Durham, NC 
Valley Springs Park Share
Uploaded By: kunipshunfit Hole #8 (Taken 2/2009)
3 / 172ft.   3 / 196ft.   3 / 217ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee Sign



Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Wooded goodness, but that's all you get, like eating pizza every day for a month

1    11/8/2010   11/16/2010
Review By: superberry
Played: 168  Reviewed: 92  Exp: 16.4 Years
This review was updated on 11/22/2010
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 3 sets of tees on every hole for player skill variety galore. Sometimes the tees are shared, but then the blue players play to a longer (permanently installed) blue pin. This setup offers a lot of variety for player skill level. Often times the blue tee is way off to the side or behind the other tees and drastically changes the shot (but often eliminates a multiple route fairway too, leaving just one tight route). Sometimes the Blue tee opens up its own split fairway alternate routes, essentially having 3-4 total routes per hole. The only drawback with the Blue pins is that they are just longer. A great idea would have been to have another split fairway with multiple routes after the white pin to get back to the blue pin. The blues can add a lot more challenge and really tighten up fairways while adding a lot of distance, the whites are ace runs for advanced players, and the reds are a putter only style course, probably a real fun speed round)
Alternate pins here are also present on every hole I believe from reading the signs. They are ID'd on the signs too by position in even or odd months.
This wooded valley has some excellent terrain. The elevation changes must be nearly 50' on some holes and all are under a canopy of large thick trees in a mature forest. The designers left plenty trees in place to shape your drives in multiple ways.
The tee signs are great. They are very depictive although my opinion is that they didn't show enough fairway curvature at times (or too much other times). They clearly displayed all the tees and where and when to play the blue pins if necessary.
#6 is a nice long wooded 350' hole that offers enough room to s-curve a drive down the fairway (a deuce was NICE here). #7 has some nice netting on the back side of the tee to protect you from those players driving down #6. This is a nice touch and sign that disc golf gets some recognition. #12 is a nice long downhill anny (RHBH). #17 was a nice curved fairway to the left up a ridge, and then another 150' tunnel back to the blue pin. #18 has a blue tee placed way behind the white tee and downhill of a good sized ridge.
The area is fairly nice and secluded. Although when baseball and soccer games are held I'd imagine it is a zoo.
Cons: The entire course lacks variety of hole/terrain type. There is no water or obvious OB in play. There are no long or high downhill bombers. There are no open holes whatsoever to really rip on. While balance is good within the woods, it's all just woods.
None of the greens are really risky (the pin placements I played). While the blue course is challenging enough, alternate pins on the edge of some of the ridges would introduce even more risk with rollaways.
Rather than just an all long pin or all short pin mix in alternating months, the pin positions should mix long/short on every other hole for given time periods. You create amazing variety of course layout this way with 4 (or more) pin location layouts as well as those three tees!!
While the length isn't too extreme requiring long approaches, I though the concrete tees were still short and narrow. I've seen much worse though.
#16 didn't seem to have much for a fairway off the blue tee, but then after throwing I saw the actual pin location and went back to re-tee. (hint, for a RHBH, turn over a stable driver to go around the pig pine in the middle, and allow that stable driver to fade back long to the left and get near the pin).
Other Thoughts: I did not play foremoor due to time, so am only reviewing the 18 hole course as played from the Blue tees.
This course was extremely fun to play because I love wooded courses! However I found myself losing patience and interest in it because it was just the same wooded valley style hole over and over. I didn't satisfy my itch for variety of hole/terrain type here. But I fail to see how I can give this course too low of a grade because the amazing variety in the design with three tees tee layouts, and multiple pin placements. While this one will be amazingly fun to play for anyone who loves wooded valleys (advanced players from blue, newbies from red), it could still wear you down if you shank too much and it won't satisfy any craving for variety. Relative to other courses I've played, I'd say my personal fun factor and "would I rather play another course in the area" relative ranking will put this course as a 3.0. So VERY close to a 3.5, but I think it was just the personal factor and the rest of the courses that keeps me from rating higher. I honestly loved playing here, it was a blast and the options off the tees are superb. It's just overly repetitive. It is just as good as the other 3.5 disc courses I've rated as far as how it plays, but simply lacks variety. What the heck, let's go with a 3.5.
With UNC and Leigh Farm in Durham, I don't think I'd play this one again, but I don't regret playing it.
I'd say this is indeed a Red/White/Blue skill level course for sure. Each tee offers a change between skill levels. There are plenty of forced shot types all the trees, but multiple routes leave you with options. I never play as well my first time through a course, but it did challenge me a good amount with all the tight woods and added distance playing Blue. I would have liked to play the other tees here for some fun ace runs if I had more time.
(The order of favorites on my Raleigh trip is as follows - UNC, Leigh Farms, Harris Lake, Cedar Hills, Zebulon, Middle Creek, and Valley Springs. UNC and Leigh farms were runaway winners but with vastly different reasons. Harris Lake was repetitive being almost all wooded, but real fun to play and lots of risk. Cedar Hills, Zeb, and Middle creek were all tied around the average for different reasons. Valley Springs was very fun, but repetitively grueling.)

