Evansville, IN 
Eagle Valley at USI Share
Uploaded By: kingjames1014 Hole #14 (Taken 12/2012)
4 / 217ft.   3 / 217ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Good for the newbie

2-4    7/1/2009   7/27/2010
Review By: absolutdork
Played: 33  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 14.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: For a course set on college campus grounds, it does have a nice variety of holes, from wide open to technical woods shots. Probably the best signage I will ever see on a course, and it flows well. Great beginner course.
Cons: Just not much challenge here. On the open holes there just isn't much as far as obstacles go to give seasoned veterans much difficulty. Some areas are low lying, so watch out for muddy areas after rain.
Other Thoughts: I got dropped into learning disc golf in a disc golf laden town.. Bowling Green KY. When I moved back here and tried to play this course, I was just too seasoned with hard courses to take a liking to this one, so some of my reviews here are biased to that. However, if you are a beginner, this course is for you as it will challenge you at the start and a great way to learn your shots. Don't do what my friends did to me and start out at Hobson Grove, or they may just deter you from playing this game if you are easily frustrated like I am haha.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Course

2-4    5/29/2010   5/31/2010
Review By: bilemshious
Played: 26  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 7.3 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Beautiful course. Being on University of Southern Indiana's property and heavily used by its cross country team, it is very well maintained. It is mostly shorter, open holes. Where this course excels is using its changes in elevation and natural obstructions to add to the challenge.

As a result, there is a good amount of variety. While most are in the 200-300ft range, each hole has it's own character.

Baskets are in great condition. The tee signs are some of the best I've seen - very detailed with hole map, course par, distance to basket, etc. Plus, there is a practice basket by the first tee, so you get practice your putting before heading out for the real thing. There is also a faucet outside of the shed by the first tee / basket 18 to drink or wash up.

Navigation felt natural. Going from hole to hole was self explanatory. This was especially the case in the woods (holes 7 − 11). Just follow the path. Plus, the last basket is right back to where you parked.

There was plenty of parking right next to the first tee. But it was the summer time and things may be different during the school year. And there was no one else other than our group on the course both on Fridays and Saturdays.
Cons: Even though there is a good amount of variety, five "throw blindly into the tree line" holes are a bit much. Plus, there isn't much clearing around the hole. There are trees still pretty close to the hole not to mention underbrush. Watch out for poison ivy/sumac.

Because the holes are so short, as long as you throw towards the hole you are near it. It seemed on these holes I wouldn't be too worried after a stray drive.

Tee pads. They are rubber and most are uneven. While all of them are also very short, hole 8 has you backed up against a tree. But it definitely could be worse.
Other Thoughts: This is a fairly easy course. I shot a 45 on my first go round. I'm an experienced player, but I wouldn't consider myself an advanced player. With that though, I think this is a good course for a beginner looking to learn.

This is an underrated course. I really enjoyed it. I've played both this and Mesker Park. I think if you are looking for a casual, enjoyable course this is your better bet in the Evansville area. But if you want a bigger challenge, Mesker is more what you're looking for.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Playable but limited...

1    2/17/2010   3/23/2010
Review By: EddieBTrue
Played: 39  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 6.1 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: One of the pro's is the location as it's right on the Southern Indiana campus in an area wholly dedicated to the sport (Sans the occasional cross country jogger mind you!). Another pro is that there is plenty of nice parking; and that wholes 1 & 18 are right next to said parking.
Cons: Any port in a storm is a truism in regard to this course. I played it after attending my son's semi-state wrestling match; and was surprised at just how blase the course was. Still, ANY disc golf is better than none; so I still had a decent time there. The wooded holes are decent; although the listed pars are generally off base in comparison with most other courses. When we walked up to #18; & saw how it was listed at something like 479 feet, we said in unison that the par for it must be something like an 8 or 9 as compared to most of the other holes.
Other Thoughts: As an FYI, my 18 year old son played the course with a Camm Realty Ion putter; and was still only 3 over on the round; so that will give you an indicator to the 'difficulty' of the course. It is worth playing no doubt; however I can't imagine that any pro's would play this course unless it was...the only 'port' available.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fun short course

2-4    8/8/2009   3/8/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 749  Exp: 12.4 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course plays through a rolling piece of property on the USI campus that is dedicated to disc golf. Many of the holes play in a large open area with some scattered bushes and small elevation changes on just about all the holes. The open area is surrounded by woods, with some of the pins tucked into the edge of the trees. There are a few holes that play on grassy fairways through the woods forcing some tighter shots with punishing rough.

The wooded holes force some right and left turning shots, and some of the open holes have obstacles that encourage different lines. The elevation and wind add some challenges on the open holes, and the pins tucked back into the woods are a fun shot placement exercise.

There is a practice area with a driving net and putting basket. The course map at the parking lot is easy to read and follow, and the course has good enough flow that you don't really need it. The tee signs are large and informative, and make it pretty obvious where to shoot. There was plenty of parking the few times I played it, though I don't know how it is on weekdays.
Cons: The course is short. Other than a couple wide open longer holes, the course is pretty much a pitch n putt. The wooded holes are tight enough to keep it interesting on shorter holes, but there are way too many short holes out in the open where there just isn't much challenge. You can throw a hyzer shot with either hand on most of the holes on this course and be just fine.

