Disc Golf Store
Port Orchard, WA 
Van Zee Park Share
Uploaded By: Aragorn Hole #2
3 / 205ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 the hills are alive and rolling

5+    9/7/2012   9/7/2012
Review By: ajjrt
Played: 14  Reviewed: 13
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 2 sets of pads that make a 9 hole course into 18. Now have signs that show hole 1 pad and hole 10 pad...makes it nice. Bathrooms are available in the summer (weird, they now Sept. have a closed for winter sign, go figure.) Many aces can begotten here and tons of birds of all kinds, however be very careful...the hills are alive and rolling :) Good place to learn all different kinds of throws. And even the experienced players can grumble about a tree or a roll. Fun
Cons: short, hilly, and bathrooms closed alot. Not alot of parking but not alot of players.
Other Thoughts: Course is fun and quick to play. It adds to the great and varied courses in Kitsap county.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Elevation and slopes add a nice twist

1    7/8/2012   7/14/2012
Review By: b-mart
Played: 46  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 4.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Van Zee is an interesting nine hole in the paradise of disc golf that is Kitsap County. I'm becoming very biased about Kitsap and trying to find some way to get my job to move me over there so I don't have to pay a hefty fee on a ferry or a $5 toll on a bridge every time that I want to disc over there... But I digress.

Van Zee is the first true 9-hole I've played that has multiple teepads... Which I guess makes it an 18. The challenge is pretty low overall, with the length of the harder tees still being short enough for you to leave your drivers in the car. What Van Zee pulls off that most other beginner courses don't is that it keeps the difficulty up with sloped putting greens. Some form of elevation comes into play on every single hole here, and it's easy to turn a birdie or par putt into a bogey or double bogey thanks to the immense rollaway potential. I think this is a pro because it really makes you think about your approach more thoroughly than you would normally have to.

The concrete teepads were... Concrete. Always a pro on any course. The baskets were in good condition and all there, so there's another one. I feel like this is a lazy review so far, but this course kind of makes me feel lazy. Sorry.

Although the course felt a tiny bit lefty friendly, I did appreciate the use of the elevation, with a few up- and down-hill shots, and (as I already said) some type of elevation change or slope on every hole.

The course seems to be in a disc golf only section of the park, but it was hard to tell when I was there because they were setting up for Cub Scout Day Camp and I had to throw behind an archery range. I think that's great and would add an entirely new form of challenge to every course. It should become PDGA mandatory.

Favorite hole: Hole 8 from the long tee was the best one on this course. It was a short little RHFH snap with a mid (a Drone in my case), but is fun and just drools "birdie" when you hit it right... Or bogey if you hit a tree or roll down to the port a johns.
Cons: I suppose that the short length of the holes would be considered a con. The elevation isn't really extreme enough to make 200' holes very challenging. Nine hole courses in general seem to keep the challenge low (my total of below par rounds on 9's vs 18's will attest to that), and this course fits that bill. The multiple teepads are a nice thing to advertise, but they don't really add anything to the experience. You just wind up throwing from a different distance or angle, but pretty much have the same line available to you. The four teepads on the way to basket 2 were just confusing. I know which were official for it, but the other two just seemed to be there to be ornery.

Least favorite hole: Hole 7. Too short, too boring... I probably should have thrown a thumber with my putter so I would have something interesting to say about it.
Other Thoughts: Overall this isa fun little 9-hole with a unique challenge that you don't usually find. It's a great warmup course on your way up to Silverdale or Poulsbo from the Tacoma area, but unfortunately isn't much more than that. If you live in the area and want somewhere to introduce your friends to the beautiful sport that you play, this may be the course for you. It depends on the friend I guess... If they're easily frustrated they might quit after watching their 5th shot roll down the hill on hole 1. If that happens just take them to Bud Pell and they'll quit complaining about Van Zee. I think Van Zee has its merits, but it pales so much in comparison to all of the other courses nearby that it just isn't worth writing home about.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Van Zee

