Milwaukee, WI 
Dineen Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #7
4 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Worst ive been to

2-4    7/28/2014   7/28/2014
Review By: A Spartan Ghost
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
Pros: Wide fairways with a few tree obstacles. Distances are around 300 ft on average.
Cons: First off, the course is in a slightly ghetto area. Not "gun shots ghetto" but possible "car theft ghetto" so lock your doors.
Then after walking away from your car head east because I think hole 1 is that way.
-Most concrete slabs are not labeled so good luck figuring out where to go or what hole you are on.

The first time my dad and I played we did 9-18 (we think) and today we played 1-8 (out of order).

-Trash everywhere (including glass bottles, other trash, and poop)
Other Thoughts: Course needs maintenance.


1    4/30/2014   4/30/2014
Review By: Senorpinchy
Played: 31  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 25.5 Years
Pros: Open Shots for mid-range distance practice.
Some low hanging trees offer low accuracy control shots. Very clean hope it continues to stay that way.
Cons: Not enough course guidance as far as Maps,either online or on site. For mid range and putt practice shots for med to long arms.
Other Thoughts: As a beginner to mid level course it can be a lot of fun. I can see were the PDGA can hold events here with manipulating the field of play. I recommend previewing holes 8-12 for more accuracy, they are mislabeled on the online map. My Opinion,

Dineen Disc golf course

5+    4/22/2014   4/22/2014
Review By: Sendelbach17
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.5 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Few Trees for beginners
-Water shouldn't really come in to play
-Most holes are aceable if you're in the 300-350' range
-Open year round
-Very Rarely Crowded
Cons: -Walking paths through the course
-Almost no signs
-Somewhat challenging to follow for the first time
-Few obstacles to make it challenging for more advanced players

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Long

5+    3/20/2013   7/20/2013
Review By: Sturmus
Played: 90  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 11.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/22/2013
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of distance.
You'll need to bring a ton of drivers as the course demands that you shape your shots. No two drives are the same, each drive requires a different amount of hyzer/anny to set yourself up for a good 2nd shot. For this reason I really like the course.
Cons: Multi-use park, and often times the disc golf portion doesn't get respected. However, this issue is getting better as they posted a sign that reads "no picnicking on the disc golf course"
Sketch neighborhood.
Mostly open with few obstacles, but they use what they have well.
Strange and confusing layout at some points.
Other Thoughts: To the person that complained about not using the ponds or other features - The park is a multi-use park and people fish in that pond. Throwing over the pond would be unsafe for people fishing, as well as people on the walking path and playing baseball.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course but, not the total package

5+    6/4/2013   6/21/2013
Review By: Trogladisc
Played: 20  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 13.5 Years
Pros: The course is a fun course to play and can definitely be challenging. First Two holes offer a nice mix of good distance and accuracy. It offers several cool hole/pin placements with some long shots and some a bit of elevation change. Usually pretty empty, your group/yourself can take your time and play a good doubles round or really work on getting some distance/accuracy on some long shots.
Cons: Not a whole lot of variety. The holes that offer length are pretty wide open. With the exception of a few that have some well placed trees to offer a some creativity to some shots. The area the course is located in is not necessarily the best part of town but, if you go during the day while the sun is still up I don't see any issues what so ever. The course can pretty difficult to navigate if you have never been there before. There aren't any signs directing you where to go for the next tee locations and there is a bit of back tracking.
Other Thoughts: All in all this is a course that is a lot of fun to play and I personally feel is a great course to play a doubles round with a group off friends where you don't have to worry about slowing other groups up or rushing your shots. This course deserves better than a 2.5 discs, a very underrated course. Could definitely be brought up to date and bring in some more people with some new pin placements and some signage to direct the flow of players to the appropriate tee pads. If you are in the area and don't want to worry about a crowd I would definitely recommend this course.

 The neighborhood is worse than the course, and the course is not worth much

1    9/23/2010   9/24/2010
Review By: superberry
Played: 168  Reviewed: 92  Exp: 16.4 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 18 holes.
Variety in hole distances.
Balance in left/right/straight holes.
Not pay to play.
Dual pin placements, but they don't add much in terms of creating any risky or creative greens.
Cons: Lack of variety. Although some elevation comes into play, it isn't too much, and definitely nothing drastic or unique. Therefore there are no risky greens or fairways or any other unique or challenging obstacles.
Lack of wooded holes. The course is on the property of an old abandon 9 hole bolf course. Therefore you can imagine how wide open it is - it's on a former 9 hole recreational bold course. The design did not do a good job of utilizing sparse pockets or lines of trees to have a hole punch into, outof, or through the trees (18 for example just borders the mature tree line).
Other non-use of unique features - ESPECIALLY THE POND! Why not have greens near the pond? Why not drive over a portion of the pond? Why not have a fairway border the pond? Can't blame just the designer, the parks department had a say too.
Not a single memorable hole that you will tell your friends about or dream about throwing again and again. You won't dream about any hole, because they're all so bland that they will all blend together after your round.
Just one set of tees, with such a wide open course in the middle of a residential neighborhood, why not install a short set of tees, and just make the long tees incredibly long because distance is about all this wide open course will allow you to work on.
Neighborhood. Not too far from where I grew up. Where I grew up wasn't good. This location is even moreso in the wrong direction. Bluntly - the neighborhood sucks.
Lots of geese, most times of the year, but especially late summer and fall. I mean a LOT of droppings on the ground where you can barely take a step without landing in one.
It's just plain bland, boring, and in the middle of a bad neighborhood.
Other Thoughts: The lack of creativity, underwhelming design, lack of obstacles (which lead to required skill and/or shot selection), no risky greens and no additional landscaping attrributes like elevated tees or terraced greens are really what bring this course down to a below average level. Couple that with the fact that the neighborhood is a pile, and you've got little left to draw you in to come and play it.
I write reviews aimed at travelling players and those wanting to play many many courses. My preferences are for a lot of variety - courses with some of everything, and a lot of what I like (tight woods, water, elevation).
When I get down into these unappealing, unimaginative, underwhelming courses at a 2-disc rating or lower, I have to compare them against the others at the bottom of the pile and see which ones I'd rather play and determine a relative ranking. Dineen falls very very flat in this aspect. I don't care to every really play the course again. There was nothing spectactular, that's for sure. And there was not even a sense of being decent all the way through. Add travelling into the middle of an armpit of a neighborhood and this course falls into the ranks of a 1-disc course. I'd rather play any of the 1.5 disc courses I've ranked prior to playing this one again.
Definitely this should be last on your list of ALL the Milwaukee area courses to play (including valley view, oak creek, franklin, estabrook, etc)

