Sussex, WI 
Village Park Share
Uploaded By: snappyfingers Hole #7
3 / 268ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Approach



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 3 Next >
 Great Practice but not fancy

2-4    6/10/2009   6/13/2009
Review By: Texconsinite
Played: 138  Reviewed: 79  Exp: 8.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has concrete tees on 17 of the holes (one was cleared for a new walking path). Baskets are numbered. Most holes do not have a tee sign, just a metal rod that it looks like a sign should attach to it, but is conspicuously missing. Vandalism, perhaps?

Trashcans at several holes. The only bathroom I could find by hole 1 was locked, so be mindful of that.

This park sports a wiiide variety of lengths. You will go from 350ft to 250, to 600ft holes, and back. However, despite the multiple longer holes on this course, it's surprisingly easy to score well, thanks to benevolent use of terrain. By this I mean that the long holes are mostly fairly level or downhill, so the length doesnt seem as bad. No nasty 500ft uphill tunnel shots. Big Brother this ain't, but it is quite a fun course to play.

This course is relatively open, but keeps it real. Even on the wooded holes, you are usually shooting from open areas into a patch of woods protecting the basket, thus there are generally several ways to attack it off the tee, often a more open curve route with late trouble as well as a more direct tunnel line. (vs Elver Park, where you are stuck playing the tunnel bc theres woods all around you)

At the same time, most of the "wooded" holes are more like Deming park: A cool hillside/valley/hilltop with scattered trees that all come into play. In fact, Hole 14 here is an uphill shot through a tree archway similar to Hole 5 at Deming: both short, yet surprising hard to deuce. This is indicative fo the types of challenges this course will throw at you most often.

There is really alot of cool terrain on this course in general, enough that it keeps the wide open holes fairly interesting as well. I may sound like a broken record as I've written this in seemingly every review lately, I am generally biased towards more heavily wooded courses, and this course has several holes with between 0 and 2 trees on each of them. However, I found that I didnt mind many of the open holes here, because the terrain alone is enough to keep them interesting, like the first few holes on Justin Trails Classic. Hole 2 here is a great example. Wide open, longer uphill (I know what I said, this is the only one) shot. The basket is blind over the hilltop, and every time I was so sure I overshot it on my second drive and rolled it down the backside of the hill. But the basket is tucked in the bottom of a 30 ft wide bowl, like a bunker on the baskside of the hill, so it catches shots and funnels them toward the basket. What a great way to make a long uphill hole a more manageable three. I love it!

On the wide open holes, the basket is always at least somewhat protected, with a few nearby trees behind it to snag errant throws or a bog beyond them. Also, one thing that is unique about this course is that for how wide open it is, there seems to be surprisingly little wind on the open holes. The edges of the large fields containing the more open holes are all lined with solid borders of tall bushy pines, and I believe this does a good job protecting from the wind. Also, the fact that is farther away from the lake, and not on a hilltop probably helps. However, open holes with no wind does make for a much nicer round.

It also makes this a great course to put a new disc through its paces on, as the lines you have to hit are mostly pretty open, and gives you a good chance to fine-tune technique during the round without suffering massive stroke penalties. You will get a variety of technical challenges, but nothing too tricky. Its great practice.

Overall its a surprisingly fun experience. I came to this park with fairly low expectations, and i was pleasantly surprised. It even starts off with a cool water hole, something the other milwaukee courses I've played to date all lack.
Cons: Navigation: The flow of the course is good in that the holes are all not too far from each other, and 18 ends by the parking lot and tee 1 for a nice loop.
However, finding the next hole is a real challenge in many, many spots. Fortunately, I attached myself to some locals who guided me, otherwise I would've been hopelessy turned around in spots. Here are some of the worse ones
(X-Y) How to get to tee Y from basket X
GUIDE TO NAVIGATION
2-3 --> Cut through the woods on your left
3-4 --> Cross the street and past the tennis courts. In the open next to line of pine trees.
6-7--> Between tennis court fence and road
8-9--> Across the road.
13-14--> Take the furthest trail on the left, past the park bench. Dirt tee to right of path.

