Sussex, WI 
Village Park Share
Uploaded By: snappyfingers  
Park Entrance Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 A range of average, where do I put this one???

1    7/26/2010   7/26/2010
Review By: superberry
Played: 204  Reviewed: 94  Exp: 18.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fairly decent variety and balance, although much more open than wooded. The slight uphill/downhill available at the park is used nice. The small amount of trees are used okay (considering they are planted in rows, no dense mature forest here to speak of). And the balance of left/right/straight and long/short is pretty decent.
Cons: Overall very open, and most of the times I play here are in the summer - you will be baked by the sun. The few holes in the 'woods' are short, offer some pinballing, and are through row-planted trees which don't create a feeling of isolation or escape from everything else around you.
Despite some decent and respectable elevation in the park itself, the majority of the course is just flat.
Despite having some holes with 'huge' distance, they are almost entirely open, with no required landing zone or thought process on maybe laying up for a better approach (i.e. not a true par 4).
Only one set of tees here.
In my opinion, there is not one risky green here. All are wide open and not on or near any sort of dropoff which could induce a twoputt on the way back after a miss.

Other Thoughts: What's missing? Some more challenge maybe? Say there were to be some longer tees here, what would it buy you - just more distance, because there are not enough natural features (trees, ridges, bushes, etc) available or utilized here to really make any difference. Even if some alternate pin locations were added, the lack of natural features wouldn't make the holes really any different, just longer or shorter. So, this park has no easy or simple opportunity to become more. That's part of what grinds a local course into mediocrity. The small percenatge of locals who actually care about it, aren't going to be too challenged to build something bigger and better because they just can't.
I like this course more than a few courses I've rated a 3, but not as much as the any of the ones I've rated a 3.5 (I seem to have far too much score compression in this area of average courses - maybe so many courses are just plain average). So, in relation to all the other courses I've played, in light of the pros and cons of Sussex, and in consideration of my personal preferences, this course is good, a few holes and design elements do make it very good, but overall it falls into the lower category. Too many wide open greens, too many people to be able to lose yourself, too few tight wooded holes. It just doesn't have what it takes to get above average. It actually flirts with just a 2.5 - decent rating overall, and as my score compression continues to saturate the 2.5-3.5 disc range of average courses, this is one I'd bump down in relation to others, so it gets stuck below average.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A bit open

1    6/11/2010   7/16/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 819  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 14.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a large hilly park, and takes advantage of the many elevation changes present. There are some fun downhill shots where you can air it out, and some tricky but not too long uphill shots to make you work a little. There is great variety of distances here, from ace runs to long bombs, and that keeps it a little more interesting.

There are good concrete tees on all holes, with enough room and texture to make for good footing. The baskets are in good shape and catch well. The park was reasonably well maintained, with recently mowed grass, and most of the trash in the available containers.
Cons: The course is quite open, and derives nearly all the challenge from elevation, length and wind. The holes that bring more trees into play tend to be on the shorter side, and not very interesting shapes. You throw straight ahead on nearly every hole here, some more hole shape variety would go a long way.

The lack of signage is a shame, there are posts for tee signs but most are missing. The navigation isn't obvious in several places, and without tee signs to reassure you that you're on the correct hole, it's easy to skip ahead in a few places, and difficult to find any next tee at all in others. There are also a couple blind holes where it would be nice to know where to throw.
Other Thoughts: This course has some fun holes, but not enough challenge or variety to really be a must play course. If the signs were replaced and navigation was more reasonable I would be able to give it a higher rating, but a mediocre course that's hard to follow gets a bit frustrating. Beginners may find some of the holes a little long, but they're relatively trouble free so not too terribly punishing. More experienced players will enjoy some of the holes out here, but shouldn't expect to have much of their game tested.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 "Fun" use of the land

