Gresham, OR 
Vance Park Share
Uploaded By: gwillim Hole #8
3 / 289ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8

Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 3 Next >
 Home Course

5+    8/20/2009   8/21/2009
Review By: Ghost in the Darknes
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great variety of shots.
Varied Lengths.
Not a lot of traffic.
Dedication of several golfers and the wonderful coffee shop.
Cons: A few homeless people.
Not a lot of long shots where you can air out a throw.
The gully, which they are currently trying to fix.
Other Thoughts: This is my home course and it has been a great course to learn on and get better at. It's also great to see Rockwood Park so close.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course

1    6/8/2009   6/9/2009
Review By: Doktor John
Played: 415  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 26.8 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great use of available space
Lot's of varied shots due to trees
Very easy to navigate, even without the downloadable map
Good course to practice precision shots without much "risk" involved-like losing a disc
Great course for introducing people to the sport while still providing a challenge
Good course to fine tune various shots and shot selection skills
Cons: Not many cons, given what this course is...a small city park course.
If your expectations are accurate, you will thoroughly enjoy this course
Other Thoughts: With this course and Rockwood right down the street--this is a great mini destination to get in a few quick rounds to fine tune your game in a non-crowded setting with 0% chance of losing a disc, so you can throw multiple discs in a variety of ways.
Of the two, I liked this course more because it had more trees...

If you've hesitated playing this course because it's a small 9 holer--I think you will be pleasantly surprised--it'll be worth your time

**It's a little hard to tell from the map...but the tee off for hole one is along the fence behind the church parking lot...once you find that, the rest flows very nicely

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Treed just right

2-4    2/24/2009   2/24/2009
Review By: Matt aka N.G.S.P.
Played: 22  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 7.7 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Vance park is a very fun course to play, it offers many challenging shots that are friendly to lefties and right handers that throw both back hand and fore arm, allowing a wide arrangement of throwing techniques.

The baskets are in great shape and easily viewable from the tee boxes. The tee boxes are concrete, nice, level and point in the correct direction (w/ the exception of #9's tee box being a tad tricky).

I like the fact that the majority of the course is under shelter of huge trees that kept me dry during the rain.

The course also was well maintained and seemed fairly clean. The holes that were open and unguarded offer many ace ops and the holes that were guarded offer many bird ops if thrown correctly.

The locals were very friendly and kind enough to show me the flow of the course, which i might add is very well laid out. I thought of this course being a smaller version of Timber park and as one person below said a Pier park type setting as well. I would gladly play Vance again and feel at home here.
Cons: There aren't many cons to this park other than the fact there are no hole signs or a course map made available. W/ out the fact of being guided by locals i would have had a hard time figuring out the flow of the course. the only other thing i can think of is hole #9's teebox location is next to a fence and makes it an odd hole to tee off from.
Other Thoughts: Rock Central DGC is located just 3 blocks away making two courses w/ in walking distance of each other. Vance park offers a playground many fields and other sports to play, allowing other activities for those in the family to do, if not playing discgolf. there is also a porta-potty, multiple trash cans and picnic areas provided as well.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


1    7/13/2008   7/13/2008
Review By: radsnowsurfer
Played: 126  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 11.6 Years
This review was updated on 9/5/2011
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful park especially for a small city park, great big trees create a nice setting.
For a short pitch and putt course (average hole length ~250) it offers some challenging and unique shots.
Good tees and baskets.
Because it's a fairly used city park, it's kept up nicely.
because it's only 3 blocks from Rockwood, it's essentially an 18 hole course.
There's a great bi-weekly singles league on saturday mornings all through the winter.
Cons: No tee signs or course info, it can even be heard to find hole one at times, it's about 600 feet into the park.
Like most small city courses there's no real chance to air out big drives. (but for those with a serious craving they do have a large field.)
Layout is fairly simple, no blind shots, only one significant dog leg.
On nice weekends the park can get crowded with non-golfers, (expected at an urban park)
Other Thoughts: Vance is a great park, and because it's only 3 blocks from rockwood it makes a very fun 18 hole course that's a great tuneup for anyones short game. My only design complaint is that they could have thought out design a bit more and lengthened some of the holes 30 or 40 feet. I would say that if you live anywhere on the east side come and play Vance and Rockwood, if you're from out of town, you're probably better off playing some of the bigger more impressive courses like Pier or Milo or Dabney or Trojan.
Oh and if you live in Portland check out the Rockwood winter series, it's one of the rare leagues that meets in the winter, and brings out 50 or 60 people even if there's ice on the ground. There's usually a sign either at Vance or at Rockwood in the winter.

UPDATE: The shortening of hole 5 and hole 7 has forced me to drop my rating a half disc, as the course is now significantly easier.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 The Poor Man's Pier Park!

5/23/2008   5/25/2008
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 831  Reviewed: 782  Exp: 37.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/13/2008
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The trees here and how they affected the throws reminded me a little of Pier Park. This is just your basic, everyday, run of the mill city park course. Probably, 20-25% of the DG courses in the US are in little city parks just like this one. Vance does have enough trees to add to the challenge. I especially liked # 8, a tunnel shot through the trees.
Cons: I didn't like # 9 teeing off right beside the chain link park fence. Obviously over the years enough players have hit the top of fence and caromed OB. The fence here is breaking down as it has been climbed over too many times. This is not only unslightly but it pisses off park department officials. There are no tee signs not that they're needed here but the yardage is always fun to know.
Other Thoughts: Just another nice little practice course. Challenge enough to be enjoyed by most players, easy enough for beginners and families.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.


3/10/2008   3/10/2008
Review By: gwillim
Played: 169  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 14.5 Years
This review was updated on 3/11/2008
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Good baskets
-Solid teepads
-Great course to practice new shots
-Great course to practice "discing down" (using a mid instead of driver and putter instead of mid)
-Enough trees to keep you honest
-Well designed for amount of space given
-Plenty of safari opportunities
-Great fun for players with less D
-Events to participate in
Cons: -No tee signs
-No kiosk w/map
-Lots of trash at times
-Lots of crime in the area at times
-A few fairways cross ped paths, unavoidable really, just be careful of walkers.
Other Thoughts: Vance Park is a really fun course to practice new shots on. Over summer of '07 I started to practice forehand drives, I'm primarily backhand and have never forced myself to "figure out" the forehand drive. Vance was a great tool for me to begin dissecting that shot. I often played rounds throwing only forehand off the tee. All the holes are under 300' so I didn't have to worry about hurting my tennis elbow by overpowering it.

My girlfriend is also a competitive golfer and loves vance. She doesn't have too much D but is excellent in the rest of her game, so Vance was like a playground for her, she could reach all but one hole, and often times can tie or beat me out there because of her excellent putting.

In regards to course design, Jerry Miller did and excellent job in regards to the available space. The tee pads are far enough from the previous basket that you don't feel like you're still in the "fly zone" for people driving behind you. There are also some elements of modern larger courses tucked in. Hole 9, for instance, is a fairly technical big hyzer for righties, and a really fun big putter/roc anhyzer for lefties.

I think that any advanced players that live in the area could use this course and a great practice tool, also when you're done throwing a couple nines, there is a HUGE soccer/baseball field next to hole two that you can use to practice distance.
Golfers of somewhat less skill or distance are really going to benefit from playing Vance Park, and they will enjoy getting birdies and learning the the various shots required to drive well at Vance.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.