You cant see the basket numbers clearly from the tee, and in some cases you will be able to see more than one basket, but in any event, the correct basket is the obvious one so don't stress.
The hole layouts are pretty obvious off the tee, so the lack of hole maps didn't bother me as much as not knowing the distance on the basket, or where to go for the next tee. The addition of just hole length markers and next tee signs would make a huge difference here.

Another area where this course annoys me is the paths between holes. Several times, the paths lead you up the fairway from the previous basket to get to the current tee. Thus, this is a risk of getting hit by the group in front of you, or at the very least, slow them down and be a general pain for them.

Every hole has one tee, one pin placement (except the hill hole). This is really too bad, as it hurts the replay value of the course, and they do have room to add more of both onto the existing holes. The course seemed pretty busy the whole time I was there, so its a shame that it hasn't gotten a little more of a facelift. But I've admittedly been spoiled by Dretzka's 4-5 pin placements and the wonderful job Mark does switching a few up every week.

Again, I didn't mind the open holes because they were mostly interesting, but I would've liked a little more intrigue aka wooded holes.
The course is good as it stands, but it would be nice to have long tees for some added challenge.

This is a good, fun course, but it hits alot of singles, even a few doubles. However, this course doesn't have those tricky home run-hitting holes that the great ones have in spades.I like it and enjoyed it, but it didn't impress or wow me much.
Other Thoughts: This course reminded me of Tendick up north. Both are courses out in the sticks, and both IMO have a similar style of a few interesting courses blended together into a mix that may be lesser than the sum of its parts. Here is where the similarities stop.

Tendick is like a Brown Deer/UW-Whitewater mix, with its variety of longer open holes and tight technical ones. Village Park is more akin to a Justin Trails Classic/Deming Park blend, with a touch of Token Creek, because it has really cool terrain on open holes, and scattered trees, as well as several loong holes.

I thought about giving this course a 2.5 for Decent, but the cool terrain on several holes won me over. Check out this course if you are in the area, but is it worth the drive from Milwaukee? Not while Dretzka, Parkside and Brown Deer are open.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 B = Better Than Average

1    5/7/2009   6/8/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 381  Reviewed: 276  Exp: 22.5 Years
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up:
1) Holes with good risk/reward. Fair, but harsh punishment for bad decisions or execution. == C-
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities for me. I throw 300' accurately, 360' max. == C+ (many holes are too short to be rewarding and the longer holes are not long enough to make rewarding par 4's)
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography == C+
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion. == B+
5) Bonus points for multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them. == C-
Other Thoughts: It's all about feeding the addiction, so I ranked this course subjectively based on my own "personal addiction factor". The grades above tell how well the course will draw me back to itself again and again and again. Since I have played a decent number of courses (125 18-hole, 64 9-hole as of mid 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar addiction tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they choose courses to play and explore.

Over time, I expect to fill some of my reviews in with more descriptive verbiage...if what I can add anything to what has already been written. For now, my list is more important to me than the verbiage of my reviews.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me....that's the fun of things here. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 a little more effort and...

5+    5/2/2009   5/4/2009
Review By: tomjulio
Played: 69  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 8.5 Years
This review was updated on 9/30/2009
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -great variety of holes(rippers, small, technical)
-elevation changes
-LARGE cement tees
-lengthy course
-rarely crowded
-quality pin placements-quite beautiful, and the park is dedicated to disc golfing(mostly)
Cons: -HORRIBLE sign-age, if and when it exists
-awkward next hole locations unmarked
-one set of tees
-random events(such as a fireman's ball) can close the DG course. Check website
-one tee pad removed(hole15, I believe) due to a new bike path installed. Currently a dirt pad.
Other Thoughts: One of my favorite places to play a lengthy round in southeastern Wisconsin. This course has it all...LONG ripper holes for the big guns, short technical holes, and a lot of in betweens. Some of the better use of elevation changes in the area as well. What keeps this course from rising any higher than a 3.5 in my book is the complete lack sign-age, especially directing you to the next hole. More below.