5+    7/1/2010   7/6/2010
Review By: kamojoe
Played: 135  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 11.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: --GREAT ELEVATION
--Even number of ace runs, tight holes, and big bombers
--Garbage cans on almost all holes
--Great concrete tee pads
--Surrounded by great courses
--Disc golf equipment right across the street at Ace Hardware
--Multiple holes that push you to throw as hard as you can with allowing you to reach them as well
--Great use of the property because so much of the park isn't used for disc golf
--Hole 1's water hazard is the perfect size and distance to provide a serious factor
--The signs that are present are of relatively high quality
--Bubbler (Wisconsin word for water fountain) located by hole 16 is cold and refreshing
--Fairways are always groomed nicely
Cons: --Many of the signs are stolen
--Practice basket is vacant in order to replace hole 8's stolen basket
--Due to other events at this park, the course is closed down many different weekends throughout the summer
-------Some of the events that close the whole course down are only on hole 3 and it is unnecessary
--Course can be quite littered at times despite the vast amount of garbages
--Not enough obstacles on most of the holes (limited to the land they were given)
--Traversing through the course for the first time would be quite confusing on a few of the holes
---------Hole 2 --> 3
---------Hole 3 --> 4
---------Hole 16 --> 17
--Softball practice can interfere on hole 4
Other Thoughts: This is the course that I learned on and have played it hundreds of times. I have a lot of love and respect for this course, but couldn't rate it higher than a 3. It has a good amount of cons to combat its pros.

I think the main reason why this course will stand out and be worth the trip is the large holes with outstanding elevation changes. They may not have many obstacles other than the pond on hole 1, but I love being able to whip my disc down a large hill. This helps feed the addiction factor to this course.

The ace run holes have just enough obstacles and elevation to keep them from being called filler.

Signature holes include: Hole 1, 3, 5, 16, 17

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun and challenging

5+    4/18/2010   4/18/2010
Review By: thenamesben
Played: 41  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.7 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Good mix of hole types. Most are pretty open, but the basket is usually guarded by bushes or trees. A few holes in the woods, while short, will test your accuracy. A couple of downhill holes, as well as a few uphill holes.

-Nice sized tee pads. I would like them to be a little wider, but the length in just fine.

-Signage WAS provided (I'll explain later), baskets are numbered on plate. Hole 8 (I believe) actually says Hole 19 though.

-Nice area, sharing the property with a church.
Cons: -Many of the holes play the same. Only a few holes have a 'wow' factor.

-Many signs are missing and/or badly damaged. At least 6 Holes have signs missing.

-Tee Signs are too close to the tee pad on some holes. I found myself being extra careful not to smash my hand into the sign or post.

-Don't fall of the front of the tee pads. A lot of the tees have pretty bad erosion on the front side,making it a wee bit dangerous.

-Course can randomly be closed by the Village.

-Course 'flow' isn't there. There are a few times you can get lost from going to the next tee.
Other Thoughts: It's not the greatest course around, but I have a fin time playing it. The missing or damaged signs baffle me, the course is right next to a church AND a police station. I would think vandalism would be at a minimum. To avoid driving all the way to the course only to find it closed, check out the website:
http://www.village.sussex.wi....dar/index.php

Just check the day you are going and go!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 A fun course

5+    10/1/2009   4/3/2010
Review By: cheesy_gordita_crunk
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 11.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Sussex is a fun course to play because it has a good mix of holes. The first several holes are longer, open holes. I do like the mix of downhill and uphill holes that the course has to offer. Most of the holes are fairly open but there are a couple holes through the woods that demand accuracy.

There are a couple of shorter holes that make for fun ace runs.

The course is well maintained with garbage cans on each hole. I have played this course countless times and it has never been super busy. The longest I have had to wait is five minutes on one hole.
Cons: Since it is in the village park, they occasionally use the course property for festivals and other events. It is frustrating to drive out to the course only to have it closed.

The last couple of holes are far away from the rest of the course.

There are a lot of mosquitoes during the summer, but then again welcome to Wisconsin. Bring some bug spray!

Other Thoughts: Watch out for the pond off of hole one. It can come into play. Occasionally, the pond does dry up and you can get your disc. If you choose to go in when it is full, expect to have leeches on you when you get out.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A pretty good course really

