Port Orchard, WA 
Van Zee Park Share
Uploaded By: yardbird Hole #9 (Taken 8/2011)
3 / 230ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
 the hills are alive and rolling

5+    9/7/2012   9/7/2012
Review By: ajjrt
Played: 14  Reviewed: 13
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 2 sets of pads that make a 9 hole course into 18. Now have signs that show hole 1 pad and hole 10 pad...makes it nice. Bathrooms are available in the summer (weird, they now Sept. have a closed for winter sign, go figure.) Many aces can begotten here and tons of birds of all kinds, however be very careful...the hills are alive and rolling :) Good place to learn all different kinds of throws. And even the experienced players can grumble about a tree or a roll. Fun
Cons: short, hilly, and bathrooms closed alot. Not alot of parking but not alot of players.
Other Thoughts: Course is fun and quick to play. It adds to the great and varied courses in Kitsap county.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Hill valley

1    8/16/2012   8/27/2012
Review By: Cipinc3
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 34.7 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: It's close to grandmas house.playground for the young kids.
Cons: Seems like every hole is on the side of a hill.if the gods will it your disc will land and not roll 100 feet from the basket.
Other Thoughts: Very frustrating course. A great tee shot that hits the post should never end up rolling 75 feet down the hill

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Elevation and slopes add a nice twist

1    7/8/2012   7/14/2012
Review By: b-mart
Played: 46  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 4.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Van Zee is an interesting nine hole in the paradise of disc golf that is Kitsap County. I'm becoming very biased about Kitsap and trying to find some way to get my job to move me over there so I don't have to pay a hefty fee on a ferry or a $5 toll on a bridge every time that I want to disc over there... But I digress.

Van Zee is the first true 9-hole I've played that has multiple teepads... Which I guess makes it an 18. The challenge is pretty low overall, with the length of the harder tees still being short enough for you to leave your drivers in the car. What Van Zee pulls off that most other beginner courses don't is that it keeps the difficulty up with sloped putting greens. Some form of elevation comes into play on every single hole here, and it's easy to turn a birdie or par putt into a bogey or double bogey thanks to the immense rollaway potential. I think this is a pro because it really makes you think about your approach more thoroughly than you would normally have to.

The concrete teepads were... Concrete. Always a pro on any course. The baskets were in good condition and all there, so there's another one. I feel like this is a lazy review so far, but this course kind of makes me feel lazy. Sorry.

Although the course felt a tiny bit lefty friendly, I did appreciate the use of the elevation, with a few up- and down-hill shots, and (as I already said) some type of elevation change or slope on every hole.

The course seems to be in a disc golf only section of the park, but it was hard to tell when I was there because they were setting up for Cub Scout Day Camp and I had to throw behind an archery range. I think that's great and would add an entirely new form of challenge to every course. It should become PDGA mandatory.

Favorite hole: Hole 8 from the long tee was the best one on this course. It was a short little RHFH snap with a mid (a Drone in my case), but is fun and just drools "birdie" when you hit it right... Or bogey if you hit a tree or roll down to the port a johns.
Cons: I suppose that the short length of the holes would be considered a con. The elevation isn't really extreme enough to make 200' holes very challenging. Nine hole courses in general seem to keep the challenge low (my total of below par rounds on 9's vs 18's will attest to that), and this course fits that bill. The multiple teepads are a nice thing to advertise, but they don't really add anything to the experience. You just wind up throwing from a different distance or angle, but pretty much have the same line available to you. The four teepads on the way to basket 2 were just confusing. I know which were official for it, but the other two just seemed to be there to be ornery.

Least favorite hole: Hole 7. Too short, too boring... I probably should have thrown a thumber with my putter so I would have something interesting to say about it.
Other Thoughts: Overall this isa fun little 9-hole with a unique challenge that you don't usually find. It's a great warmup course on your way up to Silverdale or Poulsbo from the Tacoma area, but unfortunately isn't much more than that. If you live in the area and want somewhere to introduce your friends to the beautiful sport that you play, this may be the course for you. It depends on the friend I guess... If they're easily frustrated they might quit after watching their 5th shot roll down the hill on hole 1. If that happens just take them to Bud Pell and they'll quit complaining about Van Zee. I think Van Zee has its merits, but it pales so much in comparison to all of the other courses nearby that it just isn't worth writing home about.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Course for Beginners

5+    6/16/2012   6/18/2012
Review By: Calyub
Played: 7  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - "Red" and "Blue" approaches are present for each basket.
- The tees boxes are all flat and most are made of cement (a couple of the alternate tees are still dirt)
- Plenty of parking
- There is a playground present (with picnic tables and bathrooms) for the kids.
- This is a quick course and a good place to go if you only have an hour or so to play. Going with a group of 3 or 4people will take about 30 - 45 minutes for one round.
- The park was recently cleaned up. All the blackberries, weeds, bushes and errant trees have been removed.
- Good beginner course. Most, if not all the distances range from around 150 - 200 feet.
- Decent chance of getting a birdie or two each round you play.
Cons: - Course is a little short, only 9 holes.
- Residential houses are close by with a couple of opportunities to accidentally throw a disk into someone's fenced back yard.
- Some interesting, swirling winds go rolling through the park most of the time.
- A couple of holes exist near a busy street. The opportunity exists to throw into traffic.
- The course tends to get busy on evenings and some weekends.
Other Thoughts: Despite the small size, this is one of my favorite courses (it doesn't hurt that it is local for me). I would consider Van Zee a course well suited for beginners but there are still one or two challenging holes if you decide to play from the long tees.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Cozy Game