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/27/2010   6/15/2010
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 173  Reviewed: 169  Exp: 10.3 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: If you like tight, wooded courses, Valley Springs is the one for you. This now holds my unofficial record for least amount of grass seen growing on any course I've played.
- Course has multiple tee locations giving each hole different looks. Some holes also have multiple pin placements adding another element of variety.
- Course has a variety of hole layouts - good use of elevation to create some good up & down holes. Course really seemed to love dogleg holes, (it seemed to be an abnormally high amount of holes), but at least they went both directions.
- Course puts almost all its emphasis on accuracy instead of distance. From the two shorter layouts, even the average arms will only need mid-range discs off most tees.
- Great tee signs - clear, concise. A perfect example of what they should look like.
- Nice, big map on kiosk by first hole. Kiosk also clearly lists what pin placements the baskets are in. One of my DG pet peeves is when courses don't identify pin placements, so good job here for Valley Springs.
- A true risk/reward course. Play aggressive, and avoid trees, and you'll see lots of birdie chances. Play aggressive and hit trees, and you'll start seeing bogeys or worse on your scorecard. Some holes really punish bad shots that go into the woods, leaving you only a shot to get back into the fairway instead of advancing towards the basket.
Cons: Valley Springs has one enormous flaw that stuck out so much to me, it took away from the overall quality of the course, and my playing experience.
- The course layout is way, way, way too tight. Not the holes themselves, but the spacing between holes. Many holes play next to another one with less than 20 feet, and several trees between fairways. When you have a shot sail only slightly right or left, and land in another hole's fairway, it's too narrow. The one time I played the course, there were 4 holes where the group ahead or behind me had a shot land in my fairway (or the edge of it), or my shot landed in their fairway.
- Another example of too much in too small is space is the netting that protects the teepad for #7 from the #6 fairway. When you need to put up a net for the safety of players, it's a sign of being too tight.
- The signage between holes could be better. Again with the holes so close, there's some confusion because there are so many paths that lead to multiple holes.
- I didn't notice many benches or trash cans throughout the course. A few more, especially on the back 9, would be a nice touch.
- No water fountains or restrooms once you're on the course, just back at the parking lot. The bathroom was in really poor shape, which was a little surprising for such a well-used park.
Other Thoughts: If this course was spaced out better, this would be a really good course and I'd understand why so many people have given 3.5+ ratings.
- Again, I have nothing against fairways so close or overlapping (many courses I've played have close fairways like Sugaw Creek and New Quarter Park), but there were too many here. I almost felt the thin line of trees might have made it worse, because you couldn't see discs flying your direction, or into your fairway, until they landed. I feel this could be a big problem when the course is packed.
- I feel that if there was enough room to add four more holes, they could have instead spaced out the original 18 and eliminated the problem.
- This is a good course that really offers a challenge. It reminds me of a lighter version of Johnson Street Park in High Point. It's definetly worth checking out, just keep an eye out for flying discs.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Devilish good time.

2-4    5/31/2010   5/31/2010
Review By: BrotherDave
Played: 100  Reviewed: 98  Exp: 7.1 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 22 well defined holes in the wilderness of Durham. Very wooded but not extremely so at all, most fairways are fairly easy to hit for the average player like myself. Pretty good use of elevation and the hole variety is pretty solid. This is improved vastly by the 3 sets of tees on every hole but the last 4 and the alternate baskets. A fairly pretty course in terms of scenery, and it has better than average length, especially from the pro tees. Capable of seeing some critters here. Four Moor are a great addition to the course, being nice par 4s that require good disc placement for the average player to score well. Great tee signs.
Cons: The course is kind of monotonous or perhaps homogeneous. The shot variety is good enough, the problem is every hole looks basically the same because they're virtually all in the same woods that don't change at all in terms of features and scenery. The tees are kind of narrow too, which could be a problem for long-legged fellows. Four Moor kind of dumps you out at the other end of park so the walk to your car is a little annoying. Some of the pro tees seemed to share the feature of early tree danger, with stupid tight gaps for you to hit just 15-25' in front of the tee. Some of the holes are kind of cramped near each other so this is not the most secluded course if you're a player that doesn't like seeing other players on other holes.
Other Thoughts: Probably the best course in Durham and is capable of pleasing noobs and pros alike with its tee and basket variety and 22 holes. If the woods weren't so homogeneous or if it mixed up an open hole or two here and there it would score a lot higher, but that's my preference. If you really like wooded courses with moderate challenge, this is your course.