Hole 1
Love this hole. Elevated drive, 400+, over standing water pond (spring especially.May be dry in hot summer as witnessed in pic). Such a great hole to start the course.

hole 2-3
Rip away. Use the big arm on these. 2 has a neat pin placement slightly elevated and in a gully. HERE is where if you don't know where hole 3 is you will be completely confused. It is to the left through a small gap in the trees. A path might help you locate it, otherwise people end up inadvertently skipping to the back nine.

Holes 4-6
Some very neat and technical holes that run along a pine row and then into a grove of spaced hard wood trees. It may seem like a pray and poke scenario, but there are lines for the skilled players.

Holes 7-16
Diversity on elevation changes. Shorts, long, up, down. great use of the land. 16 is another elevated shot down at a basket that plays the backside of pond(area) that is in play on hole #1.

Holes 17-18
Finishing up in some massive oaks and rolling hills. The wind can come into play heavy on these holes as well as the branches that seem to guard many lines.

Overall, another park on the edge of being a 4, Signs, multiple tees, pin placements..simple things keep it from being such. BUT this course is a def play and high on my "must play" monthly list.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course, nice layout, left me slightly unfulfilled.

5+    10/31/2011   5/3/2009
Review By: harr0140
Played: 928  Reviewed: 480  Exp: 7.9 Years
This review was updated on 1/7/2012
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Uses the property very well, incorporating the massive pond into #1, the massive elevation change on #1 and #16 make for two really fun tee shots. The dense wooded area on hole #5 and #6 make for some tunnel shots. Hit a tree and shoot to the side will cost you at least 1 stroke because you might not have a lane to the basket and just have to layup to give yourself a putt. #7 and #8 have some character with the baskets set underneath a few large mature trees. Keep your shot low or you will clip some of those branches and shoot straight down to the ground and possibly cost yourself a birdie opportunity. #9 is wide open but long enouhg that only a really big arm can get close enough for an easy birdie. #10 - #13 have some large trees as their only obstacles, and the baskets are placed well to make you think about your shots. #14 -#18 have some elevation changes (With #16 being the most pronounced) and lots of large mature trees again. They each have their own character because #14 goes left, #15 goes right, #16 is way down a hill into a prevailing cross wind, then #17 and #18 both go up hill to baskets set amongst the massive trees.

2) Maintenance looks to be well kept. Baskets at every teebox help with keeping the litter down.

3) Has many of the key ingredients to a solid course with elevation change, challenging basket location, some open ripper holes, some tightly wooded holes, and some holes with a smattering of large mature trees.

4) Fairly beginner friendly because of the genral openness of most holes. Although there are large mature trees beginners don't have to shoot through tons of tunnel shots except on #5. Errant shots will not be punished too severely which can really lead to frustrated beginners.

Cons: 1) Some of the teepads fall off significantly at the edge of the concrete which could be a hazard to some ankles.

2) This overall was a fun course, but for some reason I was left slightly disappointed. I was surprised it was as fun as it was from looking at the course from the road before it opened, but I do think this course has the potential to be better than it is. Add in a couple younger trees maybe to force some more shotmaking, protect some of the baskets on hillside with some boulders or something. Basically I guess I would say I could have imagined a few more unique ideas into this course that would take it up a nothc but it is still a very good course in my opinion, one of the top 10 in the Milwaukee area.

3) Wide open turf areas are filled with weeds and dandelions. Detracts a little from the course in my opinion, because ti would be nice to play on well kept turf instead of weeds. I am a landscaper so I notice things like this that others might not see.

4) Big massive sign out front saying disc golf open or closed but no sign to point you to Tee #1. I ended up starting on #4 and then getting lost at #16 and playing #1, 2, 3, and finishing on #17 and #18.

5) Lots of missing signs and the one on #14 is incorrect because it is not 296. That was the distance before the path went through that area dn the teepad was moved forward. It is probably more like 200.
Other Thoughts: This course surprised me, I went expecting not so much because I had driven in there 3 or 4 times hoping it was open and all I could see were tee areas and all of them seems to be on the edge of the woods so I thought the holes would be very boring. They used the property well and the larger mature trees, the massive pond on #1, and the elevation changes, are what give this course its character I was pleasantly surpised, although I was still left a little unfulfilled. A few more obstacles to challenge me would have gotten this course a 4 rating. The maintenance looks to be pretty well done, except how weedy all of the grass areas are. Maybe Sussex refused to spray herbicides I don't know?!

