Sussex, WI 
Village Park Share
Uploaded By: snappyfingers Hole #7
3 / 268ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Approach



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 "Fun" use of the land

5+    7/1/2010   7/6/2010
Review By: kamojoe
Played: 103  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 9.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: --GREAT ELEVATION
--Even number of ace runs, tight holes, and big bombers
--Garbage cans on almost all holes
--Great concrete tee pads
--Surrounded by great courses
--Disc golf equipment right across the street at Ace Hardware
--Multiple holes that push you to throw as hard as you can with allowing you to reach them as well
--Great use of the property because so much of the park isn't used for disc golf
--Hole 1's water hazard is the perfect size and distance to provide a serious factor
--The signs that are present are of relatively high quality
--Bubbler (Wisconsin word for water fountain) located by hole 16 is cold and refreshing
--Fairways are always groomed nicely
Cons: --Many of the signs are stolen
--Practice basket is vacant in order to replace hole 8's stolen basket
--Due to other events at this park, the course is closed down many different weekends throughout the summer
-------Some of the events that close the whole course down are only on hole 3 and it is unnecessary
--Course can be quite littered at times despite the vast amount of garbages
--Not enough obstacles on most of the holes (limited to the land they were given)
--Traversing through the course for the first time would be quite confusing on a few of the holes
---------Hole 2 --> 3
---------Hole 3 --> 4
---------Hole 16 --> 17
--Softball practice can interfere on hole 4
Other Thoughts: This is the course that I learned on and have played it hundreds of times. I have a lot of love and respect for this course, but couldn't rate it higher than a 3. It has a good amount of cons to combat its pros.

I think the main reason why this course will stand out and be worth the trip is the large holes with outstanding elevation changes. They may not have many obstacles other than the pond on hole 1, but I love being able to whip my disc down a large hill. This helps feed the addiction factor to this course.

The ace run holes have just enough obstacles and elevation to keep them from being called filler.

Signature holes include: Hole 1, 3, 5, 16, 17

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun and challenging

5+    4/18/2010   4/18/2010
Review By: thenamesben
Played: 41  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.4 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Good mix of hole types. Most are pretty open, but the basket is usually guarded by bushes or trees. A few holes in the woods, while short, will test your accuracy. A couple of downhill holes, as well as a few uphill holes.

-Nice sized tee pads. I would like them to be a little wider, but the length in just fine.

-Signage WAS provided (I'll explain later), baskets are numbered on plate. Hole 8 (I believe) actually says Hole 19 though.

-Nice area, sharing the property with a church.
Cons: -Many of the holes play the same. Only a few holes have a 'wow' factor.

-Many signs are missing and/or badly damaged. At least 6 Holes have signs missing.

-Tee Signs are too close to the tee pad on some holes. I found myself being extra careful not to smash my hand into the sign or post.

-Don't fall of the front of the tee pads. A lot of the tees have pretty bad erosion on the front side,making it a wee bit dangerous.

-Course can randomly be closed by the Village.

-Course 'flow' isn't there. There are a few times you can get lost from going to the next tee.
Other Thoughts: It's not the greatest course around, but I have a fin time playing it. The missing or damaged signs baffle me, the course is right next to a church AND a police station. I would think vandalism would be at a minimum. To avoid driving all the way to the course only to find it closed, check out the website:
http://www.village.sussex.wi....dar/index.php

Just check the day you are going and go!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 A fun course

5+    10/1/2009   4/3/2010
Review By: cheesy_gordita_crunk
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 9.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Sussex is a fun course to play because it has a good mix of holes. The first several holes are longer, open holes. I do like the mix of downhill and uphill holes that the course has to offer. Most of the holes are fairly open but there are a couple holes through the woods that demand accuracy.

There are a couple of shorter holes that make for fun ace runs.

The course is well maintained with garbage cans on each hole. I have played this course countless times and it has never been super busy. The longest I have had to wait is five minutes on one hole.
Cons: Since it is in the village park, they occasionally use the course property for festivals and other events. It is frustrating to drive out to the course only to have it closed.

