Gresham, OR 
Vance Park Share
Uploaded By: gwillim Hole #9
3 / 320ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9



Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Good enough to play again and again

1    6/1/2014   6/6/2014
Review By: Skeeterdonk
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 0.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Concrete tee boxes. I loved these.

As a beginner this course offers a good challenge. It has just enough trees to present a challenge while also offering a few holes with open shots. If you hit a tree you are more than likely still able to have a good shot at par.

This course is a good one for your child as well. The holes are short. My son and I played 12 holes in 45 min. This includes throwing several discs on a few of them.

Risk of losing a disc is low. The few holes that run along the fence next to the rock quarry offer plenty of safe area to throw into if you are worried about losing a disc.
Cons: I had no clue where #1 was. I couldn't find any signs or maps. We were fortunate that nobody was there so we just played random holes but on a busy day you would have to ask someone or risk jumping in between groups.

It looks over played.
Other Thoughts: Conditions: 8AM on a Sun. We were the only ones there.

If you approach from 182nd, #1 is going to be the tee box by the corner of the church parking lot. The rest is pretty easy to navigate.

Since it seems common that courses don't have maps or tee box markers, why don't they etch the hole # or even a map onto the tee box when they pour the concrete? Frame the tee box and when you pour the concrete just grab a stick and scratch in #1 or whatever, in one corner. Maybe an arrow to the basket? Seems like this would be a discreet way to be informative.

Going forward I am going to check the photo section of this site prior to playing new courses. In the photos for this one I think #9 is inaccurate. The tee box has been moved.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Nice Little Park

2-4    6/19/2013   6/20/2013
Review By: Rusty Shackleford
Played: 25  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 2.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a nice 9 especially for being in the middle of the city.

The tee pads and baskets are great

Good use of the park and trees.

It's a great place to practice your short game or bring a new player.

Not really any rough or tall grass. No time looking for discs = more time throwing.
Cons: Busy. Lots of players on a nice day and 9 holes can feel crowded pretty quickly. There can also be a lot of other park users, but there's really just one tee that crosses a path.

No signage.
Other Thoughts: This is a great place if you're close by or if you want to bang out a bunch of holes quickly on weekday.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

A Vance Romance

5+    11/28/2011   1/20/2012
Review By: ohtobediscing
Played: 153  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 34.9 Years
This review was updated on 2/3/2014
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: I really like Vance. I don't think I've ever seen more than three groups at once on the course. Requisite cement tees and quality baskets, with holes that can be driven straight, or hyzered/anhyzered in from left or right. The course starts with a shorter, open hole, then into the trees for #s 2-5. There are some slight elevation changes on these holes. On #s 6-9 it lengthens and alternates between field and slightly wooded. The trees have a semi-Pier Park quality to the layout and ambient light, without being overwhelming, obstructionwise, like Pier can be. For these reasons its also a good beginner course. Under the trees is shady/protected summer/winter. If its uncrowded a pair can make a round in 1/2 hour or less. Public bathrooms onsite.
Cons: The gravel pit/fence is behind holes 2, 4, and 9, and to one side of 5 and 8. In the unlikely event that you heave a disc into this, it might require a Herculean effort to retrieve any errant throw. Its too bad Rockwood is such a dud, or the two would provide just enough spice for a couple of inner-PDX area courses that you wouldn't feel the need to drive to other courses to get your DG on. In summer its can be almost as busy as Rockwood with other users.
Other Thoughts: It needs alternate tees/pin placements. I think the gravel pit could be incorporated for another nine, though I notice much of it gets 1-2 feet of standing water when its been raining a lot. Stores just a few blocks down the street.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Not bad, for what it is

1    9/19/2011   9/20/2011
Review By: b-mart
Played: 44  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 4.1 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The teepads are concrete and the baskets are solid. The land available is well used. The course tends to play around the park. Any holes throwing across walking paths are open enough that you can see any pedestrians and know when to wait.
Cons: Absolutely no signage whatsoever. Without the map you're on your own. None of the holes are long enough to challenge anyone above a lower intermediate level.
Other Thoughts: If I were still starting out I would love this course. Since I scored even the first time through (something I don't even do when I know a course), I wasn't that impressed. If I hadn't met a local who was playing behind me, I would have spent at least 20 more minutes figuring out the course. This is not a bad course for a beginner or for anyone working on their short or midrange game, but is not worth a stop if you don't live here or aren't looking for a quick 9.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Quick and Fun

