Green Bay, WI 
UW - Green Bay Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #4
4 / 299ft.   4 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
 Good use of available features

1    5/30/2011   6/2/2011
Review By: omightytimm
Played: 19  Reviewed: 12
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Surprisingly good use of available terrain, trees, and bordering woods. For being on a wide-open prairie, I found this course surprisingly interesting. it's also a fairly long course I thought.
Cons: Flat. Tee areas aren't marked very well. Hole signs don't have distances.
Other Thoughts: If this were 18 holes, I'd prefer this one over Triangle.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Quick campus 9 holer.

1    9/9/2010   9/9/2010
Review By: harr0140
Played: 715  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Nice sign and map at the first tee is always a welcome site (but no distances listed). The tee signs are also just as nice but also just as worthless because there is no distance listed. It has par listed and hole # with a general fairway outline.

2)This course at the very least has some elevation change. There is only one flat hole, the rest either go up, down, or across the slopes. It's a good thing they had some elevation change because without it this course would be flat and boring.

3) Mature trees used very effectively on about 5 holes. The other holes are virtually wide open with very little to affect your approach at getting to the basket.

4) It seems that there is an obstacle very close to every single basket. Either you have a couple trees protecting your upshot, a natural unmaintaned area to either side of the basket, or in the case of Hole #4 a small tre placed directly in front of the basket. This might be a con, but on this course it works effectively since there isn't much on the wide open holes.

5) Turf is very well maintained. It looks like it is mowed regularly and it isn't super weedy. The height is just long enough and it has neough density that rollers might not be a good idea. The turf is thick so it will definitely cost you some distance.

6) Beginner friendly, but it also throws a few kinks into a newbies perception of a beginner course. I love it when beginners can come to a course and see the challenge of the sport without it being excessively difficult. There are a couple places where discs could get lost but the fairways on these holes are prety forgiving and they always leave you a safe shot away from those areas if need be.

7) Discatchers on this course catch just fine, but I think I hit the chastity belt 2-3 times. There is a little rust visible on the chains but it doesn't affect the baskets ability to catch a disc (in fact it might even help catch discs).

8) Garbage was available at every hole I believe and I think I saw a garbage near the main map of the course also.

9) Posting available at #1 tee on the kiosk/map.
Cons: 1) No distances listed anywhere. I hate that when I play a course for the first time because shot selection is based totally on the distance and the first time through takes so much longer trying to figure out how long a hole is.

2) Compaction and erosion are certainly a problem on this course. The tees are wore out a good distance and no turf is present in these locations.

3) There is no definition as to where the tee begins and ends or side to side. Just throw from the wore out area I guess? The problem is the areas are large enough to really change the difficulty with a few of the drives.

4) The overall property isnt that exciting. They did ok with what they had, but it still left a little to be desired in terms of the overall design of the course.

5) Walk from #2 basket across the street to #3 tee.Do the opposie from 8 to #9. Simply walk back across the page.

6) #6 tee may be in danger of errant shots on #5 because it is part of the dogleg basically. It would take a pretty bad throw to end up over there but it would be possible.

7) Variety in hole shape and shot shaping is lacking. You can easly throw a hyzer or straight shot on holes 2, 3, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9. #1 and 4 can be thrown either way. I guess I would have liked to see an anhyzer (or sidearm) in there for at least 1 or 2 holes.
Other Thoughts: Parking permit is required unless you go the first week of any semester where they arent checking passes to allow the students to take the time to get the passes. So if you go there during school I recommend going to the main gate and asking for a visitors permit.

All in all this is a decent course perfect for a college campus I guess. It is quick to play, totally removed from other activities, and beginner friendly. It isn't the greatest property which brings the couse down, but the design incorporated the best of the areas in my opinion. Would I go back . . . sure . . . but mainly because the wind was so brutal it is touhg to tell when I would be shooting.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Solid design, lackluster terrain/features

