Milwaukee, WI 
Dineen Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #12
4 / 463ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee

Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers

2-4    6/3/2010   6/5/2010
Review By: jrymaszewski
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 1.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: * There are a some long downhill holes where if you drive it well it will fly pretty far. It is very similar to the first hole at Valley View Park in New Berlin.

* This is an old regular golf course if I am correct. So It is in decent condition and it is wide open.

* Good course for beginners or people looking to get some practice driving
Cons: * Goose poop everywhere in the summer

*Some holes require walks back up the previous fairway To get to the next tee.

* Long walks between 7 basket and 8 Tee, 12 Basket and 13 Tee 17 Basket and 18 Tee.
Other Thoughts: * Since hole 18 doesnt really end near the parking lot where hole 1 starts, one way to cut down on your walking time is to park by the basketball courts.


2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Long and open

1    5/30/2010   6/3/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 819  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 13.8 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a large grassy park with rolling hills throughout. The elevation is brough into play on almost all the holes to keep things a little more interesting. There are a couple longer downhill holes where you get to rip a long drive and watch it fly. Most of the holes are pretty open with scattered trees and clumps of brush to avoid. Some of these brushy areas are just in the right spots to catch a disc and turn a decent drive into a tough par save.

There are a couple shorter holes, requiring some mid and putter shots, and several good long holes where you can really throw a drive. Most of the holes fall in between the extremes, but still at the long end compared to most courses. There are a few holes that force a particular line, and there's decent balance on these between right and left turning shots.

There are concrete tee pads on all holes, and posts with at least the hole number and distance. There is a practice basket near the first tee with some terrain around it so you can practice more than just flat putts. The baskets are in great shape and catch well.
Cons: The navigation on this course is pretty bad in spots. There are a handful of long walks that are not well marked, so your first visit there you may end up doing some wandering to find your way around. A couple holes require walks back up the previous fairway to get to the next tee which can cause backups and safety issues on a crowded day. There were a few non-players having picnics right in the middle of some of the fairways on the later holes, and they weren't at all interested in hearing that they were in a dangerous spot.

The course gets a little boring, it doesn't require much line shaping, and only a few holes really make you hit any sort of shot placement to be successful. Too much of the course is just open and long, which makes for a good place to practice drives, but not necessarily a really fun place to play disc golf. Because it's so open, you're really exposed on a hot day, bring lots of water. Much of the grass is getting overrun by weeds, which grow quickly and make the course look a little scraggly, and can be tall enough to occasionally hide discs in the middle of the fairway.
Other Thoughts: This course is a good place to work on your distance, but not the most fun or varied course in the area. Beginners will find it very long, and more experienced players won't find much variety or any real challenges beyond pure length. This isn't one to necessarily avoid in the Milwaukee area, but I wouldn't put it at the top of your list. Check out a piece of DGCR history at nearby Kops Park for Harr's sake. :)

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Good in the hood!

1    8/15/2009   12/3/2009
Review By: timmi_g
Played: 28  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 17.4 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Good course, usually pretty well groomed. Some nice open shots. I agree it is a nice long driving course, good for the practice.
Cons: In all is does get a bit repetitious.
Other Thoughts: Ok park in the middle of the city. Not really a course to play a couple rounds in, too boring. Good for a warm up round, or for some long shot practice.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Quiet, inner-city park with distance

1    11/6/2009   11/6/2009
Review By: Scott Van Dyke
Played: 30  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 21.5 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lots of >300 ft. holes
Beautiful trees
Cement pads, great baskets, signage
Hole 17 (if you can mentally block out the "housing" along the right side of the fairway is just absolutely gorgous in the Fall. Lots of trees and leaves. Very picturesque.

Very little traffic on the course.
Cons: Bring a map. A few areas of concern, as there is a lot of walking to do here:

Walk past 5 to get to 7.
Long walk to 8.
Long walk to 13.
Long, and confusing walk to 18 (map is misleading here) Walk up to the road, and down a ways, and then back into the park.

Hole 15 as of 11/6/09 had no sign at the pad, and a ton of broken glass from empty M/D and Gin bottles all over the pad.

Geese and Seagulls. Everywhere. Watch out for piles of their crap. Some of these animals are eating well. Let me tell you.

Other Thoughts: I've known about this course for a few years, and finally made up my mind to drive into the city and play it. I'm glad I did, because I will be back soon.

I played at lunch on a Friday, and only say a couple of others while there. I'm giving this course a 3.5, and others probably will not agree, but this is a really nice course, if you don't mind cris-crossing, and doubling back a bit. I'm not much good in design, but I can see why it's like this. There are some really nice features in this park that were taken advantage of.

I suggest not trying to find the alternate parking lot between 12 and 13, as it was partitioned off and closed when I played. Just park at hole 1. There's even a practice basket.

Watch hole 12, as the left side has trees and water. This is a long hole, but reachable in two. As you're walking toward it, be careful to watch which pin you're shooting at. There are three visible pins from this fairway.

While playing 12, I got lost on the left for awhile, and had to "punt" out. My third shot hit a goose, and took a funny bounce. Hitting geese has been found to be hella funny btw....I ended up taking a 6 on the hole.