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Played 3 times in 3 years

2-4    6/30/2010   6/30/2010
Review By: jared.greanya
Played: 26  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 11.4 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I think that the variation in elevation and wooded shots is really nice. This course is a little longer but more so since there is a lot of walking.
Another plus is that it is not over played and not busy.
Cons: It's not very busy, and there's a reason: This course is not in a great neighborhood and not very well up-kept. A lot of long grass to walk through.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Dineen

2-4    6/3/2010   6/5/2010
Review By: jrymaszewski
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: * There are a some long downhill holes where if you drive it well it will fly pretty far. It is very similar to the first hole at Valley View Park in New Berlin.

* This is an old regular golf course if I am correct. So It is in decent condition and it is wide open.

* Good course for beginners or people looking to get some practice driving
Cons: * Goose poop everywhere in the summer

*Some holes require walks back up the previous fairway To get to the next tee.

* Long walks between 7 basket and 8 Tee, 12 Basket and 13 Tee 17 Basket and 18 Tee.
Other Thoughts: * Since hole 18 doesnt really end near the parking lot where hole 1 starts, one way to cut down on your walking time is to park by the basketball courts.

* DECENT COURSE TO WORK ON YOUR DRIVING BEACUSE IT IS PRETTY WIDE OPEN. SHOULD BE A GOOD EXPERIENCE. dEFENITLY FOR YOUNGER LESS EXPERIENCED PLAYERS.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Long and open

1    5/30/2010   6/3/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 761  Exp: 12.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a large grassy park with rolling hills throughout. The elevation is brough into play on almost all the holes to keep things a little more interesting. There are a couple longer downhill holes where you get to rip a long drive and watch it fly. Most of the holes are pretty open with scattered trees and clumps of brush to avoid. Some of these brushy areas are just in the right spots to catch a disc and turn a decent drive into a tough par save.

There are a couple shorter holes, requiring some mid and putter shots, and several good long holes where you can really throw a drive. Most of the holes fall in between the extremes, but still at the long end compared to most courses. There are a few holes that force a particular line, and there's decent balance on these between right and left turning shots.

There are concrete tee pads on all holes, and posts with at least the hole number and distance. There is a practice basket near the first tee with some terrain around it so you can practice more than just flat putts. The baskets are in great shape and catch well.
Cons: The navigation on this course is pretty bad in spots. There are a handful of long walks that are not well marked, so your first visit there you may end up doing some wandering to find your way around. A couple holes require walks back up the previous fairway to get to the next tee which can cause backups and safety issues on a crowded day. There were a few non-players having picnics right in the middle of some of the fairways on the later holes, and they weren't at all interested in hearing that they were in a dangerous spot.

The course gets a little boring, it doesn't require much line shaping, and only a few holes really make you hit any sort of shot placement to be successful. Too much of the course is just open and long, which makes for a good place to practice drives, but not necessarily a really fun place to play disc golf. Because it's so open, you're really exposed on a hot day, bring lots of water. Much of the grass is getting overrun by weeds, which grow quickly and make the course look a little scraggly, and can be tall enough to occasionally hide discs in the middle of the fairway.
Other Thoughts: This course is a good place to work on your distance, but not the most fun or varied course in the area. Beginners will find it very long, and more experienced players won't find much variety or any real challenges beyond pure length. This isn't one to necessarily avoid in the Milwaukee area, but I wouldn't put it at the top of your list. Check out a piece of DGCR history at nearby Kops Park for Harr's sake. :)

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Good in the hood!

1    8/15/2009   12/3/2009
Review By: timmi_g
Played: 28  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 16.2 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Good course, usually pretty well groomed. Some nice open shots. I agree it is a nice long driving course, good for the practice.
Cons: In all is does get a bit repetitious.
Other Thoughts: Ok park in the middle of the city. Not really a course to play a couple rounds in, too boring. Good for a warm up round, or for some long shot practice.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.