The last couple of holes are far away from the rest of the course.

There are a lot of mosquitoes during the summer, but then again welcome to Wisconsin. Bring some bug spray!

Other Thoughts: Watch out for the pond off of hole one. It can come into play. Occasionally, the pond does dry up and you can get your disc. If you choose to go in when it is full, expect to have leeches on you when you get out.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A pretty good course really

5+    10/31/2009   11/26/2009
Review By: Trashthrasher
Played: 17  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 11.1 Years
This review was updated on 11/27/2009
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Right off the main walking path (The "Bug Line") that goes through town & around the park, elevation changes plus a good mix of long & short holes, trash cans at every tee, good use of available terrain & the hardware store across the street sells discs.
Cons: Closes on November 1st every year. A lot of open areas, no multiple basket locations, can be crowded often, a lot of the tee signs are either missing or damaged with the distance written on the post & events in the park close the course. Oh ya... the Police station is right there as well.
Other Thoughts: I'm a bit biased towards the course as it is my home course and the one I play the most. 1 & 16 are long downhill bombers that can provide some interesting results. 1 will also have a pond straight out at the bottom of the hill from spring through most of summer unless it's a dry year. 5 & 6 are wooded & require more technical finesse than any other on the course. 2, 14, & 17 play uphill with 2 being in a bowl at top of the hill. The longest hole 3 is 582ft & is basically a wide open shot, so bring your big arm for that one. I feel that this course gets judged unfairly due to the nearby (and far superior) Dretzka park, but really it's a pretty decent course & anyone in the area would be foolish to not at least try it out.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A Must play

2-4    9/9/2009   9/10/2009
Review By: bass4grace
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 11.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has a good balance of difficult and easy holes bringing out every aspect of your game. The course layout takes advantage of all the best areas in the park and all the holes have a unique beauty and are very scenic. This course has the perfect amount of trees and they are usually only an obstacle when you throw poorly, and even then you can easily find your disc on nearly every hole.
Cons: The course layout is not very streamline which left me searching for the next hole far too often. For your first time playing, you have to either bring a map or someone that has played it before.
Other Thoughts: This course is fun for intermediate players, but pros will find this course to be simple and boring, and beginners may be frustrated by the 400+ ft holes. Personally, my favorite basket distance is 350ft, and I don't think there are any. It's either 400+ or less than 250.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 2nd time & closed again...

1    8/30/2009   9/4/2009
Review By: dlk33
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Cons: Haven't gotten a chance to play the course.
Other Thoughts: The first time we took the drive to Sussex the course was closed because it was Spring & the baskets weren't in the ground yet. We decided to try again in the Summer, not thinking there would be any reason it would be closed, we were wrong! Upon stopping to ask further directions about how to get to the course, we were told there was some kind of tractor display going on in the park, that the dg course might not be open. Sure enough, we enter the park & see a sign that says the disc golf course is closed. We could see a few baskets off to the right further ahead, that weren't in the way of anything, so we went ahead & played them. That was a waste of time, just like the drive there! When I went back to rate this course, I did notice on the review page it does state to check their website before going there, because their might be an activity going on. I should have paid more attention to that! Make sure that you do.
It wasn't a total waste, we drove to Milwaukee & played there.
We won't bother to come back for a third time.

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Worthwhile

5+    8/22/2009   8/22/2009
Review By: fallsrunner10
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's an excellent course; it has all kinds of holes. Multiple-drive holes, short birdie holes, short bogey holes, long birdie holes; the course has so many possibilities. Numbers 5 and 6 are in thick trees; if you need to hit a tree, you will miss it, and if you have a good throw, you'll end up hitting a tree. It's a very nice park and is never very crowded.
Cons: If you've never been there before, number one is difficult to find. It's the parking lot to the left and on top of the hill by the brown building. The signing is bad; there used to be signs, but have since been torn down. 2 to 3 is thru the woods, 3 to 4 is across the street, 6 to 7 is up along the tennis courts, 12 to 13 you have to go across the path and backtrack a bit, 13 to 14 is down the path opposite the way you backtracked, 16 to 17 is the longest walk (it's really an odd location for 17 and 18). from 16s tee looking at the basket you have to walk left from the basket up the hill on the path to find the tee.
Other Thoughts: Other than the bad signage, the course is very nice. Concrete pads, easy to see baskets, but can also be a technical course. I wouldn't recommend it for beginners, but neither would I for pro's (too easy). Anyone in between would have a fun time on this course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/16/2009   7/20/2009
Review By: artonos
Played: 12  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A nice course with some long shots and some short shots. Great uses of elevation on a bunch of holes. A hole with water that makes it so you have to be cautious right from the beginning. A few wooded holes, many holes use trees to force you to shoot in different directions.

