Gresham, OR
Vance Park Share
Uploaded By: gwillim Hole #6
3 / 310ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6



Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Nice Little Park

2-4    6/19/2013   6/20/2013
Review By: Rusty Shackleford
Played: 18  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 0.9 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a nice 9 especially for being in the middle of the city.

The tee pads and baskets are great

Good use of the park and trees.

It's a great place to practice your short game or bring a new player.

Not really any rough or tall grass. No time looking for discs = more time throwing.
Cons: Busy. Lots of players on a nice day and 9 holes can feel crowded pretty quickly. There can also be a lot of other park users, but there's really just one tee that crosses a path.

No signage.
Other Thoughts: This is a great place if you're close by or if you want to bang out a bunch of holes quickly on weekday.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Beginner

1    9/14/2012   12/9/2012
Review By: notapro
Played: 386  Reviewed: 279  Exp: 10.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set in the back end of a small city park. There are many other activities going on here, but nothing near the holes. Any interference will be from stray pedestrians on or off a walking path.
- Decent amount of trees here to make things interesting. Plenty of spots where line shaping is necessary, like a RHBH anny on #2 and #3, a flick or hyzer on #4, a wide shot either way on #7, and a longer hyzer on #8. Almost every hole allows for a variety of lines, which is fun, but not too easy.
- Hole #9 doesn't have many trees; it is instead a hyzer shot around/over a fenced off area. #6 is pretty open as well, though the long tee gives a choice of gaps to hit with some lower branches.
- Good variety in hole lengths; there aren't any distances listed but I think at least three were over 275'. Most are under 230' or so. But, there are at least some short ones and some long ones.
- Teepads and baskets are good. Signs are not. Definitely helps to have a map, though it is pretty easy to figure out the flow once you get started.
Cons: - Land here is super flat, there are a few very gentle uphill slopes on a couple holes, but nothing serious.
- Overall the course is very short, I would estimate the average hole length is about 250' or so with a couple outliers driving it up.
- Hole #9 ends in the middle of the park, so you have to hoof it back to your car or hole #1.
Other Thoughts: - All in all, a fun little course that has some interesting holes. There are definitely some chances to whack a tree and have to scramble for par, and a couple spots that require a drive instead of an approach shot. Definitely best suited for beginners though.
- The area past the fence looks crazy! Let me know when they throw some baskets down there!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Somewhat technical short course

2-4    7/30/2012   7/31/2012
Review By: Lonhart
Played: 183  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 20.1 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I played this 3 times today (-5, -6, -6) and a local named Chris showed me the layout.
--Very nice long, cement tee pads
--Baskets in good shape
--Variety of shots, mostly short, but hyzers and anhyzers
--Trees provide difficulty
Cons: I like this course, but...
--No tee signs
--Although mostly manicured grass, the course is showing signs of heavy use
--Three holes have the pin near a fence that separates the course from a rock quarry, with very steep (60-80 feet) walls. Not likely to lose a disc unless you heavily chunder a drive. But be careful.
Other Thoughts: Although this course is in a neighborhood that has seen better times, I never felt threatened by any of the park dwellers. In fact, local players were very helpful and nice. As in any urban setting, you get a wide spectrum of people. This park has a swing set, so moms were there with infants and toddlers, not far from some of the more nefarious-looking guys, but everyone was having fun.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Worth your time

5+    7/29/2012   7/30/2012
Review By: nadaladadotnet
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Variance in length of holes, and the obstacles to traverse to the basket.
Cons: Not many ways to 'shake up the course" in the way say, Pier Park does where they can move baskets around to make the holes more challenging.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is a very fun course to throw at. I've played the course literally close to a hundred times since I started throwing 5 years ago. It never bores me. The layout is definitely good for your "short game" and for putting. Only 2 holes that have any kind of "distance" but you don't really notice that as you play the course. I bring my son to the course a lot and it's been invaluable in developing his confidence with the disc. Great place to bring the kids or just work on your short game.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Review

5+    7/3/2012   7/5/2012
Review By: SmaptyII
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great little course set back from the 182nd. Like Rockwood it is a technical little course set in the trees. Allows for short game and putting work. Buckets at every hole for trash. Good starting course for new players.
Cons: Unlike Rockwood the course is not mowed and there is a lot of long grass and trash everywhere (despite having trash buckets).
Other Thoughts: This course can get bunched up with smaller groups playing 2 discs or LARGE groups. Most people are great about letting smaller groups play through. Dont be shocked to see drug use at this park (both players and park visitors).

