DeWitt Township, MI 
Valley Farms Park Share
Uploaded By: Pizatman  
Welcome to Valley Farms Park



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Poison ivy and Stank water

1    4/6/2013   4/6/2013
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 245  Reviewed: 238  Exp: 4.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Aesthetic- plays through the back woods of this multi-purpose park. area is essentially dg exclusive with a walking path (paved) only In view at one point of the course. plays along a couple of small ponds.

Routing/Nav-- Easy, the course flows easily and never a chance to get lost.

Baskets- postives and negatives here. the baskets are disCatchers which is nice for visibility sake in the heavy woods but they are in awful repair. many have missing chains, bent baskets or missing tines.

Risk v Reward- eh, there is some here with the ponds and what not but the holes are relatively short throughout so you aren't throwing warp speed drivers AT AL
Cons:
Tees/Teesigns- the tees are pretty rutty and the tee"signs" are pretty poor. with just a number (in some places)

Poison Ivy- EVERYWHERE, look out for the fuzzy vines on trees.

only 9- this course could be longer in my opinion with a little redesign. but it's relatively well established so it's probably not really feasible.

Variety- A lot of really short holes in tight woods nothing to speak of in the way of variety or challenge.
Other Thoughts: glad I played it but probably won't be back d/t the length and poison ivy.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 quick and dirty

5+    10/29/2010   10/29/2010
Review By: Balrog
Played: 27  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.4 Years
Pros: Has some cool elevation changes/variation in terrain. Hole 4 drops off and to the left slightly. Hole 7 runs along a 15' ridge, cut to the left and you'll have to scramble down to find your disc in the piles of logs. Hole 8 is super short, about 70' if that, can throw your putter from the Tee. The challenge on that hole is that it continues to drop away from the basket. Shooting for chains can easily put you 20-30' past the basket on a light throw. Hole 9 plays back up the same hill, but adds some distance and a hard left hook.
Cons: Tee pads are dirt/mud.
Lack of signage on some holes, you can find where to tee off by a 4x4 post stuck in the ground, but most signs are missing, or laying on the ground.
Short holes, no long holes to drive hard on.
Other Thoughts: Its a nice little course for a quick game, works out good for me because I can play it on my lunch hour. It would be nice if they put some time or maintenance into the course though. Doesn't seem like much, if anything has been done to it in years. The holes are short, but the elevation and trees make them tricky still. I wouldn't drive too far out of my way to play this course, but if you are nearby, it gets the job done.
On a few of the holes there are alternate tees, however they aren't marked. Most of them just offer a slightly longer shot. Gives you some variety when playing it for 18.

 Easy In, Easy Out

1    5/21/2010   5/21/2010
Review By: sorotan
Played: 28  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4.5 Years
Pros: This heavily wooded quick 9 hole course is a looped course starts near the parking lot (next to the Volleyball Courts) and ends right back at the 1st Tee. All the Tees markers (small wooden signs) were in place. There had been rain before I got to the course, so the park was empty until I was leaving. I really liked the woods and the moderate elevation change. Between the 6th and 7th baskets a beautiful swamp with large trees and standing water dropped to the southwest of the course adding some Star Wars Dagobah-like feel.
Cons: Garbage. Plenty-o-Garbage. Throughout the entire course I came across only 1 white plastic 55 gallon garbage bin chained to a tree near the 8th fairway. At every course beer bottles littered the ground. I didn't see any tires as mentioned in some other reviews (that's a good thing).

The course has dirt (greasy mud in my case) Tee Pads...

I really don't like the baskets themselves. I saw several discs that hit the basket's chains straight on, and bounce back out. The single set of chains, and the overall design of the baskets leaves a lot to be desired.
Other Thoughts: This course has a good layout. The fairways are tight making it a challenge for a beginner like me, but there aren't any good places I found to let one rip... The fairways are generally short shots through the woods.

While the course makes good use of the woods it encompasses, the site is limited with it's short distances and general straight fairways.

This is a nice little course, but definitely in need of a little TLC.

 Birdies and mosqitoes

4/30/2008   4/30/2008
Review By: Portablewalrus
Played: 15  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 13.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/11/2008
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a very short course and is entirely wooded. Every hole is lined tight with trees but most are straight and short giving away lots of birdies if your accurate, But leaving you in think brush if your not. This is a fun course to play with just a putter, and there is alternative tees. This place is also easy to navigate, not because of the signs, but because, usually, there is only one path to choose from that will take you forward. Hole 8 is nice blind downhill with the pin just in front of a swamp, and just behind a large tree. Its a great birdie hole but throw light!
Cons: The water hazards are more like swamps, so steer clear. A byproduct of said swamp, is terrible mosquitoes. Also, The signs are there, but need a paint job.
Other Thoughts: There is a sign at the first tee with a list of prohibited activities and playing golf is one of them. Just thought that was funny. Oh, and no alcohol...Bummer.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.