Colby, KS 
Villa High Park Share
Uploaded By: DiscChaserDoug   (Taken 6/2015)
New Sign Along Road

Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
I-70 Pit Stop

1    10/18/2015   10/29/2015
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 831  Reviewed: 782  Exp: 37.5 Years
Pros: I made the stop here driving from Denver to St. Louis. There is a nice big sign out on the street that says Disc Golf Course and then "A Kiwanis Project." Thanks to the Kiwanis Clubs of America.

But then I couldn't find the # 1 tee pad. First I threw down the hill to a basket down there which I found to be # 3. So I started over and figured out to throw parallel to the street up that basket into the howling wind. Later, I was to discover that the tee pads were just small white circular metal things with a number on them. The baskets are old with rusty chains. As djros states in his review, they still catch fine but they look bad. # 1 & 2 both have numbers on top. I later found the # 1 circle while I was looking for 2 or 3 or my wallet or old girlfriend or something.

# 2 would actually be kind of a cool toss without the wind. It's throwing downhill back to where you started.

The pond comes into play at times. On # 6, it's on your right on a 260' shot. # 8 is a big hyser to a basket by the pond. And then on # 9, you tee off under the tree by the pond to a basket about 200' by the side of the pond. It would so easy for your disc to roll down into the pond on this hole as the basket is set on a sloping hillside with the pond on the right.

# 7 is kind of a long bomb to a basket sitting up far in the corner of the park boundary.

Restrooms were open at dusk.
Cons: Dicey navigation. These round white markers are really tough to find.

Pond in play on # 5, 8 and 9. With wind, easy to lose discs in water on these holes.

Rusty, crummy looking baskets.

Wind was blowing pretty hard.

Other Thoughts: I tired to get this course in just before nightfall and also was being extra cautious of the pond. Also there were a couple of people fishing on # 9 and. I think on the other side, too. So you have to be a little bit careful with them, too.

After playing it through one time, the navigation would be a little easier and I think I probably would enjoy the course a bit more.

OK, but needs a little care

1    6/12/2015   8/3/2015
Review By: DiscChaserDoug
Played: 86  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 4.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
- trees
- nice pond
- Hole 8 is pretty nice
- potential
- good leg stretcher if you're cruising down I-70
- trees need trimmed
- Walk from 7 to 8 and from 9 to 1
- no tees
- no tee signs
- no course map posted on course
- parking?
- Holes 1 and 2 cross a road
Other Thoughts: Overall, it was an OK park with potential. Hole 9 is looong and would be much better if they trimmed up the tree halfway down since its branches touch the ground and shut off the fairway.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty course, with unused potential

1    11/8/2013   11/8/2013
Review By: djros
Played: 31  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 5.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course layout is decent, with some open shots, some left-turning, and some right-turning. The pond that plays near or along some of the holes is pretty.
Cons: Navigation is difficult. The tees appear to be marked by small circular markers, but I only found two of them (#1 and #4), so I just had to approximate tee locations for the other seven holes. The markers are just fairway yardage markers you might see on ball golf courses with a hole number on it. All of the baskets were very rusty. They still catch fine, but they look bad. The parking is not well defined, with no marked parking spots. It appears you just find a spot to get out off the gravel road going in to the park. This leads to some non-disc golfers parking near holes. While the pond was pretty, people fish in it, and can be in the way of tees, baskets, or fairways.
Other Thoughts: The first hole is near the entrance to the park, as opposed to near the parking area. Look for a small circular marker near the sidewalk at the entrance to the park, up by the highway and radio station. The layout of the course gives it some potential. If you know the layout, and play it without too many other park users in the way, it would be a fun little course. The eighth hole looked like a fun water shot, with a relatively short shot over the pond, but a family was fishing from the area I expected the tee to be, and another family parked their truck 20 feet from the basket, so I had to make up an alternate tee and play around the pond and just play for 3 to avoid hitting the truck. The ninth hole was pretty tight, with the pond on the right and houses close on the left. The people parked next to #8 basket were fishing near #9 fairway, so I had to make up another alternate tee to avoid hitting them.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Cruzan down I-70

5+    10/13/2011   1/6/2012
Review By: DumpsterDane
Played: 105  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.5 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nice way to stretch out the legs when driving down I-70. For being in a small town it's a nice course.
Cons: Its always seems to be really hot and because its in a low laying area with a lake its pretty humid. Tough to find tee pads (some are just on white circles)
Other Thoughts: There is a pretty well made made basket, called hole 8 and a half.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Small town nice course.

1    3/24/2011   3/24/2011
Review By: mgcarney
Played: 92  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 6.6 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course, though small, has some unique shots. Like the long right hand hole to the storm drains.
Cons: Hole nine was the only real flop. A make shift hole that wasn't very far was a disappointing finish.
Other Thoughts: This town may be small, but it is nice for a nine hole course.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.


1    9/13/2009   10/14/2009
Review By: karottop420
Played: 18  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.2 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: there arn't very many, umm...the tree with all the butterflys was awesome...
Cons: hard to navagate very short course. one of the baskets is VERY ghetto
Other Thoughts: find a different course in the area there has to be a better one i was passing through on my way back to LA from OR n it was a shot in the dark and i missed

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.