2-4    8/4/2011   8/5/2011
Review By: jedimasterbryan
Played: 16  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 3.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/19/2012
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Concrete Tees
- Quality baskets
-An open field to practice your shots before or after a game
-Good course for a beginner
-Multiple tees
Cons: - Multiple concrete slabs all over the place can be confusing
-Lack of next tee signage
-No hole layout signs on the holes
-Most holes are really short, even for a beginner
-only 9 holes. with no possibility for expansion
Other Thoughts: All in all, not a horrible course, but with courses like NAD and Dalaiwood not far away this course can't compare. Not bad if you're looking for a quick game and you're not far away. But i wouldn't go out of my way to play this course.
UPDATE: Well the layout has been switched up a bit and the long tees have been converted to holes 10-18, making van zee and 18 hole course now. In addition to this the local club has done a lot of work clearing out the park. All these things make it a slightly better course, although it still doesn't hold a candle to the other courses in kitsap county.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    5/25/2011   6/22/2011
Review By: Barthanatos
Played: 9  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/8/2011
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Course was recently adjusted to reduce the chance of disc flying OB into fenced neighborhood. Still need to be a bit careful on number 8.
- Beginner friendly.
- Quick to play if you don't have much time.
- Quality baskets (not top-quality).
- Despite being short, the holes do present some interesting play. Number one has a terrific hill that can have your disc rolling all the way back to you. Number nine is open and long enough that I am throwing as far as I can from the alternate tee (disclaimer: I don't throw very far).
- Tees are numbered and have concrete pads.
- Plenty of open space in the park for field practice if the baseball field is not in use.
- Low risk of lost discs.
- Easy to manage with a stroller. Well, okay the hill is steep enough that my wife freaks out and thinks our baby is going to roll away, but she's a little panicky in that motherly way.
- There a swingset and picnic facilities. Also a small jungle-gym thing. Good for the kids after a round.
- Good parking.
Cons: - There are a number of concrete pads on the course that are not used, lending some confusion to play.
- Multi-use area. A couple of times I have had non-golfers throw my disc back to me trying to be helpful. Not much of a concern outside holes one and nine.
- There are only 9 holes, with no room for expansion.
Other Thoughts: - The challenge level is low. This is a positive given the other courses in the area.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Van Zee Park

1    12/19/2009   1/15/2010
Review By: JR Stengele
Played: 192  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 14.6 Years
This review was updated on 3/21/2011
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
When entering this friendly quaint neighborhood park in Port Orchard you notice that is located primarily on a slope with several trees set in the top right corner of the park. At the base of the park where you enter there is a multi purpose field (allowing for field work when other park users are not present).

Another thing which stands out is the massive cement basketball court that almost looks like a skating rink from the parking lot. The court was dug out of the ground towards the top of the hill and is quite large (creating an OB on holes 6 and 7).

The course is perfect for intermediate players looking to find their game. Van Zee is also great to practice at for advanced players hoping to improve their short game. Even though most of the holes were fairly short (longest being 295 feet), the lines were clean and well thought out. Holes one, six, and nine are wide open with the rest playing through the trees. The holes in the trees are fairly narrow but show multiple approaches.

The dual tee pads is a great addition although the original tee pads are in better shape due to being all cement. The baskets are Mach II's which are suitable for this course and catch fairly well. The course was easy to navigate for the most part with ample signage and numbered baskets.
Cons:
The alternate tee pads were dirt which can be troublesome in the northwest during the winter months. Some of the tee pads in general seem to be close to the baskets from the previous holes (due to the size of the park). Last, a few holes run along neighboring homes (holes three and four come to mind) and there is a large possibility that a disc will fly over the fence whether it be from a deflection or not so watch out and choose your line carefully!
Other Thoughts:
This course was a lot of fun! I enjoyed the simplicity and yet the challenge of scoring well. This would be a great course to live near because it allows for short quick rounds if necessary. I wouldn't want this as my home course but it would be a great alternative. Port Orchard and Bremerton are really coming alive in the recent years and the courses are all within a reasonable drive. I had the privilege of playing three courses this day with Van Zee being the first. It was great to play a quick warm up round and then move on to Kitsap Fairgrounds then finally Fredericksen. All in all I would say I had another great day playing in the magical northwest!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/5/2009   9/5/2009
Review By: radsnowsurfer
Played: 115  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 10.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice use of the limited space.
Good use of elevation change, dog legs and hillside holes, this adds challenge to a short course.
Dual Tees.
Solid baskets.
Good signage, navigation was simple.
Fun shots, some holes have good dual options.
Cons: Lack of distance, longest hole 286 most holes 180-220.
Most of the dual tees don't really change or add to the hole.
a number of holes are very wide open.
Some of the forest holes are too close together.
Field holes intersect multi-use park areas.
Some tees are beat up and some are natural mud pits.
Other Thoughts: I thoroughly enjoyed my round at Van Zee, I took a first timer and it was a great introductory course, the wind and hills add much needed difficulty to a very short course overall. I liked the dual tees but was underwhelmed in their execution, only a few would really change my approach to the hole, some could definitely be extended. The Markings were nice, it seems a true first timer could easily figure out the layout, especially with the baskets number marked.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Short course, good for midrange practice

2-4    7/29/2009   8/20/2009
Review By: runnaman
Played: 38  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 7.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Lots of technical, wooded holes, which calls for you to utilize your mid range shots more.
- Casual and relaxed course with no long holes to worry about.
- Little chance to lose a disc unless you really shank one.
- Baskets and teepads are in good condition.
- Course is pretty easy to follow without a map. The only exception is hole 3 can be a little confusing as it looks like the teepad wants you to throw of the back.
- There are amature teepads as well as pro teepads. And although there isn't much difference from the two, it's nice that they are available.
Cons: - Not a lot of variety as far as types of shots go. I used my Skeeter on almost every drive.
- Nettles are surrounding a lot of the wooded holes, so be careful.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course to take new players to or to have a quick round for practicing you mid-range shots and short drives. There isn't any need for your drivers if you can throw a mid-range 250' and most of the holes, although wooded, are fairly open. Only one or two of the holes have trees that require some tricky shots.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.