Port Orchard, WA 
Van Zee Park Share
Uploaded By: Aragorn Hole #8
3 / 200ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Up and Down!

2-4    3/31/2010   4/3/2010
Review By: puaahunter
Played: 18  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 5.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: lots of great uses of elevation.
some shots were pretty technical
good signage
cement teepads
baskets caught well (even though i drilled the chains with my drive on hole 3 - my first ace!!! - but the disc popped out... so it was a no-go for me.)
two tee pads for each hole-although they don't always drastically change the shot.
nice park location, including large ball field and playground.
Cons: short course. (but they fit all 9 holes in to a small park without disturbing other activities that may be going on in the park - props for that!)
potential to throw into neighboring houses and the street on 3, 6, 7, and 8.
Other Thoughts: It was a lot of fun to play Van Zee Park Disc Golf. I live in Shelton, and I met a friend there. two other guys were on the course on the wednesday morning we played.

I really enjoyed the use of elevation on the course.
the holes were well thought out for the small space available.

unfortunately, it was a very easy course. birdies are attainable pretty easily on every hole, par is doable with eyes closed unless you really shank a tree or over throw a basket and roll down a hill.

i don't think i'd travel here to play it again, but i enjoyed my 3 times through the course in 1.5 hours!


3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Van Zee Park

1    12/19/2009   1/15/2010
Review By: JR Stengele
Played: 192  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 14.7 Years
This review was updated on 3/21/2011
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
When entering this friendly quaint neighborhood park in Port Orchard you notice that is located primarily on a slope with several trees set in the top right corner of the park. At the base of the park where you enter there is a multi purpose field (allowing for field work when other park users are not present).

Another thing which stands out is the massive cement basketball court that almost looks like a skating rink from the parking lot. The court was dug out of the ground towards the top of the hill and is quite large (creating an OB on holes 6 and 7).

The course is perfect for intermediate players looking to find their game. Van Zee is also great to practice at for advanced players hoping to improve their short game. Even though most of the holes were fairly short (longest being 295 feet), the lines were clean and well thought out. Holes one, six, and nine are wide open with the rest playing through the trees. The holes in the trees are fairly narrow but show multiple approaches.

The dual tee pads is a great addition although the original tee pads are in better shape due to being all cement. The baskets are Mach II's which are suitable for this course and catch fairly well. The course was easy to navigate for the most part with ample signage and numbered baskets.
Cons:
The alternate tee pads were dirt which can be troublesome in the northwest during the winter months. Some of the tee pads in general seem to be close to the baskets from the previous holes (due to the size of the park). Last, a few holes run along neighboring homes (holes three and four come to mind) and there is a large possibility that a disc will fly over the fence whether it be from a deflection or not so watch out and choose your line carefully!
Other Thoughts:
This course was a lot of fun! I enjoyed the simplicity and yet the challenge of scoring well. This would be a great course to live near because it allows for short quick rounds if necessary. I wouldn't want this as my home course but it would be a great alternative. Port Orchard and Bremerton are really coming alive in the recent years and the courses are all within a reasonable drive. I had the privilege of playing three courses this day with Van Zee being the first. It was great to play a quick warm up round and then move on to Kitsap Fairgrounds then finally Fredericksen. All in all I would say I had another great day playing in the magical northwest!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/5/2009   9/5/2009
Review By: radsnowsurfer
Played: 115  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 10.7 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice use of the limited space.
Good use of elevation change, dog legs and hillside holes, this adds challenge to a short course.
Dual Tees.
Solid baskets.
Good signage, navigation was simple.
Fun shots, some holes have good dual options.
Cons: Lack of distance, longest hole 286 most holes 180-220.
Most of the dual tees don't really change or add to the hole.
a number of holes are very wide open.
Some of the forest holes are too close together.
Field holes intersect multi-use park areas.
Some tees are beat up and some are natural mud pits.
Other Thoughts: I thoroughly enjoyed my round at Van Zee, I took a first timer and it was a great introductory course, the wind and hills add much needed difficulty to a very short course overall. I liked the dual tees but was underwhelmed in their execution, only a few would really change my approach to the hole, some could definitely be extended. The Markings were nice, it seems a true first timer could easily figure out the layout, especially with the baskets number marked.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Short course, good for midrange practice

2-4    7/29/2009   8/20/2009
Review By: runnaman
Played: 38  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 7.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Lots of technical, wooded holes, which calls for you to utilize your mid range shots more.
- Casual and relaxed course with no long holes to worry about.
- Little chance to lose a disc unless you really shank one.
- Baskets and teepads are in good condition.
- Course is pretty easy to follow without a map. The only exception is hole 3 can be a little confusing as it looks like the teepad wants you to throw of the back.
- There are amature teepads as well as pro teepads. And although there isn't much difference from the two, it's nice that they are available.
Cons: - Not a lot of variety as far as types of shots go. I used my Skeeter on almost every drive.
- Nettles are surrounding a lot of the wooded holes, so be careful.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course to take new players to or to have a quick round for practicing you mid-range shots and short drives. There isn't any need for your drivers if you can throw a mid-range 250' and most of the holes, although wooded, are fairly open. Only one or two of the holes have trees that require some tricky shots.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 I almost missed my ferry!

