 minutes to an hour to play a round here.

The rough on this course is very thick, and likes to grab errant shots and punish you for them with tough escapes. However, it is mainly small trees and mercifully devoid of nasty thorns, so you can throw out of it without getting too torn up, which is good. I imagine this course plays even tighter in the spring and summer, when the leaves come back and constrict the lines even more.

Several risk reward opportunities exist,
One or two of the holes in the middle are really short, seemingly filler holes, but the interesting thing about this course is that though many of the holes are ace runs and very deuceable, its also very easy to land in the shule and get a 4 or 5 on them. Many of the pins are on hillsides, and they are all somewhat protected.

Almost all the holes have some elevation in play, and several are blind shots off the tee.

The course throws some interesting things at you, but the trees aren't THAT tall, and this course lacks any real ceiling, which opens up a lot more options. Surprisingly, wind is a factor on the first few holes closer to the open fields, despite the course itself being wooded.

Every hole has both Long and Short dirt tees, the front of the tee box marked with a painted board in the ground.

Each hole has a Tee Post, with hole number and distances (long and short) marked on it.
Each post has a big blue trash can next to it.

Though the long and short tees are just directly behind each other or offset only a little, it noticeably changes the look a bit because of how technical this course is. I played each set twice. On some holes, I seemed to fare worse on the short tees somehow. From shorts, you might tee off with a midrange on a few more of the holes, but playing from either set is an equally good experience.


Another nice thing about this course is how quickly it plays. Its generally quite easy and convenient to find the next tees, and the round goes by fast. Alone on the course today, I cranked out 4 rounds in just under 3 hours, throwing 1-2 practice drives on each hole the whole way.

As other reviewers mentioned, this course has great drainage. It had poured rain nonstop the two days before I played this course, and I was amazed at how dry it was. No standing water anywhere. Even the dirt tee pads were only a little muddy and still usable with skateboarding shoes on.

One thing that this course does better than most is it really forces technique over power. It makes for a really fun place to play especially if you cant throw over 300ft. Bring your big-armed friends along and watch them sail into the shule. Great to keep em honest.
Cons: Rough and very Basic. Needs a little TLC.

While most of the Long tees were pretty level, many of the Short tees were bumpy and uneven, which made teeing off unnecessarily difficult. I dont mind dirt tees, but flat ground is a must.

Despite the trash cans next to every tee sign, there was a fair amount of trash laying around in the woods, which is really sad.

Hole 10 is missing the tee post with hole # and distances on it.
On Hole 11, the markers for both short and long tees tend to get covered with mud when it rains, and can be hard to locate.

This course has very basic amenities, but its not a bad course by any means.

Some of the shorter holes seem like filler holes with a twist, and none of the holes on this course really wow you. Many are quite interesting, and its a fun course with some challenges, but nothing particularly amazing about it jumps out at you. Its a solidly designed, meat and potatoes technical course, with basic amenities.

That being said, its a fun place to get alot of quick practice in, and refreshing for people (like me) who can't drive 400ft.
Other Thoughts: Heard that they were trying to expand this course to 18 holes. Lo and behold, on the trail from Hole 12 to Hole 1, it looks like trees have been carved out in the shapes of several new fairways, including a cool-looking downhill hard dogleg left into a wooded gully. Hopefully they have room to add 6 more. It would be nice to have the last basket closer to hole 1, since the longest walk by far is from 12 back to the start, and it's also the area where they have the most space to add new holes.

Most of the "problems" with this course, like trash, uneven tee pads, and missing signs, are things that could be, and probably will be, fixed in a single workday by the local club, as they continue to expand and maintain the course.

With the trash and tee pad issues taken care of, and especially if expanded to 18 holes, this college course could go from 2.5 to 3. I enjoyed playing here, and plan on returning later, once the patrons have had time to touch the place up a bit after winter.

The idea of having a course on campus is a good one, something I wish my university had been able/willing to do, and if I went to school here, I know I'd be playing this course every week between classes. Kudos to the students for setting this thing up and continuing to maintain and expand it.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Warhawk Fun

5+    9/3/2009   10/27/2008
Review By: Doctor Faustus
Played: 14  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 11.7 Years
This review was updated on 9/4/2009
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This entire course has been planned and executed by college students so enamored with disc golf that they felt they needed a course on UWW's campus. Within the last week, they upgraded to 18 holes. YAY!!!! The new holes are rough but the crew is working on them.
Cons: It is a tight course and needs better maint. I have never lost a disc on this course, but I could see how you could. Lots of brush and the front nine has TONS of long grasses.
Other Thoughts: Whitewater is a great destination course. Coming from Milwaukee you can hit up New Berlin and Mukwonago on the way down. From Madison you can hit Hiestand, Stoughton, and Janesville on your way over. The bars downtown are inexpensive for some refreshments after a round. Check out the new 6 holes.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Short but fun course

4/19/2008   5/20/2008
Review By: mozee
Played: 39  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 18.7 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Lots of birdie and ace opportunities, but challenging enough to lose those strokes on a handful of holes. Mostly a tight wooded course where some accuracy is needed to avoid trouble. The course plays fast so you can get a lot of holes in.
Cons: College course, so it can get dirty with trash and vandalism. Overgrowth on several holes and easy to lose a disc in many places.
Other Thoughts: Fun little casual course to work on your accuracy

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 U dub dub course review

1    4/5/2008   4/7/2008
Review By: rusch_bag
Played: 52  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 8.6 Years
This review was updated on 11/18/2008
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Very good water drainage! First course I could wear shoes on this year so that is very exciting. It is a pretty tight course and the holes are not super long but it is a challenge for sure. If you can't throw a straight shot with minimal fade you are going to have a rough time at this course. There is minimal walking in between every hole and it is easy to follow. I loved this course because it gave the players who are accurate and can't throw as far a chance to do good for once. I am sick of all of these wide open throw as hard as you can courses and this course is not one fo them for sure.
Cons: Some of the fairways are close to each other and it is very easy to get hit.
Other Thoughts: Very well maintained and a very enjoyable course, play it if you get a chance.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.