This is an intermediate course. Not the easiest, but still a long way from being really hard. It is well kept. The course is usually not too busy, occasionally you will have to wait for a slow group. For the most part the people who play there move quickly.
Cons: The wooded holes could be a little longer. There is only really 1 hole that is difficult because it is long. The other long holes all are downhill so it is easier to play them. The course can be hard to navigate for someone who is unfamiliar with the layout. Watch out for wasp's when walking from hole13 to 14.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great Practice but not fancy

2-4    6/10/2009   6/13/2009
Review By: Texconsinite
Played: 127  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 6.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has concrete tees on 17 of the holes (one was cleared for a new walking path). Baskets are numbered. Most holes do not have a tee sign, just a metal rod that it looks like a sign should attach to it, but is conspicuously missing. Vandalism, perhaps?

Trashcans at several holes. The only bathroom I could find by hole 1 was locked, so be mindful of that.

This park sports a wiiide variety of lengths. You will go from 350ft to 250, to 600ft holes, and back. However, despite the multiple longer holes on this course, it's surprisingly easy to score well, thanks to benevolent use of terrain. By this I mean that the long holes are mostly fairly level or downhill, so the length doesnt seem as bad. No nasty 500ft uphill tunnel shots. Big Brother this ain't, but it is quite a fun course to play.

This course is relatively open, but keeps it real. Even on the wooded holes, you are usually shooting from open areas into a patch of woods protecting the basket, thus there are generally several ways to attack it off the tee, often a more open curve route with late trouble as well as a more direct tunnel line. (vs Elver Park, where you are stuck playing the tunnel bc theres woods all around you)

At the same time, most of the "wooded" holes are more like Deming park: A cool hillside/valley/hilltop with scattered trees that all come into play. In fact, Hole 14 here is an uphill shot through a tree archway similar to Hole 5 at Deming: both short, yet surprising hard to deuce. This is indicative fo the types of challenges this course will throw at you most often.

There is really alot of cool terrain on this course in general, enough that it keeps the wide open holes fairly interesting as well. I may sound like a broken record as I've written this in seemingly every review lately, I am generally biased towards more heavily wooded courses, and this course has several holes with between 0 and 2 trees on each of them. However, I found that I didnt mind many of the open holes here, because the terrain alone is enough to keep them interesting, like the first few holes on Justin Trails Classic. Hole 2 here is a great example. Wide open, longer uphill (I know what I said, this is the only one) shot. The basket is blind over the hilltop, and every time I was so sure I overshot it on my second drive and rolled it down the backside of the hill. But the basket is tucked in the bottom of a 30 ft wide bowl, like a bunker on the baskside of the hill, so it catches shots and funnels them toward the basket. What a great way to make a long uphill hole a more manageable three. I love it!

On the wide open holes, the basket is always at least somewhat protected, with a few nearby trees behind it to snag errant throws or a bog beyond them. Also, one thing that is unique about this course is that for how wide open it is, there seems to be surprisingly little wind on the open holes. The edges of the large fields containing the more open holes are all lined with solid borders of tall bushy pines, and I believe this does a good job protecting from the wind. Also, the fact that is farther away from the lake, and not on a hilltop probably helps. However, open holes with no wind does make for a much nicer round.