2-4    7/19/2011   7/19/2011
Review By: DiscAddict22
Played: 20  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.3 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a decent city park course, Some well place trees and hills to keep it fresh. Every hole is different, which keeps you interested. Perfect course for beginners learning to navigate trees, and a good place to try out that new disc your eager to throw, but not so eager to lose. Decent tee boxes and easy layout to follow,.A good warm up course for some of the larger courses ine the area.
Cons: It is a pretty short course, most holes are about 200'. Hard to say much bad about it, Its short but uses available space pretty well.
Other Thoughts: Watch out for people walking and biking the paths, as they cross a few teeshots. From 6's pin, walk to the tee aiming into the trees, not across the field. The coffeshop on 182nd has disc you can borrow, or a small selections of discs for sale.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    4/30/2010   5/3/2010
Review By: JMONEY
Played: 225  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 5.2 Years
15 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course will be challenging for the beginner yet capable of satisfying the experienced DG'r. Navigation is easy and all baskets are visible from the tee giving the opportunity for an ace on all holes! The flat terrain of the course will be liked by the beginner and the trees can be challenging for all. Concrete pads and well marked baskets at fairly short distances add a handful of friendly locals, that's what makes it a fun course
Cons: : No practice basket, tee signs & restrooms. There is non Dg'r traffic that can hold up your game on holes #5, #7, #8 and #9. Rock Quarry on the other side of the fence will happily swallow your disc and good luck retrieving it!
Other Thoughts: Basket on #5 has been relocated about 15 feet to the right from the last time I played here also tee pad for # 9 has been relocated and is between basket for #8 and basket #6 and is aimed straight across the field. This is a great course to hit up after work or even on break if you work nearby. There is a soccer field next to the course allowing you to practice your drives too. This is a neighborhood course enjoy it

15 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Fun little 9 holer....

1    1/24/2010   1/28/2010
Review By: Oregon_Nole
Played: 32  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 9.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/26/2010
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: *Good mix of shots required...
*Big trees typical of Oregon courses, but no undergrowth to lose discs in.
*Quick, easy 9
*Easy to navigate (just look at the map in the links section for this course page)
*Great course to practice with your mids/putters
*ACE RUNS!!!!!!
*New #9 tee position is much better, O.B. is still in play, but only on an errant shot.
Cons: *No tee-signs (though most pins can be seen from the tee, so they're not really necessary)
*Flat
*Some of the holes seem TOO short (#5) TOO bland (#6)
Other Thoughts: This is a pretty sweet little course that wouldn't even know was there if you didn't know to look, in fact, I drove by it several times on my way from Gresham to HH, and never knew it was there.

The course starts next to the NE corner of the church parking lot, from there, the flow is pretty intuitive. Leave your drivers in your car, and bring your mids/putters, that's all you'll need.

This is definitely not a destination course, but if you happen to be in Gresham/Eastern PDX, or driving through and want to get a quick, easy 9, stop by, you won't be disappointed.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/13/2008   7/13/2008
Review By: radsnowsurfer
Played: 115  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 10.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/5/2011
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful park especially for a small city park, great big trees create a nice setting.
For a short pitch and putt course (average hole length ~250) it offers some challenging and unique shots.
Good tees and baskets.
Because it's a fairly used city park, it's kept up nicely.
because it's only 3 blocks from Rockwood, it's essentially an 18 hole course.
There's a great bi-weekly singles league on saturday mornings all through the winter.
Cons: No tee signs or course info, it can even be heard to find hole one at times, it's about 600 feet into the park.
Like most small city courses there's no real chance to air out big drives. (but for those with a serious craving they do have a large field.)
Layout is fairly simple, no blind shots, only one significant dog leg.
On nice weekends the park can get crowded with non-golfers, (expected at an urban park)
Other Thoughts: Vance is a great park, and because it's only 3 blocks from rockwood it makes a very fun 18 hole course that's a great tuneup for anyones short game. My only design complaint is that they could have thought out design a bit more and lengthened some of the holes 30 or 40 feet. I would say that if you live anywhere on the east side come and play Vance and Rockwood, if you're from out of town, you're probably better off playing some of the bigger more impressive courses like Pier or Milo or Dabney or Trojan.
Oh and if you live in Portland check out the Rockwood winter series, it's one of the rare leagues that meets in the winter, and brings out 50 or 60 people even if there's ice on the ground. There's usually a sign either at Vance or at Rockwood in the winter.

UPDATE: The shortening of hole 5 and hole 7 has forced me to drop my rating a half disc, as the course is now significantly easier.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 The Poor Man's Pier Park!

5/23/2008   5/25/2008
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 680  Reviewed: 632  Exp: 36.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/13/2008
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The trees here and how they affected the throws reminded me a little of Pier Park. This is just your basic, everyday, run of the mill city park course. Probably, 20-25% of the DG courses in the US are in little city parks just like this one. Vance does have enough trees to add to the challenge. I especially liked # 8, a tunnel shot through the trees.
Cons: I didn't like # 9 teeing off right beside the chain link park fence. Obviously over the years enough players have hit the top of fence and caromed OB. The fence here is breaking down as it has been climbed over too many times. This is not only unslightly but it pisses off park department officials. There are no tee signs not that they're needed here but the yardage is always fun to know.
Other Thoughts: Just another nice little practice course. Challenge enough to be enjoyed by most players, easy enough for beginners and families.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.