Munford, TN 
Valentine Park - Course #1 Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #1
3 / 260ft.   3 / 260ft.   3 / 260ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Great Course

2-4    6/22/2013   6/23/2013
Review By: klawineagle
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.5 Years
Pros: Very challenging. Benches on almost every hole. Course one is mostly wooded. Lots of challenges and very few straight shots. Noticed that someone created the "Red" marker as all par of 3. Course has actual pars listed on tee plates. Have created actual Pars on the "White" marker. This has been the best course I have played so far, which isn't many yet. Hole number 4 is challenging with the water and the hill that the basket is on. Easy to find your disc in the woods, paths and labeling very well.
Cons: Wished the baskets either had flags, or brighter painting on them to be easier spotted. Few holes we had to walk half of it, just to see where the basket was at.

 Better than advertised

1    9/8/2011   9/8/2011
Review By: sdervan
Played: 41  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 5.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Only course in the county.
- Very private park
- baskets are DGA and are in very good condition.
- course starts open, goes into the woods, back out, back in, and finishes in the open.
- Holes that test shots to right & left.
- #4 is the course highlight. elevate tee to an even more elevated basket over water.
Cons: - signage to next tee should be more clearly marked
- a few baskets are very close to the the next teepads and it seems as it might be dangerous at times.
Other Thoughts: There is a gas station just up the street from the park that has an AMAZING selection of disc to buy. Great prices, different plastics, and close location. If you are in the area, throw Valentine.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/7/2009   1/22/2011
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 229  Reviewed: 225  Exp: 18.2 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Valentine Park has a good balance of very open and tightly wooded holes, and I appreciate that they are mixed up nicely to where you are not playing all open holes in a row, then all wooded holes in a row. The wooded holes are the strength of this course providing the biggest challenges as they also utilize elevation effectively. The best hole is #4 which plays over a small pound to a basket sitting on top a steep slope putting the pond in play, not only on your drive, but also on your putt!! The length of the holes is also mixed up pretty well. Signage was pretty good, baskets were all there and in decent shape, and navigation was fine.
Cons: The tee pads are inconsistent and not the greatest with some that could lead to injuries. The open holes do not have many challenges other than just being able to throw it out there; there were few obstacles and always ample room to play it safe. By the end of the round the last couple holes are pretty boring as you just throw it as far as you can in an open field back to the car. Some of the wooded holes really did not have a fairway, so you just sort of hoped your disc could find a gap.

The park and course itself appeared a little run down and neglected. Many of the other people driving through the park looked suspicious and sort of made you feel uncomfortable; especially knowing you would be leaving your vehicle parked in an area that hardly resembled a parking lot.
Other Thoughts: This is not a horrible course, but it could use some improvement, primarily with maintenance and upkeep. However, it does provide a nice contrast to the nearby Edmund Orgil course. I would not recommend traveling a long distance just to play here, but if you are in the area and want to play a casual round it should satisfy the need.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Not a bad little course

1    10/10/2009   10/12/2009
Review By: shyguy30
Played: 54  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 10.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Wooded holes are really neat and require a good variety of shots
-Most holes have good signage
-Rugged feel that I personally like (as opposed to ball-golf type courses)
Cons: -Tee pads are tiny concrete or carpet pads
-Climbing the hill on #4 could probably be treacherous if you slip
-The course just had a "trashy" feel. There were giant trash cans but most of them were completely full. I got the feeling they only empty them every month or so.
-Open holes mostly lack obstacles and are redundant
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed the holes in the woods as they made terrific use of the terrain to cause shorter holes to play fairly difficult. They used the elevation changes nicely and I also thought the open sharp dogleg right hole was unique. However, the rest of the open holes were ho-hum and I couldn't help looking over my shoulder most of the round wondering what the locals were up to. Take some friends with you if you aren't comfortable by yourself in "shady" surroundings.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Grreat Fun