5+    10/31/2009   11/26/2009
Review By: Trashthrasher
Played: 17  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 13.4 Years
This review was updated on 11/27/2009
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Right off the main walking path (The "Bug Line") that goes through town & around the park, elevation changes plus a good mix of long & short holes, trash cans at every tee, good use of available terrain & the hardware store across the street sells discs.
Cons: Closes on November 1st every year. A lot of open areas, no multiple basket locations, can be crowded often, a lot of the tee signs are either missing or damaged with the distance written on the post & events in the park close the course. Oh ya... the Police station is right there as well.
Other Thoughts: I'm a bit biased towards the course as it is my home course and the one I play the most. 1 & 16 are long downhill bombers that can provide some interesting results. 1 will also have a pond straight out at the bottom of the hill from spring through most of summer unless it's a dry year. 5 & 6 are wooded & require more technical finesse than any other on the course. 2, 14, & 17 play uphill with 2 being in a bowl at top of the hill. The longest hole 3 is 582ft & is basically a wide open shot, so bring your big arm for that one. I feel that this course gets judged unfairly due to the nearby (and far superior) Dretzka park, but really it's a pretty decent course & anyone in the area would be foolish to not at least try it out.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A Must play

2-4    9/9/2009   9/10/2009
Review By: bass4grace
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 13.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has a good balance of difficult and easy holes bringing out every aspect of your game. The course layout takes advantage of all the best areas in the park and all the holes have a unique beauty and are very scenic. This course has the perfect amount of trees and they are usually only an obstacle when you throw poorly, and even then you can easily find your disc on nearly every hole.
Cons: The course layout is not very streamline which left me searching for the next hole far too often. For your first time playing, you have to either bring a map or someone that has played it before.
Other Thoughts: This course is fun for intermediate players, but pros will find this course to be simple and boring, and beginners may be frustrated by the 400+ ft holes. Personally, my favorite basket distance is 350ft, and I don't think there are any. It's either 400+ or less than 250.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 2nd time & closed again...

1    8/30/2009   9/4/2009
Review By: dlk33
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Cons: Haven't gotten a chance to play the course.
Other Thoughts: The first time we took the drive to Sussex the course was closed because it was Spring & the baskets weren't in the ground yet. We decided to try again in the Summer, not thinking there would be any reason it would be closed, we were wrong! Upon stopping to ask further directions about how to get to the course, we were told there was some kind of tractor display going on in the park, that the dg course might not be open. Sure enough, we enter the park & see a sign that says the disc golf course is closed. We could see a few baskets off to the right further ahead, that weren't in the way of anything, so we went ahead & played them. That was a waste of time, just like the drive there! When I went back to rate this course, I did notice on the review page it does state to check their website before going there, because their might be an activity going on. I should have paid more attention to that! Make sure that you do.
It wasn't a total waste, we drove to Milwaukee & played there.
We won't bother to come back for a third time.

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Worthwhile

5+    8/22/2009   8/22/2009
Review By: fallsrunner10
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 10.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's an excellent course; it has all kinds of holes. Multiple-drive holes, short birdie holes, short bogey holes, long birdie holes; the course has so many possibilities. Numbers 5 and 6 are in thick trees; if you need to hit a tree, you will miss it, and if you have a good throw, you'll end up hitting a tree. It's a very nice park and is never very crowded.
Cons: If you've never been there before, number one is difficult to find. It's the parking lot to the left and on top of the hill by the brown building. The signing is bad; there used to be signs, but have since been torn down. 2 to 3 is thru the woods, 3 to 4 is across the street, 6 to 7 is up along the tennis courts, 12 to 13 you have to go across the path and backtrack a bit, 13 to 14 is down the path opposite the way you backtracked, 16 to 17 is the longest walk (it's really an odd location for 17 and 18). from 16s tee looking at the basket you have to walk left from the basket up the hill on the path to find the tee.
Other Thoughts: Other than the bad signage, the course is very nice. Concrete pads, easy to see baskets, but can also be a technical course. I wouldn't recommend it for beginners, but neither would I for pro's (too easy). Anyone in between would have a fun time on this course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/16/2009   7/20/2009
Review By: artonos
Played: 12  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.7 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A nice course with some long shots and some short shots. Great uses of elevation on a bunch of holes. A hole with water that makes it so you have to be cautious right from the beginning. A few wooded holes, many holes use trees to force you to shoot in different directions.

This is an intermediate course. Not the easiest, but still a long way from being really hard. It is well kept. The course is usually not too busy, occasionally you will have to wait for a slow group. For the most part the people who play there move quickly.
Cons: The wooded holes could be a little longer. There is only really 1 hole that is difficult because it is long. The other long holes all are downhill so it is easier to play them. The course can be hard to navigate for someone who is unfamiliar with the layout. Watch out for wasp's when walking from hole13 to 14.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.