5+    8/11/2010   8/13/2010
Review By: superberry
Played: 168  Reviewed: 92  Exp: 16.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The design here, given the layout of the available land, is fairly well thought out and uses what elevation is available. Tee shots are framed nicely for the most part and offer up a specific drive, but leave other more difficult options available.
The signs are nice and large and well designed, but they don't list distance!
Hole 5 offers a nice long ripper style hole, offering you the chance to air it out and test your manhood on a 460' hole - uphill at that!
Hole 9 is probably the best - plays uphill to a pin surrounded by quite a few pines just outside 30'. There are a few larger trees which frame out the need for a good S-style drive to get up to the pin.
Cons: Despite decent design off the tees, all the greens are wide open and not risky placements at all. If some of the pins were tucked into the woods, or elevated, or placed on a slope, it would offer much more challenge.
Just one tee pad, and no material at all, so they are long eroded dirt piles. Two tees, not at different skill levels, but just two tees, would offer a chance to be like Pamperin (yeah, not much to aspire to) and play as an 18-holer at least.
There are no water hazards, but road OB comes into play.
No huge or drastic elevation changes.
No seclusion or heavily wooded play.
Basket #1 is busted up bad, leaving holes in the base were discs can drop through.
Other Thoughts: Is this what we get, or is this what we settle for? I ponder this question often because I think disc golf enthusiasts want new courses so badly, that we will take any chunk of land that is offered to us and build an average or lackluster course. Another thought is that the general disc golfer population has brought this upon us - why would a parks department or regulating agency want us to build a great course on an amazing piece of land, when these same board members see so very much litter, vandalism, and disrespect at local city courses? UWGB falls into this category. The college has a TON of amazing property that would yield a 4-5 disc course if the proper designers were involved. But what the disc golfers got was the use of some generally boring and under-used property to install a course. This leads to too many lackluster holes and just a "Typical" style course. (Perkins park will undoubtedly be another typical "GB9er"). Given that this is just a 9 holer also, with only one tee per hole, the course is below average. I don't mind the course, but it's just one of those "blah" courses. My ratings have a lot of compression at 2.5 to 3.5, but the difference between the 1 and 2 disc courses is pretty wide.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Tough 9

1    7/5/2010   7/13/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 751  Exp: 12.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a grassy, hilly section of a college campus with some scattered trees and a few brushy wooded areas. The brush only comes into play on one side of a few holes, but it adds a nice little bit of risk on those shots and is thick enough that you can easily lose a stroke throwing into it. There is some nice elevation here, nothing dramatic but enough to add some challenge with a couple tough uphill shots and a fun downhill ace run. There is some good length here, with a couple holes that call for a long drive, most calling for a midrange or fairway driver shot, and only one short hole. There is a decent mix of hole shapes, especially considering how open the course is.

The tee signs are nice and visible, with the hole layout so you know where to throw. The tees are at least level. There is a course map by hole 1, the course crosses the road a couple times so it's nice to take a look at the map so there's no confusion on navigation.
Cons: The course is a little too open, and too much of the difficulty comes from length for my tastes. It's too bad there wasn't a way to use the wooded area a little more to mix things up and add a little more variety. The tee signs have hole layout but not distance, always a nice thing to know standing on the tee especially on blind holes (this course has a few). The course plays very close to the road on several holes, this could be a safety issue on a busy day. The tees have spread and eroded so it's not at all clear where to throw from.
Other Thoughts: This is a tough 9 hole course that makes you work pretty hard to score well. It's great to see campus courses that expose students and the community to the course, and this one does a pretty good job of that. It's a little long for newer players, a short set of tees for beginners might be a good addition here. More experienced players will find some challenges, but not a ton of variety.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/8/2010   7/11/2010
Review By: sopamr24
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
Pros: Very scenic couse with a good variety of hole types and distance. The perfect amount of trees on the grassy fairway to make it challenging ,but not too hard for intermediates/beginers. Not impossible to find your discs after a bad throw, but you still won't want to lose it in the woods, or the grassy field if it can be helped. There never seems to be a long wait here.
Cons: The tees are all dirt/mud so its hard to tell where they end, and you might slip on the drive if its wet out, otherwise the tee boxes are pretty level so you shouldn't have footing problems. Experts might want a more challenging course because the fairways are pretty wide open for the most part. There is a road near hole 2 and if you over throw in the wrong direction on the drive you could end up scraping up ur disc on it.
Other Thoughts: A very nicely designed course. Although there is some elevation change, it's not based around a big hill like alot of courses i've been to, so that could be a pro or a con, depending on your age/skill level. I just wish there was a place to do a distance throw after all 9 holes.

