Disc Golf Store
DeWitt Township, MI 
Valley Farms Park Share
Uploaded By: Pizatman Hole #5
3 / 190ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #5



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Poison ivy and Stank water

1    4/6/2013   4/6/2013
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 245  Reviewed: 238  Exp: 4.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Aesthetic- plays through the back woods of this multi-purpose park. area is essentially dg exclusive with a walking path (paved) only In view at one point of the course. plays along a couple of small ponds.

Routing/Nav-- Easy, the course flows easily and never a chance to get lost.

Baskets- postives and negatives here. the baskets are disCatchers which is nice for visibility sake in the heavy woods but they are in awful repair. many have missing chains, bent baskets or missing tines.

Risk v Reward- eh, there is some here with the ponds and what not but the holes are relatively short throughout so you aren't throwing warp speed drivers AT AL
Cons:
Tees/Teesigns- the tees are pretty rutty and the tee"signs" are pretty poor. with just a number (in some places)

Poison Ivy- EVERYWHERE, look out for the fuzzy vines on trees.

only 9- this course could be longer in my opinion with a little redesign. but it's relatively well established so it's probably not really feasible.

Variety- A lot of really short holes in tight woods nothing to speak of in the way of variety or challenge.
Other Thoughts: glad I played it but probably won't be back d/t the length and poison ivy.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    8/20/2012   8/20/2012
Review By: mandylan
Played: 11  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Short holes make it somewhat easy for a beginner.
Easy to follow the course if you just walk the path.
There were trash baskets every few holes, so it is easy to clean up after yourself.
Only 9 holes makes it nice if you want a quick game.
Not very crowded.
Cons: Heavily wooded.
Narrow fairways.
Lots of bugs due to the water around the course.
No clear tee signs, just a wooden post in the ground. Some have numbers on them.
Other Thoughts: This is essentially our "home" course since it is only a few minutes from our house. Although I started playing in 2010, I am still very much a beginner, so this course is still fun and challenging for me. I have lost a few discs (esp on #7). The brush isn't awful so if you do throw a bit off the fairway, it is easy to find your disc. The course is so short you can easily play 2 rounds right in a row if you wanted to.
It's not the best course I have ever played, but it is very nice when I am looking for a quick round.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Fun,Short Course

5+    8/18/2011   8/21/2011
Review By: biglefty
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1
Pros: Most of the holes are pretty short, so you can make ace runs on most holes, however if you leave the fairway, you'll be punished by thick brush. Great course to play with just a putter or a midrange. Alternate tees make it more like 18, but not really
Cons: Again, very short course, not really any holes to rip drives on. But the big downside, there is trash everywhere! Everytime I played here, I saw disc golfers just tossing cans into the brush.
Other Thoughts: Good course, but the players here need to clean up after themselves

 Fun Little Course

5+    7/28/2011   7/30/2011
Review By: starskeeter
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.5 Years
This review was updated on 10/21/2011
Pros: It is a fun short course to play on my way from/to work. It is a quick play (I can usually play it in about 25-30 minutes, possibly faster if I wanted to). There are some alternate tees, that add a little different look to each hole. It is an amazing course to practice your short game on, and it also helps you practice tight wooded holes (because every hole here is tight and wooded). It is relatively easy to find a stray throw, because the course is well trampled.
Cons: Like everyone has mentioned trash is a problem. The baskets also leave a little to be desired.
Other Thoughts: Don't go out of your way to play here. If you are local and it is convenient, this is a fun course to go get some practice on. If you are looking to play some disc golf in the Lansing area, my suggestion would be to go to Sleepy Hollow (my favorite in the area) or go to Burchfield. Grand Woods is not bad either, but I feel as though Grand Woods is a disc trap because of some nearly unplayable holes.

 Good quick play! Fun for practicing the short game

5+    9/8/2011   6/30/2011
Review By: elrumpo
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 3.5 Years
This review was updated on 9/8/2011
Pros: - nice short course for practicing your putting and midrange game
- easily playable in half an hour
- never busy on week days
- course is kept in pretty good shape (other than some trash)
- some fun holes with trees that make you think
- some nice elevation change
Cons: - Not much variety between holes, mostly straight with tree obstacles and no long holes to mix it up.
- trash! come on people, use the barrels
Other Thoughts: Lots of good chances for birdies here. No real water hazards, which is nice. Only one hole where there is a chance to lose a disc (hole 7 down the cliff on the left). If you like tight fairways, lots of trees and a challenge in your short game, this is a fun course!

 quick and dirty

5+    10/29/2010   10/29/2010
Review By: Balrog
Played: 27  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.4 Years
Pros: Has some cool elevation changes/variation in terrain. Hole 4 drops off and to the left slightly. Hole 7 runs along a 15' ridge, cut to the left and you'll have to scramble down to find your disc in the piles of logs. Hole 8 is super short, about 70' if that, can throw your putter from the Tee. The challenge on that hole is that it continues to drop away from the basket. Shooting for chains can easily put you 20-30' past the basket on a light throw. Hole 9 plays back up the same hill, but adds some distance and a hard left hook.
Cons: Tee pads are dirt/mud.
Lack of signage on some holes, you can find where to tee off by a 4x4 post stuck in the ground, but most signs are missing, or laying on the ground.
Short holes, no long holes to drive hard on.
Other Thoughts: Its a nice little course for a quick game, works out good for me because I can play it on my lunch hour. It would be nice if they put some time or maintenance into the course though. Doesn't seem like much, if anything has been done to it in years. The holes are short, but the elevation and trees make them tricky still. I wouldn't drive too far out of my way to play this course, but if you are nearby, it gets the job done.
On a few of the holes there are alternate tees, however they aren't marked. Most of them just offer a slightly longer shot. Gives you some variety when playing it for 18.

