Disc Golf Center
Waterloo, IA 
Valley View Park Share
Uploaded By: erickmj  



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
A Course To Check Out If You're In Town

1    8/7/2012   8/12/2012
Review By: TwhDiscs
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.2 Years
Pros: Nice signage, you can easily tell where to go. The tee-pads are really nice and grippy. Good usage of the space permitted. They made it challenging, yet fun. You will need lots of different shots on this course. Nicely mowed, lots of grass. The baskets are pretty nice, maybe a spot out here or their but they work good. The holes are pretty well laid out.
Cons: Basket number 4 is leaning down the hill so it makes it hard to get it in the basket because the chains are leaning so much. Hole 2/11 is right next to a road, throw it with hyzer, its on the road.
Other Thoughts: This is probably only for me, but I couldn't get the feel of this course. I was always under throwing or overthrowing it. The only other thing I'm not fond of but its not a con, is that their's only 9 official holes. Holes 10-18 just play the front 9, but set back a little further.

 good all around course

5+    6/1/2012   6/4/2012
Review By: troyrugg
Played: 51  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4.2 Years
Pros: 9 holes with double boxes that allow for 18.
3-4 holes with elevation factors
nice quick round when not busy
nice clean park
Cons: heavily played on nice days, can slow down groups of one and 2.
bike trail runs next to/ crosses hole 5 but have yet to have an issue with it
Other Thoughts: this is my 2nd fav course in town next to exchange. plays quick, and a pretty good variety of shots needed esp if you play the long tees for the back 9. Def worth playing if you never have, and a course i hit at least twice a week lately

 Ghost Town

5+    3/6/2012   3/6/2012
Review By: homerjeebus
Played: 25  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 14.2 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: well taken care of, always mowed, usually pretty dry, good elevation changes and lots of trees, nice concrete pads and new signs
Cons: can get muddy around pads and some pins, rec trail sometimes holds up play
Other Thoughts: well kept course, nice variety of holes, good course for a relaxing round

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Valley View Park

1    6/26/2011   6/26/2011
Review By: jwetter
Played: 50  Reviewed: 30
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -It is located in a nice clean park
-The signs are good and the course is easy to follow for new people
-Multiple pads so if you play through the 9 holes through twice you can play 18 holes that are all a little different.
Cons: -The course is short and there are only 9 holes.
-There is nothing amazing about the course it is just a typical easy 9 hole course that is fun to play if you are in the area.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/15/2011   5/17/2011
Review By: ifdiscer
Played: 18  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 11.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: New hard plastic tee signs take confusion out of pin position and distance
Concrete pads are ample enough for a good run up.
The back tee boxes create a little variety of challenges while using the same basket
Cons: Drainage is still an issue, got feet wet where I didn't know there could be water.
Windy days could play havoc, hole 5 is right next to the road. Good chance of going over the fence if the wind catches your disc.
Other Thoughts: I had a great time dealing with what challenges there were and taking advantage of the chance to really stretch out my arm. I stopped by for 9 and stayed for 18, good park.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Decent Quick 9

1    3/1/2011   3/6/2011
Review By: Martin Dewgarita
Played: 1148  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 4.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Amenities. Shelter, Playground for the kids, bathrooms (closed in the winter), ample parking (near holes 1 and 5).

Variety. Decent variety of shots required with several big arm holes that require a little bit of accuracy to avoid the mature trees lining most of the fairways.

Elevation. A bit of decent elevation comes into play on several holes keeping it interesting.

Birdie opportunities. The ace runs exist, though most of the holes are a bit longer or have enough obstacles that a birdie (2) feels quite rewarding.

Access. Just off the freeway for a quick 9 holes.

Tees. Dual teepads are all level concrete large enough for an ample runup and in good shape.

Baskets. All baskets exist and are in good shape.
Cons: Navigation. Confusing layout, I think I ended up playing the holes in the completely wrong order, of the 2 tee pads one of them will have a number on it, pay attention to that. The most confusion came after hole 6, walk past hole 9 tee to find 7.

Signage. The stones in front of the tee pad seemed sporadic in showing distance/hole numbers maybe I just didn't look hard enough to see them all. Tee signs and/or directional signage would be helpful.

Dual Tees offer very little variety. The "short" tee was often only like 20 feet ahead of the long, which didn't change the layout at all or affect the distance enough that a beginner might prefer to play from the shorts.

Cleanliness. Maybe it was just early season and they haven't done spring cleaning yet, but there was a lot of trash on the course, garbage cans were provided at the parking areas.

Other users. The walking trails may not see a ton of use, but I did have to wait on a couple of holes for walkers to move out of the way, and I had to wait for a father and daughter to move from one of the fairways.
Other Thoughts: Enjoyable enough for a quick 9 holes if passing through on the freeway, I would make the quick stop off the highway to enjoy the variety of big arm and slightly technical holes to be found here.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nostalgia

5+    6/18/2010   6/19/2010
Review By: dustbuster232000
Played: 30  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 14.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good layout with several chances to stretch out your arm. Good mix of open and wooded holes. second tees make for a easy eighteen holes in only ninety minutes. Restroom on sight along with plenty of picnic areas and a playground well off the course.
Cons: Drainage a problem after rain in the lower section of the course, can get quite swampy. Tees are on the short side and could use a bit of a stretch to make them average.
Other Thoughts: This is the second course I learned on with Exchange being the first. Played well over five hundred times it has become like an old friend. This was where I got my first ace and met up with friends daily. While it will never be home to a championship round this is what small park Disc Golf is supposed to be.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice little course.

5+    5/31/2010   5/31/2010
Review By: xharkx
Played: 13  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good course for beginning players. Has a couple longer holes, and the need to navigate around some trees. However most the holes are pretty open. The course is well maintained and there are restrooms on site. Easy to get too, has its own parking. Also picnic tables and a shelter. Some good elevation changes and multiple tee pads.
Cons: Drop offs on some tee pads are a little steep. Watch your ankles. This course can get a little crowded but normally it isn't too bad.
Other Thoughts: This is a good course to learn on or take someone who is interested in learning to disc golf. Not the most challenging course but its fun to go out there and just throw sometimes. Watch out for people on the bike path though!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.