Waterloo, IA 
Valley View Park Share
Uploaded By: SolitaryCanid   (Taken 8/2014)
Park Sign

Course Rating Distribution

Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Not an 18 hole course

1    8/13/2016   8/13/2016
Review By: owenrae
Played: 43  Reviewed: 7
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Decent 9 hole course
Cons: 9 hole course with long and short tee pads trying to play itself off as 18. There are only 9 baskets.
Other Thoughts: With this logic any 18 hole course with long and short tee pads should be listed as 36.

When I pulled in the parking lot I mentioned to my wife that it was a small park for a 18 hole course. This proved to be true when we got to the first tee sign and it listed both hole 1 and "hole 10" information. Looking behind me I saw the "10" tee pad about 40 feet farther back.

I have a goal of playing all the 2.5 star rated 18 hole courses in Iowa and after having played about 45 of them this is the first 9 hole course that has tried to play itself off as 18. I would rate this a 2.5 to 3 for a 9 hole but a 1 as an 18. Driving from Ankeny to play here was very disappointing.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Nice Course

1    6/25/2016   6/27/2016
Review By: chainbangers
Played: 15  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Nice use of elevation

-Strategically placed baskets make for some nice approach shots

-Well maintained park
Cons: -Course was a little sloshy from recent rain, poor drainage

-Some tee pads were hard to find, some more signage would have been nice
Other Thoughts: I only played the front 9 but I liked this course and will definitely play again.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Decent, Quick Course

2-4    5/25/2016   5/29/2016
Review By: FredHJ12
Played: 18  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 5.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Nice parking lot and sign at the beginning of the course
-Park seems to be maintained regularly
-Tee pads are in good shape
-Tee signs are helpful
-Baskets are in reasonable shape
-Good elevation changes for such a small park
-Most shots are open but require you to shape your shot
-Potential ace runs if you hit the right line
-A few memorable things at this course for me, including the "green" for hole 4/13, and the downhill bomber for hole 5/14.
Cons: -Not too much variation at this course
-Not too many interesting shots
-As with most open courses, the wind can make things a bit difficult
-Course flow is a bit more tricky than it should be
-Though it is not too hard to find the long tees, additional tee signs for those holes would help
-Park has been busy in my experiences. Bigger groups can back things up a bit
Other Thoughts: Valley View is a fun course to play for those who like mostly open shots where you can open up your arm a bit. Not much here in the way of technical shots, but the holes do require you to shape your shot a bit. There is some fun-factor here for me, but I do prefer Exchange Park and Deerwood to this course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Not Bad

2-4    12/22/2014   12/22/2014
Review By: Nemmers
Played: 63  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 3.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
- Nice park in a convenient location between Waterloo and Cedar Falls.

- Close to amenities such as fast food and gas stations for those jonesing for a round on their lunch break.

- Quick rounds can be expected on this very straightforward course.

- Decent elevation changes make showing how fun disc golf can be easy for those teaching the game to beginners. The course designers did a good job in making good use of the elevation available.

- Flat and grippy concrete tee pads.
- #9 basket is missing.

- Some lines throw along a walking path so players need to be self-aware when hucking their plastic.

- Layout could be improved by changing the direction/location of the alternate teepads rather than simply making them 20-30 feet longer than the shorts.

- No topless Hooters girls frolicking along the #8 fairway.
Other Thoughts:
Valley View is where I first saw a disc golf basket up close and personal many years ago, so it was nice to get back to the old stamping grounds and play this course having an appreciate for the game. Despite its low rating, this is a decent local course that has enough zing to keep local players coming back time and again for a round. It's not a destination course -- it's not even really an "on the way" course -- but it's a nice course to have available should you live in the Cedar Valley. It won't end up in your favorites and I wouldn't drive out of my way to play it, but eight more baskets to throw at in a nice park is definitely a plus.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A Course To Check Out If You're In Town

1    8/7/2012   8/12/2012
Review By: TwhDiscs
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.4 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice signage, you can easily tell where to go. The tee-pads are really nice and grippy. Good usage of the space permitted. They made it challenging, yet fun. You will need lots of different shots on this course. Nicely mowed, lots of grass. The baskets are pretty nice, maybe a spot out here or their but they work good. The holes are pretty well laid out.
Cons: Basket number 4 is leaning down the hill so it makes it hard to get it in the basket because the chains are leaning so much. Hole 2/11 is right next to a road, throw it with hyzer, its on the road.
Other Thoughts: This is probably only for me, but I couldn't get the feel of this course. I was always under throwing or overthrowing it. The only other thing I'm not fond of but its not a con, is that their's only 9 official holes. Holes 10-18 just play the front 9, but set back a little further.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 good all around course

