Evansville, IN 
Eagle Valley at USI Share
Uploaded By: kingjames1014   (Taken 12/2012)
Practice Putting Sign



Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
 Decent course for a beginner

5+    8/20/2014   8/20/2014
Review By: sandtiger
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.3 Years
Pros: Decent course for players beginning to play. By far the easiest course in the area.
Large signage showing you where you should throw.
Only one truely blind hole and you are throwing towards an open field.
Cons: Condition : Not as well kept as it used to be areas around the basket behind the wood line are starting to overgrow. There's some parts where the water has washed large ruts in the walking area.

Par: Definitely over parred <350' par 4 with no obstacles.

Trash, It's on a college campus which is supposed to be dry but I am constantly finding beer cans and bottles all over.
Other Thoughts: Fun course when you get where you have 'Mastered' it try subtracting one from shot most every hole that is above a par 3, for example par 4 becomes par 3 par 5 becomes par 4.

Cool course

1    6/28/2014   6/29/2014
Review By: ElementZ
Played: 116  Reviewed: 111  Exp: 5.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a pretty nifty piece of land for a disc golf course. Being able to step out of your car and see the entire course from your car is a pretty cool thing.

Some pros:

+ Good equipment. The entrance area has a practice basket and a big net for warming up your arm before the round. The tee signs are awesome and the baskets catch great.

+ Very clean. The grass is cut short, not very much garbage, and it generally gives off a "taken care of" vibe.

+ Great beginner course. As many others have said, this is a go-to course for people playing their first round. On the flip side, this course offers very little challenge to more experienced players who will be going for the birdie on almost every hole.

+ Naturally very pretty. The forrest surrounding the course is scenic and attractive. It has a very secluded feel as this land is exclusively for disc golf.
Cons: - The holes are extraordinarily monotonous. The design is "meh" at best and doesn't offer a very memorable round. You'll find it gets pretty repetitive pretty quickly. Almost boring, in a sense.

- The rubber tees are a bit short.
Other Thoughts: All in all, I would definitely recommend playing Mesker Park over this course. While this course is great for beginners and pretty clean, Mesker is much more fun, challenging, memorable, and all around enjoyable.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great beginner course

5+    4/10/2013   6/6/2013
Review By: Abram
Played: 7  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.5 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 1) If you are looking for a beginner friendly course in the Evansville area then look no further. This should be every first time players course.
2) Courses are layed out very well and easy to navigate.
3) Holes are mostly open but there are a few wooded holes.
Cons: 1) No scorecards.
2) Once you have mastered this course (which isn't too difficult) then you yearn for something more difficult.
3) Some pars are very forgiving.
Other Thoughts: This was the first course I ever played and I highly recommend to all new players. I still play this course when I am trying new discs or want to practice on long drives.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/22/2012   9/28/2012
Review By: sean24seven
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3
This review was updated on 10/4/2012
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -visually appealing. it looks like a ball golf course
-maintained very well
-good course for beginners
-benches and trash cans
-great signage
-wind make it more challenging
Cons: -very few memorable holes (actually just one)
-short rubber tee pads, i could deal with the rubber, but they should be longer
-it should be a par 3 all the way through, the pars are way too generous.
Other Thoughts: It's a nice course. The rough is very rough, there are lots of places that can eat your discs if you get off in the woods. It's not gonna challenge really really good players, but is a great course to putt though.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great little course

5+    7/5/2012   8/15/2012
Review By: SMontgomery
Played: 46  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 4.2 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great beginner course.
Great to work on mids and putters.
Brush and woods can offer great trouble shooting opportunities.
Warm up net and good practice basket.
Cons: Teepads, not length or material but they were rushed in construction and the ground underneath is washing away and making footing an issue.
Other Thoughts: I will give this course a higher than most rating. It is under rated in my opion. Since the course is very short, long teepads are not as necessary as on most courses. The wind can be down right tropical storm-ish and make the course really challenging out of the wooded holes.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    7/6/2012   7/7/2012
Review By: DevineB
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Great practice course
- Good for beginners
- Variety of shots
- Almost impossible to lose discs here
Cons: - Short rubber teepads
Other Thoughts: A friend and I play this course several times a week since we do not live far and it's a great course to just practice and throw a few on each hole. If you're looking for challenging then this isn't the course but it is nice to work on certain shots. Some of the pars are ridiculous so you're better off playing it all par 3 if you want an accurate score.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    1/22/2012   1/25/2012
Review By: Brent.Martin83
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.2 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Pins are well placed. It is an easy learning course.
Cons: On half of the holes the tee pads are always covered in mud and water.
Other Thoughts: I wish the tee pads are longer and that they are not always covered in mud and water.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Decent college course, not much challenge

1    6/25/2011   6/28/2011
Review By: weeman
Played: 231  Reviewed: 59  Exp: 10.7 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Eagle Valley is set on a very nice piece of land on the USI's campus away from all other college facilities save for a running trail around the course. The land follows well with the layout using the subtle elevation changes and flat areas to make some blind shots or straight forward/no tricks basket placements. The design divides the land between mostly open holes (1-6), wooded (7-11), and mostly open (12-18) to give it some variety. Multiple shots incorporate playing from the open to a small gap in the woods where the baskets are tucked away. There are good tee signs that provide ample visual explanations of the holes and nice Discraft baskets that are in excellent condition.
Cons: The tee pads leave a little bit to be desired. All are two rubber mats nailed down with a 4x4 to mark the front edge. Though I like the 4x4 to keep from obvious foot faulting, most of the pads are worn down underneath and hold water after any sort of rain. They can also be very slick with any moisture left on the top of the pads. There were some trash bins at certain holes but not others and I couldn't figure out any sort of pattern to their placement so be sure to pack out any trash you have with you. Though this is a beginner friendly course with mostly short holes, I don't agree with the par listings they have. Number 6 is a downhill ~310' hole with two bushes and one tree but is listed as a par 5... I'm just not buying it. Numbers 16 and 18 seem really out of place on this course. Everything is relatively short but these two come in at over 450'+ each. For me, it disrupts the balance of the course and doesn't provide a good finish to the round.
Other Thoughts: Having only played this course once during the 2011 Evansville Open, I thought it was a fun starter/warm up course though not very challenging. After thinking about my round there, I realized I only needed three discs to play here. Being on a college campus, its an excellent place to introduce new people to the game and squeeze a quick round in between classes. For more advanced players, this course is a putter/mid-range work out where hitting your putts is the difference between a good and bad round. For less skilled players, this is a fun course to play at working on tuning in short placement drives for those birdies.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Tee Pads?

2-4    6/13/2011   6/14/2011
Review By: xTOMMYxIRISHx
Played: 39  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very Fun And A Warm Up Tent!
Great Tee Signs!
No One Is Ever There!
Cons: Very Easy!
Very Short Tee Pads! The Tee Pads Need Work Before Anything!
Other Thoughts: Great Place To Play Once And Awhile Until They Get Better Tee Pads!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/4/2011   5/30/2011
Review By: NKlassy
Played: 11  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1- easy to navigate
2 - beginner friendly
3 - not to busy
Cons: 1 - rubber tee pads (can be slick)
Other Thoughts: fun couse to play, easy to learn on. Once you've played a few times though you pretty much figured out how to throw each hole so that you can place your disc right where you want it.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.