Boiling Springs, SC 
Shoally Creek DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #3
3 / 212ft.   3 / 257ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Pro Tee



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Shoally the Money!

1    6/11/2016   6/12/2016
Review By: BrotherDave
Played: 126  Reviewed: 123  Exp: 8.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great, great course. Truly has a bit of everything with elevation, water carries, multi-throw par 4's, landing zones, risk/reward, open holes to air it out, wooded tunnels to thread and two good tee layouts to appeal to a wide spectrum of skill levels. This is a player's course, with design teeming with quality and enjoyment that beckons you to stay for another round. I was a little worried about this course with Russell Schwarz' name attached to it (aka he who builds lackluster to downright awful courses in the NC Piedmont) but there was definitely enough Harold Duvall at work to remind me of another Duvall classic, Castle Hayne.

There isn't any gonzo or extreme elevation, terrain, or water at play here but a terrific use of it all. A lovely little, shallow creek meanders lazily throughout much of the course and provides a great element of OB without worrying you over losing a disc when, not if, you end up wet. It's hilly in parts but every throw downhill is very satisfying and every throw uphill is tough but fair. Retention ponds with significantly marshy rough within provide daunting carries to baskets precariously placed on ridges, dams, and near the creek. Best of all, the holes largely invite you to attack off the tee in any way you see fit instead of forcing a FH or a weird layup for example; like hole 1 that dares you to go up the middle as the crow flies or test your arm by anhyzering around the trees to the left. Choose your own adventure golf at some of its finest.

I played mostly the long tees but the short tees looked to be their own unique layout rather than a miniaturized version of the longs. Navigation is pretty easy although I wish the map available on the website was made by someone with a bit more graphic design experience. The baskets move around and a friendly local gave me a head's up as to which holes had alternate pins that differed from the map but I think I would've done fine without him. Arrow signs are plentiful on the course to aid in transitions and tees are easy to spot. They're a bit old but the tees are your solid, concrete standards that I love. Innova baskets complete your check-off list for necessities.

Though there is some elevation and water in play, this isn't a physically taxing course and a bench isn't uncommon so fear not, aged and corpulent disc golfers. I almost selfishly wish it was more of a butt-kicker like Pipeline just to discourage dog-walkers and the like from enjoying this nice park as much as the disc golfers.

There are straight holes, doglegs, ace runs, etc. This is a moderately wooded course mostly, with fairways exceedingly fair and spacious but still challenging, The longer the hole, the more you can safely air it out with the fairway width ratios being consistent and logical. Hole 11 as an example is terrific with being a hole you can be wildly ambitious with distance drivers etc but you might be better off playing set-up with a midrange. Like I said, choose your own adventure.
Cons: Not a whole lot. Like I said, the epic, "turn it up to eleven" factor isn't really in play except for versatile hole 11 and the pretty scary holes of 14 and 17 with their retention ponds of OB and narrow landing zones.

The tee signs are a bit outdated and a little confusing. For example, the long tees are labeled White and the short tees are Gold which should be the other way around. For their faults they are still pretty informative.

It's a nice park to walk around so be ready to hold fire occasionally for dog walkers, joggers and children playing in the creek.

Hole 16 tees over a bridge. I'm guessing this was Russell's contribution. : |

There is spray painted OB lines and transition lines in a lot of places. Functionally this is great. Aesthetically, it looks kind of trashy.
Other Thoughts: This is definitely on the very shortlist of courses I have to return to when I'm down this way. It's a blast to play, it's well-designed so when you have a bad round you just have yourself to blame and it doesn't wear you out much. It's a very polished, well-defined course that is a great example of disc golf. This is a great course to initiate into disc golf not b/c it's easy but b/c it's legit. No amateur hour here, just high quality golf so dispel your notions of beach frisbees and hippies reeking of patchouli.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

