DeWitt Township, MI 
Valley Farms Park Share
Uploaded By: Pizatman Hole #6
3 / 210ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #6



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

2-4    8/20/2012   8/20/2012
Review By: mandylan
Played: 11  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Short holes make it somewhat easy for a beginner.
Easy to follow the course if you just walk the path.
There were trash baskets every few holes, so it is easy to clean up after yourself.
Only 9 holes makes it nice if you want a quick game.
Not very crowded.
Cons: Heavily wooded.
Narrow fairways.
Lots of bugs due to the water around the course.
No clear tee signs, just a wooden post in the ground. Some have numbers on them.
Other Thoughts: This is essentially our "home" course since it is only a few minutes from our house. Although I started playing in 2010, I am still very much a beginner, so this course is still fun and challenging for me. I have lost a few discs (esp on #7). The brush isn't awful so if you do throw a bit off the fairway, it is easy to find your disc. The course is so short you can easily play 2 rounds right in a row if you wanted to.
It's not the best course I have ever played, but it is very nice when I am looking for a quick round.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Little Course

5+    7/28/2011   7/30/2011
Review By: starskeeter
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.3 Years
This review was updated on 10/21/2011
Pros: It is a fun short course to play on my way from/to work. It is a quick play (I can usually play it in about 25-30 minutes, possibly faster if I wanted to). There are some alternate tees, that add a little different look to each hole. It is an amazing course to practice your short game on, and it also helps you practice tight wooded holes (because every hole here is tight and wooded). It is relatively easy to find a stray throw, because the course is well trampled.
Cons: Like everyone has mentioned trash is a problem. The baskets also leave a little to be desired.
Other Thoughts: Don't go out of your way to play here. If you are local and it is convenient, this is a fun course to go get some practice on. If you are looking to play some disc golf in the Lansing area, my suggestion would be to go to Sleepy Hollow (my favorite in the area) or go to Burchfield. Grand Woods is not bad either, but I feel as though Grand Woods is a disc trap because of some nearly unplayable holes.

  

5+    11/9/2009   11/9/2009
Review By: ElaHalina
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I really like this course because it is quick and quiet, which means I can go out at 4:30pm in the winter, play a round, check out the hill at Granger Meadows, and be back home before dark. A couple of months ago, a group of people got together to clean up the park - no more tires, no more downed trees obstructing the flight paths, and the basket at hole 8 has been replaced. It's a great place to practice your short game and hone your technical skills because it is surrounded by trees. Sure, this can be frustrating to people used to playing in big open areas - but what's the fun in that? The trees make for a fun and interesting challenge.
Hole 4 is a favorite of mine and is probably the one with the best opportunity for a bigger drive (along with hole 1). Hole 8 is pretty short but downhill, and is good for a beginner's first deuce (that's where I got mine!).
Cons: It can get a little muddy at the tees after the rains, but there is plenty of room to step around the mud. Unfortunately not all of the tees are clearly marked, and the bathrooms at Valley Farms are locked at times (when this happens I take the short walk to Granger Meadows). Sometimes some of the smaller trees topple over and come across the fairways, but lately it seems that somebody has been removing the downed trees, which makes the course much more enjoyable. The biggest drawback for me is the lack of trash cans - this means that people leave cups, beer bottles, etc. on top of baskets, next to tees, in the trees, on the ground. They are making such an effort to spiff up the place, and I would really like to see some trash cans placed around the course.
Other Thoughts: After hole 3, take the little path down to the paved road and go to your right. Follow it around to the stairway that takes you up a big hill. This is part of Granger Meadows park. The hill provides an awesome view of the houses, roller hockey rink, and Valley Farms Park. It is also used for sledding in the winter time. Often, a plane from the Lansing airport flies pretty closely overhead, and that's pretty exciting. When it's quieter (in the late evenings) it's always fun to have a couple of spotters at ground level (so you can watch for people using the path) and have someone up on the hill really let the discs rip. It's so quiet at this park that you can do all this, take the paved path back, hop on at hole 4, and not interrupt anybody's round.
Don't let the trees discourage you. It's really a fun park to practice your technical shots, play in teams, and enjoy a much less crowded environment.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/20/2008   8/20/2008
Review By: Pizatman
Played: 11  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 8.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Shaded from the sun and entirely wooded starting from the tee at hole one. A short course for a quick play. It flows from hole to hole. A relatively easy 9 holes, consisting of mostly straight shots down narrow alley ways, it does use slight elevation changes and natural path curves to spice things up a bit in the second half of the course.
Cons: Tight free ways offer low scores if you are accurate, but you might end up spending much of your time digging your disc out of the rough if you pull a drive a little too far in either direction. Depending on the season you might experience lots of bugs or a swampy water hazard around hole 7.
The signs of very low to the ground on pieces of wood, some are missing and others are faded. Replacing them would make for a smoother round and a better experience on the course.
Other Thoughts: There are literally pathways from each basket to the next tee so it is almost impossible to get lost or miss a hole. Overall this is a nice course to play, a little short which will cut the replay value but annual tree and brush growth can make up for that.
Being in a forest gives the course a very secluded feeling.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.