Milwaukee, WI 
Dineen Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #5
3 / 242ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee

Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
Open and wonky.

1    10/22/2015   11/22/2015
Review By: Stardoggy
Played: 171  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 4.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 hole course in the heart of not-so-nice Milwaukee.

DGA baskets, all in good repair, and caught well. Many holes have multiple pin positions.

Concrete tee pads, all in good repair. Grippy, and plenty of size. One tee per hole.

There's some nice variety in distances here, and plenty of opportunities to air it out. Some rolling hills help to keep things a bit interesting.

Nice signage, with the same sign layout as other Milwaukee P2P courses.

Some nice mature trees in some spots, that help to at least make things kind of interesting. The course is well manicured, as well.
Cons: Boring. Open. These are two words most people might use to describe this course. Most holes are just open shots, where wind will probably be your worst enemy if it's blowing. There's just not much to work with here, unfortunately.

Navigation here is bad, but you'll have that when you've basically got tees and baskets in a large field. There's no real flow here, so you can spend just as much time trying to figure out where to go as you will throwing.

P2P. $5/day. Seriously, this is a bad place to have to throw cash at. The ONLY saving grace is that the daily pass is also good at other Milwaukee courses, namely Brown Deer and Dretzka.

This course is in a very sketchy part of town. I pulled into the parking lot around 7am, and there was already a sketchy car just sitting and idling in the parking lot (full of guys that were NOT disc golfers). I knew the neighborhood, and it caused me to not play this course for a long time.
Other Thoughts: This is a very average course, with below average navigation, and a solid chance of getting you shot or stabbed. On top of all that, the golf is quite boring, save for a few holes.

I don't say this about many courses, but this is honestly a place I'd advise people NOT go to. There's too many good options in the Milwaukee area to deal with this place. Save yourself $5 and a possible trip to the emergency room and play somewhere else.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Gets a bad rap

5+    10/14/2015   10/30/2015
Review By: tangerinewarehouse
Played: 28  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 1.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Long distance shots
-Rolling hills
-Beautiful park
-Metro area
-Safari golf heaven
-Tee pads, baskets and sings in good shape
-Low traffic course so there's never a rush
-Well maintained, trimmed grass cut branches
-open all year
Cons: -GOOSE CRAP!!! and lots of it by the pond
-sketchy neighborhood compared to other DG parks
-sometimes other park users are oblivious to DG
-the WIND. not totally a con but it can be a completely windless day and you get to Dineen and its windy. its a giant wind tunnel.
-watch out for golf balls!
-garbage but since P2P it has gotten a lot better and there are DG groups that come out and clean up sometimes too.
-NOT A NIGHT GOLF COURSE!!!. in fact i suggest you finish your round before dark, not trying to scare anyone but lets be real.
Other Thoughts: this course has been upgraded slightly by the new P2P this year just in that it seems like its cleaner and generally better maintained than previously. This course is 5 mins from my house and i play it a lot but i got fed up with all the nasty garbage last year and vowed that i was done playing dineen cause it was just gross but i've since been back this year and it is way cleaner.
i thought someone needed to do a new review of this park because all the reviews are negative and things have changed for the better at dineen. It has it's advantages, you can really work on your craft there because its always deserted and you can shoot lots of discs. of course it doesnt compare to dretzka or brown deer but it has it's positives. This course needs to be redesigned like what they did to Root river this last year. that course was almost as bland as Dineen and now i find root river to be a blast to play.
when i play dineen i actually shoot a 23 hole safari course which it is the real 18 with 5 extra holes added in to break up the long walks when traversing the course. b4 hole 1 i get out of the car and throw it to the practice basket, after hole 7 i throw back to 2, then up back thru 2's fairway up to 1's basket, then after 8 walk down to the right and throw up to 11's basket, and after i play hole 17 i shoot from the bus shelter thru the gap up to 10's basket. makes it more exciting. you can also bomb it over the pond to 4's basket but have a spotter for people.
overall tho this course is challenging, a lot of people don't like it cause it can get under your skin, if there are winds in excess of 12 mph good frickn luck, better bring all your over stable discs and hope for the best LOL I've seen a lot of "experienced" players swear up a storm at this course cause it can turn you into a noob real fast. i'd love to see someone hit hole 12 in two strokes.
even tho i know it sounds like i really like this course, it's impossible to give it a rating of over 2 discs. if flip city and rollin ridge are 5 discs courses, in all reality Dineen even in it's cleanliest and safest state is a one disc course just cause it's too darn open. but i'll give it a two cause it's WAY better than before.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Just needs work