One of the most underrated courses in the Southeast

1    6/1/2015   1/25/2016
Review By: filobedo
Played: 218  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 11 Years
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I first played this course when it had 6 baskets back in 2005 and it has gone through some significant changes, each making the course better. All descriptions are for rhbh from long tees with some mention of short tees that I like.
#1 - tight shot to open fairway. Make three for a solid start.
#2 - wide open fairway up a hill to a protected green downhill in the middle of trees in long position.
#3 - tight tunnel with water on left from long pad and short pad is a great short hole hole through tunnel with water behind. Great shot a 2.
#4 - another tunnel shot with water on the left and target protected by trees and another shot a 2.
#5 - Challenging hole uphill and to the left with the first of several chances for major rollaways down the hills
#6 - tight par 4 hyzer to basket on a ledge. Must be accurate with midrange.
#7 - Possibly the most fun shot on the course! 30 foot elevator drop to short pin. Good for a thumber.
#8 - tricky shot with a good chance of going in the creek if not careful. Short, uphill to a target on the right edge of about a 10 foot drop off into the creek. I have noticed over the years there has been significant erosion in this area of the course so the basket seems a little higher than most.
#9 - Great hole! Tight uphill fairway over ridge to basket on the right side.
#10 - Another great uphill shot from the shorts and tight fairway from longs. The route for the long pad is a tight hyzer which could be redesigned a little as the green and target is almost a poke and hope if you go for it on the second shot. The short pad is one of the most fun shots on the property and chance for 2.
#11 - This use to be the signature hole when you threw across the creek but the current target placement is much more challenging. Huge dogleg left with a major downhill shot where it is better to be on the right side of the fairway to have a chance of getting in position to get to the fairway or possibly green for big arms on the 2nd shot. Creek runs down the right side of the fairway but not really in play unless you hit it early or during your approach. You are more likely to get in the creek from a ricochet off one of the many small trees. Great hole!
#12 - Another great tunnel shot with no room for error if you want a deuce. Creek on right is in play off the tee. You can easily take a high # on this hole if you underestimate it.
#13 - Open tee shot into a cluster of trees. Kind of a throw away hole for flow. I think it would be a little more challenging by teeing in the forest through a tunnel to have the basket back to the left.
#14 - Great hole over pond with basket sitting on dam and major drop off. Commit to the shot or you go ob or over the target with a roll away and difficult putt back towards the pond.
#15 - Super challenging hole with creek to left and small gap to hit for a chance at 2. This hole is deceiving as it appears easy but I have seen many 4's due to ob by basket or not getting through the gap leaving a long touch shot for par.
#16 - Throwaway hole for flow but challenging with a slight anhyzer across creek to basket next to creek.
#17 - Great hole with lots of ob. Waste area to the left, creek to the left and behind but great chance at two if you can navigate the small green.
#18 - Major anhyzer from longs (90 degrees from longs). 3's are rare from what I have seen on this as the tee shot must be perfect to open area in fairway well past short pad. Basket up in guarded green.
Cons: Erosion has exposed some sleeves which could be filled in.
Other Thoughts: Images on dgcr do not do this course justice, you need to see it in person for the elevation changes, tight wooded holes, routes and open shots. Play this course with foliage in the summer months for a real challenge. I do miss the long shot across the creek on #11. If I was in the local club, I would purchase another basket to add back up to the right to have 2 targets on the hole for tournament as it really would not affect the current layout. Also, some of the other changes in the past were changed to make the course better (#12 or #13 was once a major hike up the hill and not really fit with the course as it was throw as hard as you can straight until you threw up to a target on a hill. If Greenville, Spartanburg, Clemson, Easley ever bid for Worlds, this course would be a great fit.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Nice set up - nice park

1    11/25/2015   11/30/2015
Review By: crwharton
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Traveling for the holidays - we are two distinctly different players - course sets up very nicely for both. Long tees provide solid pro test and short tees provide good play for shorter thrower.

For visiting player, signage / tees /maintenance/ course amenities are solid. Excellent facility - clean restroom. Weekday morning in November mostly empty, no problems with other park users.

Some beautiful throws - enjoyed the course - well worth the trip from the highway for a round when traveling.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Great Course

2-4    10/18/2015   10/22/2015
Review By: mierze
Played: 27  Reviewed: 6
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: *Two different tee selections which change up the course pretty dramatically.
*Good mix of woods and open shots.
*Hard to lose a disc.
*Little streams running through and around many holes.
*Nice park overall.
*Solid elevation changes.
Cons: *Lots of walkers on disc golf course.
*My white putter is now red from the clay being wet :|
*Really drawing a blank, it's a great play.
Other Thoughts: I would probably rate this closer to a 4-4.25 but I feel that it is a little underrated as it sits right now on dgcoursereview.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Ouch!

5+    2/8/2015   2/8/2015
Review By: Tom_oconnor
Played: 30  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 1.7 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great use of elevation. 2 sets of tee pads. Challenging layout.
Cons: People use this course a lot for not playing disc golf. Dogs, kids on bikes, strollers, and many other obstacles can be aggravating during a nice weekend afternoon.
Other Thoughts: The tree gods can be very unforgiving. I would say it's impossible to not hit a tree. Even keeping your ego in check and playing a safe route is somehow still challenging.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Va Du Marvelous ace made by Benny!

