Gresham, OR 
Vance Park Share
Uploaded By: gwillim Hole #3
3 / 269ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3

Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3

1    7/12/2015   11/12/2015
Review By: Pierparknut
Played: 16  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 2.5 Years
Pros: -Great little course throughout a small park, good for practicing mid-ranges, plays throughout massive Douglas Firs
-Wonderful beginner course
-A walking path runs through the course, but doesn't appear too heavily used
-Makes great use of the small park without seeming too crowded
-Plenty of trash cans, and a restroom is by the first tee
-Hole 6 provided a nice change of pace being nice and open
-Demanded both hyzer and an-hyzer shots. Many holes had multiple lines
Cons: -A few holes (1, 5, 9) present the opportunity to through out-of-bounds. Very tall barbed-wire fences mark the boundaries, so if you throw one over, say goodbye to your disc
-No real driver opportunities, but in a park this size, that's ok
-You have to park in what looks like a church parking lot. It's easy to miss if you're going too fast along 182nd
-Only one tee and one pin location. It would get old after a while
Other Thoughts: -Overall a fun little course
-If you're in the area play this course twice and skip Rockwood Park, which is just a few blocks away. Rockwood is even shorter and in a multi-use crowded park.
-I came to play here and Rockwood. I was pleasantly surprised here, but Rockwood was a piece of sh*t and I don't think it's really worth my time to come all the way out here just for 9 holes

5+    10/22/2015   10/23/2015
Review By: Paragon29er
Played: 19  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great short course
At times, great for kids to play without getting frustrated by long difficult courses
Best times are early morning see below for explanation
Cons: Potheads, for the love of Pete smoke at home. Took my son there after school and there were three huge bongs on the picnic bench, about twenty people surrounding them, all baked. A few guys on the course so high they could barely function.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Interesting Neighborhood 9 hole

2-4    3/23/2015   3/23/2015
Review By: Moose33
Played: 45  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 3.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's not at all a bad little 9. The park isn't pristine but reasonably well maintained.

The pads are pretty good and longish though a big narrow.

For a course that plays this short there are some interesting shots. It's pretty heavily wooded and you need to think about your line.

It doesn't take much to par these holes but you have to hit your line to rack up the birdies.

Great place to bring beginners and kids, pretty good playground too. My daughter likes to swing and slide after a round, she would have liked this one.

Basketa are okay, older DGA baskets mostly pretty even with no big flaws.

The layout is so well worn you can't get lost.
Cons: Super short, and doesn't always make the absolute best of the available space.

Some of the pads need some fill dirt around them the puddles were really bad.

It looks like it gets played hard too, and cut it out the the bottle caps guys, it doesn't look that cool.
Other Thoughts: I breezed through this one twice in the rain in 40 mins so if your close and feel the need for a round, jump on it and you can get a pretty satisfactory round in here.

Don't bother bringing your warp speed arsenal though 6-7 of the holes you would be fine with a good neautral midrange.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Not too shabby

5+    10/31/2014   10/31/2014
Review By: LaserShot
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Nice tee pads
-Good location
-good mix of holes
-not too busy most of the time
Cons: -9 holes
-holes are fairly short
-Uninspired design
-watch the locals
Other Thoughts: This course is perfect for beginners or long time players who want to see if they can birdie every hole. I have never bogied a hole here and Im a slightly above average golfer. its usually one shot and then your birdie attempt. if you are average to below average this course is perfect for you.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good enough to play again and again

1    6/1/2014   6/6/2014
Review By: Skeeterdonk
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 1.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Concrete tee boxes. I loved these.

As a beginner this course offers a good challenge. It has just enough trees to present a challenge while also offering a few holes with open shots. If you hit a tree you are more than likely still able to have a good shot at par.

This course is a good one for your child as well. The holes are short. My son and I played 12 holes in 45 min. This includes throwing several discs on a few of them.

Risk of losing a disc is low. The few holes that run along the fence next to the rock quarry offer plenty of safe area to throw into if you are worried about losing a disc.
Cons: I had no clue where #1 was. I couldn't find any signs or maps. We were fortunate that nobody was there so we just played random holes but on a busy day you would have to ask someone or risk jumping in between groups.

It looks over played.
Other Thoughts: Conditions: 8AM on a Sun. We were the only ones there.

If you approach from 182nd, #1 is going to be the tee box by the corner of the church parking lot. The rest is pretty easy to navigate.

Since it seems common that courses don't have maps or tee box markers, why don't they etch the hole # or even a map onto the tee box when they pour the concrete? Frame the tee box and when you pour the concrete just grab a stick and scratch in #1 or whatever, in one corner. Maybe an arrow to the basket? Seems like this would be a discreet way to be informative.

