Tupelo, MS 
Veteran's Park - Original Share
Uploaded By: 3456789 Hole #17 (Taken 10/2009)
3 / 225ft.   3 / 250ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 'A' Basket



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Great course!

5+    4/10/2014   4/11/2014
Review By: ConnorGraham
Played: 27  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 1.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A wonderful course for both amateurs and pros alike. Pro pads on some holes, on others there are alternate pin placements. This course is gorgeous in the spring and summer. Pure Mississippi land at its best. The course isn't overly long, but quite technical on the shorter holes. I feel like its a good mix. Your calves will be sore after walking the hills though! Thats a pro for me. I like exercise. Easily navigable. Lanes to the next hole are clear and apparent.
Cons: Too many walking pedestrians in the open holes during the warm months. The new hole 4 should be a par 4. Especially from the pro pad. But it is not.
Other Thoughts: All in all, this is a must play course that is taken care of nicely. Thunderchief is also a great long wide open course. AND a 3rd course is 80 percent complete!! Look out for Music Bend DGC this summer!!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Hunk o burning disc golf love

1    7/5/2010   7/8/2010
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 197  Reviewed: 91  Exp: 11.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Veteran's Park has 27 holes, and the first 18 are my favorite kind of course. Lots of elevation change, working in and out of the hilly woods. Some holes are wooded and require accurate tee shots, and some are more open with longer drives to the pin. All were within reach for me, and none were frustratingly difficult. The 19th through 27th holes were longer, flatter, and more open, playing around the pond. Less fun than the original 18 IMO, but still good disc golf. Many holes have multiple concrete tee boxes and variable pin positions. All have signs and the layout is fairly easy to follow (as long as you don't mind the up and down on those hillsides).
Cons: Not overly challenging. I enjoyed it, but better players may think it a bit dull, IDK. Many of the holes on the final nine can be played with the same RHBH big hyzer drive. Also one hole in the newer section has been moved, resulting in a hole 22 followed by hole 22A, which caused brief confusion on my scorecard.
Other Thoughts: It was cool to see Elvis Presley's birthplace on the way to the course. I just wish I hadn't thrown my champion Starfire with the Pendleton King tank stamp in the water. It was my most relied on disc for quite some time now. Oh well, nothing lasts forever.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Surprise on a Road Trip

1    8/7/2009   8/7/2009
Review By: rolltidegopokes
Played: 16  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 8.4 Years
Pros: This is a fun course, with it's up and downhill action. I got a great birdie on 2 with an uphill tomahawk. Lots of water hazards also. Great diversity.
Cons: The small lake/large pond in the park can get marshy when a high amount of rainfall hits and could be a great breeding ground for mosquitoes. Also the uphill grades are so intense that sometimes there are rope and chain to help people up the hill. This is not a course for someone that isn't in good shape.
Other Thoughts: Tupelo, MS is a mecca for discgolf and this course is fantastic. Clean bathrooms and picnic tables. My family and I are actually going to come up one weekend to play all 6-7 courses and this will be the first one on our list Great job, Tupelo Disc Golf Association.

 Best all around

5+    6/2/2009   6/1/2009
Review By: Dillon_Gourley
Played: 63  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 7.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has everything. Being my home course that I play 3-4 times a week I will give you an in detail review. 27 hole course with wooded and open holes.

Benches on 13 of the 18 holes for resting.

Holes 1-18 are all built around a huge hill with 5 holes playing more out in the open environment and not in the woods.

Water can come into play on hole # 5 if you over throw it or if it turns over, be sure to read the sign.

Concrete tee pads on every hole, bag holders were on every hole but due to vandals some of them are missing.

Pro tee pads on 6 of the 18 holes with alternate pin positions on 11 of the 18. Very challenging when playing from Pro pads to alternate pins. Pins are rotated every 2 months and left for play for 1 month.

Holes 19-26 are longer and are around the 300' mark with some longer depending which pad locations you play with a couple around the 280'+ mark. 6 of the 9 holes have pro tees and 3 have alternate pin locations. All these holes are pretty much open with a few select trees and water & OB coming into play on most of the holes.
Cons: Crushed rock tee pads for holes 21,22, 22 A, 23, 24 can affect some throwers.


Other Thoughts: Tupelo's premier course. Very well worth the stop if anywhere in the area. I would recommend playing this course out of all the other courses in Tupelo for the all around average disc golfer.

***By the way, all 27 holes are complete and have been for at least 2 years***

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    2/1/2009   2/1/2009
Review By: 3456789
Played: 21  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.7 Years
This review was updated on 2/20/2009
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pretty nice course.
Has almost every shot you can think of.
Can be pretty easy for amateurs when shooting from AM pads and in A basket positions, but medium for pros when shot from the Pro tee's and baskets are in B.
The course is kept up pretty nice.
Nice long concrete pads.
Cons: Holes 21-24 have gravel tee pads.
22 has stayed very wet everytime I played it.
Some of the tee pads are not level with the ground.
Other Thoughts: The water can be avoided on most of the water holes so no reason to not play them.
Keep in mind that i'm a AM player and this review may not be 100%, its just how I feel about the course.

bazkitcase5's review is much better than mine so give it a read too.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.