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

A Vance Romance

5+    11/28/2011   1/20/2012
Review By: ohtobediscing
Played: 144  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 34.6 Years
This review was updated on 2/3/2014
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: I really like Vance. I don't think I've ever seen more than three groups at once on the course. Requisite cement tees and quality baskets, with holes that can be driven straight, or hyzered/anhyzered in from left or right. The course starts with a shorter, open hole, then into the trees for #s 2-5. There are some slight elevation changes on these holes. On #s 6-9 it lengthens and alternates between field and slightly wooded. The trees have a semi-Pier Park quality to the layout and ambient light, without being overwhelming, obstructionwise, like Pier can be. For these reasons its also a good beginner course. Under the trees is shady/protected summer/winter. If its uncrowded a pair can make a round in 1/2 hour or less. Public bathrooms onsite.
Cons: The gravel pit/fence is behind holes 2, 4, and 9, and to one side of 5 and 8. In the unlikely event that you heave a disc into this, it might require a Herculean effort to retrieve any errant throw. Its too bad Rockwood is such a dud, or the two would provide just enough spice for a couple of inner-PDX area courses that you wouldn't feel the need to drive to other courses to get your DG on. In summer its can be almost as busy as Rockwood with other users.
Other Thoughts: It needs alternate tees/pin placements. I think the gravel pit could be incorporated for another nine, though I notice much of it gets 1-2 feet of standing water when its been raining a lot. Stores just a few blocks down the street.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Vance Review

5+    10/18/2011   10/27/2011
Review By: Corey D
Played: 19  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.5 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: fun course lots of diversity , no hills to walk , well groomed , nice baskets , nice tee pads , onsite bathrooms is always nice
Cons: can be a bit dirty with trash , lots of traffic , its a busy city park so lots of non discers hang out there. not many bsad things to say

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Not bad, for what it is

1    9/19/2011   9/20/2011
Review By: b-mart
Played: 42  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 3.7 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The teepads are concrete and the baskets are solid. The land available is well used. The course tends to play around the park. Any holes throwing across walking paths are open enough that you can see any pedestrians and know when to wait.
Cons: Absolutely no signage whatsoever. Without the map you're on your own. None of the holes are long enough to challenge anyone above a lower intermediate level.
Other Thoughts: If I were still starting out I would love this course. Since I scored even the first time through (something I don't even do when I know a course), I wasn't that impressed. If I hadn't met a local who was playing behind me, I would have spent at least 20 more minutes figuring out the course. This is not a bad course for a beginner or for anyone working on their short or midrange game, but is not worth a stop if you don't live here or aren't looking for a quick 9.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Quick and Fun

2-4    7/19/2011   7/19/2011
Review By: DiscAddict22
Played: 20  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a decent city park course, Some well place trees and hills to keep it fresh. Every hole is different, which keeps you interested. Perfect course for beginners learning to navigate trees, and a good place to try out that new disc your eager to throw, but not so eager to lose. Decent tee boxes and easy layout to follow,.A good warm up course for some of the larger courses ine the area.
Cons: It is a pretty short course, most holes are about 200'. Hard to say much bad about it, Its short but uses available space pretty well.
Other Thoughts: Watch out for people walking and biking the paths, as they cross a few teeshots. From 6's pin, walk to the tee aiming into the trees, not across the field. The coffeshop on 182nd has disc you can borrow, or a small selections of discs for sale.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  

1    8/28/2010   8/28/2010
Review By: qeserus
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Easy to play for a beginner like myself. Not too crowded, only one other group on the course @ 11 on a Saturday. Had a great time.
Cons: Could lose your discs on holes 5 and 7. Have to watch were you throw. Tee numbers not clearly marked. I'm glad I printed a map before I went it helped out a lot.
Other Thoughts: Hole 5 has a rock quarry on the right with a big cliff about 5ft past the fence so if your disc goes over say good bye to it.
The other group on the course was friendly. A nice little course in Gresham.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.