1    10/10/2009   10/11/2009
Review By: odysseus81
Played: 72  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 17.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is a ton of fun. One of the most interesting wooded courses I have played. The woods holes are VERY fun and vary greatly. Number 4 is a special hole...throwing over a pond in the woods to a hole located up a steep hill. There is NO room for error. I have never played another hole like it. Not particularly long...which is fine, because the elevation changes and the woods make holes play longer than they are. Signs throughout the woods make it pretty easy to find the next tees. It would be tough without them.
Cons: There isnt much to the open holes...but fortunately, there aren't many. The tee pad situation is really sketchy. The concrete pads in the open are very short...and the natural pads in the woods are rough. There little to no room for run up and are very slippery. I have no idea how they came up with their par's for the course (on the signs) never seen so many 300 foot par 4's. I played the whole course as par 3's...I guess if you are really looking for an ego boost, use their par's.
Other Thoughts: Even with the negatives I gave, this was still probably my 3rd favorite course I played in the memphis area (after The Hill and Shelby Forest). It is a unique little course and I loved it.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great course

2-4    5/24/2009   5/24/2009
Review By: Dillon_Gourley
Played: 63  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 7.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/2/2009
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great course, good mix of open and wooded holes.

Holes in the open all have concrete tee pads. Longest hole is 385' I believe, majority of the holes are between 260'-330' I'd say.

Signs on every hole. Benches on all of the open holes, few in the woods also.

Water hazard on hole # 4, real easy to get across the water, however the basket is on the hill. If you don't make the putt and it doinks it's rolling for a possible OB. It is very shallow and you can retrieve your disc.

Easy to navigate to each hole, next tee pad signs all over, good flow.
Cons: Tee pads are kinda short. I think they are 6', which this is just my personal preference.

These are the worst baskets I have ever played. I saw more spit putts in two rounds than I have ever seen in my entire time playing. The chains do not catch, but flip your disc and when it flips it catches the rim of the basket and there you have it, a two putt!

Open holes can get a little repetitive.

Other Thoughts: Despite the tee pads and spit putts this is one of my favorite courses. A must stop if you're anywhere close!

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/21/2009   5/24/2009
Review By: peabody
Played: 46  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 11.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a neat little course. Love hole 4 even though I double bogeyed the thing!
Some long open holes and some very tight wooded holes. DGA baskets. I think they were Mach II but I couldn't tell.
The layout is perfect. You know where the next tee is here pretty much. Benches and wastebaskets are always a plus. I would love to have this course as a home course. Folks in Munford don't know how lucky they are.
Cons: No bathrooms close by and the teepads could have been a little longer.
Other Thoughts: Fun and challenging this course has it all. Each hole is different and offers some alternating shots to navigate through. If you are going to Bud Hill and Meeman, stop by here, you won't be dissapointed.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Good Course

5+    2/27/2009   2/27/2009
Review By: Chuck
Played: 11  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.6 Years
This review was updated on 11/3/2009
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A good course getting better. A good combination of open "grip it and rip it", technical short straight shots, hyzers and anhyzers in the woods.
Cons: As of this date Feb 27 2009, the natural tee boxes are in rough shape. Especially this time of year, pretty muddy.
Other Thoughts: Being my home course I'm kind of fond of Valentine. Concrete tee boxes are in the works as well as normal spring clean-up. Hopefully by summer it can be upgraded to a 4.0.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 it's alright

1    10/11/2008   10/11/2008
Review By: Innovadude
Played: 226  Reviewed: 179  Exp: 16.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: One of the nicer poke-n-pray, short tight woods courses. Half the holes require extreme precision and slow speed release. Some nice steep hills in the woods, with one shot over a murky pond to a basket up on a hill. Partially open holes to start and finish. Unique. Less nasty rough than you'd expect.
Cons: The tees- rough dirt and roots, barely room to stand on let alone run-up or come from the side. Easy to trip or twist an ankle. Some holes just seem to have no fairway.
Other Thoughts: Fun when usually I don't like this type of course, this one's worth checking out and would grow on you, the locals seemed to love it.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.