Durham, NC 
Valley Springs Park Share
Uploaded By: kunipshunfit Hole #15 (Taken 2/2009)
3 / 230ft.   3 / 277ft.   3 / 343ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee Sign



Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
I wish I discovered this one earlier

2-4    2/1/2012   2/1/2012
Review By: pfpro
Played: 46  Reviewed: 36
This review was updated on 1/1/2013
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - the course is immaculate, no trash in the rough, etc. I attribute this to two things: 1) it's remote, so there aren't random delinquents cutting through and 2) the local DGC takes care of it.
- You can legitimately play every hole (first 18) 3 ways. If you share a teepad (white/blue), there a permanent second "pro" basket. As mentioned, reds will be putter only, whites are longer with open lanes p and blues are longer and/or tighter.
- the signage is good. Since the tee pads are split at some holes, there are great signs showing what direction as well as tasteful colored spray paint dots on trees leading down the paths.
- The back half of the course is pleasantly long (> 300') from the Pros. It is a wooded course, but you can "air it out" in a controlled fashion.
- Good mix of holes - it just may not seem like it because all the short ones tend to be in the front.
- Great use of the elevation changes.
- I love the fact that when there are multiple baskets, the pro baskets go right to the pro pads for the next hole. It's a very nice little design touch.
Cons: Ticky-tack stuff:
- The front holes are a little tight (from a layout perspective) - I tend to play at low volume times, so it's no biggie for me.
- The sign says par 3 on 18 from the blue - No Way. On this site it says 4, so I'm OK with that.
- Really wish they had Innova Discatchers so you could see the Yellow bands. The baskets can be a little tricky to see. Some had neon nylon tape that helped.
- whether you play 18 or 22, the end is not near parking - not a big deal, just not the "perfect" layout.
Other Thoughts: - I enjoyed the white, and really enjoyed the blues. Yes, some of the gaps are tough (note hole 16, why is the teepad pointing at brush?
- I love the elevation changes. Early on in the course, you are playing across a valley between different park facilities. There are some blue teepads that are up stairs and shooting little gaps - pretty cool.
- "Fore More" - 19-22 are just frosting on the cake. There is only one teepad (white), but they play like the blues on the regular course. If you are playing a rec round - you will be punished by 19, 20 and 22. There is an alternate teepad on 22 letting you bomb off the tee into the woods.
- The pro-basket is missing on 7.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 BEST COURSE IN DURHAM

1    4/1/2010   4/1/2010
Review By: mhdisc03
Played: 20  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 14.1 Years
0 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: 3 sets of pads, short is womens pad. back pads are awsome, so tight it hurts your mind. has nets to protect you from errant shots from others. long slight elevaton changes just great for the long woods game
Cons: back pads are not as defient as the should be. but none the less REAL HARD
Other Thoughts: locals in durham are great doubles tourneys are fun as heck

0 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Best course no one talks about

5+    11/12/2009   12/27/2009
Review By: ARock
Played: 31  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 11.3 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Three sets of clearly marked teepads provides three distinct courses that range from birdie fest all the way up to a big challenge to hang around par. None of the courses provides really long shots but the narrow, wooded fairways requires precision off the tee to have any chance at birdie. I can play this course over and over and not get bored. Additionally, you can spend all day here and play each of the red, white, and blue tee pads and not see the same shot twice. On top of it all, the "Fore More", holes 19-22, are new additions that are very tough holes. They don't have the same personality as the rest of the course, but are a fun way to wrap up a normal round of 18 holes.
Cons: Some could argue the course is a bit too short but aces are very tough to come by as well. Several of the blue teepads are borderline "chuck and pray".
Other Thoughts: Great for dogs to run off the leash. Several pin placements change every month. Great group of guys play doubles here every week.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Legit Woods Course

5+    12/27/2008   4/27/2009
Review By: Mtn Huckin
Played: 73  Reviewed: 12
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Valley Springs represents Woods golf in NC. Tight but legitimate fairways to test all kinds of players. The addition of holes 19-22 brings par fours to the course for the first time. Lots of elevation change and good distribution of shots make this course stand out.
Cons: The addition of Pro and Beginner T Pads to the regular layout is o.k., but just cause you can does not mean you should. In a town with super short Cornwallis DGC just minutes away, did we really need 54 T Pads??? It muddles the course a little.
Other Thoughts: I truly love this course. It was my home course for years and I have 389 rounds on it. I have a great tight woods game because of this course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 One of the best in Triangle

5+    4/5/2009   4/5/2009
Review By: kuhlbeans
Played: 48  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 9.4 Years
This review was updated on 4/25/2009
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Valley Springs is one of the courses I just feel the urge to play frequently, even though it's a longer drive coming from Raleigh. It's a quiet park without too much traffic on the course. Lots of elevation change to make holes interesting and there are red, white, and blue tees (the latter two sometimes being together). On several holes blue even has a separate (longer) basket. Pin positions change fairly often to keep you coming back and the park and course are well maintained.

Last year (2008) four new holes were added that are longer than the average for the original 18 and provide some much needed right-to-left doglegs to spice up the bit of staleness in the 12 through 16 designs (see cons below).

