Course Extinct
West Bend, WI 
Villa Park Share



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 short play

1    7/10/2010   7/25/2010
Review By: barrykatiejones
Played: 8  Reviewed: 7
Pros: Great for beginners and kids, short for a quick play, nice little park, clean. Had some challenging holes.
Cons: short, Poorly marked. Once in the woods the bugs got bad.
Other Thoughts: Its ok my husband enjoyed it but I was ready to go after playing it once. Be nice if they get the new one up and going.

 Fun little course

5+    5/16/2010   7/16/2010
Review By: iloqutiss1
Played: 38  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 13.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *Nice use of park space
*Good mix of shots
*Quick round
*Elevation and woods used well
*good learning course for newer players and kids
Cons: *very short
*can be very busy
*mostly casual players more interested in partying than discing.
*litter
*non-existent tees
*no free beer
Other Thoughts: This is a decent course for me to bring my 3 year old to. It's short and not too far of a walk for him. The open shots have a little variety to them with a clump of trees and boulders that come into play on holes 2 and 3. 4-8 play through tight woods with elevation on every hole. 8 imo is a signature hole. If your in the West Bend area its' worth stopping for a quick and easy round. Accomplished players could probably play nine and easily score -6 with a putter and mid unless the tight trees bite. Beginners will find a challenge in the woods and learn different shots here. This course is not worth going out of your way for unless you absolutely have to play everything.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Some potential, but it's moving anyway

1    7/5/2010   7/15/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 817  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 12.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays around the fringe of a multi-use city park. The park has some nice elevation changes, and these come into play in the middle of the course for some interesting holes and risky greens. There is a mix of some open shots at the beginning and end of the course, and some short, tightly wooded shots in the middle. The wooded section of the course is short but technical enough to be a challenge and make you throw some different lines. There is a little more length on the open holes to make them a little more difficult. There are posts at all the tees to help see the tee from a distance, and the flow is fine with no major navigation issues.
Cons: The course is very simple, and very short. Even with the longer open holes everything is reachable with a midrange, and all the wooded holes are fun but aceable with a putter. There's not a whole lot of variety here, it's either a boring open hole, or a short tightly wooded hole, so it feels very repetitive, and is a little short on challenge. There isn't much in the way of signage here, though the course is moving so I doubt that's going to be resolved. The tees are natural and not level or smooth, so they don't make for very good footing.
Other Thoughts: This is a ho hum course, and it's not going to be around much longer. Hopefully the new course will be in a bigger park where they can build in a little more variety and challenge. Beginners will find the course entirely accessible without too much thick rough or difficulty. More experienced players won't find too much to test them or keep them coming back. Don't go out of your way for this one.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 C- = needs more development

1    6/3/2009   6/8/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 368  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 20.6 Years
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up:
1) Holes with good risk/reward. Fair, but harsh punishment for bad decisions or execution. == D+ (The wooded holes would be great, albeit short, if a few trees were taken out to make some realistic flight paths)
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities for me. I throw 300' accurately, 360' max. == D (too short)
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography == C- (The wooded holes have potential - they force certain shots as it is (good), but they are too undefined/narrow to reward anything but luck (bad). Hole 8 is the exception - a good downhill fairway, that needs only a little cabbage taken out near/in front of the basket.)
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion. ==
5) Bonus points for multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them. == N/A
Other Thoughts: It's all about feeding the addiction, so I ranked this course subjectively based on my own "personal addiction factor". The grades above tell how well the course will draw me back to itself again and again and again. Since I have played a decent number of courses (125 18-hole, 64 9-hole as of mid 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar addiction tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they choose courses to play and explore.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me….that's the fun of things here. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Cute Like Your Girlfriend

5+    5/24/2009   6/1/2009
Review By: Tomski420
Played: 7  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Technical: Holes #2-#8 each have a special way to throw your disc for it to be a good shot. Once you play the course a few rounds, you'll figure it out.

Trees: The only real obstacles here, but as mentioned above, once you figure it out then it ain't no thing.

Putting Greens: If that's what you wanna call them (that's what I'am calling em'). The putting greens are hard clay, so your shots must be adjusted properly. A good shot on grass will bounce/skip on these greens, so what normally would be a 5ft. putt can easily be a long 20ft. back putt. This keeps you from going all aces all the time.

Secret Hole: Can you find it?
Cons: Short: I can get 18 done in a half hour (maybe 20min if I ran). Nothing longer than 290ft (I think) and most shots are just flicks through trees.

People: This cute lil' course can get surprisingly crowded. O' to be in High School again!

Tee Placement: If it's your first time at the course you might get lost between holes #1-2 (behind you and to the right) and holes #2-3 (behind you and down the hill a lil').

Easy...Easy...Easy...
Other Thoughts: I live in West Bend so I like to come here when I don't have time to go further out; always play 18 though. However, I know the City could do better, and with all the people that show up I ask "Why Not?". Give WB 18 City officials. I say God Damn.

A 9hole is half a course so the highest score I can give a 9hole is half a perfect score (2.5) that being said this course is a 1.

Soccer, Basketball, Baseball, Playground, and a State Trooper.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    4/27/2009   4/28/2009
Review By: mojo2090
Played: 14  Reviewed: 5
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -a few long holes
-holes easy to find
-good course layout
-tricky shots in the woods
Cons: -most holes arent very long
-tees are just grass
-only 9 holes
Other Thoughts: in response to harr's review, my buddy was one of the guys that aced #8. he tomahawked it and hit a tree and dropped in. fun little course

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Technical and short.

1    3/21/2009   3/21/2009
Review By: harr0140
Played: 740  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 6 Years
This review was updated on 5/3/2009
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1) Nice use of the rolling woody terrain.

2) Nice baskets and nice painted posts that help you find the next hole fairly easily.

3) 5 holes in the deep woods makes for some interesting shot making. The fairways are tight if there even is a true line to the basket. I have to doubt that anyone has made a hole in one on #8 but there are some posted, because there is clearly no route to the basket

4) Course is moderately beginner friendly. The tight holes might be a little too much for a newbie, but they are short enough it won't frustrate those that have played other tight courses.

5) I found a $5 bill on #2, so this course will always stay in my memory! I looked for a donation box but couldn;t find it anywhere!
Cons: 1) Posts aren't always right next to the tee, they are used more as a visual to find where you are headed.

2) Tees are horrible, they are all muddy and worn out. Mulch would be better than nothing.

3) Fairways are not clearly defined. There are no clear routes to a few of the baskets. You have to use your imagination a little too much. I like a challenge but clearly a few of the smaller trees should be removed.
Other Thoughts: This was a decent little course to play. I made a loop of 5 new courses (for me)starting in Grafton at Lime Kiln, Tendick Nature Park in Saukville, here, then on to Woodlawn in Hartford and Erin go Bragh in Thompson. I would rank this one as #4 out of the 5.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 short and sweet

6/22/2008   6/22/2008
Review By: slingerman99
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.7 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: alittle bit challenging. In the woods, it can be very challenging.
Cons: Short holes,, I think every hole is a par 2 or 3.
Other Thoughts: Could use signs with maps of hole layout on them for the new disc players to find the correct pin to shoot at, but after played once, it is easy and goes fast.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.