2-4    6/14/2014   3/10/2015
Review By: tkatzer52
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.5 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: the course and its holes are well designed. nice wide open holes with some distance to them!
Cons: lets just say carry a knife on you. its pretty ghetto but to be real what part of milwaukee isnt! there is alot of trash that needs picking up and there are no tee signs so fidnig where to go can be a pain!
Other Thoughts: never not play a course because of its rating because truth be told my home courses rating is 1 and i love it always try before you buy

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Worst ive been to

2-4    7/28/2014   7/28/2014
Review By: A Spartan Ghost
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Wide fairways with a few tree obstacles. Distances are around 300 ft on average.
Cons: First off, the course is in a slightly ghetto area. Not "gun shots ghetto" but possible "car theft ghetto" so lock your doors.
Then after walking away from your car head east because I think hole 1 is that way.
-Most concrete slabs are not labeled so good luck figuring out where to go or what hole you are on.

The first time my dad and I played we did 9-18 (we think) and today we played 1-8 (out of order).

-Trash everywhere (including glass bottles, other trash, and poop)
Other Thoughts: Course needs maintenance.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

1    4/30/2014   4/30/2014
Review By: Senorpinchy
Played: 44  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 26.7 Years
Pros: Open Shots for mid-range distance practice.
Some low hanging trees offer low accuracy control shots. Very clean hope it continues to stay that way.
Cons: Not enough course guidance as far as Maps,either online or on site. For mid range and putt practice shots for med to long arms.
Other Thoughts: As a beginner to mid level course it can be a lot of fun. I can see were the PDGA can hold events here with manipulating the field of play. I recommend previewing holes 8-12 for more accuracy, they are mislabeled on the online map. My Opinion,

Dineen Disc golf course

5+    4/22/2014   4/22/2014
Review By: Sendelbach17
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.7 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Few Trees for beginners
-Water shouldn't really come in to play
-Most holes are aceable if you're in the 300-350' range
-Open year round
-Very Rarely Crowded
Cons: -Walking paths through the course
-Almost no signs
-Somewhat challenging to follow for the first time
-Few obstacles to make it challenging for more advanced players

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.


5+    3/20/2013   7/20/2013
Review By: Sturmus
Played: 90  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 12.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/22/2013
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of distance.
You'll need to bring a ton of drivers as the course demands that you shape your shots. No two drives are the same, each drive requires a different amount of hyzer/anny to set yourself up for a good 2nd shot. For this reason I really like the course.
Cons: Multi-use park, and often times the disc golf portion doesn't get respected. However, this issue is getting better as they posted a sign that reads "no picnicking on the disc golf course"
Sketch neighborhood.
Mostly open with few obstacles, but they use what they have well.
Strange and confusing layout at some points.
Other Thoughts: To the person that complained about not using the ponds or other features - The park is a multi-use park and people fish in that pond. Throwing over the pond would be unsafe for people fishing, as well as people on the walking path and playing baseball.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Fun Course but, not the total package

