Green Bay, WI 
UW - Green Bay Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #5
6 / 456ft.   6 / --   4 / --   4 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Quick campus 9 holer.

1    9/9/2010   9/9/2010
Review By: harr0140
Played: 735  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Nice sign and map at the first tee is always a welcome site (but no distances listed). The tee signs are also just as nice but also just as worthless because there is no distance listed. It has par listed and hole # with a general fairway outline.

2)This course at the very least has some elevation change. There is only one flat hole, the rest either go up, down, or across the slopes. It's a good thing they had some elevation change because without it this course would be flat and boring.

3) Mature trees used very effectively on about 5 holes. The other holes are virtually wide open with very little to affect your approach at getting to the basket.

4) It seems that there is an obstacle very close to every single basket. Either you have a couple trees protecting your upshot, a natural unmaintaned area to either side of the basket, or in the case of Hole #4 a small tre placed directly in front of the basket. This might be a con, but on this course it works effectively since there isn't much on the wide open holes.

5) Turf is very well maintained. It looks like it is mowed regularly and it isn't super weedy. The height is just long enough and it has neough density that rollers might not be a good idea. The turf is thick so it will definitely cost you some distance.

6) Beginner friendly, but it also throws a few kinks into a newbies perception of a beginner course. I love it when beginners can come to a course and see the challenge of the sport without it being excessively difficult. There are a couple places where discs could get lost but the fairways on these holes are prety forgiving and they always leave you a safe shot away from those areas if need be.

7) Discatchers on this course catch just fine, but I think I hit the chastity belt 2-3 times. There is a little rust visible on the chains but it doesn't affect the baskets ability to catch a disc (in fact it might even help catch discs).

8) Garbage was available at every hole I believe and I think I saw a garbage near the main map of the course also.

9) Posting available at #1 tee on the kiosk/map.
Cons: 1) No distances listed anywhere. I hate that when I play a course for the first time because shot selection is based totally on the distance and the first time through takes so much longer trying to figure out how long a hole is.

2) Compaction and erosion are certainly a problem on this course. The tees are wore out a good distance and no turf is present in these locations.

3) There is no definition as to where the tee begins and ends or side to side. Just throw from the wore out area I guess? The problem is the areas are large enough to really change the difficulty with a few of the drives.

4) The overall property isnt that exciting. They did ok with what they had, but it still left a little to be desired in terms of the overall design of the course.

5) Walk from #2 basket across the street to #3 tee.Do the opposie from 8 to #9. Simply walk back across the page.

6) #6 tee may be in danger of errant shots on #5 because it is part of the dogleg basically. It would take a pretty bad throw to end up over there but it would be possible.

7) Variety in hole shape and shot shaping is lacking. You can easly throw a hyzer or straight shot on holes 2, 3, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9. #1 and 4 can be thrown either way. I guess I would have liked to see an anhyzer (or sidearm) in there for at least 1 or 2 holes.
Other Thoughts: Parking permit is required unless you go the first week of any semester where they arent checking passes to allow the students to take the time to get the passes. So if you go there during school I recommend going to the main gate and asking for a visitors permit.

All in all this is a decent course perfect for a college campus I guess. It is quick to play, totally removed from other activities, and beginner friendly. It isn't the greatest property which brings the couse down, but the design incorporated the best of the areas in my opinion. Would I go back . . . sure . . . but mainly because the wind was so brutal it is touhg to tell when I would be shooting.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 IMHO best in Green Bay