Favorite/Signature hole: #17. The most secluded (and therefore prettiest) hole on the course I think, a slight hyzer shot that must be approached on a fairly higher line.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 The problem isn't that it's short

1    4/15/2010   4/17/2010
Review By: Anger Monsoon
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice signage; a pretty, leafy course; multiple tees; good grooming; plenty of ace runs for shorter arms; often tight shots and good difficulty from the long tees. The designers packed a lot of course into a very small area. The newer holes (19-22) and 18 are excellent additions: necessary in fact. You won't lose a disc on this course. It plays quickly, so you can get a couple rounds in.

Hole 18 from the long tee is excellent, and the extra 4 are pretty good, hole 21 probably being the best (because it's the least typical in terms of this course).
Cons: Very repetitive. My issue with the course isn't its length (it's not a long course until you get to 18-22, though a couple of the long tees add significant difficulty), but there are only three kinds of holes, and they're repeated pretty often (with a couple happy exceptions): there's a 180-270' dogleg left, a 180-270' dogleg right, and a 180-270' straight ahead. And these more or less repeat in that order. Many of the holes are beautiful, but expect to throw the same hole and the same shot over and over. The elevation plays about the same: most of the time you're throwing from a slightly elevated tee across a depression to an elevated green. Sometimes that changes. But there's not going to be a lot of variety for better players.

Don't get me wrong: some of the holes are hard, with very small gaps between trees that you have to hit, especially if you play the long tees, but I really wish they'd have found a way to vary the challenges more to provide a more rewarding experience.

Even when you get to 19, you're excited to see a 450' bomb hole with a big ole dogleg left. That's an excellent hole with a little stream before the green. But then you get to hole 20, and guess what? It's ANOTHER 450' dogleg left. Really? At least you can air a few long shots out, but disappointing. I don't know what land was available, but it seems to me there's probably a way to make a much better and more various 18-hole course given the land available and cleared out. Also the holes are so tightly packed together that it's easy to throw on the next teepad or onto the previous fairway if you're not careful. They have nets up in a few places to protect the tees, which is a good idea.
Other Thoughts: As one of only the two (at the time) 4-star-rated courses in the triangle area, I played this one, but it's hard to buy this as a four-star course. Probably should have played the UNC course which looks more various and challenging, which is what I'd recommend if you're in town and want more variety. Still, it's a good enough course. If I lived here, I'd play it. Probably fun to play doubles and ace run holes here.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 BEST COURSE IN DURHAM

1    4/1/2010   4/1/2010
Review By: mhdisc03
Played: 20  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 14.1 Years
0 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: 3 sets of pads, short is womens pad. back pads are awsome, so tight it hurts your mind. has nets to protect you from errant shots from others. long slight elevaton changes just great for the long woods game
Cons: back pads are not as defient as the should be. but none the less REAL HARD
Other Thoughts: locals in durham are great doubles tourneys are fun as heck

0 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Learn to play in the woods!

5+    2/8/2010   3/4/2010
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 199  Reviewed: 145  Exp: 5.8 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Multiple concrete tee pads on all holes except #19-22. Only one pad for the last four long holes. Course is in a small park, but it is secluded from the sports fields well. There are not only good tee pads, but alternate tee pads to either give you variety or a break. This course has everything you would expect in a wooded course. There are some short ace runs and some longer holes that make you use a landing area and plan your approach. There is also excellent use of the hills and elevation. Additional 4 holes are a nice change form the first 18. All four are basically long holes where you can take out any frustrations from the previous 18. Course flows well and is easy to navigate.
Cons: This course can make you feel like less than a man. From the long tees there are some so-called fairways that are just brutal. There is a line, but you need to be just about perfect to get through the gap. Several of these are virtually chuck it and pray holes. Some people I have played with think those holes are unfair. Some of the tee pads are a pretty small. If you have a long run-up be careful. The baskets are fairly old and can be very hard to see. They blend in to the woods too well. The signs could be a little more consistent and informative.
Other Thoughts: This is one of the toughest courses I play in the Raleigh/Durham area. From the long tees it is as challenging as you can get. If you are not throwing accurately your score will go through the roof. Trees and tight fairways can be brutal. From the short tees the course does play much easier. It is a good option if you are not feeling confident in pinpoint control of your discs. No water features so you don't have too much of a chance of losing any discs. #19 through #22 are the most recent additions and are still have that new hole feel to them. The fairways are cleared but the woods are a little thicker if you throw off line. Those 4 holes are also much longer than the rest of the course. This is a good course if you enjoy a challenge in the woods, or if you want to be forced in to learning multiple shots and techniques.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Best course no one talks about