Holes 13, 14, and 15 can get pretty swampy, so bring some shoes that won't get you soaking wet if that's a problem for you.

The neighborhood is questionable, but I had no problem at this time of the day. I would however, not recommend you get stuck down there as it gets dark. Lot's of graffiti, empty bottles, etc. This leads me to believe you may want to use some caution if by yourself.

Hole 6 has a unique Oak tree branch that hangs very low, right in front of the basket. I can't imagine this will be there for long, as somebody will probably end up taking it down out of fustration.

Hole 7 gets really windy.

This course has trees, but does not have any "tunnel" holes. I think it could use a few more trees, but it probably has enough, and definitely has more than other reviewers give it credit for.

I shot in a hurry at lunch time when it was pretty windy. I shot a +11, using the Par 3 for every hole system. All pars and bogeys with the exception of the 6 on hole 12.

As far as signature holes are concerned, I really like that number 17. You'll see what I mean when you play this course. It's just really nice looking.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 B- = Be a little too open and a little too bland

1    7/17/2007   6/7/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 375  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 21.5 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up:
1) Holes with good risk/reward. Fair, but harsh punishment for bad decisions or execution. == C+
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities for me. I throw 300' accurately, 360' max. == B
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography == C
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion. == C
5) Bonus points for multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them. == N/A
Other Thoughts: It's all about feeding the addiction, so I ranked this course subjectively based on my own "personal addiction factor". The grades above tell how well the course will draw me back to itself again and again and again. Since I have played a decent number of courses (125 18-hole, 64 9-hole as of mid 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar addiction tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they choose courses to play and explore.

Over time, I expect to fill some of my reviews in with more descriptive verbiage...if what I can add anything to what has already been written. For now, my list is more important to me than the verbiage of my reviews.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me....that's the fun of things here. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Gets the job done

5+    5/5/2009   5/6/2009
Review By: beardown4life
Played: 22  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 8.8 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: This course has a good variety of shots though nothing too out of the ordinary. nice baskets.
Cons: Posted pars are good for beginners should be a par 3 course. Need to cross the creek and walk a while to get to 13-17.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.


1    4/20/2009   4/22/2009
Review By: Texconsinite
Played: 136  Reviewed: 79  Exp: 7.8 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I played this course, and to be honest, I was underwhelmed, but its not a BAD course. The concrete tees and baskets were in good shape. Almost all the tees have a post next to them with hole number, par, and sometimes a vague arrow or direction to the next tee written on them in sharpie.

A mostly wide open course, with some gradual elevation changes in play. This course tends toward the long side, which is not surprising if it was converted from a ball golf course. I suppose this open course would be good if you wanted to practice driving, but the strong winds make even that tough.

This course has one or two signature holes of sorts. Hole six plays with the small river on your left, and the basket sandwiched down a narrow avenue between the bushy bank and a grove of mature trees. Its probably the most technical shot on this course, but a straight throw could yield a birdie here. Most of the other holes, you have a clear, unobstructed view of the basket, maybe with a few trees along the sides of the fairway, but plenty of fudge room to throw any number of shots. Though few holes here are technical in the least, the longer distance and wind on this course make it challenging to get deuces in most places unless you rip a really good drive off. The par 4s and 5s are some of the most open holes, and don't seem significantly longer than the par 3 holes, so they are good chances for birdies if you can putt in the wind.

The 600 foot par 5 hole 12, known as "The Monster", is the exception to this, as it is longer and bit more challenging than the rest of the holes. There are actually some trees along the right, and the river along the left could be a factor if you strayed that way. The pin is up the hill to the right of those pine trees down at the end of the fairway along the river.

Also, the river is behind the downhill sloping fairway to basket 10, so I suppose an errant drive could end up there as well.

Overall, this course has some distance, and very few trees to hit, so if that's your thing, you'll like this course.
Cons: The flow on this course is jacked up, in several ways, the course is basically split between 3 clumps of terrain. Holes 1 and 2 start off by one of the parking lots, then play into a field area where holes 3-7 play. So far, so good, right? Well, now you have to walk from the far end of that field, all the way back to by hole 1 to get to holes 8-12. Then, you have to cross the river and walk back along a path to get to 13-17. Once you get there, holes 13 and 14 run parallel and in the same direction, so after 13 you have to walk back down 13's fairway, to tee 14.
After hole 17, you have to walk on the path all the way around to the road, and back, to the right side of the area where holes 13-15 are. While playing this course, I couldnt help but think that there must've been a way to lay this ocurse out that involved less walking btw holes.

This wouldn't be all that bad if there was some signage, but there's not a course map or tee signs, so its often hard to tell where the next hole is, and on some holes its hard to find the next basket. On hole 9, the practice basket is the one off to the right on the hillside, that looks like it could be the correct basket.

Most of the holes on this course are fairly boring due to being very open, and as long as you drive in the general direction of the basket, trees come into play on very few holes. The holes, especially the holes in the field by the lake, are totally open, plain jane let it rip holes.