Going forward I am going to check the photo section of this site prior to playing new courses. In the photos for this one I think #9 is inaccurate. The tee box has been moved.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Little Park

2-4    6/19/2013   6/20/2013
Review By: Rusty Shackleford
Played: 27  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 3.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a nice 9 especially for being in the middle of the city.

The tee pads and baskets are great

Good use of the park and trees.

It's a great place to practice your short game or bring a new player.

Not really any rough or tall grass. No time looking for discs = more time throwing.
Cons: Busy. Lots of players on a nice day and 9 holes can feel crowded pretty quickly. There can also be a lot of other park users, but there's really just one tee that crosses a path.

No signage.
Other Thoughts: This is a great place if you're close by or if you want to bang out a bunch of holes quickly on weekday.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


1    9/14/2012   12/9/2012
Review By: notapro
Played: 446  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 12.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set in the back end of a small city park. There are many other activities going on here, but nothing near the holes. Any interference will be from stray pedestrians on or off a walking path.
- Decent amount of trees here to make things interesting. Plenty of spots where line shaping is necessary, like a RHBH anny on #2 and #3, a flick or hyzer on #4, a wide shot either way on #7, and a longer hyzer on #8. Almost every hole allows for a variety of lines, which is fun, but not too easy.
- Hole #9 doesn't have many trees; it is instead a hyzer shot around/over a fenced off area. #6 is pretty open as well, though the long tee gives a choice of gaps to hit with some lower branches.
- Good variety in hole lengths; there aren't any distances listed but I think at least three were over 275'. Most are under 230' or so. But, there are at least some short ones and some long ones.
- Teepads and baskets are good. Signs are not. Definitely helps to have a map, though it is pretty easy to figure out the flow once you get started.
Cons: - Land here is super flat, there are a few very gentle uphill slopes on a couple holes, but nothing serious.
- Overall the course is very short, I would estimate the average hole length is about 250' or so with a couple outliers driving it up.
- Hole #9 ends in the middle of the park, so you have to hoof it back to your car or hole #1.
Other Thoughts: - All in all, a fun little course that has some interesting holes. There are definitely some chances to whack a tree and have to scramble for par, and a couple spots that require a drive instead of an approach shot. Definitely best suited for beginners though.
- The area past the fence looks crazy! Let me know when they throw some baskets down there!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Somewhat technical short course

2-4    7/30/2012   7/31/2012
Review By: Lonhart
Played: 208  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 21.7 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I played this 3 times today (-5, -6, -6) and a local named Chris showed me the layout.
--Very nice long, cement tee pads
--Baskets in good shape
--Variety of shots, mostly short, but hyzers and anhyzers
--Trees provide difficulty
Cons: I like this course, but...
--No tee signs
--Although mostly manicured grass, the course is showing signs of heavy use
--Three holes have the pin near a fence that separates the course from a rock quarry, with very steep (60-80 feet) walls. Not likely to lose a disc unless you heavily chunder a drive. But be careful.
Other Thoughts: Although this course is in a neighborhood that has seen better times, I never felt threatened by any of the park dwellers. In fact, local players were very helpful and nice. As in any urban setting, you get a wide spectrum of people. This park has a swing set, so moms were there with infants and toddlers, not far from some of the more nefarious-looking guys, but everyone was having fun.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Worth your time

5+    7/29/2012   7/30/2012
Review By: nadaladadotnet
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Variance in length of holes, and the obstacles to traverse to the basket.
Cons: Not many ways to 'shake up the course" in the way say, Pier Park does where they can move baskets around to make the holes more challenging.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is a very fun course to throw at. I've played the course literally close to a hundred times since I started throwing 5 years ago. It never bores me. The layout is definitely good for your "short game" and for putting. Only 2 holes that have any kind of "distance" but you don't really notice that as you play the course. I bring my son to the course a lot and it's been invaluable in developing his confidence with the disc. Great place to bring the kids or just work on your short game.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.


5+    7/3/2012   7/5/2012
Review By: SmaptyII
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great little course set back from the 182nd. Like Rockwood it is a technical little course set in the trees. Allows for short game and putting work. Buckets at every hole for trash. Good starting course for new players.
Cons: Unlike Rockwood the course is not mowed and there is a lot of long grass and trash everywhere (despite having trash buckets).
Other Thoughts: This course can get bunched up with smaller groups playing 2 discs or LARGE groups. Most people are great about letting smaller groups play through. Dont be shocked to see drug use at this park (both players and park visitors).

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.