Milwaukee, WI
Dineen Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #6
3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Long

5+    3/20/2013   7/20/2013
Review By: Sturmus
Played: 90  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 10.9 Years
This review was updated on 7/22/2013
Pros: Lots of distance.
You'll need to bring a ton of drivers as the course demands that you shape your shots. No two drives are the same, each drive requires a different amount of hyzer/anny to set yourself up for a good 2nd shot. For this reason I really like the course.
Cons: Multi-use park, and often times the disc golf portion doesn't get respected. However, this issue is getting better as they posted a sign that reads "no picnicking on the disc golf course"
Sketch neighborhood.
Mostly open with few obstacles, but they use what they have well.
Strange and confusing layout at some points.
Other Thoughts: To the person that complained about not using the ponds or other features - The park is a multi-use park and people fish in that pond. Throwing over the pond would be unsafe for people fishing, as well as people on the walking path and playing baseball.

 Fun Course but, not the total package

5+    6/4/2013   6/21/2013
Review By: Trogladisc
Played: 20  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 13.1 Years
Pros: The course is a fun course to play and can definitely be challenging. First Two holes offer a nice mix of good distance and accuracy. It offers several cool hole/pin placements with some long shots and some a bit of elevation change. Usually pretty empty, your group/yourself can take your time and play a good doubles round or really work on getting some distance/accuracy on some long shots.
Cons: Not a whole lot of variety. The holes that offer length are pretty wide open. With the exception of a few that have some well placed trees to offer a some creativity to some shots. The area the course is located in is not necessarily the best part of town but, if you go during the day while the sun is still up I don't see any issues what so ever. The course can pretty difficult to navigate if you have never been there before. There aren't any signs directing you where to go for the next tee locations and there is a bit of back tracking.
Other Thoughts: All in all this is a course that is a lot of fun to play and I personally feel is a great course to play a doubles round with a group off friends where you don't have to worry about slowing other groups up or rushing your shots. This course deserves better than a 2.5 discs, a very underrated course. Could definitely be brought up to date and bring in some more people with some new pin placements and some signage to direct the flow of players to the appropriate tee pads. If you are in the area and don't want to worry about a crowd I would definitely recommend this course.

 The neighborhood is worse than the course, and the course is not worth much

1    9/23/2010   9/24/2010
Review By: superberry
Played: 158  Reviewed: 90  Exp: 16 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 18 holes.
Variety in hole distances.
Balance in left/right/straight holes.
Not pay to play.
Dual pin placements, but they don't add much in terms of creating any risky or creative greens.
Cons: Lack of variety. Although some elevation comes into play, it isn't too much, and definitely nothing drastic or unique. Therefore there are no risky greens or fairways or any other unique or challenging obstacles.
Lack of wooded holes. The course is on the property of an old abandon 9 hole bolf course. Therefore you can imagine how wide open it is - it's on a former 9 hole recreational bold course. The design did not do a good job of utilizing sparse pockets or lines of trees to have a hole punch into, outof, or through the trees (18 for example just borders the mature tree line).
Other non-use of unique features - ESPECIALLY THE POND! Why not have greens near the pond? Why not drive over a portion of the pond? Why not have a fairway border the pond? Can't blame just the designer, the parks department had a say too.
Not a single memorable hole that you will tell your friends about or dream about throwing again and again. You won't dream about any hole, because they're all so bland that they will all blend together after your round.
Just one set of tees, with such a wide open course in the middle of a residential neighborhood, why not install a short set of tees, and just make the long tees incredibly long because distance is about all this wide open course will allow you to work on.
Neighborhood. Not too far from where I grew up. Where I grew up wasn't good. This location is even moreso in the wrong direction. Bluntly - the neighborhood sucks.
Lots of geese, most times of the year, but especially late summer and fall. I mean a LOT of droppings on the ground where you can barely take a step without landing in one.
It's just plain bland, boring, and in the middle of a bad neighborhood.
Other Thoughts: The lack of creativity, underwhelming design, lack of obstacles (which lead to required skill and/or shot selection), no risky greens and no additional landscaping attrributes like elevated tees or terraced greens are really what bring this course down to a below average level. Couple that with the fact that the neighborhood is a pile, and you've got little left to draw you in to come and play it.
I write reviews aimed at travelling players and those wanting to play many many courses. My preferences are for a lot of variety - courses with some of everything, and a lot of what I like (tight woods, water, elevation).
When I get down into these unappealing, unimaginative, underwhelming courses at a 2-disc rating or lower, I have to compare them against the others at the bottom of the pile and see which ones I'd rather play and determine a relative ranking. Dineen falls very very flat in this aspect. I don't care to every really play the course again. There was nothing spectactular, that's for sure. And there was not even a sense of being decent all the way through. Add travelling into the middle of an armpit of a neighborhood and this course falls into the ranks of a 1-disc course. I'd rather play any of the 1.5 disc courses I've ranked prior to playing this one again.
Definitely this should be last on your list of ALL the Milwaukee area courses to play (including valley view, oak creek, franklin, estabrook, etc)