UPDATE: This course is growing on me more and more. It probably has to do with the fact I am able to throw a little further now, so those longer holes are more fun with a well executed shot. This course just has a little of everything and I am liking the variety more and more. I shot my best -4 the other day and it was a lot of fun!

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Good Course

1    8/21/2008   8/26/2008
Review By: big_ck1
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The holes are challenging, and there is a good variety between technical throws, and power throws.
Cons: It was hard to find the first hole, the signage can sometimes be missing or not helpful.
Other Thoughts: I played here for my first round of disc golf ever, and it was challenging for me and my friend. I would recommend it, and I will play it again for sure now that I know where I am going.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good but not great

7/12/2008   7/13/2008
Review By: -HUC-
Played: 32  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 14.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/2/2008
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a mostly open course that features good use of elevation change. If there is any wind it really adds to the difficulty. The course has a clean look and is well maintained. There are bathrooms and a water fountain right on hole 1. Holes 1-3 are very long and are par 4+.These holes are made more challenging by the windy conditions on the course. There are several wooded holes to add some variety. Water does come into play if hole 1 is flooded.
Cons: This course is extremely open. This means on 70% of holes bad tee shots aren't punished. Even if you shank you still have a shot to get up and down. This leads to a deuce or die approach to this course. There is some variety with the wooded holes but the open holes have a similar feel because you can throw whatever shot you want. The course has a very exposed feel and police keep a close eye on disc golfers here. There isn't really much to do in the area, but it is easy to get to. There is only one set of tees and pin placements which takes away from replay value.
Other Thoughts: The highlight of this course are the rolling hills with the added difficulty of playing in the wind. This course is fun and there are some great holes on this course. Unfortunately, it is a little too straight forward to be a top level course.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Worth checking out

6/1/2008   6/1/2008
Review By: TenaciousMV
Played: 25  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 10.5 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good variety; concrete tee pads; signs at each tee let you know how to find the next hole, provide a map of the hole, and show distance; elevation changes used well; 6+ holes that make you think about your drive and only a couple allow you to mindlessly hurl away; benches; not buggy; even when you're in trouble you should be able to quickly locate your disc; very few holes give you a feeling of deja vu ("I feel like I played a hole just like this 15 minutes ago....")
Cons: Some very 'simple' holes; appears to be popular and may have waits at times; you can stick to your favorite shot off the tee (forehand or backhand) all day and still do well - not forced to push yourself
Other Thoughts: This is a solid course and I'd like to play it again, but it didn't leave me thinking of how I could have played better like an excellent course does. If you're throwing well, there isn't much of a need to think about strategy here. Enough holes reward a good shot to make it enjoyable.

I went with 3 friends and we all had a good time. Very little to complain about here, but there isn't anything that will blow you away. This course is certainly above '2.0 - average' in the fact it presents variety, is clean, is clearly marked, lets you go for a few tricky shots for big rewards, and will throw you a challenge or two. It's not '4.0 - excellent' - all 4 of us agreed on that. There are lots of 'Pros' up there but none of them are extreme. Examples of excellent courses within 20 miles of Village Park are Brown Deer and Dretzka. While this is a fun course that I'd like to come back to, it's not in the same class as those. This course was 'Good.' 3.0.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Recycled ball golf course

8/15/2007   4/12/2008
Review By: FoleyT
Played: 86  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 11.5 Years
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: concrete tees, nice variety of open and wooded holes, some very long distances for the big arms, and some finesse shots for the rest of us. lots of elevation changes, beautiful park in what looks to be a recycled 3 par ball golf course in a public park
Cons: some of the distances can be a little daunting, and a few of the holes in the 'pine grove' rely a bit too much on dumb luck
Other Thoughts: a fun course, was recommended to us by local disc golfers at another location, well worth the trip.

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.