It also makes this a great course to put a new disc through its paces on, as the lines you have to hit are mostly pretty open, and gives you a good chance to fine-tune technique during the round without suffering massive stroke penalties. You will get a variety of technical challenges, but nothing too tricky. Its great practice.

Overall its a surprisingly fun experience. I came to this park with fairly low expectations, and i was pleasantly surprised. It even starts off with a cool water hole, something the other milwaukee courses I've played to date all lack.
Cons: Navigation: The flow of the course is good in that the holes are all not too far from each other, and 18 ends by the parking lot and tee 1 for a nice loop.
However, finding the next hole is a real challenge in many, many spots. Fortunately, I attached myself to some locals who guided me, otherwise I would've been hopelessy turned around in spots. Here are some of the worse ones
(X-Y) How to get to tee Y from basket X
GUIDE TO NAVIGATION
2-3 --> Cut through the woods on your left
3-4 --> Cross the street and past the tennis courts. In the open next to line of pine trees.
6-7--> Between tennis court fence and road
8-9--> Across the road.
13-14--> Take the furthest trail on the left, past the park bench. Dirt tee to right of path.

You cant see the basket numbers clearly from the tee, and in some cases you will be able to see more than one basket, but in any event, the correct basket is the obvious one so don't stress.
The hole layouts are pretty obvious off the tee, so the lack of hole maps didn't bother me as much as not knowing the distance on the basket, or where to go for the next tee. The addition of just hole length markers and next tee signs would make a huge difference here.

Another area where this course annoys me is the paths between holes. Several times, the paths lead you up the fairway from the previous basket to get to the current tee. Thus, this is a risk of getting hit by the group in front of you, or at the very least, slow them down and be a general pain for them.

Every hole has one tee, one pin placement (except the hill hole). This is really too bad, as it hurts the replay value of the course, and they do have room to add more of both onto the existing holes. The course seemed pretty busy the whole time I was there, so its a shame that it hasn't gotten a little more of a facelift. But I've admittedly been spoiled by Dretzka's 4-5 pin placements and the wonderful job Mark does switching a few up every week.

Again, I didn't mind the open holes because they were mostly interesting, but I would've liked a little more intrigue aka wooded holes.
The course is good as it stands, but it would be nice to have long tees for some added challenge.

This is a good, fun course, but it hits alot of singles, even a few doubles. However, this course doesn't have those tricky home run-hitting holes that the great ones have in spades.I like it and enjoyed it, but it didn't impress or wow me much.
Other Thoughts: This course reminded me of Tendick up north. Both are courses out in the sticks, and both IMO have a similar style of a few interesting courses blended together into a mix that may be lesser than the sum of its parts. Here is where the similarities stop.

Tendick is like a Brown Deer/UW-Whitewater mix, with its variety of longer open holes and tight technical ones. Village Park is more akin to a Justin Trails Classic/Deming Park blend, with a touch of Token Creek, because it has really cool terrain on open holes, and scattered trees, as well as several loong holes.

I thought about giving this course a 2.5 for Decent, but the cool terrain on several holes won me over. Check out this course if you are in the area, but is it worth the drive from Milwaukee? Not while Dretzka, Parkside and Brown Deer are open.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 B = Better Than Average

1    5/7/2009   6/8/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 366  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 20.2 Years
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up:
1) Holes with good risk/reward. Fair, but harsh punishment for bad decisions or execution. == C-
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities for me. I throw 300' accurately, 360' max. == C+ (many holes are too short to be rewarding and the longer holes are not long enough to make rewarding par 4's)
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography == C+
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion. == B+
5) Bonus points for multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them. == C-
Other Thoughts: It's all about feeding the addiction, so I ranked this course subjectively based on my own "personal addiction factor". The grades above tell how well the course will draw me back to itself again and again and again. Since I have played a decent number of courses (125 18-hole, 64 9-hole as of mid 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar addiction tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they choose courses to play and explore.

Over time, I expect to fill some of my reviews in with more descriptive verbiage…if what I can add anything to what has already been written. For now, my list is more important to me than the verbiage of my reviews.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me….that's the fun of things here. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center