 IMHO best in Green Bay

5+    9/7/2009   5/7/2010
Review By: tallpaul
Played: 711  Reviewed: 133  Exp: 26.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/11/2010
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Requires shooting the best nine hole collection of shots in Green Bay (IMHO).
I play this course a minimum of four times a season for 4+ years; and have never found the course to be crowded at all. This is a BIG PRO.
#1 down hill, with o.b. road behind pin; requiring an inventive shot. (tough to get a four; barring o.b.; but tough deuce as well)...Tee placement important on this one; I imagine lots of players attempt to cheat this one a bit. Tall ess shot (rhbh) perhaps best option off tee; how many courses even offer this shot anymore?...not many....
#4 is a fairly long hole...blind, uphill, requiring 300+ to see the pin at the top of the hill. A paved walkway, that we play as o.b. is @30 ft. in front of basket.
#6 offers the one, real ace run on the course.
#8 and #9 are blocked well and require some distance/ a quality 280+ ft. shot to get to a putt. #9 finishes on an uphill pin placement; that makes getting your drive close; interesting. IMHO this hole could provide a good template for greens style. (For some reason, you don't see this type of green all that often...well designed green...)
(All of these observations are based on blue level players and below; gold level players will certainly find this course to be a pitch and putt).
Cons: Natural tees that have spread to the point of being unclear as to where end is located.
Signs decent; but no footage info.
No true four throw holes.
Some tee signs and bricks marking end of tees are missing. (Where signs are present, you can tell where end of tees are; because signs were place at right, front edge.)
This leads to the personal con: I find it quite dangerous/inappropriate to place tee signs in this area, where follow through for rhbh may smack the sign.
Campus courses in general, can be a little difficult to find; and this one is no exception. Campus is fairly large and you may have to do the campus circle thing a bit, so get your directions in order before going.
Slight navigational issues. You may wander slightly here the first time or two through. No next tee directional arrows and a couple of short walks across campus road.
No real distance for gold level players; some blue level players may find this to lack in challenge; but, I personally, (as a long time blue level player) find under par to be rather difficult to achieve; and hole #7 is a definite bird hole/ace run. (In other words, one free deuce; and you probably should get #8 as well; so, that means there are some four possibilities here too).
Few risk/reward opportunities; barring playing the couple of road o.b. possibilities....I would suggest playing them as o.b.
Other Thoughts: I am a rater that believes nine hole courses don't receive more than a 3 rating at best. This one doesn't quite get the three, primarily because of natural tees lack of risk/reward, and hole length for longer throwers.
From a blue level skill set stand point and a fun factor rating, I would give this one a 3 rating.
In 2009, I heard that there is the possibility of this becoming an 18 hole layout in the future. This would be a wonderful enhancement; and, perhaps they will upgrade some of the tee/upkeep conditions on the original nine.
Except for the very first reviewer of UWGB, there seems to be an overall lack of enthusiasm for this course. While I am only giving it a 2.5 rating, I strongly suggest you choose this course as the best in Green Bay.
Another option, not in Green Bay proper (but within range), is Pulaski; a tough scoring 18, with water in play on nearly half the holes (there are navigational issues at Pulaski).
My list, in order of play, for G.B. would be:
1) UWGB (9 holes)
2) Pinecrest (18 holes)
3) Triangle (Baird Creek) (18 holes)
4) Pamperin (9 holes with two sets of tees)
All of these are 2.5 courses for various reasons.
In terms of location; you will probably want to play UWGB and Triangle together; and Pamperin and Pinecrest as a duo.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    9/13/2009   12/15/2009
Review By: rscd20
Played: 54  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 11.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good signs and, good course map at first hole
Well maintained baskets and grounds
Trash bucket at every hole
Uphill, downhill, open, tight, left and right holes all fit into 9 holes.
Not very busy for a university course
Cons: Only 9 holes. The space available to UWGB could allow for a great 18 hole course in (perhaps in the future)
No holes through the woods, no chance to cool down in the shade
Dirt pads that are starting to lengthen
Other Thoughts: Located on a nice campus. Head just over the main road to Green Bay and go for a swim
Lots of parking at hole 1, and just ask for a parking pass at the main entrance (between holes 2 and 3) to play the course. No questions asked.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    11/27/2009   11/28/2009
Review By: AdamE
Played: 211  Reviewed: 143  Exp: 10.9 Years
This review was updated on 5/7/2010
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice, lightly wooded course with rolling hills on a college campus. There's a map at hole one and nice tee signs at each hole that lists rec and pro par. Navigation is easy and the course flows nicely.