5+    6/4/2013   6/21/2013
Review By: Trogladisc
Played: 20  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 14.7 Years
Pros: The course is a fun course to play and can definitely be challenging. First Two holes offer a nice mix of good distance and accuracy. It offers several cool hole/pin placements with some long shots and some a bit of elevation change. Usually pretty empty, your group/yourself can take your time and play a good doubles round or really work on getting some distance/accuracy on some long shots.
Cons: Not a whole lot of variety. The holes that offer length are pretty wide open. With the exception of a few that have some well placed trees to offer a some creativity to some shots. The area the course is located in is not necessarily the best part of town but, if you go during the day while the sun is still up I don't see any issues what so ever. The course can pretty difficult to navigate if you have never been there before. There aren't any signs directing you where to go for the next tee locations and there is a bit of back tracking.
Other Thoughts: All in all this is a course that is a lot of fun to play and I personally feel is a great course to play a doubles round with a group off friends where you don't have to worry about slowing other groups up or rushing your shots. This course deserves better than a 2.5 discs, a very underrated course. Could definitely be brought up to date and bring in some more people with some new pin placements and some signage to direct the flow of players to the appropriate tee pads. If you are in the area and don't want to worry about a crowd I would definitely recommend this course.

 The neighborhood is worse than the course, and the course is not worth much

1    9/23/2010   9/24/2010
Review By: superberry
Played: 199  Reviewed: 94  Exp: 17.6 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 18 holes.
Variety in hole distances.
Balance in left/right/straight holes.
Not pay to play.
Dual pin placements, but they don't add much in terms of creating any risky or creative greens.
Cons: Lack of variety. Although some elevation comes into play, it isn't too much, and definitely nothing drastic or unique. Therefore there are no risky greens or fairways or any other unique or challenging obstacles.
Lack of wooded holes. The course is on the property of an old abandon 9 hole bolf course. Therefore you can imagine how wide open it is - it's on a former 9 hole recreational bold course. The design did not do a good job of utilizing sparse pockets or lines of trees to have a hole punch into, outof, or through the trees (18 for example just borders the mature tree line).
Other non-use of unique features - ESPECIALLY THE POND! Why not have greens near the pond? Why not drive over a portion of the pond? Why not have a fairway border the pond? Can't blame just the designer, the parks department had a say too.
Not a single memorable hole that you will tell your friends about or dream about throwing again and again. You won't dream about any hole, because they're all so bland that they will all blend together after your round.
Just one set of tees, with such a wide open course in the middle of a residential neighborhood, why not install a short set of tees, and just make the long tees incredibly long because distance is about all this wide open course will allow you to work on.
Neighborhood. Not too far from where I grew up. Where I grew up wasn't good. This location is even moreso in the wrong direction. Bluntly - the neighborhood sucks.
Lots of geese, most times of the year, but especially late summer and fall. I mean a LOT of droppings on the ground where you can barely take a step without landing in one.
It's just plain bland, boring, and in the middle of a bad neighborhood.
Other Thoughts: The lack of creativity, underwhelming design, lack of obstacles (which lead to required skill and/or shot selection), no risky greens and no additional landscaping attrributes like elevated tees or terraced greens are really what bring this course down to a below average level. Couple that with the fact that the neighborhood is a pile, and you've got little left to draw you in to come and play it.
I write reviews aimed at travelling players and those wanting to play many many courses. My preferences are for a lot of variety - courses with some of everything, and a lot of what I like (tight woods, water, elevation).
When I get down into these unappealing, unimaginative, underwhelming courses at a 2-disc rating or lower, I have to compare them against the others at the bottom of the pile and see which ones I'd rather play and determine a relative ranking. Dineen falls very very flat in this aspect. I don't care to every really play the course again. There was nothing spectactular, that's for sure. And there was not even a sense of being decent all the way through. Add travelling into the middle of an armpit of a neighborhood and this course falls into the ranks of a 1-disc course. I'd rather play any of the 1.5 disc courses I've ranked prior to playing this one again.
Definitely this should be last on your list of ALL the Milwaukee area courses to play (including valley view, oak creek, franklin, estabrook, etc)

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Played 3 times in 3 years

2-4    6/30/2010   6/30/2010
Review By: jared.greanya
Played: 26  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 12.6 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I think that the variation in elevation and wooded shots is really nice. This course is a little longer but more so since there is a lot of walking.
Another plus is that it is not over played and not busy.
Cons: It's not very busy, and there's a reason: This course is not in a great neighborhood and not very well up-kept. A lot of long grass to walk through.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.