New signs were added earlier this year (2009) that are quite good. Clear and accurate hole diagrams with distances and pars. Next tees are not marked but the course flows well so this should not be too much of a problem. Being wooded it is usually easy to see the path to the next hole, and where it is not clear there is a small marker sign near the pin pointing you which way to go. Also, the first tee sign has a box for scorecards, but it doesn't seem to be consistently stocked.

The pro tees here are really excellent and provide a great challenge. Be warned that they are indeed a challenge and can make your life miserable, many of the shots off of these tees are through very narrow corridors (<5ft sometimes).
Cons: It's going to sound like I have a lot of cons here but overall I don't feel that they are not major enough to warrant too much of a rating penalty.

12 through 16 are all fairly similar hole designs, mostly straight or very slightly left or right pin positions relative to the hole. The blue tee on 16 being the exception, it's a very tough hard turnover that must quickly come back to straight or overstable flight pattern (assuming RHBH) and is extremely hard when the trees are in full leaf during the summer. Fortunately I find that the holes before and after more than make up for the minor variety complaint here.

The tees are often raised concrete or are on slight downhills. Either way, this means that the front of the tee is raised from the ground. For a person with a long run up it is easy to step poorly and get your foot to overhang the front edge and turn your ankle a bit as you go forward off the tee. Similarly, it is often hard to make a long run up (to make sure you don't step off the front) because the tee is raised, making you concentrate on stepping up onto the tee rather than your shot flow.

Though there isn't much undergrowth, the trees themselves are pretty dense. There are a lot of small, thin trunk trees between the larger ones. If you go off of the fairways this course is somewhat punishing depending on time of year, often you will not have a desirable shot to the pin and may have to pitch out to the fairway.
Other Thoughts: The park has a large soccer area that can be used for practicing your drives.

The difficulty of this course increases quite a bit in late spring and through the fall when the trees and vegetation are in full bloom. At any time I think that this course is not the best for a beginner still struggling with getting a disc to fly straight. In Durham Cornwallis is a better choice as well as Kentwood in Raleigh.

Most hole layouts favor left-to-right or straight shots, so make sure you have control, turnover, and sidearm discs when you play.

The holes of the back nine (meaning 10-18) have some small-to-fist sized rocks on the fairways. Be careful when walking not turn your ankle on them and they can be a bit rough on your discs also.

Holes 19-22 are still fairly new and appear to be a work in progress. Only white tees, no red or blue. The fairways were mostly cut out of woods and there are many small stumps that need to be removed.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Now with signs!

5+    12/10/2008   12/22/2008
Review By: kerplunk
Played: 31  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 6.6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great signs have just been installed that make each tee and basket position very clear. Some pins are moved monthly, but the signs will tell you what position the pin is in. Plenty challenging for me from whites, but blue tees and long baskets should challenge bigger arms. Red tees also give different looks at many baskets, often giving you a more difficult line than white would have (hole 1 is a great example). Good variety of hole types, especially if you play "fore moor." Good elevation changes. Cool locals, and close to Cornwallis and UNC courses.
Cons: Woods and rocky terrain will eat up softer discs. A couple of tees and baskets are close to softball fields, so beware of homeruns. Easy to lose discs in the fall, and ticks are BAD in the spring. Older style baskets that are a little more shallow. Other than woods, no hazards (water or OB)
Other Thoughts: Buckhorn is a little more fun because of the water holes and lake views, but the woods holes are tighter at VS and the chance of losing discs is lower.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 It's now 22 holes...

5+    1/3/2008   3/11/2008
Review By: tomschillin
Played: 144  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 19.3 Years
This review was updated on 1/3/2009
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The blue tees provided an excellent challenge as apposed to the red tees which were entirely too short...I especially like the first 3 holes with the elevated tee pads...there are dual baskets on at least 6 of the 22 holes...the last 4 holes are much more challenging than the first 18, but if you're willing to subject yourself to them they are very worth it, both in length and technique...there are now tee signs that rival even the best tee signs at a ball golf course. Seriously they're attention to detail is astounding, distance to both blue and regular basket from each tee and a pretty close approximation for each fairway...although the holes at the front of the course are close to each other the locals have taken great care that safety comes first with a net placed behind one particularly vulnerable tee (4 i think)
Cons: there aren't too many benches, or trash cans, and some of the tee pads are a little on the skinny side...also, only one bathroom but unless i got to drop a duece it's not really a con...
Other Thoughts: my favorite thing about this course is that when I was done with 18 there was a sign on a tree that read "Play 4 more" with an arrow pointing right...and the 4 more were basically brand new, at least it felt like it, they also varied from the short, technical of the rest of the course...for me, it was a perfect bonus for a difficult round...if the tee signs and pin placements were better marked this course would be at least a 4...oh wait, they now have way better tee signs, in fact, some of the best i've seen, damn i should have taken a picture and put it up on the site as an example, next time...anyway, i've played this course 4 times in the last 3 months since moving 20 minutes closer, it's an unbelievable course, like Olorin says it could be the best in the Triangle (although Buckhorn might have something on that)...i can't imagine the score i'll be getting come summer when the trees are in...i played white tees this last time just to feel better about myself and still ended up at +6 for the full 22...it's brutal course, but i need the pain...

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.