Evansville, IN 
Eagle Valley at USI Share
Uploaded By: kingjames1014 Hole #5 (Taken 12/2012)
4 / 250ft.   3 / 250ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Cool course

1    6/28/2014   6/29/2014
Review By: ElementZ
Played: 115  Reviewed: 111  Exp: 5.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a pretty nifty piece of land for a disc golf course. Being able to step out of your car and see the entire course from your car is a pretty cool thing.

Some pros:

+ Good equipment. The entrance area has a practice basket and a big net for warming up your arm before the round. The tee signs are awesome and the baskets catch great.

+ Very clean. The grass is cut short, not very much garbage, and it generally gives off a "taken care of" vibe.

+ Great beginner course. As many others have said, this is a go-to course for people playing their first round. On the flip side, this course offers very little challenge to more experienced players who will be going for the birdie on almost every hole.

+ Naturally very pretty. The forrest surrounding the course is scenic and attractive. It has a very secluded feel as this land is exclusively for disc golf.
Cons: - The holes are extraordinarily monotonous. The design is "meh" at best and doesn't offer a very memorable round. You'll find it gets pretty repetitive pretty quickly. Almost boring, in a sense.

- The rubber tees are a bit short.
Other Thoughts: All in all, I would definitely recommend playing Mesker Park over this course. While this course is great for beginners and pretty clean, Mesker is much more fun, challenging, memorable, and all around enjoyable.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


1    9/22/2012   9/28/2012
Review By: sean24seven
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3
This review was updated on 10/4/2012
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -visually appealing. it looks like a ball golf course
-maintained very well
-good course for beginners
-benches and trash cans
-great signage
-wind make it more challenging
Cons: -very few memorable holes (actually just one)
-short rubber tee pads, i could deal with the rubber, but they should be longer
-it should be a par 3 all the way through, the pars are way too generous.
Other Thoughts: It's a nice course. The rough is very rough, there are lots of places that can eat your discs if you get off in the woods. It's not gonna challenge really really good players, but is a great course to putt though.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    7/6/2012   7/7/2012
Review By: DevineB
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Great practice course
- Good for beginners
- Variety of shots
- Almost impossible to lose discs here
Cons: - Short rubber teepads
Other Thoughts: A friend and I play this course several times a week since we do not live far and it's a great course to just practice and throw a few on each hole. If you're looking for challenging then this isn't the course but it is nice to work on certain shots. Some of the pars are ridiculous so you're better off playing it all par 3 if you want an accurate score.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    1/22/2012   1/25/2012
Review By: Brent.Martin83
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.1 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Pins are well placed. It is an easy learning course.
Cons: On half of the holes the tee pads are always covered in mud and water.
Other Thoughts: I wish the tee pads are longer and that they are not always covered in mud and water.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Tee Pads?

2-4    6/13/2011   6/14/2011
Review By: xTOMMYxIRISHx
Played: 39  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very Fun And A Warm Up Tent!
Great Tee Signs!
No One Is Ever There!
Cons: Very Easy!
Very Short Tee Pads! The Tee Pads Need Work Before Anything!
Other Thoughts: Great Place To Play Once And Awhile Until They Get Better Tee Pads!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Course

2-4    5/29/2010   5/31/2010
Review By: bilemshious
Played: 26  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 7.4 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Beautiful course. Being on University of Southern Indiana's property and heavily used by its cross country team, it is very well maintained. It is mostly shorter, open holes. Where this course excels is using its changes in elevation and natural obstructions to add to the challenge.

As a result, there is a good amount of variety. While most are in the 200-300ft range, each hole has it's own character.

Baskets are in great condition. The tee signs are some of the best I've seen - very detailed with hole map, course par, distance to basket, etc. Plus, there is a practice basket by the first tee, so you get practice your putting before heading out for the real thing. There is also a faucet outside of the shed by the first tee / basket 18 to drink or wash up.

Navigation felt natural. Going from hole to hole was self explanatory. This was especially the case in the woods (holes 7 − 11). Just follow the path. Plus, the last basket is right back to where you parked.

There was plenty of parking right next to the first tee. But it was the summer time and things may be different during the school year. And there was no one else other than our group on the course both on Fridays and Saturdays.
Cons: Even though there is a good amount of variety, five "throw blindly into the tree line" holes are a bit much. Plus, there isn't much clearing around the hole. There are trees still pretty close to the hole not to mention underbrush. Watch out for poison ivy/sumac.

Because the holes are so short, as long as you throw towards the hole you are near it. It seemed on these holes I wouldn't be too worried after a stray drive.

Tee pads. They are rubber and most are uneven. While all of them are also very short, hole 8 has you backed up against a tree. But it definitely could be worse.
Other Thoughts: This is a fairly easy course. I shot a 45 on my first go round. I'm an experienced player, but I wouldn't consider myself an advanced player. With that though, I think this is a good course for a beginner looking to learn.

This is an underrated course. I really enjoyed it. I've played both this and Mesker Park. I think if you are looking for a casual, enjoyable course this is your better bet in the Evansville area. But if you want a bigger challenge, Mesker is more what you're looking for.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Beginners Course

5+    5/2/2008   8/24/2008
Review By: dustingbbn11
Played: 44  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.6 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course gives even the rookies plenty of chances to ace.
It may be short but that only means you can practice more.
Cons: Some tees are damaged by standing water and ground movement on hills.
Other Thoughts: I haven't heard anything about the new course or this one being removed but sounds good! Hopefully they can cut it into the MILLIONS of acres of dense woods out there and put the lakes into play.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  My first course

4/25/2008   6/10/2008
Review By: mikebdot
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8.2 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course is mostly wide open but there are a few tightly wooded areas as well. On windy days it is very challenging due to swirling conditions through the wide open area. Good practice for short game.
Cons: Rubber tee pads are becoming damaged due to the ground moving. The course can be damp days after a rain. There are a lot of bugs when it is humid as there tends to be standing water. Course is very short and mostly wide open. A good player should shoot easily shoot in the 40s after a few times playing.
Other Thoughts: This is indeed a very good beginner course. As it turns out, that is where I began playing and it got me hooked. Especially before I knew there was a pro par!

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Beginner Course

2/27/2008   2/28/2008
Review By: Benny V1Time
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 20.3 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice Pitch and Putt. Great first course for beginners.
Lots of Ace Runs!
Cons: Short. not very challenging.
this course will be gone in the future due to expansion of campus housing.
Other Thoughts: even though this course will be removed, they already have a backup plan and a spot for the new course...exciting!

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.