 Easy In, Easy Out

1    5/21/2010   5/21/2010
Review By: sorotan
Played: 28  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4.5 Years
Pros: This heavily wooded quick 9 hole course is a looped course starts near the parking lot (next to the Volleyball Courts) and ends right back at the 1st Tee. All the Tees markers (small wooden signs) were in place. There had been rain before I got to the course, so the park was empty until I was leaving. I really liked the woods and the moderate elevation change. Between the 6th and 7th baskets a beautiful swamp with large trees and standing water dropped to the southwest of the course adding some Star Wars Dagobah-like feel.
Cons: Garbage. Plenty-o-Garbage. Throughout the entire course I came across only 1 white plastic 55 gallon garbage bin chained to a tree near the 8th fairway. At every course beer bottles littered the ground. I didn't see any tires as mentioned in some other reviews (that's a good thing).

The course has dirt (greasy mud in my case) Tee Pads...

I really don't like the baskets themselves. I saw several discs that hit the basket's chains straight on, and bounce back out. The single set of chains, and the overall design of the baskets leaves a lot to be desired.
Other Thoughts: This course has a good layout. The fairways are tight making it a challenge for a beginner like me, but there aren't any good places I found to let one rip... The fairways are generally short shots through the woods.

While the course makes good use of the woods it encompasses, the site is limited with it's short distances and general straight fairways.

This is a nice little course, but definitely in need of a little TLC.

  

5+    11/9/2009   11/9/2009
Review By: ElaHalina
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I really like this course because it is quick and quiet, which means I can go out at 4:30pm in the winter, play a round, check out the hill at Granger Meadows, and be back home before dark. A couple of months ago, a group of people got together to clean up the park - no more tires, no more downed trees obstructing the flight paths, and the basket at hole 8 has been replaced. It's a great place to practice your short game and hone your technical skills because it is surrounded by trees. Sure, this can be frustrating to people used to playing in big open areas - but what's the fun in that? The trees make for a fun and interesting challenge.
Hole 4 is a favorite of mine and is probably the one with the best opportunity for a bigger drive (along with hole 1). Hole 8 is pretty short but downhill, and is good for a beginner's first deuce (that's where I got mine!).
Cons: It can get a little muddy at the tees after the rains, but there is plenty of room to step around the mud. Unfortunately not all of the tees are clearly marked, and the bathrooms at Valley Farms are locked at times (when this happens I take the short walk to Granger Meadows). Sometimes some of the smaller trees topple over and come across the fairways, but lately it seems that somebody has been removing the downed trees, which makes the course much more enjoyable. The biggest drawback for me is the lack of trash cans - this means that people leave cups, beer bottles, etc. on top of baskets, next to tees, in the trees, on the ground. They are making such an effort to spiff up the place, and I would really like to see some trash cans placed around the course.
Other Thoughts: After hole 3, take the little path down to the paved road and go to your right. Follow it around to the stairway that takes you up a big hill. This is part of Granger Meadows park. The hill provides an awesome view of the houses, roller hockey rink, and Valley Farms Park. It is also used for sledding in the winter time. Often, a plane from the Lansing airport flies pretty closely overhead, and that's pretty exciting. When it's quieter (in the late evenings) it's always fun to have a couple of spotters at ground level (so you can watch for people using the path) and have someone up on the hill really let the discs rip. It's so quiet at this park that you can do all this, take the paved path back, hop on at hole 4, and not interrupt anybody's round.
Don't let the trees discourage you. It's really a fun park to practice your technical shots, play in teams, and enjoy a much less crowded environment.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  fun pitch and putt

5+    5/3/2009   5/3/2009
Review By: airwon
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.1 Years
This review was updated on 5/11/2010
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: i enjoy this course cause of the short holes its great to practice your short game
Cons: im not a big fan of water but this water is just really gross with tires and such in it and at the moment theres no basket on hole 8
Other Thoughts: i thin this is an overall fun course to take my little brother to and i can play nine by myself in think half an hour

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/20/2008   8/20/2008
Review By: Pizatman
Played: 11  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 8.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Shaded from the sun and entirely wooded starting from the tee at hole one. A short course for a quick play. It flows from hole to hole. A relatively easy 9 holes, consisting of mostly straight shots down narrow alley ways, it does use slight elevation changes and natural path curves to spice things up a bit in the second half of the course.
Cons: Tight free ways offer low scores if you are accurate, but you might end up spending much of your time digging your disc out of the rough if you pull a drive a little too far in either direction. Depending on the season you might experience lots of bugs or a swampy water hazard around hole 7.
The signs of very low to the ground on pieces of wood, some are missing and others are faded. Replacing them would make for a smoother round and a better experience on the course.
Other Thoughts: There are literally pathways from each basket to the next tee so it is almost impossible to get lost or miss a hole. Overall this is a nice course to play, a little short which will cut the replay value but annual tree and brush growth can make up for that.
Being in a forest gives the course a very secluded feeling.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.