5+    11/12/2009   12/27/2009
Review By: ARock
Played: 31  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 11.3 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Three sets of clearly marked teepads provides three distinct courses that range from birdie fest all the way up to a big challenge to hang around par. None of the courses provides really long shots but the narrow, wooded fairways requires precision off the tee to have any chance at birdie. I can play this course over and over and not get bored. Additionally, you can spend all day here and play each of the red, white, and blue tee pads and not see the same shot twice. On top of it all, the "Fore More", holes 19-22, are new additions that are very tough holes. They don't have the same personality as the rest of the course, but are a fun way to wrap up a normal round of 18 holes.
Cons: Some could argue the course is a bit too short but aces are very tough to come by as well. Several of the blue teepads are borderline "chuck and pray".
Other Thoughts: Great for dogs to run off the leash. Several pin placements change every month. Great group of guys play doubles here every week.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Tight, but Fun

1    12/10/2009   12/10/2009
Review By: TAKRep
Played: 36  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 10/10/2010
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: What I like best about this course was the length of the holes and the tightness of the fairways. Most holes were 200-300 and the fairways were tight, but not too tough to throw down. This isn't a pitch and putt course like Cornwallis. The course was well maintained with nice signs and THREE tees for every hole. The tees weren't really alternate placements, but were really just for varying skill levels. I played the white tees, but I could tell that you would have to have some serious skills to play the blue course and shoot par. Most of the blue tees not only added distance, but also added a lot of elevation. There were alternate pin placements that change every month, so it keeps you coming back. In my opinion, this is one of the better courses in the Chapel Hill-Durham area to play if it has just rained. It was a little muddy, but it drained much better than Cornwallis or Leigh Farm has in the past. 22 Holes in all! The 4 extra holes at the end were a lot of fun, especially 21 which is the only open hole on the course.
Cons: I played in the winter so there was very little brush, but I can see where in the summer errant shots could definitely be punished. The tees were kind of narrow (at least they were concrete).
Other Thoughts: You can play a quick round from the white or red tees here. I played through the first 18 holes in about 50 minutes.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Legit Woods Course

5+    12/27/2008   4/27/2009
Review By: Mtn Huckin
Played: 73  Reviewed: 12
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Valley Springs represents Woods golf in NC. Tight but legitimate fairways to test all kinds of players. The addition of holes 19-22 brings par fours to the course for the first time. Lots of elevation change and good distribution of shots make this course stand out.
Cons: The addition of Pro and Beginner T Pads to the regular layout is o.k., but just cause you can does not mean you should. In a town with super short Cornwallis DGC just minutes away, did we really need 54 T Pads??? It muddles the course a little.
Other Thoughts: I truly love this course. It was my home course for years and I have 389 rounds on it. I have a great tight woods game because of this course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 B = Better Than Average

2-4    9/24/2006   4/26/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 366  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 20.3 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up (From the long tees):
1) Holes with good risk/reward -- B (Too may holes have a wierd shape that makes no sense to go for it. That leaves a strategy of putter, putter, putter....not so hot. Risk is too high to go for a next-to-impossible reward.)
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities -- B (half the holes seemed good, the othter half....see #1)
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography -- A- (Great use of topography.)
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion -- A- (very nice!)
5) Bonus amount for multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them -- C- (The 1-2 I remember did not add any thing but more length - nothing in the "strategery" department)
Other Thoughts: It's all about feeding the addiction, so I ranked this course subjectively based on my own "personal addiction factor". The grades above tell how well the course will draw me back to itself again and again and again. Since I have played a decent number of courses (115 18-hole, 50 9-hole as of early 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar addiction tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they choose courses to play and explore.

Over time, I expect to fill some of my reviews in with more descriptive verbiage…if what I can add anything to what has already been written. For now, my list is more important to me than the verbiage of my reviews.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me….that's the fun of things here. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.