The tee pads are rubber, and aren't very well installed. Most are not level, and have settled with wear to be bumpy and uneven. They are also pretty short, which makes it awkward to do much of a run up. The baskets are showing some wear and tear, and aren't in the best shape.

The course doesn't drain well, especially around many of the tee pads. There was lots of standing water and muddy areas on the course, and many of the tees had water in the spots that had settled more.
Other Thoughts: This is a good course for college students to play quick rounds between classes, or for teaching a new player the game. It's a fun course, but just not very challenging, and lacking in variety. New players will enjoy the elevation changes and shorter length. More advanced players will enjoy some of the wooded holes here, but will not have to bring more than a putter and a mid for most of the course.

If you're in Evansville, stop here for a quick round, though I've heard Mesker is a better course. Don't expect a championship caliber course, and you can have a good time here. The athletic center adjacent to the course had discs for sale if you need some plastic.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course for a Beginner

5+    12/5/2009   12/5/2009
Review By: gkeberhart
Played: 36  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 5.9 Years
This review was updated on 3/18/2010
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: It is a course almost anyone can play one regardless of skill level. they recently placed some crushed limestone on the paths which got rid of a lot of the mud problems. a couple of holes test the arm 16 and 18 are both 400+. there are some incorporation of wooded style holes.
Cons: very short, doesnt provide a lot of challenge to people with big arms. most players that have 1+ years of experience can play the whole course with a Roc and putter. most holes are shorter than 300 and one is literally about 115ft (still one of the hardest to ace in my mind).
Other Thoughts: there are some ideas floating around with the University to remove some of the holes for future housing and relocate them. would be a great opportunity to add some more wooded holes in. to be fair this course probably wouldnt be a 3.5 for most people but when you consider its main use really is for the college to teach people the game, it has some of the elements that you would see at championship style courses just toned way down. for a beginner it is a great place to learn the game and meet some locals

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/5/2009   10/6/2009
Review By: AdamE
Played: 211  Reviewed: 143  Exp: 10.8 Years
This review was updated on 12/6/2009
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a great course to introduce new players to the sport and for college students to get a round in between classes. The course has nice oversized tee signs with diagrams and navigating the course is fairly easy. There are some nice elevation changes on some of the holes.
Cons: The course has rubber mats but I didn't really have a problem with them, of course they weren't wet when I played here.

With the exception of a few wooded holes and the two 400+ foot holes, bad shots are not punished on this course.

There are long walks between some of the wooded holes.
Other Thoughts: I understand the importance of having a course for new players to get started on, but this course still seems short even by beginner standards. I've played some pitch and putt courses but this one tops them all for me. 14 of the 18 holes are 250ft or less and one hole is only 119ft. Most of the course is wide open which just makes it seem even shorter. There is so much land here it seems like it wouldn't have been a problem to have a little more variety when it comes to hole length.

The course is nice for college students and beginners, but I would not recommend going out of your way to play here, especially if you can throw over 250 ft. Mesker Park isn't too far away and is an excellent disc golf course.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Pitch and Putt

1    11/28/2008   11/28/2008
Review By: john campbell
Played: 28  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.1 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Benny V1Time described it best: Pitch and Putt. This was a fun course to play and great short/mid-range/putting practice. #16 (495') and #18 (465') give you a chance to stretch your arm.
Cons: Rubber tees. Several of the rubber mats were really damaged - lumpy, sunken and uneven due to obvious water drainage problems. However, some tees had two mats side by side. This allowed more room to move and less damage.
There is an amazing amount of unused terrain and woods with plenty of room to expand, stretch out, and add some character. More wooded holes would have made this a much more interesting course.
Other Thoughts: Most of the holes are around 200 feet, one 300 footer, and two over 400. Most of the course is wide open with just a few short, wooded runs. Several of the open holes have the basket tucked barely inside the woods, heavily gaurded by trees. If you don't see a basket from the tee look just inside the tree line. Great beginner course and fun short game practice!

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Beginners Course

5+    5/2/2008   8/24/2008
Review By: dustingbbn11
Played: 38  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.4 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course gives even the rookies plenty of chances to ace.
It may be short but that only means you can practice more.
Cons: Some tees are damaged by standing water and ground movement on hills.
Other Thoughts: I haven't heard anything about the new course or this one being removed but sounds good! Hopefully they can cut it into the MILLIONS of acres of dense woods out there and put the lakes into play.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  My first course

4/25/2008   6/10/2008
Review By: mikebdot
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8.1 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course is mostly wide open but there are a few tightly wooded areas as well. On windy days it is very challenging due to swirling conditions through the wide open area. Good practice for short game.
Cons: Rubber tee pads are becoming damaged due to the ground moving. The course can be damp days after a rain. There are a lot of bugs when it is humid as there tends to be standing water. Course is very short and mostly wide open. A good player should shoot easily shoot in the 40s after a few times playing.
Other Thoughts: This is indeed a very good beginner course. As it turns out, that is where I began playing and it got me hooked. Especially before I knew there was a pro par!

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

12/29/2007   2/28/2008
Review By: skottyb
Played: 52  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 15.3 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Short course, a lot of ace runs, most of it is out in an open field so wind can be a major factor.
Cons: Short short short.
Other Thoughts: Rubber tee pads are nice.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.