1    11/11/2014   11/11/2014
Review By: Bennybennybenny
Played: 74  Reviewed: 72  Exp: 5.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Nicely designed course. Very nice neighborhood and park. I want to live in a neighborhood like this when I'm 75! Anyway, sweet course with tons of ace (what I got on #4!!) runs as well as a very well designed par 4.
-Nice tee signs and tee pads. Course is easy to navigate too. There are next tee arrows pointing to both the shorts and the longs.
-Practice basket beside the kiosk beside #1.
-Nice greens on the course. Whether they are next to the creek (#15) or steep rollaways like #6 and #8.
-Great use of elevation on the course. This course is NOT mostly flat. There are a couple straight downhills like #7 and #11. #7 from either tee is a sweet straight down putter shot. #11 is the only par 4 from the shorts and par 5 from the longs and sure enough it's the most difficult yet one of the best. It starts off on the top of a big hill and turns left at the bottom of the hill. I threw a midrange and went over the creek that's over 300' from the tee.
-Great chance for an ace because I DID IT!!! I aced #4 from the short tee. I threw a putter dead straight and BAM! Hole 7 also can very well be aced as it is only 180' and lose half of its footage due to elevation. Fun ace runs are scattered along the course.
-Special standout to the creek running along the course and the pond on #14. #14 rocks! It's over a pond that's OB whether it's dry or not. The long tee is even better as it is on top of a hill maybe 15'. This kind of hole really gets you pumped. Love the rollaway green too.
-Great mix of open/wooded holes on the course. Great variety period. Holes on the short range from 123' to 564' and on the longs, lengths range from about 200' to 735'.
-This course is basically for everyone! The shorts are more fun and where you can see many birdies and the longs are a real test. The fairways are a little more odd and they put you to work.
Cons: -This is a hike for sure. Few more benches and many trash cans would be appreciated.
-#11's approach is too close to #12. I got confused and thought #12's basket (just over the creek) was #11's. #11's basket is in the woods left of the creek.
-I'm seriously wondering if there is some sort of trail around the course because there were people walking, especially on #15.
-Warning! The steep hill we play on is steep, especially on #6. If you hit a tree on #6, your disc will likely go right and will ricochet down all the way, if not, be careful for sure because there is a good chance in slipping.
-Few filler holes. The shorter holes were actually really fun but #9 was kind of just there for support I guess, same goes with #16.
Other Thoughts: -I came here because I wanted extra credit in my AP U.S. History class, I first when to Cowpens Battleground and definitely didn't want to drive there without playing this course and Tyger River (PLAY THAT COURSE!). This was a great day to spend for Veteran's Day and was glad that I didn't have school because I wouldn't have gotten to ace #4 my first time out here.
-I recommend you bring your friends, church group, school disc golf club etc. out here because it's a good time.
-Signature hole would easily be #11. The true par 4/5.
-My favorite hole was #14. It may not be the signature hole but love the risk/reward on the hole. Easy to reach a midrange, difficult to reach with a putter. Long tee, just throw what you are comfortable with.
-Fun factor-137/180
-Hole rating-134/180
-Both are high ratings but I felt like there could have been a couple things that could make it sicker! Few filler holes and needs more benches and a lot more trash cans.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

GREAT Course!

1    6/30/2014   7/8/2014
Review By: DGLobo999
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 4.1 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great layout with LOTS of variation in shots required. Great use of trees and elevation. A true design with the disc golfer and the flight of the disc in mind! Excellent tees, signage, and baskets. Good risk/reward opportunities. Easy to navigate.
Cons: Needs benches badly. Did not see facilities but only played passing through so I might have missed them. #7 descent is a nightmare when dry. Can't imagine the fun if wet!
Other Thoughts: Nice park. Well maintained. Definitely recommend making the trip to play this course. Kudos to the designers.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Well done on a nice spot of land

1    5/9/2014   5/10/2014
Review By: Hearin Chains
Played: 25  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Great mix of open and woods shots
- Balanced Risk / Reward options
- Elevation used well to add dynamics to shot selection
- Lots of benches , Tee box signs are nice and professional
Cons: - Would have liked to have small next tee signs under the basket on every hole, rather then the large yellow ones on some
- odd transition to 10 long
- basket for 12 very close to fairway for 11
- unclear on the intended play for hole 2 from back tee
Other Thoughts: I was traveling through town on Friday and I though I would give this course a try. I was not disappointed!