5+    9/7/2009   5/7/2010
Review By: tallpaul
Played: 718  Reviewed: 133  Exp: 26.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/11/2010
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Requires shooting the best nine hole collection of shots in Green Bay (IMHO).
I play this course a minimum of four times a season for 4+ years; and have never found the course to be crowded at all. This is a BIG PRO.
#1 down hill, with o.b. road behind pin; requiring an inventive shot. (tough to get a four; barring o.b.; but tough deuce as well)...Tee placement important on this one; I imagine lots of players attempt to cheat this one a bit. Tall ess shot (rhbh) perhaps best option off tee; how many courses even offer this shot anymore?...not many....
#4 is a fairly long hole...blind, uphill, requiring 300+ to see the pin at the top of the hill. A paved walkway, that we play as o.b. is @30 ft. in front of basket.
#6 offers the one, real ace run on the course.
#8 and #9 are blocked well and require some distance/ a quality 280+ ft. shot to get to a putt. #9 finishes on an uphill pin placement; that makes getting your drive close; interesting. IMHO this hole could provide a good template for greens style. (For some reason, you don't see this type of green all that often...well designed green...)
(All of these observations are based on blue level players and below; gold level players will certainly find this course to be a pitch and putt).
Cons: Natural tees that have spread to the point of being unclear as to where end is located.
Signs decent; but no footage info.
No true four throw holes.
Some tee signs and bricks marking end of tees are missing. (Where signs are present, you can tell where end of tees are; because signs were place at right, front edge.)
This leads to the personal con: I find it quite dangerous/inappropriate to place tee signs in this area, where follow through for rhbh may smack the sign.
Campus courses in general, can be a little difficult to find; and this one is no exception. Campus is fairly large and you may have to do the campus circle thing a bit, so get your directions in order before going.
Slight navigational issues. You may wander slightly here the first time or two through. No next tee directional arrows and a couple of short walks across campus road.
No real distance for gold level players; some blue level players may find this to lack in challenge; but, I personally, (as a long time blue level player) find under par to be rather difficult to achieve; and hole #7 is a definite bird hole/ace run. (In other words, one free deuce; and you probably should get #8 as well; so, that means there are some four possibilities here too).
Few risk/reward opportunities; barring playing the couple of road o.b. possibilities....I would suggest playing them as o.b.
Other Thoughts: I am a rater that believes nine hole courses don't receive more than a 3 rating at best. This one doesn't quite get the three, primarily because of natural tees lack of risk/reward, and hole length for longer throwers.
From a blue level skill set stand point and a fun factor rating, I would give this one a 3 rating.
In 2009, I heard that there is the possibility of this becoming an 18 hole layout in the future. This would be a wonderful enhancement; and, perhaps they will upgrade some of the tee/upkeep conditions on the original nine.
Except for the very first reviewer of UWGB, there seems to be an overall lack of enthusiasm for this course. While I am only giving it a 2.5 rating, I strongly suggest you choose this course as the best in Green Bay.
Another option, not in Green Bay proper (but within range), is Pulaski; a tough scoring 18, with water in play on nearly half the holes (there are navigational issues at Pulaski).
My list, in order of play, for G.B. would be:
1) UWGB (9 holes)
2) Pinecrest (18 holes)
3) Triangle (Baird Creek) (18 holes)
4) Pamperin (9 holes with two sets of tees)
All of these are 2.5 courses for various reasons.
In terms of location; you will probably want to play UWGB and Triangle together; and Pamperin and Pinecrest as a duo.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    9/13/2009   12/15/2009
Review By: rscd20
Played: 58  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 11.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good signs and, good course map at first hole
Well maintained baskets and grounds
Trash bucket at every hole
Uphill, downhill, open, tight, left and right holes all fit into 9 holes.
Not very busy for a university course
Cons: Only 9 holes. The space available to UWGB could allow for a great 18 hole course in (perhaps in the future)
No holes through the woods, no chance to cool down in the shade
Dirt pads that are starting to lengthen
Other Thoughts: Located on a nice campus. Head just over the main road to Green Bay and go for a swim
Lots of parking at hole 1, and just ask for a parking pass at the main entrance (between holes 2 and 3) to play the course. No questions asked.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    11/27/2009   11/28/2009
Review By: AdamE
Played: 211  Reviewed: 143  Exp: 11 Years
This review was updated on 5/7/2010
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice, lightly wooded course with rolling hills on a college campus. There's a map at hole one and nice tee signs at each hole that lists rec and pro par. Navigation is easy and the course flows nicely.

There's a little bit of everythign here. There's a nice mix of distance and difficulty on the holes. A couple easy birdies, a couple long bombs, a couple technical holes due to the trees, a couple blind shots, but there isn't a turnover shot here.
Cons: Signs don't list the distance. Tee pads are dirt and very worn. It rained a couple days before I played here and there was standing water in some of the tee pads.

Holes 2 and 8 I believe are a little to difficult. I don't mind them, but there are so many trees in the way it's extremely difficult to birdie them, but getting par isn't that hard.
Other Thoughts: I played here over a holiday weekend so I didn't have any parking issues since no one was here.

Overall this is a great course if you live on campus or close by. It's beginner friendly, but has a couple challenging shots for more advanced players.

I heard there's a possibility this course could get expanded to 18 holes. That plus a little TLC would make this my favorite course in the area.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 On campus

5+    8/30/2009   9/1/2009
Review By: GB Phil G
Played: 101  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 14.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/30/2010
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Its challenging enough. Its a mix of wide open and nice campus trees. Credit the designer, a student, for making use of the trees to make tricky holes. Work on the long game and hyzer shots here. 3 holes have no ace run (trees blocking) unless you are pro, 2 are very long, the rest potential birdies. Light elevation, 20 to 30 ft, used some but could be better. Getting under par is worth a pat on the back. For a campus its not busy and the golfers have some respect for the course. Its year round too!
Cons: Its only nine holes. I would say ten more baskets fits here (1 practice) with a good restructuring. Pads are rutted. University needs to make 18 and pour pads. Hyzer shot dominant. Little diversity.
Other Thoughts: Easy to find the course, hard to find the start. (Main entrance, 1st left, 1st right) I play my own alternate pads, one for each basket, to play 18 holes. It makes the course much more appealing to come to over going to bairds. I also enjoy practicing putting and what not here due to the general quietness. Some enjoy night rounds here. Streetlights make it a well lit course. I prefer pitch black myself.... 2.5 , lack of pads, not a diverse challenge, no footage on signs, only 9 holes. There are plenty of thick woods here but no holes in them, bah.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.