Sussex, WI 
Village Park Share
Uploaded By: snappyfingers Hole #1
3 / 392ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Big Fan

5+    4/26/2012   4/26/2012
Review By: diggs11pond
Played: 28  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 15.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I like the length of this course. There is good elevation change right off the bat. Solid of holes for long throwers. Not too many "wooded" holes, but that isn't a bad thing. There are two tight holes on the front that will challenge anyone to throw long and flat.
Cons: Back nine is a bit easy. This doesn't detract from the course. You still need to throw controlled drives off the tees.
Other Thoughts: I like this course and it is almost never busy. Gotta get out there Sussex!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A fun course

5+    10/1/2009   4/3/2010
Review By: cheesy_gordita_crunk
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 9.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Sussex is a fun course to play because it has a good mix of holes. The first several holes are longer, open holes. I do like the mix of downhill and uphill holes that the course has to offer. Most of the holes are fairly open but there are a couple holes through the woods that demand accuracy.

There are a couple of shorter holes that make for fun ace runs.

The course is well maintained with garbage cans on each hole. I have played this course countless times and it has never been super busy. The longest I have had to wait is five minutes on one hole.
Cons: Since it is in the village park, they occasionally use the course property for festivals and other events. It is frustrating to drive out to the course only to have it closed.

The last couple of holes are far away from the rest of the course.

There are a lot of mosquitoes during the summer, but then again welcome to Wisconsin. Bring some bug spray!

Other Thoughts: Watch out for the pond off of hole one. It can come into play. Occasionally, the pond does dry up and you can get your disc. If you choose to go in when it is full, expect to have leeches on you when you get out.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A pretty good course really

5+    10/31/2009   11/26/2009
Review By: Trashthrasher
Played: 17  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 11.2 Years
This review was updated on 11/27/2009
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Right off the main walking path (The "Bug Line") that goes through town & around the park, elevation changes plus a good mix of long & short holes, trash cans at every tee, good use of available terrain & the hardware store across the street sells discs.
Cons: Closes on November 1st every year. A lot of open areas, no multiple basket locations, can be crowded often, a lot of the tee signs are either missing or damaged with the distance written on the post & events in the park close the course. Oh ya... the Police station is right there as well.
Other Thoughts: I'm a bit biased towards the course as it is my home course and the one I play the most. 1 & 16 are long downhill bombers that can provide some interesting results. 1 will also have a pond straight out at the bottom of the hill from spring through most of summer unless it's a dry year. 5 & 6 are wooded & require more technical finesse than any other on the course. 2, 14, & 17 play uphill with 2 being in a bowl at top of the hill. The longest hole 3 is 582ft & is basically a wide open shot, so bring your big arm for that one. I feel that this course gets judged unfairly due to the nearby (and far superior) Dretzka park, but really it's a pretty decent course & anyone in the area would be foolish to not at least try it out.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Worthwhile

5+    8/22/2009   8/22/2009
Review By: fallsrunner10
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's an excellent course; it has all kinds of holes. Multiple-drive holes, short birdie holes, short bogey holes, long birdie holes; the course has so many possibilities. Numbers 5 and 6 are in thick trees; if you need to hit a tree, you will miss it, and if you have a good throw, you'll end up hitting a tree. It's a very nice park and is never very crowded.
Cons: If you've never been there before, number one is difficult to find. It's the parking lot to the left and on top of the hill by the brown building. The signing is bad; there used to be signs, but have since been torn down. 2 to 3 is thru the woods, 3 to 4 is across the street, 6 to 7 is up along the tennis courts, 12 to 13 you have to go across the path and backtrack a bit, 13 to 14 is down the path opposite the way you backtracked, 16 to 17 is the longest walk (it's really an odd location for 17 and 18). from 16s tee looking at the basket you have to walk left from the basket up the hill on the path to find the tee.
Other Thoughts: Other than the bad signage, the course is very nice. Concrete pads, easy to see baskets, but can also be a technical course. I wouldn't recommend it for beginners, but neither would I for pro's (too easy). Anyone in between would have a fun time on this course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/16/2009   7/20/2009
Review By: artonos
Played: 12  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A nice course with some long shots and some short shots. Great uses of elevation on a bunch of holes. A hole with water that makes it so you have to be cautious right from the beginning. A few wooded holes, many holes use trees to force you to shoot in different directions.