1    12/19/2009   5/31/2009
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 219  Reviewed: 206  Exp: 11.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/13/2011
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Excellent job with the space presented, the designer knew what they were doing. The ways of which the elevation comes into play make the park very fun to play. Nicely done short technical holes with lots of trees made my putter fear for it's life. The whole family can play this course and get a decent score too. There was no signs or markers but the course was easy to navigate and there was no other golfers in the park. There is even enough open field near the parking lot to practice drives on. There is even concrete tee pads here now thanks to the local club.
Cons: This park is short but it's in a small park so this is to be expected so no long bombs, mostly mid range and putting. A couple of the holes border other people's property line with a fence so watch out you don't throw it over.
Other Thoughts: There was a group of about 10 teenagers in the wooded area of the park that were looking like they were up to no good and were in my way for one hole so I had to skip it, not sure if this is common place but it was a little bit of a drag. Overall not a bad little course, if I'm back Playing NAD in Bremerton, I will stop by after to play a round or two.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 nice course

1    5/15/2008   12/15/2008
Review By: DGtourist
Played: 188  Reviewed: 106  Exp: 11.7 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is not just another nine hole park course, for starters it has ten holes. This piece of land offers variety in that some holes are open some are tight and there is rolling terrain to deal with that generate some decent up and downhill shots. The designers get a lot of use out of the limited area that is provided. Each hole has cement tee pads and a marker and is easy to navigate. Most of the course spirals around a little forest in the back area of the park. The upkeep at this park is tiptop I didn't see any trash and the grass was mowed nicely. This park is a great spot for beginners or a quick round.
Cons: Van Zee is a pretty small neighborhood park, as such, the course is tight and short. When I played, number ten was a temporary basket that was rolled over and propped up next to some sort of utility shed so that it was out of the way of a baseball field that it shares space with. Perhaps it was the permanent basket that was dug out of the ground as it was incased in concrete at the base. In some cases in order to have a course we have to share the space, a typical nuisance of the multi use park course. The holes that border along the park boundary do not leave a player much room for error. Chuck one over somehow and you may find yourself climbing a six foot chainlink fence into a neighbors yard who no doubt has grown a dislike for our beloved sport. As a beginner course I found the etiquette to be lacking, my group was thrown into a couple of times.
Other Thoughts: With only one hole being more than 250 feet, let the ace runs fly! The parking situation is a little tight. I look forward to playing this course again someday.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Better than you think?

5+    6/2/2008   6/2/2008
Review By: Aragorn
Played: 36  Reviewed: 19
This review was updated on 9/12/2008
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A nice combination 2 open field holes, 2 holes with big elevation drop offs, and the rest of the 10 are wooded and technical. A pretty park for a small neighborhood park. Credit to the designers for making a really good functional course for the space involved.
Cons: Holes 1 and 10 could be problematic if there are people playing on the open fields. Four of the baskets are on slopes so you could get some ugly rollers off a basket dink. Just part of the game, right!
Other Thoughts: Well designed course for the space available. At first you may not think that this course will amount to much. There are only 10 holes but after playing a few times I actually think that EVERY hole is interesting. There are alternate tee pads. If you play each tee pad once you can get in a round of 20 holes.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Recreational Course With Some Fun Throws!

3/14/2008   3/15/2008
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.6 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is just your basic little neighborhood course that plays around a ballfield and a reservoir. Because most of it is hilly, there are some fun, short but challenging throws to be had. Each hole has a short cement tee pad (you really don't need a longer approach here) and a extra solid post indicating the hole #. There are two sets of tees, the longer set usually add 10-20 ft. to the hole. The longest hole is a 286 ft. open uphill shot to a basket that sits in the middle of the field. The course designer did the best with what he to work with on this 8.6 acre site.
Cons: There is a one minor design flaw and one major design flaw. The minor flaw is that holes #1 and #10 (this is a 10 hole course) play into the two ballfields. I was told this is sometimes a problem during baseball season. The major problem that I see is that #'s 3, 5, and 7 all border on the park boundary fence next to private homes. On #3, my drive hit a tree and bounced over the 6 ft. chain link fence. I couldn't reach it with a stick so had to climb over the fence to retrieve it. # 5 is worse. A new home is being built on the right side of fairway. The house is very, very close to the park boundary fence and many discs will either anhyser over this fence or hit the trees and carom over. I hope these are understanding neighbors and I hope the golfers treat them with the utmost respect. It's a problem waiting to happen.
Other Thoughts: Too often I hear courses like this one put down by the disc golfing community. But when I left today, there were two groups playing. The first was two junior high boys. The second was two adult men, beginners, along with a seven year old. This course was perfect for them. It'll be a while before they're all ready for DeLaveaga.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.