This course, for the most part, lacks intrigue. The main challenge is wind. It seems like there was no effort to protect the baskets, as most of them are just out in wide open areas. In some cases, moving the basket 5 ft would put it at least behind one tree from the tee, and force players to somewhat shape their shots, and make many holes alot more memorable. Why they chose to keep them out in the open instead is beyond me.

Also, this course wraps around a sizable lake, which never comes into play, also a shame.

There are several areas down by the riverside which you have to walk by to get between holes (12-13) that have some trees and look like cool places for a few holes, preferable to some of the ones they currently have.

This isnt a bad course, but its just that if a course isnt really that great, then I would at least hope for it to be FTF and have good flow. Agnes Moffit in Houston is a good example. Flat as a pancake, dirt tees, mostly just scattered small trees. But it brings those trees into play, gives you a variety of holes, and has good flow, for a fun, if not outstanding or impressive experience. This course, on the other hand, has so many bland holes that they mostly blur together after about hole 4. Its an ok course, and the tees are dry and in pretty good shape, but the layout makes this near the bottom on my list of courses to go back to.
Other Thoughts: Since hole 18 doesnt really end near the parking lot where hole 1 starts, one way to cut down on your walking time is to park by the basketball courts (or were they tennis courts?) near holes 13-17, and start on hole 15, which is the tee pad with no marker post, that plays toward the river. 14 finishes in the trees just left of tee 15, so no long walk back to the car.

I would say this is a good beginner course because it requires little technique and there are few obstacles to hit, but frankly, I don't know too many beginners who can drive 300 ft. Personally, I would be more inclined to recommend beginners to play a shorter, fairly technical course where they can learn shot selection, and get some birdie opportunities to feel good about their game, instead of taking five shots to get within putting range, and the wind blowing their discs around. But that's just me.

Also, this course did not seem to be in the nicest of neighborhoods, and there was trash laying all over by the river and trees, which further affects the experience.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Nice beginner friendly course

5+    4/13/2010   2/26/2009
Review By: harr0140
Played: 871  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 6.9 Years
This review was updated on 12/13/2011
11 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 1) Decent use of terrain and trees. Course works its way around the property creating some interesting shots.
They did the best they could with this site, having been converted from a Pitch and Putt Golf course. Old tees and greens are evident still.

2) Nice baskets, and nice concrete tee pads.

3) Nice basket placement on a few of the holes using the surrounding trees to create tight landing areas near the basket.

4) This course is very beginner friendly which I value a lot in rating a course. I don't mind difficult courses, but nearly all courses should be available to most disc golfers without being too difficult.

5) Doesnt look like anyone plays this course in the winter. There were no foot prints around the baskets, so this might be my go to course next winter, if Dretzka gets busy or shut down for the thaw.
Cons: 1) Tee signs have been improved but then damaged again since they were first put in. Could also use better signage directing first timers from #7 to #8, #12 to #13 and #17 to #18. Now I know where it goes, but new players will not figure it out without wandering a little.

2) Long walks between #7 basket and #8 Tee, #12 Basket and #13 Tee, #17 Basket and #18 Tee. Some extra holes could have been added in my opinion to eat up some of that distance.

3) Goofy setup for #13 and #14 backtracking.

4) Goose poop is evident even in the winter and summer so be careful.

5) Not so great of a neighborhood which doesnt affect the rating of the course but it will affect how often and when I go play there.

Other Thoughts: Nice beginner friendly course with some variety and good Basket placement. There is a 600 foot hole which is cool, as that is the longest hole I have played to date, albeit somewhat straight forward. Water shouldnt come into play on this hole but it did for me!

The goofy walks dont really take away too much from this course in my opinion because it was originally set up as a GOLF course (notice I did not say Ball Golf).

Bonus that this course is in over the winter although I hadn't come here yet because the snow was so deep there in the past.

I no longer want to play this course as there are plenty of better options around town during all seasons.

11 of 13 people found this review helpful.


5+    8/4/2008   2/4/2009
Review By: kmrynders
Played: 87  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 16.4 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is an old Ball golf course that is wide open.
Good course for beginners or people looking to get some practice driving without having to worry about trees. The tees are concrete and the park is very well maintained, but in a not so 'well maintained' neighborhood.
Cons: -Goose crap everywhere in the summer
-not enough diversity in the holes, most are just huck and putt holes without any technical side to them
-The neighborhood could be better, I've seen some odd things and people when playing this course
-The walk from hole 7 to hole 8 is a little confusing - you need to walk back towards the parking lot
Other Thoughts: This course is nothing amazing, it's good for working on drives because it is wide open. The course is open in winter so that's always a plus. Nothing really stands out to make this course great, but then again it really isn't that bad either...

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


2-4    7/28/2008   1/28/2009
Review By: B-nels54
Played: 47  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 9.5 Years
1 Helpful / 13 Not
Pros: Good for working on distance because the holes are open and somewhat long. It is hard to loose a disc.
Cons: Many of the holes are boring holes. Not much variety. Tons of bird poop every where. Shady part of town.

1 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.