This is an intermediate course. Not the easiest, but still a long way from being really hard. It is well kept. The course is usually not too busy, occasionally you will have to wait for a slow group. For the most part the people who play there move quickly.
Cons: The wooded holes could be a little longer. There is only really 1 hole that is difficult because it is long. The other long holes all are downhill so it is easier to play them. The course can be hard to navigate for someone who is unfamiliar with the layout. Watch out for wasp's when walking from hole13 to 14.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course, nice layout, left me slightly unfulfilled.

5+    10/31/2011   5/3/2009
Review By: harr0140
Played: 715  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 1/7/2012
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Uses the property very well, incorporating the massive pond into #1, the massive elevation change on #1 and #16 make for two really fun tee shots. The dense wooded area on hole #5 and #6 make for some tunnel shots. Hit a tree and shoot to the side will cost you at least 1 stroke because you might not have a lane to the basket and just have to layup to give yourself a putt. #7 and #8 have some character with the baskets set underneath a few large mature trees. Keep your shot low or you will clip some of those branches and shoot straight down to the ground and possibly cost yourself a birdie opportunity. #9 is wide open but long enouhg that only a really big arm can get close enough for an easy birdie. #10 - #13 have some large trees as their only obstacles, and the baskets are placed well to make you think about your shots. #14 -#18 have some elevation changes (With #16 being the most pronounced) and lots of large mature trees again. They each have their own character because #14 goes left, #15 goes right, #16 is way down a hill into a prevailing cross wind, then #17 and #18 both go up hill to baskets set amongst the massive trees.

2) Maintenance looks to be well kept. Baskets at every teebox help with keeping the litter down.

3) Has many of the key ingredients to a solid course with elevation change, challenging basket location, some open ripper holes, some tightly wooded holes, and some holes with a smattering of large mature trees.

4) Fairly beginner friendly because of the genral openness of most holes. Although there are large mature trees beginners don't have to shoot through tons of tunnel shots except on #5. Errant shots will not be punished too severely which can really lead to frustrated beginners.

Cons: 1) Some of the teepads fall off significantly at the edge of the concrete which could be a hazard to some ankles.

2) This overall was a fun course, but for some reason I was left slightly disappointed. I was surprised it was as fun as it was from looking at the course from the road before it opened, but I do think this course has the potential to be better than it is. Add in a couple younger trees maybe to force some more shotmaking, protect some of the baskets on hillside with some boulders or something. Basically I guess I would say I could have imagined a few more unique ideas into this course that would take it up a nothc but it is still a very good course in my opinion, one of the top 10 in the Milwaukee area.

3) Wide open turf areas are filled with weeds and dandelions. Detracts a little from the course in my opinion, because ti would be nice to play on well kept turf instead of weeds. I am a landscaper so I notice things like this that others might not see.

4) Big massive sign out front saying disc golf open or closed but no sign to point you to Tee #1. I ended up starting on #4 and then getting lost at #16 and playing #1, 2, 3, and finishing on #17 and #18.

5) Lots of missing signs and the one on #14 is incorrect because it is not 296. That was the distance before the path went through that area dn the teepad was moved forward. It is probably more like 200.
Other Thoughts: This course surprised me, I went expecting not so much because I had driven in there 3 or 4 times hoping it was open and all I could see were tee areas and all of them seems to be on the edge of the woods so I thought the holes would be very boring. They used the property well and the larger mature trees, the massive pond on #1, and the elevation changes, are what give this course its character I was pleasantly surpised, although I was still left a little unfulfilled. A few more obstacles to challenge me would have gotten this course a 4 rating. The maintenance looks to be pretty well done, except how weedy all of the grass areas are. Maybe Sussex refused to spray herbicides I don't know?!

UPDATE: This course is growing on me more and more. It probably has to do with the fact I am able to throw a little further now, so those longer holes are more fun with a well executed shot. This course just has a little of everything and I am liking the variety more and more. I shot my best -4 the other day and it was a lot of fun!

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Good Course

1    8/21/2008   8/26/2008
Review By: big_ck1
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The holes are challenging, and there is a good variety between technical throws, and power throws.
Cons: It was hard to find the first hole, the signage can sometimes be missing or not helpful.
Other Thoughts: I played here for my first round of disc golf ever, and it was challenging for me and my friend. I would recommend it, and I will play it again for sure now that I know where I am going.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.