Evansville, IN
Eagle Valley at USI Share
Uploaded By: kingjames1014 Hole #9 (Taken 12/2012)
3 / 119ft.   3 / 119ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee Sign



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Decent college course, not much challenge

1    6/25/2011   6/28/2011
Review By: weeman
Played: 218  Reviewed: 59  Exp: 10.1 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Eagle Valley is set on a very nice piece of land on the USI's campus away from all other college facilities save for a running trail around the course. The land follows well with the layout using the subtle elevation changes and flat areas to make some blind shots or straight forward/no tricks basket placements. The design divides the land between mostly open holes (1-6), wooded (7-11), and mostly open (12-18) to give it some variety. Multiple shots incorporate playing from the open to a small gap in the woods where the baskets are tucked away. There are good tee signs that provide ample visual explanations of the holes and nice Discraft baskets that are in excellent condition.
Cons: The tee pads leave a little bit to be desired. All are two rubber mats nailed down with a 4x4 to mark the front edge. Though I like the 4x4 to keep from obvious foot faulting, most of the pads are worn down underneath and hold water after any sort of rain. They can also be very slick with any moisture left on the top of the pads. There were some trash bins at certain holes but not others and I couldn't figure out any sort of pattern to their placement so be sure to pack out any trash you have with you. Though this is a beginner friendly course with mostly short holes, I don't agree with the par listings they have. Number 6 is a downhill ~310' hole with two bushes and one tree but is listed as a par 5... I'm just not buying it. Numbers 16 and 18 seem really out of place on this course. Everything is relatively short but these two come in at over 450'+ each. For me, it disrupts the balance of the course and doesn't provide a good finish to the round.
Other Thoughts: Having only played this course once during the 2011 Evansville Open, I thought it was a fun starter/warm up course though not very challenging. After thinking about my round there, I realized I only needed three discs to play here. Being on a college campus, its an excellent place to introduce new people to the game and squeeze a quick round in between classes. For more advanced players, this course is a putter/mid-range work out where hitting your putts is the difference between a good and bad round. For less skilled players, this is a fun course to play at working on tuning in short placement drives for those birdies.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good for the newbie

2-4    7/1/2009   7/27/2010
Review By: absolutdork
Played: 32  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 14.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: For a course set on college campus grounds, it does have a nice variety of holes, from wide open to technical woods shots. Probably the best signage I will ever see on a course, and it flows well. Great beginner course.
Cons: Just not much challenge here. On the open holes there just isn't much as far as obstacles go to give seasoned veterans much difficulty. Some areas are low lying, so watch out for muddy areas after rain.
Other Thoughts: I got dropped into learning disc golf in a disc golf laden town.. Bowling Green KY. When I moved back here and tried to play this course, I was just too seasoned with hard courses to take a liking to this one, so some of my reviews here are biased to that. However, if you are a beginner, this course is for you as it will challenge you at the start and a great way to learn your shots. Don't do what my friends did to me and start out at Hobson Grove, or they may just deter you from playing this game if you are easily frustrated like I am haha.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Playable but limited...

1    2/17/2010   3/23/2010
Review By: EddieBTrue
Played: 39  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 5.8 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: One of the pro's is the location as it's right on the Southern Indiana campus in an area wholly dedicated to the sport (Sans the occasional cross country jogger mind you!). Another pro is that there is plenty of nice parking; and that wholes 1 & 18 are right next to said parking.
Cons: Any port in a storm is a truism in regard to this course. I played it after attending my son's semi-state wrestling match; and was surprised at just how blase the course was. Still, ANY disc golf is better than none; so I still had a decent time there. The wooded holes are decent; although the listed pars are generally off base in comparison with most other courses. When we walked up to #18; & saw how it was listed at something like 479 feet, we said in unison that the par for it must be something like an 8 or 9 as compared to most of the other holes.
Other Thoughts: As an FYI, my 18 year old son played the course with a Camm Realty Ion putter; and was still only 3 over on the round; so that will give you an indicator to the 'difficulty' of the course. It is worth playing no doubt; however I can't imagine that any pro's would play this course unless it was...the only 'port' available.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Pitch and Putt

1    11/28/2008   11/28/2008
Review By: john campbell
Played: 28  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.8 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Benny V1Time described it best: Pitch and Putt. This was a fun course to play and great short/mid-range/putting practice. #16 (495') and #18 (465') give you a chance to stretch your arm.
Cons: Rubber tees. Several of the rubber mats were really damaged - lumpy, sunken and uneven due to obvious water drainage problems. However, some tees had two mats side by side. This allowed more room to move and less damage.
There is an amazing amount of unused terrain and woods with plenty of room to expand, stretch out, and add some character. More wooded holes would have made this a much more interesting course.
Other Thoughts: Most of the holes are around 200 feet, one 300 footer, and two over 400. Most of the course is wide open with just a few short, wooded runs. Several of the open holes have the basket tucked barely inside the woods, heavily gaurded by trees. If you don't see a basket from the tee look just inside the tree line. Great beginner course and fun short game practice!

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.