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Played 3 times in 3 years

2-4    6/30/2010   6/30/2010
Review By: jared.greanya
Played: 26  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 11 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I think that the variation in elevation and wooded shots is really nice. This course is a little longer but more so since there is a lot of walking.
Another plus is that it is not over played and not busy.
Cons: It's not very busy, and there's a reason: This course is not in a great neighborhood and not very well up-kept. A lot of long grass to walk through.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Dineen

2-4    6/3/2010   6/5/2010
Review By: jrymaszewski
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.1 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: * There are a some long downhill holes where if you drive it well it will fly pretty far. It is very similar to the first hole at Valley View Park in New Berlin.

* This is an old regular golf course if I am correct. So It is in decent condition and it is wide open.

* Good course for beginners or people looking to get some practice driving
Cons: * Goose poop everywhere in the summer

*Some holes require walks back up the previous fairway To get to the next tee.

* Long walks between 7 basket and 8 Tee, 12 Basket and 13 Tee 17 Basket and 18 Tee.
Other Thoughts: * Since hole 18 doesnt really end near the parking lot where hole 1 starts, one way to cut down on your walking time is to park by the basketball courts.

* DECENT COURSE TO WORK ON YOUR DRIVING BEACUSE IT IS PRETTY WIDE OPEN. SHOULD BE A GOOD EXPERIENCE. dEFENITLY FOR YOUNGER LESS EXPERIENCED PLAYERS.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Long and open

1    5/30/2010   6/3/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 747  Reviewed: 747  Exp: 12.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a large grassy park with rolling hills throughout. The elevation is brough into play on almost all the holes to keep things a little more interesting. There are a couple longer downhill holes where you get to rip a long drive and watch it fly. Most of the holes are pretty open with scattered trees and clumps of brush to avoid. Some of these brushy areas are just in the right spots to catch a disc and turn a decent drive into a tough par save.

There are a couple shorter holes, requiring some mid and putter shots, and several good long holes where you can really throw a drive. Most of the holes fall in between the extremes, but still at the long end compared to most courses. There are a few holes that force a particular line, and there's decent balance on these between right and left turning shots.

There are concrete tee pads on all holes, and posts with at least the hole number and distance. There is a practice basket near the first tee with some terrain around it so you can practice more than just flat putts. The baskets are in great shape and catch well.
Cons: The navigation on this course is pretty bad in spots. There are a handful of long walks that are not well marked, so your first visit there you may end up doing some wandering to find your way around. A couple holes require walks back up the previous fairway to get to the next tee which can cause backups and safety issues on a crowded day. There were a few non-players having picnics right in the middle of some of the fairways on the later holes, and they weren't at all interested in hearing that they were in a dangerous spot.

The course gets a little boring, it doesn't require much line shaping, and only a few holes really make you hit any sort of shot placement to be successful. Too much of the course is just open and long, which makes for a good place to practice drives, but not necessarily a really fun place to play disc golf. Because it's so open, you're really exposed on a hot day, bring lots of water. Much of the grass is getting overrun by weeds, which grow quickly and make the course look a little scraggly, and can be tall enough to occasionally hide discs in the middle of the fairway.
Other Thoughts: This course is a good place to work on your distance, but not the most fun or varied course in the area. Beginners will find it very long, and more experienced players won't find much variety or any real challenges beyond pure length. This isn't one to necessarily avoid in the Milwaukee area, but I wouldn't put it at the top of your list. Check out a piece of DGCR history at nearby Kops Park for Harr's sake. :)

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Good in the hood!