From the back tees, holes that stood out to me:
5: Nice uphill long dog leg left,very fun.
7: Back down the hill, very straight. Good chance to throw a thumber.
11: another down hill, but with more room to work and longer. Will come back to play this one.
14: Wicked pin placement on the edge of a retention pond with the creek on the downslope after the pin.

Even solo I had a great time here, and would really love to come back and play with some of the locals. The love of their course is evident in how well maintained and clean it is.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Va-Du-Mar-rvelous

1    2/17/2013   2/17/2013
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 262  Reviewed: 158  Exp: 13.1 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Va-Du-Mar is the name, disc golf is the game. Lucky for me the golfing is better than the funky name. I really enjoyed playing this course, and think it is one of the best in the state. I liked the combination of challenging and fun throws. The elevation changes are on nearly every hole, varying in degree from steep to slight. The fairways range from wide open on a couple, to carving place to place and turning tight corners through dense woods. Playing the long tees adds an extra punch. Two tees on each hole make the distance more manageable from the shorts, but doesn't take away all of the difficulty. Pin placements are regularly near water, on the edge of a hill, or both. Chances to crank some long drives, but accuracy is important over distance mostly. Fairways can be very tough but are balanced left/right and nicely defined.

I especially liked hole 7 and 11, both are steep downhill drives. 7 is a shorter birdie hole if you keep it down the middle, and 11 is very lengthy with a dogleg left at the bottom of the hill. 14 and 17 are open drives, but require long throws over marshy retention holes.

The tee pads were all concrete, all the baskets were there and numbered, and the long tees now have signs marking distances and basic hole map. Also, large yellow arrows help guide the transitions between holes in a few spots. The bridges crossing the water were all sturdy and nice. Overall the layout great fun and not too hard to figure out.
Cons: The most obvious fault was the total lack of benches at any point in the round. Didn't see many trash cans either. A map might be helpful, but I really didn't have too much trouble navigating the course. I played the day after the snow fell, and there were slick, muddy spots, but not too bad. Still, the steep hill sides could get dicey, so be careful. Water is present on many holes, and though several of my throws were in the creek, all discs were retrieved. Bad rolls and tree ricochets may be expected, due to terrain features.
Other Thoughts: Winter canopy on the trees might have helped me some, but this course still kicked my tail. The 20 mph cold wind definitely played a part, and so did the water. My short game was not sharp, and I was way over par. I still had an awesome time! I might have been too generous and over-rated by a half star, but to make up for the 3.36 average rating from previous reviews. The course is killer, meriting a solid 4 minimum. Install benches and a few trash cans, and a 4.5 could be justifiable in my opinion. I never played the old layout, but the current one is great. I'm ready to sound the awesome course alert. Serious disc golfers, this one is worth making the trip. Sort of reminds me of Bowers Park in Tuscaloosa, AL.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Nice intermediate course

2-4    1/9/2013   1/13/2013
Review By: Stardoggy
Played: 227  Reviewed: 152  Exp: 4.9 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice course with really good use of elevation through most of the round. It's not the hardest course around, but it has a nice variety of shots, even on the more open holes.

Pretty good risk/reward on most holes, with some pretty steep hills in play on several, and a small creek running along several holes (although retrieval is never really a problem, except for possibly the pit on 14). I particularly liked 14, which is a 200ish shot over a pit to a thin (10 ft wide) ridge. I was fortunate to keep it up on the ridge both rounds I played. The downhill bomber/dogleg left hole (11 I think?) was an especially nice hole, probably the signature hole on the course. It was nice having long tees on most holes, as well.

Following the course is relatively easy, with yellow arrow markers located after most baskets. They also seem to have done a really nice job with clearing out the nasty brush, as well.
Cons: For such a nice course, I'd expect there to benches on more holes. The lack of signs was also surprising. Distances, par (I played everything as a 3, just to be consistent), elevation change, and hole diagrams would go a LONG way towards making this a 4-4.5 course.

I REALLY would have liked to see a better way down the hill on hole 7, as well. That's a hairy descent, to be mild about it. I would be downright frightened to go down it with anything but super dry ground.
Other Thoughts: Despite the cons, this really is a great little course that I'd be more than happy to call my home course. A decent variety of shots, and two really nice setups with the short/long tees. The teepads are nice, although I prefer trapezoidal concrete to just a straight rectangle.

Overall, a really nice spot to stop for a couple rounds if you're in the area.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.