There's a little bit of everythign here. There's a nice mix of distance and difficulty on the holes. A couple easy birdies, a couple long bombs, a couple technical holes due to the trees, a couple blind shots, but there isn't a turnover shot here.
Cons: Signs don't list the distance. Tee pads are dirt and very worn. It rained a couple days before I played here and there was standing water in some of the tee pads.

Holes 2 and 8 I believe are a little to difficult. I don't mind them, but there are so many trees in the way it's extremely difficult to birdie them, but getting par isn't that hard.
Other Thoughts: I played here over a holiday weekend so I didn't have any parking issues since no one was here.

Overall this is a great course if you live on campus or close by. It's beginner friendly, but has a couple challenging shots for more advanced players.

I heard there's a possibility this course could get expanded to 18 holes. That plus a little TLC would make this my favorite course in the area.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 On campus

5+    8/30/2009   9/1/2009
Review By: GB Phil G
Played: 101  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 14.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/30/2010
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Its challenging enough. Its a mix of wide open and nice campus trees. Credit the designer, a student, for making use of the trees to make tricky holes. Work on the long game and hyzer shots here. 3 holes have no ace run (trees blocking) unless you are pro, 2 are very long, the rest potential birdies. Light elevation, 20 to 30 ft, used some but could be better. Getting under par is worth a pat on the back. For a campus its not busy and the golfers have some respect for the course. Its year round too!
Cons: Its only nine holes. I would say ten more baskets fits here (1 practice) with a good restructuring. Pads are rutted. University needs to make 18 and pour pads. Hyzer shot dominant. Little diversity.
Other Thoughts: Easy to find the course, hard to find the start. (Main entrance, 1st left, 1st right) I play my own alternate pads, one for each basket, to play 18 holes. It makes the course much more appealing to come to over going to bairds. I also enjoy practicing putting and what not here due to the general quietness. Some enjoy night rounds here. Streetlights make it a well lit course. I prefer pitch black myself.... 2.5 , lack of pads, not a diverse challenge, no footage on signs, only 9 holes. There are plenty of thick woods here but no holes in them, bah.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 No Prerequisite for This College Course

5+    8/18/2009   8/18/2009
Review By: jhgonzo
Played: 92  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 16.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. Good signage. The signs could be a bit more detailed, like including distances and flight paths, but they're better than others in the area.
2. Good use of elevation. A few uphill and downhill shots.
3. Strategic pins. While I think the area in whole is under-utilized, some tricky basket locations will give you a 4 easier than you think.
4. No crowds. A good place to get away from the vandals and ne'er-do-wells that frequent Baird Creek.
Cons: 1. Rutted tees. The tees used to be marked with colored bricks in the dirt, but the tees are now so worn and bricks missing (the tees have been worn to--in some areas--10 to 12 feet further ahead of the original designated tee) that there's usually no clear beginning or end of the tee. In particular, the tees at #3 (roots sticking out everywhere) and #7 (the tee is now a narrow ditch, almost forcing you to tee off from the nearby grass) present safety issues.
2. Like I stated above, the area in whole wasn't used to its full potential. Most of the course is in the wide open with fairways dotted with trees, and yet woods are everywhere out here! This could easily be an 18-hole (or at least 12) if the staff got motivated to do something to this course other than just mow the grass. Given the condition of the tees and baskets, I'm guessing mowing is ALL that's done out here these days.
3. Nothing memorable. The holes and the course are relatively bland; that is, there's nothing that really jumps out at you and makes you say, "Wow! That was an AWESOME hole! I can't wait to play it again!" You DO need skills to finish under par out here, but even if you shoot an awesome round you'll probably forget about it shortly.
Other Thoughts: This course needs a major overhaul. When you compare this to other courses on college campuses in the area (LTC in Cleveland, WI, being the closest), it leaves a lot to be desired. The course was obviously designed by someone passionate about DG, but they must've gotten the cold shoulder from UW board members when (and if) additions or improvements were ever brought up. There's SO MUCH potential out here that it's almost a shame to play this layout. If anyone from UWGB is reading this, message me and let's get something done about this course. If you build it, they will come, but if you build it and then neglect it, they will stop coming. I personally only play this course when I'm up in GB but don't have time or the patience to play Baird Creek.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.