5+    6/1/2012   6/4/2012
Review By: troyrugg
Played: 62  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6.4 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 9 holes with double boxes that allow for 18.
3-4 holes with elevation factors
nice quick round when not busy
nice clean park
Cons: heavily played on nice days, can slow down groups of one and 2.
bike trail runs next to/ crosses hole 5 but have yet to have an issue with it
Other Thoughts: this is my 2nd fav course in town next to exchange. plays quick, and a pretty good variety of shots needed esp if you play the long tees for the back 9. Def worth playing if you never have, and a course i hit at least twice a week lately

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Ghost Town

5+    3/6/2012   3/6/2012
Review By: homerjeebus
Played: 34  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 16.4 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: well taken care of, always mowed, usually pretty dry, good elevation changes and lots of trees, nice concrete pads and new signs
Cons: can get muddy around pads and some pins, rec trail sometimes holds up play
Other Thoughts: well kept course, nice variety of holes, good course for a relaxing round

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Valley View Park

1    6/26/2011   6/26/2011
Review By: jwetter
Played: 92  Reviewed: 30
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -It is located in a nice clean park
-The signs are good and the course is easy to follow for new people
-Multiple pads so if you play through the 9 holes through twice you can play 18 holes that are all a little different.
Cons: -The course is short and there are only 9 holes.
-There is nothing amazing about the course it is just a typical easy 9 hole course that is fun to play if you are in the area.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.


1    5/15/2011   5/17/2011
Review By: ifdiscer
Played: 18  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 13.6 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: New hard plastic tee signs take confusion out of pin position and distance
Concrete pads are ample enough for a good run up.
The back tee boxes create a little variety of challenges while using the same basket
Cons: Drainage is still an issue, got feet wet where I didn't know there could be water.
Windy days could play havoc, hole 5 is right next to the road. Good chance of going over the fence if the wind catches your disc.
Other Thoughts: I had a great time dealing with what challenges there were and taking advantage of the chance to really stretch out my arm. I stopped by for 9 and stayed for 18, good park.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Decent Quick 9

1    3/1/2011   3/6/2011
Review By: Martin Dewgarita
Played: 1239  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Amenities. Shelter, Playground for the kids, bathrooms (closed in the winter), ample parking (near holes 1 and 5).

Variety. Decent variety of shots required with several big arm holes that require a little bit of accuracy to avoid the mature trees lining most of the fairways.

Elevation. A bit of decent elevation comes into play on several holes keeping it interesting.

Birdie opportunities. The ace runs exist, though most of the holes are a bit longer or have enough obstacles that a birdie (2) feels quite rewarding.

Access. Just off the freeway for a quick 9 holes.

Tees. Dual teepads are all level concrete large enough for an ample runup and in good shape.

Baskets. All baskets exist and are in good shape.
Cons: Navigation. Confusing layout, I think I ended up playing the holes in the completely wrong order, of the 2 tee pads one of them will have a number on it, pay attention to that. The most confusion came after hole 6, walk past hole 9 tee to find 7.

Signage. The stones in front of the tee pad seemed sporadic in showing distance/hole numbers maybe I just didn't look hard enough to see them all. Tee signs and/or directional signage would be helpful.

Dual Tees offer very little variety. The "short" tee was often only like 20 feet ahead of the long, which didn't change the layout at all or affect the distance enough that a beginner might prefer to play from the shorts.

Cleanliness. Maybe it was just early season and they haven't done spring cleaning yet, but there was a lot of trash on the course, garbage cans were provided at the parking areas.

Other users. The walking trails may not see a ton of use, but I did have to wait on a couple of holes for walkers to move out of the way, and I had to wait for a father and daughter to move from one of the fairways.
Other Thoughts: Enjoyable enough for a quick 9 holes if passing through on the freeway, I would make the quick stop off the highway to enjoy the variety of big arm and slightly technical holes to be found here.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.