1    8/15/2009   12/3/2009
Review By: timmi_g
Played: 28  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 15.8 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Good course, usually pretty well groomed. Some nice open shots. I agree it is a nice long driving course, good for the practice.
Cons: In all is does get a bit repetitious.
Other Thoughts: Ok park in the middle of the city. Not really a course to play a couple rounds in, too boring. Good for a warm up round, or for some long shot practice.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Quiet, inner-city park with distance

1    11/6/2009   11/6/2009
Review By: Scott Van Dyke
Played: 27  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 19.9 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lots of >300 ft. holes
Beautiful trees
Location
Cement pads, great baskets, signage
Hole 17 (if you can mentally block out the "housing" along the right side of the fairway is just absolutely gorgous in the Fall. Lots of trees and leaves. Very picturesque.

Very little traffic on the course.
Cons: Bring a map. A few areas of concern, as there is a lot of walking to do here:

Walk past 5 to get to 7.
Long walk to 8.
Long walk to 13.
Long, and confusing walk to 18 (map is misleading here) Walk up to the road, and down a ways, and then back into the park.

Hole 15 as of 11/6/09 had no sign at the pad, and a ton of broken glass from empty M/D and Gin bottles all over the pad.

Geese and Seagulls. Everywhere. Watch out for piles of their crap. Some of these animals are eating well. Let me tell you.

Other Thoughts: I've known about this course for a few years, and finally made up my mind to drive into the city and play it. I'm glad I did, because I will be back soon.

I played at lunch on a Friday, and only say a couple of others while there. I'm giving this course a 3.5, and others probably will not agree, but this is a really nice course, if you don't mind cris-crossing, and doubling back a bit. I'm not much good in design, but I can see why it's like this. There are some really nice features in this park that were taken advantage of.

I suggest not trying to find the alternate parking lot between 12 and 13, as it was partitioned off and closed when I played. Just park at hole 1. There's even a practice basket.

Watch hole 12, as the left side has trees and water. This is a long hole, but reachable in two. As you're walking toward it, be careful to watch which pin you're shooting at. There are three visible pins from this fairway.

While playing 12, I got lost on the left for awhile, and had to "punt" out. My third shot hit a goose, and took a funny bounce. Hitting geese has been found to be hella funny btw....I ended up taking a 6 on the hole.

Holes 13, 14, and 15 can get pretty swampy, so bring some shoes that won't get you soaking wet if that's a problem for you.

The neighborhood is questionable, but I had no problem at this time of the day. I would however, not recommend you get stuck down there as it gets dark. Lot's of graffiti, empty bottles, etc. This leads me to believe you may want to use some caution if by yourself.

Hole 6 has a unique Oak tree branch that hangs very low, right in front of the basket. I can't imagine this will be there for long, as somebody will probably end up taking it down out of fustration.

Hole 7 gets really windy.

This course has trees, but does not have any "tunnel" holes. I think it could use a few more trees, but it probably has enough, and definitely has more than other reviewers give it credit for.

I shot in a hurry at lunch time when it was pretty windy. I shot a +11, using the Par 3 for every hole system. All pars and bogeys with the exception of the 6 on hole 12.

As far as signature holes are concerned, I really like that number 17. You'll see what I mean when you play this course. It's just really nice looking.


5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 B- = Be a little too open and a little too bland

1    7/17/2007   6/7/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 363  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 19.9 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up:
1) Holes with good risk/reward. Fair, but harsh punishment for bad decisions or execution. == C+
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities for me. I throw 300' accurately, 360' max. == B
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography == C
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion. == C
5) Bonus points for multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them. == N/A
Other Thoughts: It's all about feeding the addiction, so I ranked this course subjectively based on my own "personal addiction factor". The grades above tell how well the course will draw me back to itself again and again and again. Since I have played a decent number of courses (125 18-hole, 64 9-hole as of mid 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar addiction tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they choose courses to play and explore.

Over time, I expect to fill some of my reviews in with more descriptive verbiage…if what I can add anything to what has already been written. For now, my list is more important to me than the verbiage of my reviews.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me….that's the fun of things here. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Gets the job done

5+    5/5/2009   5/6/2009
Review By: beardown4life
Played: 22  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 7.1 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: This course has a good variety of shots though nothing too out of the ordinary. nice baskets.
Cons: Posted pars are good for beginners should be a par 3 course. Need to cross the creek and walk a while to get to 13-17.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.