Hawesville, KY 
Vastwood Park Share
Uploaded By: Mr Mirth Hole #8 (Taken 8/2009)
3 / 200ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee: 227'



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Good Technical Course

2-4    9/18/2010   9/20/2010
Review By: weeman
Played: 234  Reviewed: 59  Exp: 10.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Vastwood gives a fair challenge to players of all skill levels. Mostly a semi-wooded course, most of the holes are reachable by a player that can drive 320 feet so it doesn't favor someone with a huge arm. Constant elevation changes make so some interesting putting and upshot situations. Course plays through mostly old large trees with defined lines to the baskets. Vastwood has all concrete tees, nice signs, and trash buckets attached to each tee sign.
Cons: The tee pads are size dependent based on the hole length and most are shorter than they should be. There is level ground behind them though in which to start your step up. The distances on several of the tee signs are wrong. One says its 349ft uphill but is really 260ft. Don't know if there was a different pin placement or what but take note of this. Course becomes congested on the front nine with the basket of number 1 and number 5 really close to each other with the tee pads for 2 and 6 in the same area. Looking from the number 2 tee pad, you can see number 5's basket really close to you and number 4's basket on an almost straight line from the tee pad. The number 2 basket is located to the right of 4's basket behind a bush. This congestion is a safety issue during tournaments as people are sometimes scattered all over these holes. As others have mentioned there is a large lake but its used on no part of the course. It could have added some character to the course.
Other Thoughts: If you're reading this before going to play the course, be sure to write down the distances listed on the site as they are more accurate than the ones on the tee signs. Overall, Vastwood is a fun course that can be enjoyed by players of all skill levels. More advanced players should have little trouble scoring well here while less skilled players would do well at a couple over par.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good ol country boys made a good course

1    7/12/2010   7/27/2010
Review By: absolutdork
Played: 33  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 15.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Decently designed course, especially the back nine. Elevation changes galore! The hilliest course I have ever played, and man does it challenge your shots, especially putting. Very technical drives too.
Cons: When I said decently designed course, I was giving props to the back nine. The front nine however, has much to be desired. Too many zig zags and confusing baskets as to what hole they may go to. There even is a nice sized lake off in the distance during the front nine, and they didn't even bother to play anywhere close to it! Like I said before, very hilly so if you are playing when it is hot, make sure you bring plenty of fluids as this course will beat you up by just walking it alone.
Other Thoughts: Overall, a nice course tucked into the middle of nowhere. If you are ever in the Owensboro area, make sure you take the extra 20 minutes of drive time to check this course out. You will not be disappointed.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Okay course, could use some work on maintenance and layout

1    4/13/2010   4/13/2010
Review By: SpecialFX
Played: 7  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good use of elevation changes
Holes vary in length
Good mix of woods and open areas
Benches and trash cans at many tee pads
Crosswalks at every place the course crosses the road
Scorecards with a map are provided
Cons: Grassy areas were unkempt, needed mowed and leaf removal. The condition was way worse than in the pictures posted.
Holes 1-8 were very confusing due to many baskets close together within eyesight of the tee boxes
First half of course zig zags back and forth to much from one holes basket to the next holes tee
Parking is nonexistent if there is a baseball game
Other Thoughts: The course would be much better with a little maintenance. I will continue to play it because it's way closer than anywhere else, but it's the least favorite of the 5 or 6 courses I have played so far. These last two comments are personal preference which is why I did not include them in the pros/cons. Many holes slope down and to the left pretty sharply, which is very frustrating to me as a newer (right handed) player of the game. Also there are several holes that are blind throws from the tee box.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Always A Challenge

5+    8/21/2009   8/24/2009
Review By: Mr Mirth
Played: 92  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 25.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Technically challenging course involving elevation, distance, OB.
Great baskets with concrete tees, signs, benches, garbage cans.
Picturesque.
Cons: Distances on many signs are wrong.
A few unlevel tees.
Can be congested/ confusing near tees #2 and #6 with basket #5.
Rough can be thick with abundant ivy.
A big beautiful lake in view and nary a hole around it.
Other Thoughts:

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/23/2009   6/23/2009
Review By: bdamcat
Played: 24  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 6.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: All holes have concrete tee pads, signs, benches, and excellent baskets. Personally I love that all of this course is up or down a hill. It offers something that is different from the other courses around me. Nice layout that starts and stops at the parking lot.
Cons: Too much IVY!!! I'm highly contagious to the stuff and I had to be extra cautious. The front nine was somewhat confusing because some baskets was in view that were not in play. And I would reccomend playing with a group. It would have been nice to have a spotter on a few holes where you loose sight of your disc on the pad throwing over a hill.
Other Thoughts: Overall I really liked this course and will drive to play there again. Back nine was challenging but the front nine gives you chances at some birdies.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Tough course

1    11/15/2008   11/17/2008
Review By: jgentry
Played: 47  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 6.6 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is set in a nice park with concrete tee pads and nice signs. This course is mostly in the woods with only a couple of openish holes. It has a lot of elevation change. You are either throwing down a steep hill or up one. Several of the baskets are very hard to get to in one throw and OB comes into play bigtime on the back nine. The back nine is extremely difficult but has some exceptional holes. #16 and #18 were my two favorites on this course.
Cons: The front nine has several holes clumped very close together and you have to make extra sure you are throwing at the correct basket and are on the correct tee pad. The hills on this course are brutal. You had better have a couple gatoraids if your playing in the hot summer or you might be found dead.
Other Thoughts: This is a challenging course that is still fun to play. I was not a huge fan of the front nine but the back nine makes up for it with almost all of them being tough good holes. If you like wooded course or lots of elevation give it a try. Not an easy course to score low on!

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/12/2008   9/15/2008
Review By: Cool Daddio
Played: 43  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.6 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It's a beautiful location and no insanely difficult holes. The pads signs and baskets are all in good shape. The underbrush isn't bad (compared to my home course) and the layout allows for a variety of shots. I love the mature high branch trees which allow nice overhead shoots.
Cons: The grass in the fields was VERY tall which was a drag and the many of the tees slope with the hillside. I had a terrible time finding the next tee and had to backtrack four times. Lots of OB scattered about.
Other Thoughts: This was my first and must say very brutal introduction to hill side disc golf and I saw my putt misses on 1 13 and 14 roll greater than 50 ft down hill. Man that sucks! I though the impenetrable briars of my home town course was tough but I have great sympathy for you billy goat regulars. It is on the way from my old hometown in Louisville to my daughter in Owensboro so I'm sure I'll get many tries again.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Better than most

6/27/2008   6/27/2008
Review By: Innovadude
Played: 226  Reviewed: 179  Exp: 16.6 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Great, challenging design featuring signature hilly holes with OB sometimes and great views
-Has message board, maps, signs, tees, bathroom, parking, is free
-Plays clean for the most part
-Very enjoyable
Cons: -Some tees uneven
-Needs a bit of work on back few holes still
-Some ivy in play
Other Thoughts: Clean up some of that ivy, chop vines on front 9 and spray on back. Fix a few tees, maybe move the signs further away from the actual tee to allow for a run-up. Otherwise, a top-notch course that must be played.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 great course in the middle of nowhere

2/28/2008   2/28/2008
Review By: skottyb
Played: 52  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 15.6 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: awesome layout, great elevation changes throughout the course, will make your legs burn after one round.
Cons: tee pads are not level.
Other Thoughts: theres a great place to eat in the back of the park, a nice break in between rounds especially during those hot summer months..

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great course

2/27/2008   2/27/2008
Review By: eaglefan05
Played: 16  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very technical with some distance required. All holes require you to miss trees, and ten holes have OB's or mando's. Requires all skill shots, Most holes are open to either forehand or backhand.
Cons: Distances on teesigns are wrong on the majority of the holes, and some holes are placed to closely to each other.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.