1    5/8/2012   5/8/2012
Review By: Lazzdar
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Great use of a small area.
- Can bring the kids. They can play at the playground.
- Both easy/hard tees.
- Great course for quick games.
- Hole 5 was missing for a long time, but has been replaced, making this course so much better.
- Most of the course is wooded providing cool shade for hot days.
- The shots are tricky making up for the shorter distances to the baskets.
Cons: - A few of the baskets are close to fenced property: hole 6 is next to a yard which sometimes has a couple loud dogs roaming within. Have to try not to throw into the yard; basket 8 has a yard behind it. I often throw over the fence. Luckily the house there is currently abandoned; hole 7 and 8 are close to the road. If you pull it badly, you may toss it into the road. But 'tis fairly difficult to do.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 My firt time at VanZee

1    10/15/2011   10/16/2011
Review By: -Hawk-
Played: 10  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Liked that it was close to home, in a neat little neighborhood park and with being a 9 hole course the family was able to get through it pretty quickly. There seemed to be a good mix of challenging parts and some straight shots too.
Cons: The marking on a few holes could be better. We found ourselves looking around for the next tee and hole on a few. The basket for 5 was gone all together, which meant we had to search for awhile just to find out the intended spot to shoot for. We just drew a circle in the dirt around the basket anchor that was in the ground and shot for that. There were a couple of holes that were a tad close to private property fence lines, so we had to be careful there.
Other Thoughts: This was the second time for me to be out disk golfing...ever, and the rest of the family's first. We all enjoyed it, and will coming back here for a lot more rounds now that we know the layout of the course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Van Zee

2-4    8/4/2011   8/5/2011
Review By: jedimasterbryan
Played: 16  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 3.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/19/2012
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Concrete Tees
- Quality baskets
-An open field to practice your shots before or after a game
-Good course for a beginner
-Multiple tees
Cons: - Multiple concrete slabs all over the place can be confusing
-Lack of next tee signage
-No hole layout signs on the holes
-Most holes are really short, even for a beginner
-only 9 holes. with no possibility for expansion
Other Thoughts: All in all, not a horrible course, but with courses like NAD and Dalaiwood not far away this course can't compare. Not bad if you're looking for a quick game and you're not far away. But i wouldn't go out of my way to play this course.
UPDATE: Well the layout has been switched up a bit and the long tees have been converted to holes 10-18, making van zee and 18 hole course now. In addition to this the local club has done a lot of work clearing out the park. All these things make it a slightly better course, although it still doesn't hold a candle to the other courses in kitsap county.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    5/25/2011   6/22/2011
Review By: Barthanatos
Played: 9  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/8/2011
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Course was recently adjusted to reduce the chance of disc flying OB into fenced neighborhood. Still need to be a bit careful on number 8.
- Beginner friendly.
- Quick to play if you don't have much time.
- Quality baskets (not top-quality).
- Despite being short, the holes do present some interesting play. Number one has a terrific hill that can have your disc rolling all the way back to you. Number nine is open and long enough that I am throwing as far as I can from the alternate tee (disclaimer: I don't throw very far).
- Tees are numbered and have concrete pads.
- Plenty of open space in the park for field practice if the baseball field is not in use.
- Low risk of lost discs.
- Easy to manage with a stroller. Well, okay the hill is steep enough that my wife freaks out and thinks our baby is going to roll away, but she's a little panicky in that motherly way.
- There a swingset and picnic facilities. Also a small jungle-gym thing. Good for the kids after a round.
- Good parking.
Cons: - There are a number of concrete pads on the course that are not used, lending some confusion to play.
- Multi-use area. A couple of times I have had non-golfers throw my disc back to me trying to be helpful. Not much of a concern outside holes one and nine.
- There are only 9 holes, with no room for expansion.
Other Thoughts: - The challenge level is low. This is a positive given the other courses in the area.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Van Zee

5+    2/18/2011   2/19/2011
Review By: vman8988
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.9 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: great begginner course took my best friend out that had never played disc golf and she had a blast great use of elevation and the recent storm actually added some difficulty to a couple of shots
Cons: too close to some of the local houses, fences, and roads several times ive thrown a dosc from tee 7 into/acrossed the street
Other Thoughts: great local neighbor hood course could use a little more distance on a couple of holes but otherwise fantastic for what the designer had to work with personally i play van zee at least 3 times a week

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    7/2/2010   7/3/2010
Review By: bigbmoney
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 17.6 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Excellent use of confined space. Really shoe-horned in 9 holes. Elevation changes presented a good challenge.
Cons: Tee boxes are not uiform in any way. Different sizes and texture. I think this comes from using some existing concrete. Most holes are birdie tries. Alternate tees don't always change the hole very much.
Other Thoughts: Don't think I will make the trip from Poulsbo very often.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.